WantToPay looks light, fast and cheap on the surface, but the lack of a stated issuer, an unspecified ATM policy, and quiet public record on country eligibility mean you should read the small print first.

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

WantToPay is a virtual payment card you fund from crypto, built around a Telegram Mini App rather than a standalone mobile application. The product is marketed at people who need to pay foreign services with a card and who already live inside Telegram. On paper the fees are low at the entry tier and the sign-up is fast, but a closer look at the public information shows a thin page on country eligibility, no named card issuer, no physical card, no cash access, and a Trustpilot page where the headline score is hidden for a guideline breach. This review walks through what the card does, what it really costs, where the unknowns sit, and who it actually fits.

WantToPay works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

The WantToPay card earns 4.5 out of 10 in this review. That is a below-average score, and the reason is not that the product is broken in any obvious way, but that the public information around it is unusually thin for a payment card, and the costs climb quickly once you move past the prepaid entry tier. If you only need a single small virtual card to pay a foreign subscription once or twice, the prepaid tier can be a reasonable tool. As a primary spending card it leaves too many everyday questions unanswered, especially around who actually issues it, which countries are supported, and what happens when something goes wrong.

Here is the score broken down by the criteria that drive the rating.

Criterion Mark Reason
Who can get it 6 / 10 Countries and residency rules are not stated; the only public age rule is 18+; a new-user promo is offered.
Cost 2 / 10 Per-tier issue fees of 990 RUB, 1,590 RUB and 3,490 RUB, a $6 monthly service fee on three of four tiers, and crypto top-up fees of 9% on Easy and 7% on Smart.
Top-up options 6 / 10 RUB by phone number or bank card, plus crypto in BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC and TON, though networks are not named.
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Operator is WTP Technology Limited in Hong Kong; the card issuer is not named; Trustpilot has hidden the headline score for a guideline breach across 274 reviews, with users reporting cards that stop working and funds that become hard to reach.
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual card only, no physical card, no ATM; Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay are limited to the Smart and Pro tiers.
Total 4.5 / 10

The audience that WantToPay is most clearly aimed at is a user paying for a foreign subscription or service through a virtual card. If that is not your situation, the value proposition narrows quickly: the prepaid tier is the cheapest way in, but it has the tightest limits; the higher tiers add mobile wallets and higher limits but at a recurring cost that starts to look uncompetitive with mainstream crypto cards.

Who they will give the card to

The eligibility rules on WantToPay’s home page are limited to the basics: the card is a promotion for new users aged 18 or over. The terms index does not publish a country list, and the home page does not name supported or excluded countries. That is unusual for a payment card, because eligibility for a Visa or Mastercard product is normally anchored to the issuer’s regulated footprint, and the issuer here is not named in the public materials. A third-party write-up, which I have not been able to confirm against an official document, says the tariff terms bar sellers from a list of countries that includes Russia, Belarus, China and Turkey “among others”, but that wording concerns where the card can be used rather than who can apply.

In practice, the user flow is Telegram-first. There is no App Store or Google Play app, only a Telegram Mini App and a website, and the Mini App is the natural place to start a verification. KYC is run by Sumsub, and the official description is “verification with one document”. WantToPay says it does not store document copies, which is consistent with Sumsub’s standard model where the vendor handles the data and the platform stores the result. The KYC step is described as a single level: email, phone confirmation, a photo of an ID document (passport, foreign passport, or driver’s licence, with both sides for an ID card or licence) and a selfie that may include a blink or a head turn. WantToPay says processing usually takes a few minutes; the most common reason for failure is poor photo quality, and the advice after several failed attempts is to contact support. There is no published list of rejection codes, and proof of address is not listed as a required document, which is shorter than the EU baseline of name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation.

If you are reading this from outside the usual crypto-card markets, the practical effect is that you can complete the application form and submit documents, but you will not find a country list that confirms you are eligible before you do so. That is the first thing I would want a reader to check.

How to get it

The sign-up path is short. You open the Telegram Mini App or the website, register an email, confirm your phone, pick a tier and submit the KYC documents through Sumsub. WantToPay says the document check usually clears within a few minutes when the photos are clean. New users who complete KYC within seven days of registration get a 30% promo on the Easy tier’s issue fee.

The card you receive is a virtual card only, with USD as the base currency, 3-D Secure for online payments, and an unspecified network. The third-party source I mentioned earlier says some Easy and Prepaid cards carry Singapore BINs and that Smart cards are issued in the USA, but WantToPay’s own pages do not name the network or the issuer, and I have not been able to confirm those details against an official document. There is no physical card and no delivery step, because the card is generated inside the Mini App.

There is no separate activation step after the card is issued: the details are visible in the app and can be added to a supported wallet. What you do next depends on the tier you chose, and that is where the cost picture starts to matter, which is the next section.

Fees: what it really costs

The pricing model is built on four tiers, and the cost picture is uneven across them. There is a one-time issue fee in each tier, a $6 monthly service fee on three of the four tiers, and per-transaction fees that change with the tier. The Prepaid tier is sold at fixed face values, so the issue “fee” is effectively the card price.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a WantToPay payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Here is the costs table for the four tiers, drawn from the official comparison page and the per-tier tariff.

Fee or limit Prepaid Easy Smart Pro
Issue fee $10-$200 (face value) 990 RUB (~$10) 1,590 RUB (~$17) 3,490 RUB (~$35)
Monthly service fee $0 $6 $6 $6
Validity 24 months 24 months 36-60 months not stated
Crypto top-up fee n/a (fixed denomination) 9% 7% not stated
Successful transaction fee $0.25-$0.50 $0.25-$0.50 $0.50-$1.00 + 0.2% for contactless $0.5 + 1% of payment amount
Failed transaction fee $0.25-$0.50 $0.25-$0.50 $0.40-$1.00 $1
Single-transaction cap $10,000 $20,000 $25,000 not stated
Daily purchase limit up to $20,000 up to $50,000 not stated not stated
Monthly purchase limit not stated not stated not stated $50,000

To make those numbers less abstract, here is what the same three everyday payments would look like across the tiers. I am using the published per-transaction fee and ignoring any FX cost, which is not stated in the comparison table, and ignoring crypto top-up fees, which I cover in the next section.

Three things stand out in the costs table. First, the $6 monthly fee applies to Easy, Smart and Pro but not to Prepaid, so the Prepaid tier is the only one with a recurring cost of zero. Second, the per-transaction fees on Smart and Pro add up faster than the headline tier names suggest, because the contactless and 1% components are easy to miss. Third, the public materials do not state a separate currency-conversion commission in the comparison table, even though the card spends in USD and any non-USD purchase will go through the card scheme’s FX. WantToPay’s page says RUB top-ups are converted “at the app rate” without naming the spread, and the cost of paying in other currencies is not stated. A reader who plans to pay in EUR or another non-USD currency should ask support for the FX margin before relying on the card.

A third-party source, again not confirmed by WantToPay’s own pages, says a “Plus” subscription is required for Easy and Smart at 690 RUB or 6 USDT per 30 days, with longer packages at 1,860 / 3,310 / 4,100 RUB for three, six or twelve months, and that one subscription covers all the user’s cards. That pricing looks like the $6 monthly fee in the official table, and I would expect them to be the same item. If you are reading the public tariff and cannot find the line, that may be why.

Top up: how to fund the card

The top-up story is split into two paths: RUB by phone number or bank card, and crypto in BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC or TON. The home page lists BTC, USDT, USDC and TON, with ETH and BNB added in the comparison table. The minimum deposit is $10 on every tier, and a successful deposit is usually credited at once, with a stated ceiling of 180 minutes. The crypto top-up fees are 9% on Easy and 7% on Smart, and the RUB top-up is converted “at the app rate” with the fee not stated. New payment details must be generated for every top-up through the Cryptomus payment processor, and WantToPay warns that a transfer sent to previously used details “cannot be returned”, which is the typical warning for any one-time deposit address in this category.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up WantToPay starts with a transfer to the right network

The networks on which the crypto is sent are not named on the public page, and that is the part of the top-up story I would not skip over. Networks are the way a card like this can lose a reader’s money, because the deposit address is a token on a specific chain: USDT on Ethereum (ERC-20) is a different transfer from USDT on Tron (TRC-20), and the wallet that prepares the transfer has to send on the right one. USDC on Tron in particular has not been natively available since Circle stopped supporting it in February 2024, so a “USDC over TRC20” deposit is not a real option here. The public WantToPay page does not say which chains are accepted for each coin, which is an unusual gap for a product that takes crypto deposits. The safe move is to generate a fresh deposit address inside the app each time, follow the network it shows to the letter, and double-check the network on the sending side before signing the transfer.

Who pays the underlying blockchain network fee is also not stated. On Ethereum, fees are paid in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT but no ETH cannot send, and the same logic applies to other chains. If the cardholder pays the gas, that is an extra cost on top of the 7% or 9% top-up fee; if the processor pays it, that is usually folded into the top-up fee. The public pages do not say which.

Bank cards cannot be used to receive payments into the card, and the card is not designed for withdrawing funds from services. When a card expires, it is deleted together with any remaining balance, so unspent funds at expiry are lost. There is an “internal balance” that holds funds when a card-provider technical issue prevents the load, or at support’s request, and the user can move that balance back to a card free of charge, with a $2 minimum and a $500 daily cap. The user cannot top up the internal balance from a card.

Paying with it every day

The card is a virtual card in USD with 3-D Secure. There is no physical card and no ATM access, so the everyday-use story is online and in-app. Smart and Pro support Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay; Easy does not, on the published comparison, which is a meaningful difference for anyone who planned to tap the card with a phone. Pro adds a “VIP support” line and an “offline abroad” tag in the comparison table; the meaning of that tag is not spelled out in the public materials.

A third-party source, again not confirmed by WantToPay, lists a refusal code #D005 for prohibited merchant categories that include crypto exchanges, casinos, adult content, mining, e-wallets and government bodies, with gambling and donations banned outright and merchants such as Brawl Stars, Genshin Impact, the Epic Games Store and the PlayStation Store blocked on every tariff. Apple Pay is also listed as limited to Smart in that source. I have not seen those restrictions in WantToPay’s own pages, so I would treat them as a reason to test a small payment before relying on the card at a specific merchant, rather than as a confirmed blocklist.

There is no stated cashback or rewards programme. The published comparison table does not list a rewards column, and the user reports I have read do not mention any earning rate. For a reader who is choosing a crypto card partly for the cashback, that is a quiet negative.

The product is a Telegram Mini App plus a website, and there is no App Store or Google Play app, which means no public app ratings. The Mini App experience is a major part of the everyday-use picture, and the people who already live inside Telegram will be more comfortable with it than people who do not. If Telegram is not part of your daily routine, this is a heavier product to use than a typical banking app.

Disputes, chargebacks and the formal complaint process are not stated on the public pages. Given the absence of a named issuer and a published scheme membership, I would not assume the card carries the same dispute rights as a Visa or Mastercard debit card issued by a regulated bank.

What can go wrong

The most consistent complaint theme in the user reports I have read is cards that stop working or funds that become hard to reach. The most recent reports describe top-ups that take anywhere from ten minutes to nearly an hour, a refusal to refund a 693 RUB issue fee, and a refund that took several months to come back. There are also positive reviews, often short, and some are from accounts with a single review, which is a pattern Trustpilot’s automated systems tend to flag.

WantToPay’s Trustpilot page, as of 2026-10-20, does not display a TrustScore: the rating is hidden because the page has breached Trustpilot’s guidelines, and the platform has removed fake reviews. The page carries 274 reviews, 152 in the last twelve months, with 85% at five stars and 13% at one star, and the company’s own homepage claims a 4.6. The combination of a hidden headline score, a clear majority of positive reviews, and a visible minority of users who say their money is stuck is the kind of profile a careful reader should not ignore.

The company is WTP Technology Limited, registered in Hong Kong under incorporation number 76394744. The card issuer is not named in the public materials, and the third-party source says the issuer and BIN sponsor are also not named, with BIN regions of the USA and Singapore. A payment card programme is normally backed by a regulated bank or e-money institution, and the absence of a named issuer in a card’s own pages is unusual.

On the security side, the public information is light. 3-D Secure is on for online payments, and Sumsub runs KYC without storing the document copy on WantToPay’s side. Beyond that, the custody model is not described, in-app freeze is not mentioned, two-factor authentication is not mentioned, spending controls are not mentioned, and insurance is not mentioned. Crypto transfers are irreversible once signed, so a wrong network or a wrong address is a real loss, and WantToPay’s own pages warn that a transfer to a used deposit address “cannot be returned”. Tether has said it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, which means a stablecoin balance is not the same thing as cash in a bank account even when the card is working normally.

Support is available through the Telegram bot @WantToPaySupportBot between 07:00 and 00:00 (GMT+3) and by email at [email protected]. Pro adds VIP support. There is an AI assistant in the knowledge base. Outside the supported hours, a stuck card or a stuck top-up will have to wait.

What to take instead

WantToPay is one of several Telegram-adjacent or virtual-first crypto cards. The three alternatives below are drawn from the same shortlist.

Card Score Card type Issue / monthly cost Funding path Where it fits
WantToPay 4.5 / 10 Virtual only, USD 990-3,490 RUB issue, $6/month on three tiers RUB by phone or bank card, BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC, TON One-off virtual card use for foreign services, especially inside Telegram.
CardFlow 4.9 / 10 Virtual USD Mastercard, free to create Free to create; monthly fee not stated BTC, USDT, ETH, Naira bank transfer Users with a Naira funding path or a need for a free-to-create virtual Mastercard.
HyperCard 4.7 / 10 Prepaid card, USD or EUR balance, network not stated Issue fee and fees not stated on the page read Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH, converted in the app Users who want a USD or EUR balance rather than a USD-only product.
Card.fi 6.6 / 10 Virtual Classic and Premium, physical and metal cards Virtual Classic $49, Virtual Premium $249; no monthly or inactivity fee 32 coins across Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana, Kaanch Users who want a card with a published fee table, a coin list with named networks, and cashback on spending.

The gaps that move the comparison are predictable. CardFlow is cheaper to start, but its public information on monthly fees and country coverage is also thin. HyperCard is positioned for users who want a EUR option, and its App Store page says the card is accepted in “more than 176 countries”, which is a statement about acceptance rather than eligibility. Card.fi is the most transparent on fees and the most flexible on coins, with named networks and a cashback programme, and it is also the most expensive to start at the virtual tier. None of these alternatives removes the underlying tension in this category: the cheaper the entry, the thinner the published information, and the more important it is to test with a small amount before committing a balance.

Who I would recommend it to

WantToPay is a reasonable fit for a specific kind of reader: someone who already uses Telegram, who needs a virtual card in USD, who is happy to fund it in RUB by phone number or in a small set of major crypto assets, and who plans to use the card for a small number of online or in-app payments rather than as a daily spending card. The Prepaid tier is the cheapest way in, with no monthly fee, and it makes sense as a one-off or short-term tool.

The card is not a good fit for a reader who needs a physical card, who needs to take cash out at an ATM, who needs mobile wallet support on the cheapest tier, who needs a published FX margin, or who needs a card with a named issuer on the public page. It is also not a good fit for a reader whose country or citizenship is not on any list they can read in advance, because the public materials do not publish one. The $6 monthly fee on three of the four tiers, the 9% crypto top-up fee on Easy, and the per-transaction fees on Smart and Pro mean the recurring cost is high relative to the published benefits, especially given that there is no cashback.

If you decide to try it, the practical path is to start at the Prepaid tier, complete KYC inside seven days to lock in the 30% Easy promo if you intend to upgrade, test a $5 payment on a non-critical merchant, and only move to a higher tier once you have a clear answer from support on the FX margin, the ATM policy and the country list you actually live in. The product is not unsafe by design, but the public information is thin enough that a small first run is the responsible way to learn what the card does in your situation.

Frequently asked questions

What is the WantToPay card?

The WantToPay card is a virtual USD payment card you fund with RUB or with crypto such as BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC or TON. It is built around a Telegram Mini App and a website rather than a standalone mobile app, and the public information is published by WTP Technology Limited, a company registered in Hong Kong under incorporation number 76394744. The card issuer is not named on WantToPay’s own pages.

How does WantToPay card work?

You sign up inside the Telegram Mini App, pass KYC through Sumsub with one ID document and a selfie, pick a tier and receive a virtual card. You load it with RUB by phone number or bank card, or with crypto through Cryptomus, and the balance is held in USD. The card uses 3-D Secure for online payments, and on Smart and Pro it can be added to Apple Pay, Google Pay or Samsung Pay.

Is WantToPay a bank?

No. WantToPay is operated by WTP Technology Limited, a Hong Kong company, and the card product itself is a virtual card. The card issuer is not named on the public pages, and the card is not described as a bank account. Crypto card programmes in this category are typically programme managers on top of a licensed issuer, and the regulator of the underlying funds depends on who that issuer is.

Who owns WantToPay?

The operator is WTP Technology Limited, registered in Hong Kong under incorporation number 76394744. WantToPay claims the company has been operating since 2022. Ownership of the company itself is not described in the public materials I have read.

Is WantToPay card available in my country?

The home page and the terms index do not publish a country list. The only public eligibility rule is the 18+ age check for the new-user promotion, and KYC is run by Sumsub with a single ID document. A third-party source says the tariff terms bar sellers from a list of countries that includes Russia, Belarus, China and Turkey “among others”, but that wording is about where the card can be used rather than who can apply. The safe answer is to ask support before you sign up.

How do I get a WantToPay card?

Open the Telegram Mini App or the website, register an email, confirm your phone and complete KYC through Sumsub. After the KYC check, which WantToPay says usually takes a few minutes, you pick a tier and the virtual card is generated in the app. There is no physical card and no delivery step. New users who complete KYC within seven days of registration receive a 30% promo on the Easy tier.

Does WantToPay card require KYC?

Yes. KYC is required before a card is issued and is run by Sumsub. The public description is “verification with one document”, covering a passport, a foreign passport or a driver’s licence, with a selfie that may include a blink or a head turn. Proof of address is not listed as a required document. WantToPay says it does not store document copies on its own systems.

How do I top up WantToPay card?

Top up by RUB through a phone-number instant transfer or a Russian bank card, or by crypto in BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC or TON through the Cryptomus processor. The minimum deposit is $10 on every tier and the credit is usually immediate, with a stated ceiling of 180 minutes. New payment details must be generated for every top-up, and a transfer to previously used details “cannot be returned” per WantToPay’s own warning. The crypto top-up fee is 9% on Easy and 7% on Smart, and the RUB top-up is converted “at the app rate” with the fee not stated.

How do I add WantToPay card to Apple Wallet?

On the Smart and Pro tiers, the card can be added to Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay. The Easy tier is not listed as supporting mobile wallets on the public comparison table, and a third-party source says Apple Pay is limited to Smart in practice. The actual add-to-wallet step is done from the card details inside the Telegram Mini App; the exact button location is not described in the public materials I have read.

Is WantToPay card safe?

The public information is light. 3-D Secure is on for online payments, KYC is run by Sumsub without WantToPay storing the document copy, and the card is virtual only so there is no physical card to clone. Custody of the crypto before it lands on the card is not described, in-app freeze, two-factor authentication and spending controls are not mentioned, and insurance is not mentioned. Crypto transfers are irreversible once signed, and the company warns that a transfer to a used deposit address cannot be returned. Treat the card as a low-balance tool rather than a primary store of value.

Content created by the «cryptocardshortlist» team