Volet card review: fees, eligibility and everyday use, tested against the fine print

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you’ve been weighing up crypto cards and the name Volet keeps coming up, this review walks you through what the card actually is, who can get one, what it costs in practice and where it falls short. Volet is an e-wallet with a payment card attached: you load the wallet with crypto, it converts to fiat, and the card spends that balance wherever Mastercard or Visa is taken. The score below is a snapshot, not a verdict on whether the card suits your situation. The conditions are current as of 2026-10-20.

Volet works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Volet earns 6.0 out of 10. It’s a workable option for people who want a regional Mastercard funded from a crypto balance, but the fee structure is uneven and the lack of a named card issuer on the public pages leaves questions that anyone who treats the card as a primary account should not ignore.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Volet payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Criterion Score Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 Service in 180+ countries; Global digital Mastercard in 150+ countries; regional cards for Asia-Pacific and Europe
Cost 4 / 10 Issuance from 1 USD/EUR; loading the card from the e-wallet costs 1% to 2.5% plus a fixed fee; top-up to the wallet itself is 3.5%
Top-up options 6 / 10 Card pulls only from the Volet fiat wallet; you can fund that wallet with USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH and others, but the networks aren’t named on the cards page
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Issuer and legal entity aren’t named; regional agreements instead; Trustpilot 4.1 out of 5 across 965 reviews, with complaints about high fees, verification limits and undelivered cards
Everyday use 7 / 10 Digital and plastic Mastercard and Visa options; Apple Pay and Google Pay on some cards; ATM support is not officially disclosed

Who it suits: users who specifically want a regional Mastercard, who are happy to load from a fiat wallet rather than direct from a chain, and who aren’t deterred by a fee that stacks up if you go the long way round. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a single transparent fee schedule, anyone who wants to know which bank stands behind the card, and anyone who treats 3.5% wallet-to-card top-ups as background rather than meaningful.

Will they give you the card?

Volet splits the world into two layers. The service itself is available in “180+ countries” — that’s the e-wallet, the crypto deposits, the exchange and the basic features. The card is narrower: a Global digital Mastercard in 150+ countries, an Asia-Pacific plastic Mastercard and a Europe card (Virtual and Plastic, in Visa or Mastercard flavours, in USD or EUR). The Europe cards cover EU residents plus Switzerland, Norway, Turkey and Israel; the Asia-Pacific card covers Australia, Cambodia, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, the Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand and Vietnam.

The page speaks of “region” rather than citizenship or residence, so the rule that decides whether you see a card option is the country your account is registered in. The exact check the system runs is not stated.

Unofficial third-party listings, including a snapshot from CryptoCardHub dated August 2026, name a number of restricted countries — among them the US, UK, Puerto Rico, Cuba, Iran, Syria and North Korea. I haven’t verified the full roster against Volet’s own pages, so treat that as a working reference rather than a guarantee. The official page gives you the right answer for your own country when you try to sign up.

If you’re in a supported region, the basic functions of the wallet don’t require KYC at all. Cards and the full feature set need verification — and for Asia-Pacific specifically, third-party reporting says a proof of residential address in the named country is required, but that comes from the same unofficial source, not from Volet’s own materials. The documents, age threshold and rejection grounds are not stated on the public pages.

How to get it

The flow is: open a Volet account, verify if you need card features, choose a card, pay the issuance fee, and either get a virtual card number in your account or wait for a plastic card in the post. The Asia-Pacific and Europe/Turkey/Israel cards come in plastic; the Global product is digital. Plastic card delivery is “free or express” — neither the timeframe nor the express price is published. The replacement cost isn’t stated either, though the same third-party source puts it at $19.95 for Digital, 1 USD/EUR (Virtual) or 5 USD/EUR (Plastic) in Europe, and $120 for Global Plus. Take those numbers as a guide only; they aren’t on Volet’s own page.

Verification itself is short. Volet’s help text says it “usually takes only a few minutes” once the right documents are uploaded. The documents it asks for, and the rejection grounds, are not listed in the help centre. The basic functions of the wallet — receiving crypto, holding balances, basic exchange — work without KYC. Cards, fiat methods without limits, full withdrawals and the higher limits are gated behind verification.

What it really costs

The cost story has three layers: issuing the card, getting money onto it, and spending it. The numbers below come from Volet’s own card pages; anywhere I lean on third-party reporting I say so.

Costs at a glance

Fee or limit Digital global Asia-Pacific Europe
Issuance $5 $5 1 USD/EUR (Virtual), 5 USD/EUR (Plastic)
Monthly card fee None listed None listed None listed
Load from e-wallet 2.5% + $1 1.5% + $1 1% + 1 USD/EUR
Crypto deposit to wallet Free Free Free
Auto-conversion (USDT/USDC) $1 $1 $1
Auto-conversion (BTC/ETH/others) Free Free Free
Fiat card top-up to e-wallet 3.5% 3.5% 3.5%
POS / FX (Mastercard rate) No extra fee No extra fee “No POS fee”
Per-purchase cap $50,000 $22,000 Not listed
Daily load cap Not listed $6,500 Not listed
ATM withdrawal Not stated Not stated Not stated

A monthly card fee isn’t listed; the FAQ says there are no monthly fees. The “load from e-wallet” line is the fee that hits when you move your Volet fiat balance onto the card. The “fiat card top-up” line is the fee that hits if you instead push money into the wallet from a Visa or Mastercard you already own — and at 3.5% it’s the more expensive route.

Three everyday payments

Paying a $20 café bill with USDT in your wallet. You deposit USDT to Volet (free), auto-convert to USD ($1 flat for USDT/USDC), then load the card from your fiat balance (2.5% + $1 on the Global digital). A single $20 load costs you $1.50 in fees. Loading $200 at once makes the fee portion smaller relative to the load amount. The lesson is that the percentage fee only feels small when the fixed $1 is amortised over a meaningful amount.

Buying something online in euros with the Europe card. You hold euros in the Volet wallet, the card spends euros, and the page says there’s “no POS fee”. If the merchant prices in a different currency, Mastercard’s own rate applies with no extra markup. The cost is just the 1% + 1 EUR you paid when you loaded the card.

Loading the wallet with a debit card instead of crypto. The same $20 funding costs 3.5% of the amount you put in, before any conversion fee. If your bank already has a foreign-exchange markup on the card, the total can easily reach the 11% a Trustpilot reviewer calculated in February 2026. That review isn’t official, but the 3.5% headline is.

ATM withdrawals. Officially, the ATM fee isn’t listed on the cards page. The third-party snapshot puts it at 1.99 USD/EUR inside the home region for the Europe card, 2.99 USD/EUR outside, $2.99 for Asia-Pacific (lower in Australia) and 2% + $2 for Global Plus, with a 2% extra on non-USD cash. Treat those as unofficial until you see them in the app. The daily ATM caps in the same source are $500/day on Digital, 500 EUR/USD per withdrawal on Europe, 1,650 USD/day on Asia-Pacific and 3,000 USD/day on Global Plus — again, not on the official page.

How to top up Volet

Topping up is a two-step process. The card pulls only from the Volet e-wallet, and the e-wallet itself can be filled with crypto, with a debit/credit card or, in principle, with bank methods. The first step is therefore getting money into the wallet, and only then loading the card.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Volet starts with a transfer to the right network

Crypto top-up. USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH and other listed tokens can be deposited to the Volet crypto wallet for free. You can also ask Volet to auto-convert on arrival — $1 flat for USDT and USDC, free for BTC, ETH and the other supported coins. The networks aren’t named on the cards page, which is the part I’d want to check most carefully before sending anything. Crypto-to-crypto transfers inside Volet are free; moving crypto out of Volet costs a network fee (USDT TRC-20 3.5 USDT, USDT/USDC on other chains 0.5, BTC/ETH at the network’s own fee) or, if you’re sending from a converted balance, 0.5% + 3.5 USD on TRC-20 and 0.5% + 0.5 USD on other chains.

Fiat card top-up. Push from a Visa or Mastercard, and you’ll pay 3.5%. That’s the same percentage wherever the card is issued.

Bank and SEPA. The cards page doesn’t list SEPA, SWIFT or local-bank fees for topping up the wallet, so I’d treat those as “not stated” rather than “free”. The reverse — withdrawing fiat from Volet — is more clearly priced: to a Volet card from 1%, to a Visa/Mastercard from 3%, SWIFT 1% + 25 USD, SEPA from 1%, local bank from 1%, P2P free.

Minimum top-up. Not stated. Balance on closure. Not stated.

The network question. Because the card page doesn’t name the supported chains for a given coin, and because sending crypto on the wrong network is one of the more common ways to lose money, I’d treat the support centre as the source of truth before clicking send. Volet lists about 20 languages on its site, but the answers to network questions still need checking on the actual deposit screen.

Paying with it every day

For in-store and online spending the cards behave like standard Mastercard or Visa prepaid products. The Global digital Mastercard is USD; the Europe card comes in USD or EUR and Visa or Mastercard; the Asia-Pacific plastic is Mastercard and USD. There’s no extra foreign-exchange fee on top of the Mastercard rate on the Global card, and the Europe card carries a “no POS fee” tag for spending in the card’s own currency.

Mobile wallets. The card pages mention Apple Pay and Google Pay on some cards without specifying which. The unofficial CryptoCardHub snapshot says Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported on the Digital and Spend Virtual cards, not advertised for Europe, and not supported on Asia-Pacific or Global Plus. Volet itself doesn’t confirm that in the materials I read. If tokenisation in Apple Wallet or Google Wallet is what you need, check the card’s own description rather than trust a generic page.

Merchant categories. Blocked merchant categories aren’t stated. In the crypto-card category in general, gambling (MCC 7995) is the merchant code most often restricted, and 3-D Secure can challenge online payments on top of any issuer policy — but Volet’s own list, if any, isn’t public.

Rewards. No cashback is mentioned. There’s a referral programme flagged as “coming soon” — 2 USD/EUR per activated digital card and 5 USD/EUR per activated plastic card, paid to the referrer once the referred user activates.

App. The site shows Google Play and App Store badges, but the page text also says the iOS app is “coming soon”. On the day I checked, the iOS app wasn’t available; the Android app is, but its store rating isn’t given. If mobile is your only channel, that’s worth verifying for yourself.

Disputes. Not stated. In the wider category, chargebacks are governed by the card network and by national rules; US debit reversals come from Regulation E, credit-card reversals from Regulation Z, and prepaid-card coverage varies. For a Volet card, the specific dispute process isn’t published.

What can go wrong

The issuer isn’t named. The card and personal pages don’t name the entity that issues the card, and the legal footer on the site just reads “Volet.com”. The published user agreements are split by region — “Agreement Canada”, “Agreement Costa Rica” — which suggests the contracting entity differs depending on where you live. If you ever need to take a dispute to a named party, that’s the part of the puzzle that the website doesn’t fill in for you. Third-party reporting says Volet is the successor to ADVcash and that the card issuer is “not publicly named”; the licences section on the public pages is empty. None of that is on the official site, so I’m flagging it as background, not confirmation.

Fees can stack up. Several Trustpilot themes repeat across reviews. The headline complaint is that fees to get euros in are higher than expected (August 2026 review), and one February 2026 reviewer calculated wallet-to-card costs of up to 11% of the amount. The official 3.5% fiat card top-up is the most expensive route into the wallet, and the load-from-wallet percentage plus fixed fee only feels small when the load is sizeable. If you top up in tiny amounts, the fixed $1 component dominates.

Verification can stall. A September 2026 Trustpilot review from a UK user says they couldn’t fully verify, and other reviewers report bank-statement PDFs rejected as proof of address (Volet says the issuing partner decides on document acceptance). If you’re outside the obvious mainstream jurisdictions, plan for a verification process that isn’t a five-minute formality even if Volet says it usually is.

Cards don’t always arrive. “Cards not sent” is a one-star theme on Trustpilot in September 2026. That’s a logistical issue, not a fee issue, and the public pages don’t promise a delivery time you can hold them to. If a card arriving in the post matters to you, build in slack.

Transactions blocked unexpectedly. A January 2026 reviewer reports transactions blocked from India without explanation. Volet’s public pages don’t say which countries see the card work at the merchant, and the only sure way to know is to try. Sending to an old wallet address (August 2026) is a different flavour of the same problem: when the user error and the platform error mix together, getting funds back is harder than getting them out of a regulated bank.

Custodial risk. Volet holds the balance on your behalf — that’s what makes the card work. The wider category has a long history of custodial failures (Mt. Gox, Coincheck, Ronin) and a separate history of crypto card programmes being shut down by their networks (FTX in November 2022, WaveCrest in 2018). Volet itself hasn’t had a publicly disclosed incident in the materials I read, and it lists PCI-DSS, GDPR, SSL and ISO badges and “multi-layer security, encryption, access controls and continuous monitoring”. What it doesn’t publish is whether 2FA, card freeze in app, spending controls, and safeguarding or insurance are in place. Funds held with an e-wallet aren’t bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme.

Regulatory horizon. In the EU, MiCA — the markets-in-crypto-assets regulation — took legal effect in June 2023; its stablecoin rules applied from 30 June 2024 and the remaining rules from 30 December 2024. A CASP authorised in one member state can serve the EU, but providers already operating under national law have only until 1 July 2026 (or until they get or are refused a MiCA authorisation) to continue under transitional rules. A Volet card issued in the EU depends on a payment-services licence in addition to any MiCA authorisation on the crypto side, and neither is published on the cards page. If a programme is wound down, the usual pattern is a notice period, then spending stops, then balances are returned — but you can’t enforce that on a published timeline from Volet.

Support. “24/7 live support” and a Contact us page are published, with a support centre at support.volet.com. The site itself is in about 20 languages, which is more than average for a crypto card.

What to take instead

Volet isn’t the only way to spend a crypto balance on a card, and the right alternative depends on what you’re trying to fix. The three below are the closest matches in the same shortlist: each loads from crypto and spends at a network, and each one has trade-offs that Volet doesn’t.

CardFlow — 4.9 / 10. Aimed at Nigeria and “Nigerians and global users”, though the country list and exclusions aren’t stated. The card is a free virtual USD Mastercard created in about 3 minutes, which is the part CardFlow does well. The fee schedule beyond the free creation isn’t stated, so if the cost story matters to you, you won’t find it on the public page.

HyperCard — 4.7 / 10. A prepaid card with a USD or EUR balance, deposit crypto such as USDT, BTC or ETH in the app, the card converts on the way. The App Store says the card works in “more than 176 countries”, which is acceptance, not eligibility, and Volet has a similar distinction. The networks aren’t stated, the fees aren’t stated on the pages I read, and the score reflects that thin public material.

Card.fi — 6.6 / 10. A virtual and physical (and metal) card programme, ships to “200+ countries” and bars users in sanctioned countries in the terms. The pricing is transparent: Virtual Classic $49, Virtual Premium $249 (physical and metal not listed), top-up fee 1.5% + $1.00 for Classic and 1% for Premium, FX fee 3.5% for Classic and 2.5% for Premium. The catch is the entry price — $49 for the cheapest virtual card is a lot if all you want is to spend $20 of crypto at a coffee shop. Cashback on spending ranges from 0.8% (Classic, capped) to 2% (Metal at the higher tier), and balances can earn up to 18% on Metal. The card funds from 32 coins across 5 named networks, which is the kind of clarity Volet doesn’t publish. If you want to know the network before you send, Card.fi tells you.

A simple way to think about it: CardFlow is a free virtual card for the Nigerian market, HyperCard is a prepaid card with a thin public fee schedule, Card.fi is a more expensive entry with a more transparent schedule, and Volet sits in the middle on price and behind Card.fi on transparency.

Who I would recommend it to

Volet is the card I’d point a reader towards if they want a regional Mastercard in USD or EUR, can fund the wallet in lumps rather than dribbles, and are comfortable with the fact that the issuer isn’t named on the public page. The score of 6.0 sits exactly where you’d expect: not unusable, not exciting.

If you only need a one-off virtual card for a small purchase, the 2.5% + $1 load fee will eat more of the value than it should, and a free virtual option like CardFlow or the entry-level Card.fi (if you don’t mind the upfront cost) will leave more of the money on the card. If you’re a heavy spender and were to load a larger amount at a time, the 2.5% + $1 line on the Global digital is more efficient. The fixed component is what tips the balance.

The two things I’d want every reader to check before they sign up are: first, that the card you want (Global, Asia-Pacific, Europe Virtual or Europe Plastic) actually shows up when you sign in from your country, because “region” is the rule the page uses; second, the network for the coin you plan to send, on the deposit screen itself, because the cards page doesn’t name the supported chains and a wrong-network deposit is one of the more common ways to lose money in this category. After that, the question is whether you’re happy to load a card where you don’t know which bank stands behind it, and that’s a personal call.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Volet card?

It’s a payment card tied to the Volet e-wallet. You fund the wallet with crypto such as USDT, USDC, BTC or ETH, Volet converts it to USD or EUR, and the card spends that balance wherever Mastercard or Visa is taken. The Global product is digital; Asia-Pacific and Europe products come in plastic.

How does the Volet card work?

You load the Volet fiat wallet, then load the card from that wallet. The Global digital Mastercard is USD; the Europe card is USD or EUR in Visa or Mastercard; the Asia-Pacific plastic is Mastercard in USD. Spending uses the Mastercard or Visa exchange rate with no extra FX markup on the Global card.

Is Volet a bank?

No. Volet is an e-wallet service, not a bank. The page does not name the card issuer, and the user agreements are published per region. Funds in the wallet are held by the e-wallet provider, not in a bank account, and are not the same as bank deposits.

Who owns Volet?

The public pages don’t say. Third-party reporting identifies Volet as the successor to ADVcash. Treat that as unofficial background; Volet’s own site doesn’t confirm or deny it in the materials I read.

Is the Volet card available in the United States?

Unofficial third-party listings place the US on a restricted list along with other countries. The cards page itself doesn’t publish a country list, so the only sure answer is what you see when you try to sign up. If the card option doesn’t appear for your account, it isn’t available to you.

How do I get a Volet card?

Open a Volet account, complete verification if you need card features, pick a card type, pay the issuance fee (1–5 USD/EUR depending on the product) and either use a virtual card number immediately or wait for the plastic card to arrive. The delivery time and express option are not stated on the public pages.

Does the Volet card require KYC?

Basic wallet functions don’t. Cards, fiat methods without limits, full withdrawals and the higher limits all need verification. Volet says it usually takes a few minutes. The exact documents, age threshold and rejection grounds aren’t published on the help centre.

How do I add the Volet card to Apple Wallet?

If your card supports tokenisation, the option appears inside the Volet app or in Apple Wallet’s “Add card” flow. The cards page mentions Apple Pay and Google Pay on some cards without naming which; third-party reporting says Digital and Spend Virtual support both, and Asia-Pacific and Global Plus don’t. Check the card’s own description before relying on it.

How do I withdraw money from Volet?

You can pull fiat from your Volet balance to a Volet card from 1%, to a Visa/Mastercard from 3%, by SWIFT for 1% + 25 USD, by SEPA from 1%, to a local bank from 1%, or P2P free. The fees on SEPA and local-bank top-ups into the wallet aren’t published, so I’d treat the outgoing side as the clearer direction.

Is the Volet card safe to use?

Volet publishes PCI-DSS, GDPR, SSL and ISO badges, and describes its security as “multi-layer security, encryption, access controls and continuous monitoring”. What’s not published is whether 2FA, in-app card freeze, spending controls, and safeguarding or insurance apply. Because the wallet is custodial, the usual category risks apply: counterparty failure, programme closure by the card network and a track record across the industry (Mt. Gox, Coincheck, Ronin, FTX, WaveCrest) of crypto-card brands being shut down. None of that is Volet-specific, but it’s the backdrop your decision sits on.

Content created by the «cryptocardshortlist» team