AutoCard, examined: eligibility, fees, top-up flow and the questions nobody answers on the site

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

AutoCard is a prepaid card product from ESTARTECH PTE. LTD., a Singapore-registered company, that lets you load a card balance from crypto rather than from a bank account. The pitch is straightforward: send digital assets to the platform, allocate them to a virtual or physical card, and spend wherever the card is accepted. The execution, however, is far less transparent than the marketing suggests, and several of the things you would normally look for on a card-issuer’s website are simply not stated. This review walks through what AutoCard actually publishes, where the gaps are, and whether the card makes sense for a reader who already holds crypto and wants a way to spend it.

AutoCard works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

AutoCard scores 5.0 out of 10. It is a workable idea for a narrow group of users, residents of India who already hold USDT or USDC and who are comfortable funding a prepaid balance from crypto, but the gap between what the platform says and what a cautious user wants to know is wide enough that I would hesitate before treating it as a primary card.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a AutoCard payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The card suits you if you live in an eligible jurisdiction (currently India is named explicitly), you already hold stablecoins, you do not need a monthly statement or a card-issuer relationship you can read the small print of, and you are willing to treat the card as a way to convert crypto into day-to-day spending rather than as a financial product in its own right. The card does not suit you if you are outside the named eligible jurisdictions, if you need a clearly disclosed fee schedule, if you want Apple Pay or Google Pay support, if you want a card issued by a named and licensed bank, or if you want chargeback rights spelled out in advance.

Criterion Score Why
Who can get it 3 / 10 Cards are “exclusively” for residents of India or other eligible jurisdictions the company names; citizens and residents of China (including Hong Kong and Macao) are explicitly excluded
Cost 5 / 10 The card issuance fee is taken from the wallet “as specified on the Platform” but the amount is not in the terms; other fees are not stated
Top-up options 6 / 10 Digital assets via a “Deposit” flow, starting data suggests USDT or USDC; supported networks are not disclosed
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 The company behind it is named (ESTARTECH PTE. LTD., Singapore) with an address and a contact email; the card issuer and any licences are not named, and there is no Trustpilot page to check
Everyday use 6 / 10 A virtual and a physical card live in the app; the virtual card is created “in seconds”; Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM access are not stated

Who they will issue the card to

Eligibility is the first thing AutoCard is unusually specific about, and the answer narrows the addressable audience sharply. The terms, last updated on 14 January 2025, say the cards are “exclusively available” to residents of India or “any other eligible jurisdiction as specified by the Company” who can show valid identification and contact details tied to that country. You must be at least 18. Citizens or residents of China, including Hong Kong and Macao, are explicitly prohibited, and the same prohibition extends to anyone connecting from a Chinese IP address or using a Chinese phone number or ID.

That combination of “India” plus “any other eligible jurisdiction the company names” is important: the published list is not exhaustive, but it is also not open. The company reserves the right to add or remove jurisdictions without spelling them out in the terms you signed, so eligibility for a reader outside India is a question that has to be answered at sign-up, not from the website alone. The block on Chinese nationality, residence, IP, phone and ID covers four separate ways a regulator or issuer might object to a customer, which suggests the rule is being enforced by automated screening rather than only by self-declaration.

What the terms do not say is just as telling. They do not list which countries beyond India are eligible, they do not say whether non-resident Indians can apply, and they do not address refugees, students abroad, or people whose ID documents come from a country other than the one they live in. If you do not have a government-issued ID from a country the platform considers eligible, you should expect the KYC step to fail rather than to be worked around later.

A second set of rules flows from the same section. The terms require a valid ID and valid contact details, which in practice means an address you can prove and a phone number or email that works. Combined with the KYC requirement I cover in the next section, the practical gate is not just “do you live in India” but “can you complete a full identity check from India with Indian documents.” If that is your situation, you are inside the intended audience. If it is not, the rest of this review is largely academic.

How to get the card

Getting an AutoCard is a two-step process: register an account, then complete KYC, then create a card inside the app. The platform’s pages describe the account states explicitly. Right after sign-up, you sit in an “Unverified Account” state. All you need for that is an email or phone number and a password. The terms call this out in Annex 1 of the KYC Policy: an Unverified Account cannot top up a wallet and cannot apply for a card. You have to clear the next step first.

The next step is verification. The platform shows a “NEED TO KYC” heading and asks for a KYC questionnaire and supporting documents. The full list of documents, the address proof it accepts, and the age check beyond “18+” are not stated on the public pages, which means you discover what is required when you actually open the form. The terms add a practical wrinkle: foreign-language documents may have to be translated by a certified translator, at your cost. If you are an Indian resident with a PAN, expect PAN to be requested in addition to your ID, since the terms mention PAN explicitly as a document the company may ask for.

Once you are verified, the card flow lives inside the iOS or Android app. The App Store listing describes virtual cards created “in seconds” and several cards managed in one place, which is consistent with how prepaid programmes typically work: each card is a fresh number on the platform’s account, and the wallet funds the balance behind it. The card network (Visa or Mastercard) and the settlement currency are not stated on the website, with the only starting-data hint being that balances are shown in a fiat currency the user selects. Delivery time for the physical card is not stated. If you are the kind of reader who plans around a specific delivery date, ask before paying the issuance fee.

A note on the apps themselves. The iOS app “AutoCard – Crypto as Fiat” is free, version 1.3.15 as of 13 October 2026, requires iOS 15.1 or later, and is English-only. Its rating rests on a small sample, five from three ratings, so the store number is not a reliable signal either way. The Android build is an APK hosted on Amazon S3 (AutoCard_1.3.15.apk), not a Google Play listing, which means Android users have to enable installs from unknown sources and accept the security trade-off that comes with that.

What it really costs

The honest summary of AutoCard’s cost disclosure is that almost every fee you would expect to see is missing from the public terms. The only cost the terms name is the card issuance fee, and even that is described as the amount “specified on the Platform” rather than as a figure in the agreement. In other words, the price of the card is whatever the app says it is at the moment you tap to create one, and the terms do not lock that number down.

A useful way to read the rest of AutoCard’s pricing is to compare it with what a typical prepaid crypto card publishes. The categories below are the ones that matter in day-to-day use; the AutoCard columns show what the public pages say, which in most cases is “not stated.”

Fee or limit What AutoCard says
Card issuance Paid from the wallet at the amount shown on the platform; figure not published
Monthly or annual fee Not stated
Conversion fee (crypto to wallet fiat) Not stated
Foreign-exchange fee (wallet fiat to merchant currency) Not stated
ATM withdrawal fee Not stated
ATM access Not stated
Daily spending limit “Customizable” in the app, no figure published
Monthly spending limit Not stated

Two or three concrete situations show how the gaps hit you in practice. First, imagine a verified user in India creates a virtual card and tops it up with USDT, then buys a subscription priced in US dollars. The chain of conversions is crypto to wallet fiat, then wallet fiat to US dollars at the merchant. Two fees may apply, and neither is published. The conversion at the deposit stage uses the platform’s “regularly updated” rate, and the FX leg is whatever the platform charges, if anything. A reader cannot tell from the public pages whether the same rate is used or whether there is a second spread. Second, take a verified user travelling outside India who uses the physical card at an ATM. ATM access itself is not confirmed, and even if it is allowed, the withdrawal fee and any limit on number or value of withdrawals are not stated. Third, take a user who creates a card and then changes their mind: the terms say that once funds are allocated to a virtual card the allocation is final and cannot be reversed back to the wallet, so the issuance fee is not the only thing that can be lost. Decisions made before you see the final numbers are decisions you cannot undo.

The tier picture is empty too. There is no public indication of different card tiers, premium options, or fee discounts for higher balances. The wallet, the terms add, operates only with virtual assets, not fiat, so any “balance in rupees” you see is the platform’s own representation of a crypto position. That is fine if you understand it, but it is not the same as holding rupees in a bank.

Top up

Topping up AutoCard starts with a transfer rather than with a bank card. The public pages show a “Deposit” flow followed by “Spend”, funded with “digital assets.” The starting data points to USDT or USDC, which are the two largest dollar-denominated stablecoins, but the platform does not publish which networks it accepts, which minimums it applies, or how long a confirmed deposit takes to clear. That is the kind of detail you would normally see in a help-centre article called “How to deposit” with screenshots; here, it is not on the site at the time of writing.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up AutoCard starts with a transfer to the right network

The flow itself has two stages. First, you deposit virtual assets into the platform wallet. The terms are clear that the wallet is “recharged only with virtual assets” and that the wallet balance is the only source the card issuance fee can be taken from. Top-up fees at this stage are not stated. Second, you allocate wallet funds to a card. The terms are also clear that this step is one-way: “Once funds are allocated to a Virtual Credit Card, the allocation is final and cannot be reversed or transferred back to the Wallet.” A separate, broader rule says wallet balances “cannot be withdrawn or transferred to external accounts unless explicitly permitted by the Company,” so the only way value leaves the platform is by being spent on the card.

The practical consequences are worth spelling out. If you send the right token on a network the platform does not support, the deposit will not arrive. Blockchain transfers are typically irreversible, so the standard industry warning applies: send a small test amount first, and confirm with support that the network you intend to use is the one the platform expects. If the platform does not publish its accepted networks, that confirmation step is the only safety net. And if you allocate more to a card than you end up spending, the unspent balance is not refundable to the wallet, so it sits on the card until the card expires or is closed. None of this is unusual for prepaid crypto cards, but AutoCard publishes less of the detail than most peers do.

Paying with it every day

Once the card is loaded, the day-to-day experience depends on three things the platform only partially describes. The first is where the card is accepted. Because the network and the issuer are not stated on the public site, you cannot pre-check whether a particular merchant category will work. Standard prepaid-card limitations may apply: some online merchants decline prepaid numbers, some decline foreign-issuer BINs, and some run an address-verification check that does not work well outside the country of issue. If a payment is declined, the terms warn that an authorisation hold can remain on the card for several days, which can look like the money has been taken twice even when it has not.

The second is the in-app experience. The App Store listing mentions “instant notifications for transactions,” which is a useful safeguard if you keep notifications on, because it lets you spot a transaction you do not recognise within seconds. The same listing claims “advanced encryption” and “secure payment processing,” which are marketing phrases rather than a description of any specific control, and it does not mention 2FA, card freeze, or custody arrangements for the underlying crypto. The terms do not address those controls either, so a cautious reader should assume the basics (2FA on the account, a way to freeze the card, segregation of customer funds) are not in place unless the in-app settings show otherwise.

The third is the gap around mobile wallets. The platform does not state whether the card can be added to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and the Android app being distributed as an APK rather than through Google Play suggests Google Pay tokenisation is at least not part of the default experience. Without tokenisation, every online payment goes through the card number directly, and a data breach at a merchant you used once can expose it. Rewards for spending are also not stated, beyond the existence of an “invitation and activation reward rules” page that sounds like a referral programme rather than a cashback scheme.

Finally, the disputes story is the one to read carefully if you care about consumer protection. The terms say the company “is not a party to any transactions between the Client and third parties,” does not handle claims about non-fulfilment by recipients, and bears no liability for such disputes. The platform “may reverse transactions it deems suspicious,” which means it has the power to claw back a payment but is not committing to handle your complaint if a merchant does not deliver. In practice, that is closer to a prepaid gift card than to a Visa or Mastercard debit card, where the issuer handles chargebacks under the network’s rules. If your main reason for using a card is the protection it offers when something goes wrong, that is a significant gap.

What can go wrong

The risks fall into three groups, and it helps to keep them separate.

Operational and company risk. AutoCard is operated by ESTARTECH PTE. LTD., registered at 68 Circular Road, #02-01, Singapore 049422, with the public contact [email protected]. The terms name the operator but not the card issuer and not any licence under which the card is issued. A prepaid card that is not issued by a regulated bank or e-money institution does not have the safeguards a bank-issued card has, and the platform is not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. The iOS app was first released on 15 July 2025; the only dated event since then is the app’s version history. The platform has no Trustpilot page, and no user complaints turned up in a public search, but the absence of complaints in a small user base is not the same as a clean record.

Security and custody risk. The terms do not state how the platform stores customer crypto, whether 2FA is available, whether you can freeze the card from the app, or whether customer funds are segregated from the company’s own funds. The App Store listing mentions “advanced encryption” and instant notifications, which are baseline expectations rather than a control framework. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so any compromise of your account credentials or the platform itself can lead to a total loss of the wallet balance, and once value is allocated to a card, it cannot be moved back to the wallet.

Regulatory and access risk. The terms allow the company to change eligible jurisdictions, to reverse transactions it deems suspicious, and to refuse to refund wallet balances “unless explicitly permitted by the Company.” The combination means your access to funds depends on a single private decision rather than on a published rule. If a regulator in your country acts against the platform, the company could decide to wind the programme down, and the published terms do not commit to a notice period or a refund mechanism. As a comparison point, when Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022, the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer; when WaveCrest was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes were closed. Programme closures happen, and a small platform with no public issuer and no public licence is more exposed to one than a bank-issued card is.

A final, quieter risk is the irreversible nature of crypto itself. If you send USDT to a wallet address on the wrong network, or to an address the platform does not support, the funds may be lost or recoverable only through support, with no guarantee of success. The platform does not publish its supported networks, so this is the kind of error that a reader can make without warning.

What to take instead

A useful way to compare alternatives is to look at how each one handles the three questions AutoCard leaves open: who is eligible, what it costs, and how you fund it.

CardFlow is a similar India-adjacent product aimed at Nigeria (“Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform”) and “Nigerians and global users,” with no country list or exclusions stated. It issues a virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes, and creating one is free according to its FAQ. It accepts Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer, with networks not stated. Rewards and other fees are not stated. The card’s overall score is 4.9 / 10, reflecting the same kind of disclosure gaps AutoCard has, but with the upside of a clear free-creation policy and a known card network.

HyperCard is a prepaid card whose official pages do not state a country list, while its App Store listing says the card works in “more than 176 countries” (acceptance, not eligibility). The card balance can be USD or EUR, and funding is via crypto such as USDT, BTC or ETH in the app, converted to USD or EUR on the card. Networks and fees are not stated on the pages the reviewer could read. The overall score is 4.7 / 10. HyperCard’s main advantage is a wider acceptance footprint, but the disclosure gaps are similar to AutoCard’s.

Card.fi is a step up on disclosure and overall score (6.6 / 10). Its banner says cards ship to “200+ countries,” and the terms bar residents of, or orders from, “a country subject to sanctions that would prohibit the service.” It offers Virtual Classic, Virtual Premium, physical and metal (stainless steel) cards, with every physical order including a virtual card. Cards are issued “under licence from the relevant card schemes,” though Visa and Mastercard are not named. Pricing is published: Virtual Classic $49 once, Virtual Premium $249 once, no monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee. Top-up is 1.5% plus $1.00 for Classic and 1% for Premium; FX is 3.5% for Classic and 2.5% for Premium. Funding is via 32 coins across 5 networks (Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana, Kaanch), with a deposit address per card and conversion at market rate on arrival; the wrong chain risks permanent loss. Cashback is on spending only: Classic 0.8% capped at 10 USDT per month, Premium 1%, Metal 1.2% capped at 100 USDT per month and 5,000 USDT, or 2% capped at 250 USDT per month and 20,000 USDT, with a 10% headline at coffee shops capped at 10 USDT per month and “up to 18%” on Metal balances. The trade-off is the higher upfront cost and the explicit FX fee, both of which AutoCard does not publish.

Card Score Eligibility Card type Published costs Funding Cashback
AutoCard 5.0 / 10 India or other eligible jurisdictions named by the company; China excluded Virtual and physical (network not stated) Issuance fee only, amount not in terms Crypto (USDT/USDC per starting data) Not stated
CardFlow 4.9 / 10 Nigeria-focused, “global users”, no list Virtual USD Mastercard Free to create, others not stated BTC, USDT, ETH, Naira bank transfer Not stated
HyperCard 4.7 / 10 Acceptance in 176+ countries, eligibility list not stated Prepaid, USD or EUR balance Not stated USDT, BTC, ETH in the app Not stated
Card.fi 6.6 / 10 200+ countries, sanctions-based bar Virtual, physical, metal Virtual Classic $49, Premium $249, no monthly fee 32 coins on 5 networks 0.8%–2% on spending

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend AutoCard to a narrow reader: a resident of India who already holds USDT or USDC, who wants a quick way to convert that into day-to-day spending without going through a bank, who has read the terms and accepts that the card behaves more like a prepaid product than a bank-issued debit card, and who is willing to top up in small amounts first to learn the platform’s quirks before committing a larger balance. For that reader, the value is the speed of creating a virtual card and the fact that the platform does at least name a specific country in its terms.

I would not recommend AutoCard to a reader who needs a card with a fully published fee schedule, a named and licensed issuer, Apple Pay or Google Pay support, chargeback rights spelled out in advance, or the ability to move unspent card balance back to a wallet. I would also not recommend it to anyone whose residency or citizenship is not clearly covered by the “India or any other eligible jurisdiction” wording, since the company reserves the right to define that list on its own. If any of those requirements matter to you, the alternatives section above is a better starting point, and Card.fi in particular is a more transparent option at the cost of a higher upfront card price and explicit top-up and FX fees.

Frequently asked questions

What is AutoCard?

AutoCard is a prepaid card product issued through an app by ESTARTECH PTE. LTD., a Singapore-registered company, that lets you fund a card balance from crypto such as USDT or USDC rather than from a bank account, and then spend that balance wherever the card is accepted.

How does AutoCard work?

You register an account, complete KYC, deposit supported digital assets into the platform wallet, allocate wallet funds to a virtual or physical card, and spend. The card draws on a pre-loaded balance, so it cannot overdraw, and the terms say funds allocated to a virtual card cannot be reversed back to the wallet.

Is AutoCard a bank?

No. AutoCard is operated by a Singapore-registered company, and the terms do not name a bank or e-money institution as the card issuer, so it is not a bank-issued card and customer funds are not covered by a bank deposit guarantee scheme.

Who owns AutoCard?

AutoCard is operated by ESTARTECH PTE. LTD., registered at 68 Circular Road, #02-01, Singapore 049422, with the public contact [email protected]. The card issuer and any licences are not stated in the public terms.

Is AutoCard available in my country?

The terms say the cards are “exclusively available” to residents of India or other eligible jurisdictions the company names, and they explicitly exclude citizens and residents of China including Hong Kong and Macao. For any other country, eligibility has to be checked at sign-up rather than from the website.

How do I apply for AutoCard?

You download the iOS or Android app, register with an email or phone and a password, complete the KYC questionnaire and document upload, and then create a virtual card in seconds or order a physical one; the issuance fee is taken from the wallet at the amount shown on the platform.

Does AutoCard require KYC?

Yes. An Unverified Account cannot top up a wallet or apply for a card, so KYC is a prerequisite for using the product. The full list of accepted documents, address proof, and any further age check are not stated on the public pages.

How do I top up AutoCard?

You go to the “Deposit” flow in the app and send supported digital assets, with starting data pointing to USDT or USDC, to the platform wallet, then allocate wallet funds to a card. The platform does not publish which networks it accepts, so a test transfer first is the only safe way to confirm.

How do I add AutoCard to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

The public pages do not state whether AutoCard supports Apple Pay or Google Pay, and the Android app is distributed as an APK rather than through Google Play, so tokenised mobile wallet support is not part of the documented experience at the time of writing.

Is AutoCard safe?

The App Store listing mentions “advanced encryption” and instant transaction notifications, but the terms do not describe custody, 2FA, card-freeze or customer-fund segregation, and the company reserves the right to reverse transactions it deems suspicious and to refuse wallet withdrawals “unless explicitly permitted by the Company,” so treat the card as a prepaid product rather than as a bank-issued one.

Content created by the «cryptocardshortlist» team