Bix Card Review: Honest Look at a Self-Custody Crypto Card
If you’re reading this, you’re probably weighing whether the Bix card is the thing that finally gives you a normal way to spend crypto — or whether it’s another early-stage product with big promises and thin answers to basic questions. I’ve read through the card’s own site, its help centre and its press material, and I went looking for the things a user would actually need to know: who gets one, what it costs to spend, how you load it, and what could go wrong.
My verdict up front: the Bix card scores 5.2 out of 10. That’s a middling grade, and I want to be honest about why rather than dress it up. On the plus side, the underlying idea — spending straight from a self-custody wallet using stablecoins as collateral — is genuinely appealing to people who already hold crypto and don’t want to hand their keys to anyone. On the minus side, the product is clearly still being built: a virtual card now, physical and metal “coming soon,” fiat top-ups “coming soon,” an unnamed issuer, and a fee table that contradicts its own press release. If your top priority is a card that simply works everywhere today, this isn’t it yet. If you’re a self-custody user in one of the eligible US states who wants to spend stablecoins without moving them off-chain first, the idea is sound even if the execution is early.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 5.2/10, a promising idea on an unfinished product
The single biggest thing to understand about the Bix card is that it is not a bank card from a bank you already know. It is a Visa debit card linked to a crypto wallet app, run by Bix Ltd — a technology company, in the company’s own words, not a bank. Regulated services are provided by third-party partners. That arrangement is common in this category, and it can work, but it also means the bank-like protections people assume from a normal card don’t automatically come with it.
Whether 5.2 is a fair number depends a lot on who you are. If you’re someone who has trouble getting an ordinary bank card and you’re looking for any reliable way to spend what you hold, Bix is one of the more interesting options because your crypto stays in your own wallet until the moment you pay. But the eligibility map is the problem: as of the September 2026 announcement it’s live for residents of 29 US states with a stated aim of 49 within six to eight months. If you’re outside the US, or in a state that isn’t live yet, this card likely isn’t for you at all today.
Let me show my working — each criterion, my mark, and why:
| Criterion | Mark | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | Issuer names residents of 29 US states, targets 49; no country list on the site |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Virtual Visa $9.99, standard membership free; purchase 3%, conversion 1% (press release says no funding fees and 1% FX) |
| Top-up options | 8 / 10 | USDT and USDC as collateral in a self-custody wallet on Ethereum, BNB Smart Chain, Base, Solana, Optimism; fiat “coming soon” |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Bix Ltd, Cayman Islands, office in Dubai; issuer not named; no complaints found; iOS 4.4/5 from 7 ratings |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Virtual now, physical and metal “soon”; Apple Pay and Google Pay present; ATM $1 + 0.6% |
| Total | 5.2 / 10 | Strong idea, early execution |
The top-up score is the highest of the six, and it’s the part I’d genuinely rate well: five networks, two major stablecoins, no custody. The lowest is eligibility, because a card you can’t get is worth little regardless of how clever it is.
Who this suits, concretely: you already hold USDT or USDC in a self-custody wallet, you live in one of the live US states, and you’d rather pay directly from that wallet than convert to fiat in your bank account first. Who it does not suit: anyone outside the US for now, anyone who needs a physical card in hand today, anyone who wants to load with fiat without touching crypto, and anyone nervous about a provider that hasn’t named its issuing bank.
Will they give you the card?
Eligibility is where Bix is least forthcoming, so let me be precise about what is and isn’t said.
The site states that “service availability depends on your location, eligibility and the relevant provider’s terms,” and it publishes no country list. That’s the honest version: no list, so you can’t check off your country on their site. The press release of 25 September 2026 is more specific, and it’s the only concrete geographic statement the company has made: eligible residents of 29 US states, with a target of 49 states within six to eight months. So this is currently a US card, not a global one.
A few things that would matter to you and that the public pages simply don’t answer:
- Whether your state is live. The 29 states are not enumerated on the company’s site, so the only way to know for sure is to start the sign-up and check whether verification completes.
- Whether citizenship matters separately from residence. In this industry nationality is usually screened apart from where you live, because sanctions rules and issuer risk policy look at citizenship and country of birth as well as your address. Bix doesn’t say.
- Whether the age floor or documents required go beyond the standard. See the next section.
The honest summary: it’s a narrow, US-only opening window that the company itself describes as temporary. If you need certainty about your specific state, the answer is in the application flow, not on the marketing pages.
How to get it
The route the company describes is straightforward in outline: identity verification and programme requirements for eligible users, after which the card is issued. That “programme requirements” phrase does a lot of work, because the specifics — which documents, whether proof of address is needed, the minimum age — are not stated on the pages I read. So I can tell you the shape of the process but not its fine print, and you should expect to be asked for standard identity documents and to wait through whatever the provider’s checks involve.
The card itself: a Visa debit card linked to the BIX Wallet. Right now it’s virtual — you get a card number and use it in apps and online, and it can be added to a mobile wallet. Physical and metal versions are described as “coming soon,” so if your whole plan depends on handing over a bit of plastic, that’s not available today. The currency the card is denominated in is not stated, which quietly matters for what fees you’ll hit at the till (I’ll cover that in the fees section). Delivery timelines for the planned physical card are not stated. Nor are the number of identity-verification levels the product uses.
In short: apply, verify, get a virtual Visa in the app, add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay if you want to tap. That’s the whole journey as described today. Everything physical is promised, not shipped.
Fees and what it really costs to spend
This is the section I’d read most carefully if I were you, because the numbers here are the least settled. There are two sources — the help-centre fee table and the company’s press release — and they don’t fully agree. I’d plan around the help centre, since that’s the more operational document, but be aware you’re seeing a company still finding its own pricing.

Here’s the cost picture as published:
| Fee or limit | What the card states |
|---|---|
| Standard membership | Free |
| Virtual Visa card | $9.99 |
| BIX Plus (planned) | $119/year |
| Physical card (planned) | $99 |
| Card purchase | 3% |
| Currency conversion | 1% |
| Small authorization | $0.75 (charges under $50) |
| Declined transaction | $0.65 |
| ATM withdrawal | $1 + 0.6% |
| US programme (press release) | No funding fees, 1% FX |
| Spend limits | “Configurable monthly”; “flexible and customizable based on the user’s deposited collateral” — no amounts stated |
Two things to notice. First, the help-centre table lists a 3% card purchase fee, while the press release describes the US programme as having no funding fees and 1% FX — and the release’s own numbers don’t match the table. The help centre adds that “fees may vary depending on the transaction type or payment network.” So treat the table as the working assumption and the release as marketing shorthand. Second, the ATM numbers differ too: the help centre says $1 + 0.6%, while the release says a 0.6% physical-card ATM fee is planned. No free allowance is stated either way.
Let me make the everyday cost concrete by walking through three ordinary payments:
Buying coffee with the virtual card. Say the coffee is $4.50. On the help-centre table, a card purchase carries a 3% fee, so that $4.50 would come to roughly $4.64. If your card balance is in dollars and the coffee is priced in dollars, the 1% conversion fee shouldn’t apply. This is the small-purchase case, and note the $0.75 small-authorization fee applies to charges under $50 — I don’t want to guess at how that interacts with the 3%, because the pages don’t say. What I can tell you is that the fee table is built around small charges, so a $4.50 coffee is not a no-fee transaction under the published numbers.
Paying a hotel or an online subscription in another currency. Here the 1% currency conversion fee is the one that bites, on top of any foreign-currency pricing the merchant adds. The card’s own currency isn’t stated, so you can’t be certain from the public pages whether a given purchase counts as “another currency.” This is a real question to ask support before you rely on the card abroad.
Taking cash out of an ATM. This is the priciest everyday action: $1 plus 0.6% per the help centre. A $100 withdrawal would be $1.60 in fees on those numbers — before whatever the ATM operator itself charges, which is outside the card’s control. If you need cash regularly, this adds up quickly and is one of the clearest reasons to treat the Bix card as a spending card rather than a cash card.
The card also lists Visa Signature benefits — lounge access, travel and rental car insurance, hotel discounts up to 65%, concierge. Worth noting: rewards are described as “BIX Rewards coming soon” with no rate given, so the cashback story is not yet real.
Top up: how money gets into the card
Topping up is the part I like most about this card, and it’s why that criterion scored highest. Here it is in plain terms: you hold USDT or USDC as collateral in a self-custody wallet, and you can do so on Ethereum, BNB Smart Chain, Base, Solana, or Optimism (in supported combinations). A fiat on-ramp — buying crypto with dollars from a bank — is described as “coming soon,” so right now you need to already hold stablecoins.

That design has a clear appeal. Because your crypto never leaves your own wallet, the provider isn’t holding your money in the sense a custodial exchange would be. Spending draws against that collateral. The company states there are no funding fees on its side, per the press release.
A few practical points, all of them things to get right rather than ways to bypass anything:
- Mind the network. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, and a deposit sent on a network the card doesn’t support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Sending on one of the five supported chains matters.
- Network fees are the blockchain’s, not Bix’s. On Ethereum, for instance, gas is paid in ETH — so a wallet holding USDT but no ETH can’t send, regardless of what the card says about fees. Who pays the network fee, and the minimum top-up amount, aren’t stated on the public pages.
- Stablecoins carry risks. They’re designed to track the dollar, but as a category they don’t always. USDT and USDC are the two largest dollar-pegged tokens, and USDC is redeemable 1:1 for dollars with reserves described as cash and cash equivalents, but a depeg has happened before in this category. Your collateral’s dollar value is what your card is really spending.
- Withdrawing money off the card isn’t stated at all — whether and how you can get funds back out is a question for support, not something the pages answer.
For a reader already holding stablecoins in a self-custody wallet, this is a clean, familiar flow. For everyone else, the missing fiat on-ramp means you’re not using this card yet, however good the idea is.
Paying with it every day
Day-to-day, the Bix card behaves like most crypto cards: it’s essentially a prepaid or debit card spending a balance that’s backed by your crypto.
The good news is the mobile wallet support. Your card can be added to Apple Pay or Google Pay, which is how most people will actually use it day to day. Note that whether any merchant categories are blocked isn’t stated — so I can’t tell you whether gambling or other restricted codes are switched off, and that varies by issuer anyway. If a category matters to you, ask.
What you don’t have yet is the physical experience: no plastic in hand, no metal card, only the virtual version. Rewards are promised but absent — “BIX Rewards coming soon” with no rate — so the perks list is currently Visa Signature benefits rather than anything Bix pays you. The app is the BixPay iOS app, rated 4.4 out of 5 from 7 ratings; I hadn’t read the Google Play listing, so treat the Android picture as unconfirmed.
The limits are where I’d want clarity from you reading this. The card promises “configurable monthly spend limits” that are “flexible and customizable based on the user’s deposited collateral” — which is a sensible design, tying what you can spend to what you’ve put up. But no actual numbers are published, so the real ceiling on your spending is set in the app and can differ from person to person. If you need a high, predictable limit, that’s a conversation to have before you rely on it.
One more everyday unknown: how disputes work. Whether you can chargeback a purchase, or how a merchant problem is handled, isn’t stated. In the US, debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E — but prepaid-card coverage varies and shouldn’t be assumed, and this is a prepaid-style balance rather than a bank debit account. Treat that as an open question rather than a protection you have.
What can go wrong
Let me take this in order of how likely it is to affect you.
The card doesn’t exist for you yet. This is the most probable problem. Live in the wrong state or outside the US, and none of the rest matters. The company’s own timeline has physical and metal cards as “coming soon.”
Being stranded by a company change. This is the category’s recurring risk. Card programmes do close: Visa terminated its agreements with FTX in November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down; Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme. Closures typically follow a pattern — a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you’re asked to withdraw what’s left. The lesson isn’t to avoid crypto cards but to not treat a card balance as a permanent home for money you need.
The issuer is unnamed. Bix says it’s a technology company, not a bank, with regulated services handled by third-party partners and the issuer not named on the material I read. You should know the general pattern: the card network (Visa) routes payments and sets rules, an actual licensed issuer holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often just the front-end. Not knowing who your issuer is makes it harder to know who stands behind disputes, refunds and safeguarding.
No complaints, but also very little track record. I searched for user reports within a reasonable budget and found no official incident notice and no user-report source — and no Trustpilot page for Bix. Two ways to read that: nothing has gone publicly wrong yet, or the card is simply too new and too small for anyone to have written about it. With an iOS app rated on 7 ratings, this is clearly a young product. Absence of complaints here is weak evidence of quality.
The self-custody trade-off. No custody means the provider can’t lose your keys to a hack — but it means *you* own the risk entirely. Key loss is unrecoverable, phishing is your problem to spot, and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps a copied deposit address is a real attack. Irreversibility cuts the same way: crypto transfers generally can’t be reversed or frozen.
Regulatory drift. If you’re in the EU, cards and crypto sit under separate regimes — MiCA covers the crypto side (custody, exchange, transfer), while the card is a payment service under e-money and payment-services law — so a crypto card often depends on two licences. The MiCA transitional period for existing providers ran only until 1 July 2026 or until they were authorised or refused, and ESMA maintains a register of authorised crypto-asset service providers you can check. In the US, the picture is different again, with FinCEN treating administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters. None of this tells you Bix will be fine or not fine — it tells you the rules around it are still settling, and that’s a factor in any decision.
Fee and currency surprises. The 3% purchase fee, the 1% conversion fee, the $0.75 small-authorization fee and the $1 + 0.6% ATM cost all apply, and the fee table itself warns amounts may vary by transaction type or payment network. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign cards because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and issuer country, which can also trigger extra scrutiny when it doesn’t match your billing address. A declined online payment can leave a hold on funds for several days.
On the positive side, the security design is stronger than many in this category: keys are never stored in complete form, splitting uses Shamir’s Secret Sharing, and the company cites AWS Nitro TEEs, SOC2 Type II, audits by Cure53, Zellic and Doyensec, and 24/7 monitoring, stating it “does not hold or control assets in your wallet.” Support runs through help.bix.fi, and a 24/7 concierge is listed among the card benefits.
What to take instead
If the Bix card doesn’t fit — wrong country, no physical card yet, or you want fees you can predict — there are three comparable options, each with a different shape.
TokenPocket scores 5.8/10. Its card is a Mastercard/Visa debit across a wide list of European countries and territories (Germany, France, Spain, Switzerland among them) and Mastercard for Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, Taiwan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, the UK and others, with the Americas planned. It runs on Arbitrum, and Fiat24 cards are virtual. The cost profile is light: beyond a small, partly-covered NFT creation fee, “TP Card does not charge any additional fees” — but there’s a 1% fee on depositing cryptocurrency, later refunded through rewards, and extra fees can come from inter-institution settlement. No cashback is stated.
MetaMask scores 7.1/10 — the highest of the four. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories (Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain, Uruguay among them), other regions on a waitlist, with proof of residency required; note “ineligible regions limit sign-ups, not spending,” and US/UK sign-ups were temporarily closed. The card is Mastercard: a free virtual card issued instantly, with a Metal card pre-orderable at $199/year. It spends directly from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, across mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT. Fees are a “minimal fee for each transaction” with “no additional MetaMask fees” and no foreign transaction fee, and cashback is 1% on Virtual (3% headline on Metal, 3% only to the first $10,000 then 1%).
KAST scores 6.1/10 and is the most transparent on paper — and the most expensive to join. Membership is Standard at $0, Premium at $1,000/year, or Private at $10,000/year, billed annually upfront. Cards run from a free Standard Visa Platinum to Visa Infinite metal or gold-plated, with themed designs too. Fees are unusually clean: 0% stablecoin top-up, 0% USD spend, 0% transaction fee, 0% for Apple/Google Pay, and a 0.5%–1.75% foreign-exchange fee depending on your country; a declined transaction is $0.50. Cashback is 1.5%/2%/3% by tier on spending caps. Eligibility is residence-based and shown at KYC, with citizenship/ID rules of its own — a live ID from a restricted region can disqualify you even in a supported country.
| Bix | TokenPocket | MetaMask | KAST | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 5.2/10 | 5.8/10 | 7.1/10 | 6.1/10 |
| Where | 29 US states | Europe, Australia, Canada, UK, Asia | 45 countries/territories | Residence-based list at KYC |
| Card now | Virtual Visa | Virtual (Fiat24) | Virtual Mastercard; Metal $199/yr | Virtual + physical |
| Key fee | 3% purchase, 1% FX | 1% deposit fee | “Minimal”, no FX fee | 0% USD spend, FX 0.5–1.75% |
| Funding | USDT/USDC self-custody, 5 networks | Crypto from wallet, Arbitrum | Connected wallet, 4 networks | USDT/USDC/PYUSD/RLUSD |
Read that table as a set of trade-offs rather than a ranking. MetaMask scores highest because it combines a genuinely free virtual card, broad sign-up and clean fee messaging — but its fee amount is described only as “minimal” and left to a linked table. KAST is the only one here that publishes hard cashback percentages and near-zero spend fees, but the $1,000 entry point on Premium makes it a different product entirely. Bix’s distinguishing feature isn’t any of those — it’s that your crypto never leaves your own wallet.
Who I would recommend it to
I’d recommend the Bix card to you if all three of these are true. You already hold USDT or USDC in a self-custody wallet and understand that you’re responsible for your own keys. You live in one of the 29 live US states and can confirm your state in the application flow. And you’re comfortable being an early adopter of a young product — you’ll be spending from a virtual card, on “coming soon” fees, with rewards that don’t exist yet, from a provider that hasn’t named its issuing bank.
I’d point you elsewhere if any of these are true. You need a physical card in hand now, or you want to load from a bank account without touching crypto. You’re outside the US. You want to know exactly what a purchase costs before you make it, and a fee table that contradicts its own press release isn’t that. Or you simply need the maturity of a product with an established track record.
The honest summary is that Bix is a well-chosen idea attached to an unfinished product. The self-custody-collateral model is the most interesting thing here, and the top-up design is the best part of the card. What holds it back is everything around that idea: geography, timing, and disclosure. Give it another year of shipping — physical cards, a named issuer, a settled fee table, fiat on-ramp — and it’ll be worth revisiting. Today, it’s a card for a specific kind of early adopter, and it should be chosen as one.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Bix card?
The Bix card is a Visa debit card linked to the BIX Wallet, a crypto wallet app. You hold stablecoins as collateral in your own self-custody wallet and spend from that collateral through the card. The virtual version is available now; physical and metal versions are described as coming soon. Bix Ltd describes itself as a technology company, not a bank.
How does the Bix card work?
You keep USDT or USDC in a self-custody wallet on a supported network, and the card draws against that collateral when you pay. In practice it behaves like a prepaid card spending a balance rather than a bank debit drawing on an account. The card can be added to Apple Pay or Google Pay. The company says your keys are never stored in complete form and it does not hold or control assets in your wallet.
Is Bix a bank, and who owns it?
No — Bix says plainly that it is a technology company, not a bank, and that regulated services are provided by third-party partners. The company is Bix Ltd, registered in the Cayman Islands, with operating offices in Dubai. The card app is listed under Bit One Ventures Inc. The issuing bank behind the Visa card is not named on the company’s site.
Who can get the Bix card?
As of the September 2026 announcement, eligible residents of 29 US states, with a stated aim of reaching 49 states within six to eight months. The website publishes no country list and says availability depends on your location, eligibility and the provider’s terms. So this is currently a US-focused card, and you’d need to start an application to know whether your specific state is live.
Does the Bix card require KYC?
Yes — the card’s sign-up involves “identity verification and programme requirements” for eligible users. The specific documents, whether proof of address is required, and any minimum age aren’t stated on the public pages. Standard practice for this category is identity documents and an identity number, with nationality screened separately from residence, but the card’s own pages don’t spell that out for Bix.
What does it cost to use the Bix card?
Standard membership is free and the virtual Visa card costs $9.99. The help-centre fee table lists a 3% card purchase fee, 1% currency conversion, a $0.75 small-authorization fee on charges under $50, $0.65 for a declined transaction, and $1 plus 0.6% for ATM withdrawals. The press release instead describes no funding fees and 1% FX for the US programme, so treat the help-centre table as the working assumption.
How do I top up the Bix card?
You deposit USDT or USDC from your own wallet as collateral, on Ethereum, BNB Smart Chain, Base, Solana or Optimism in supported combinations. The company states there are no funding fees. A fiat on-ramp — buying crypto with dollars from a bank — is described as coming soon. Minimum amounts, who pays the network fee, and withdrawal from the card are not stated.
Can I add the Bix card to Apple Wallet?
Yes — the card can be added to Apple Pay, and Google Pay too. That’s the main way to use the virtual card day to day, since the physical version isn’t shipped yet. Whether any merchant categories are blocked isn’t stated on the public pages. Adding a card to a mobile wallet replaces the card number with a device-specific number, so the full number isn’t stored on the phone maker’s servers.
Is the Bix card safe?
The security design is the card’s strongest feature: self-custody with keys never stored in complete form, Shamir’s Secret Sharing splitting, AWS Nitro TEEs, SOC2 Type II, audits by Cure53, Zellic and Doyensec, and 24/7 monitoring. But the card is young — I found no complaints, and also no established track record, with an iOS app rated on just 7 ratings. Treat it as an early product, and don’t treat a card balance as a permanent home for money.
Is the Bix card worth it?
For you, specifically: worth considering if you already hold USDT or USDC in a self-custody wallet and live in a live US state, since the collateral model means your crypto never leaves your wallet. Less compelling if you need a physical card today, want to top up from a bank account, or want predictable fees today — the published fee table and press release don’t quite agree, and rewards are still “coming soon.”
Wallet cards on the shortlist – cryptocardshortlist
Content created by the «cryptocardshortlist» team
