wavecard: a Bitcoin card for euro users in the EEA, with honest fees and a thin support record

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The wavecard is a payment card that spends Bitcoin instead of a bank balance. You load it with BTC, it converts at the moment of payment, and the result is an ordinary Visa debit for shops, subscriptions and cash machines. That basic idea is sound and the pricing is unusually honest: no monthly fee, no FX fee between fiat currencies, a virtual card that appears instantly for EUR 2.99. What gives me pause is everything around the edges. The issuing partner is a third party in a white-label arrangement, the KYC level described publicly is a single tier, disputes go through the issuer’s terms with no chargeback process described, and the public complaint history includes a frozen account with funds held. If you are in the European Economic Area, hold Bitcoin, and want to spend it without converting to euros first, wavecard is a real option. If you need chargeback rights, a long track record, stablecoins, or Apple Pay without a workaround, one of the alternatives will serve you better.

wavecard works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: a solid 6.3 out of 10

The card scores 6.3 / 10. Not a low number, not a high one. It is the score of a service that does a narrow job clearly and does not pretend to be more than that. The reader this card is built for is a resident of the European Economic Area who holds Bitcoin, already has a euro bank account or vIBAN, and wants to spend that Bitcoin directly rather than selling it somewhere first and paying a second conversion. For that person the daily mechanics are genuinely good: a virtual card instantly, Google Pay and Samsung Pay included, EUR 10,000 of daily spending room and EUR 350 of cash-machine withdrawals.

It is not built for the person who needs strong consumer protection, who wants to hold stablecoins rather than Bitcoin, who lives outside the EEA, or who expects a bank-style dispute process. Those are not small gaps. They are the difference between a card and a bank account, and the difference matters most exactly when something goes wrong.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 All residents aged 18+ within the EEA, by residence, 30 countries. Open to residents of the euro area only in practice terms, since funding runs through a euro vIBAN.
Cost 7 / 10 Virtual card EUR 2.99, physical EUR 29.99, no monthly fee. 1% on Bitcoin conversion, about 0.5% spread in the BTC price, no FX fee between fiat. Cash machine 3% + EUR 2.
Top-up options 6 / 10 BTC on-chain and Lightning, EUR to a personal vIBAN to buy Bitcoin, and a PRO self-custody option over NWC. No stablecoins.
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Wave Space Exploration UAB in Lithuania; services from Lightspark Payments Europe AS in Tallinn; the card is issued through a white-label arrangement with a third-party provider. Trustpilot 4.3 from 25 reviews, and one reported account block with funds held in January 2026.
Everyday use 8 / 10 Instant virtual card and physical Visa debit, Google Pay and Samsung Pay by default, up to EUR 350 a day at cash machines. Apple Pay only through the Curve app.
Total 6.3 / 10 A well-priced Bitcoin card for euro users inside the EEA, held back by a thin public record and no stated dispute process.

Who they will give you the card to

Eligibility is stated as: all residents aged 18 and over within the European Economic Area, by residence. That is thirty countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and the three EEA members outside the EU, Liechtenstein, Norway and Iceland.

The operative word is residence. The card’s own terms key the offer to where you live, not what passport you hold, so an EU citizen living in Poland and a Polish citizen living in Germany both qualify on the same basis. Age eighteen is the floor. There is no higher minimum stated for the basic product.

What this means for you is that if you are reading this from outside the EEA, none of the rest of the review is actionable, and the card is not something to plan around. Inside it, the residency test is straightforward but worth checking honestly before you apply: the requirement is that you actually reside in one of those countries, with an address you can document, because identity verification is part of issuing the personal vIBAN and card. The public pages do not list which specific documents are required or what proof of address is accepted, so if your housing situation is unusual — recent arrival, shared address, no utility bill in your name — that is a question worth putting to support before you invest time.

Fees and what a card actually costs you

The headline pricing is the strongest part of this card. There is no monthly fee, and the only thing you pay to have the card in your wallet is a one-off issuance charge paid in Bitcoin.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a wavecard payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value
Virtual card issuance EUR 2.99
Physical card issuance EUR 29.99
Monthly fee Free
Bitcoin conversion when spending BTC 1%
Spread in the BTC price About 0.5%, already included in the quoted price
FX fee between fiat currencies None
Cash machine withdrawal At cost: 3% + EUR 2
Daily spend limit EUR 10,000
Monthly spend limit EUR 10,000, up to EUR 15,000 with Tier 2 KYC
Daily cash machine limit EUR 350
Monthly cash machine limit EUR 3,000

Now the part most comparisons skip: what do these numbers feel like on an ordinary day. Take a EUR 40 grocery shop where you tap the card. If the balance is in Bitcoin, the card sells enough BTC at that moment to cover the price. You pay the 1% conversion fee, and the roughly 0.5% spread is already inside the Bitcoin price you were quoted. No separate currency fee applies because there is no second currency in the transaction. On EUR 40 that works out to well under a euro, which most people will not notice once.

A EUR 25 restaurant bill paid the same way behaves identically. The maths is the same because the mechanism is the same; there is no minimum charge and no per-transaction rounding penalty disclosed.

A EUR 120 cash machine withdrawal is where the fee becomes visible. The stated 3% + EUR 2 lands at EUR 5.60. The card does not state a free allowance, so treat any cash machine use as fully charged. With a daily cash limit of EUR 350 and a monthly one of EUR 3,000, this card is built for occasional cash, not for living on it.

One detail from the terms worth flagging because it changes the reading of the table: the terms describe 1% for card payments and 1% for Crypto to Euros swaps, which is the same 1% expressed from two directions. If you already hold euros on the vIBAN rather than Bitcoin, the relevant number is the swap fee, not a second card fee. There is no fee for holding the card, no fee for the virtual card beyond issuance, and no fee stated for creating additional cards — the app lets you make more than one.

How to Top up the card and what it holds

Four routes are described, and they are not equally accessible.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up wavecard starts with a transfer to the right network

On-chain Bitcoin is the simplest: you send BTC to a deposit address and the card holds Bitcoin until you pay with it. Lightning is supported too, through invoices and LN addresses, which is the cheapest way to move small amounts in. The PRO option is the interesting one: it connects your own self-custodial Lightning wallet over NWC, with Alby recommended, so the Bitcoin stays in a wallet you control and the card spends from it directly. That is a different risk profile from the custodial default, and if you already run a Lightning wallet it is the reason to choose this card.

There are no stablecoins. That is a real constraint for anyone whose crypto sits in USDC or USDT rather than Bitcoin, and it means you cannot diversify across networks to avoid a fee spike or wait out a congestion period on one chain.

One number is missing and I cannot fill it in: the public pages do not state a minimum deposit, and the deposit fee itself is not stated. Network withdrawal fees may apply depending on what you move and where. The one fee you can read directly is the terms’ 1% conversion applied to euros arriving at your personal vIBAN.

Withdrawals work the other way: the card refunds are converted back to BTC at the available market rate, so a refund from a shop does not arrive as euros. Closing the account is done by email to [email protected]. What happens to a remaining balance on closure is not described, which matters more than it sounds — if you are deciding whether to leave money sitting here, that is the question to ask first. And there is an inactivity rule worth knowing: accounts left idle for 365 days may be closed or charged a maintenance fee.

Paying with it every day

This is where the card scores best, and the gap between 8 out of 10 and something lower is mostly about how few things get in your way.

The virtual card is instant. You open the app, a card number appears, you put it in a wallet or type it into a checkout, and it works. The physical card is a Visa debit that arrives by post. Google Pay, Samsung Pay, Fitbit Pay and Garmin Pay are added by default — that matters more than it sounds, because four wallets working out of the box is better than one you have to add manually.

Apple Pay is the exception. Direct Apple Pay support is described as coming soon, and today the workaround is to add the card through the Curve app. That is a real extra step, and anyone whose phone is an iPhone should know it before they decide. If Apple Pay is non-negotiable for you, this weighs heavily against the card.

The web app at app.wave.space is where everything happens: freezing the card, changing limits, viewing transactions. I did not find a published App Store or Google Play rating for it, so the app’s reputation is something you will have to judge yourself on first use.

Two other everyday details. The card currency is not stated — fiat runs through the vIBAN in euros and the marketing says 0% FX fees, but multi-currency balances are not described, so do not assume you can hold dollars, pounds and euros side by side. And no rewards of any kind are mentioned: there is no cashback, which puts wavecard behind cards that pay you for spending.

What can go wrong

The most serious issue is the one users actually report.

Trustpilot shows a 4.3 TrustScore from 25 reviews, read on 21 October 2026 — a small sample, and the star graphic on the page shows 4.5. Within it, the recurring theme is an account freeze with funds withheld. One review dated 15 January 2026 describes an account blocked after sending money with the balance kept; the company replied on 18 March 2026 that the account had been suspended for compliance reasons and a full refund was offered. That is a better answer than silence, but it means the money was unavailable from January 2026 until the company’s reply in March 2026 and only released after escalation. Other themes include a claim in June 2025 that reviews were not authentic — which the company disputes — requests in early 2025 for Lightning support and a physical card, and complaints about slow Bitcoin confirmations in January 2025.

Understand what you are exposed to when that happens. KYC rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and assess risk under anti-money-laundering law, including ongoing monitoring and suspicious-activity reporting. In the EU that means name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, and a politically-exposed-person check. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to hold back from the transaction and, where necessary, end the relationship. That is the legal reason behind a freeze, and it is not the company’s discretion — but the practical result is the same: your money sits still while someone reviews it.

The freeze is the main one. The second is that there is no chargeback process described. The card’s own documentation refers card matters to the issuer’s terms, and claims are answered within two business days. But two business days to answer a claim is not the same as a dispute right. A chargeback is a refund the issuer orders to settle a dispute, with reason codes for fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received; on a prepaid-style card, coverage varies by jurisdiction and should not be assumed. If a shop takes your money and delivers nothing, you are relying on goodwill and the issuer’s terms, not on a mechanism designed to reverse the payment.

Company structure is the third thing to understand before you fund it. Wave Space Exploration UAB, company number 306727148, is based in Lithuania and is the party you deal with. The terms say licensable financial services are provided by Lightspark Payments Europe AS, company number 16298772, based in Tallinn, Estonia, and that the card is issued through a white-label arrangement with a third-party provider, with Wave Space acting as the distributor. The licence type is not stated, and the contract is governed by Lithuanian law. So the entity holding your funds and the entity whose name is on your card are not the entity whose interface you use. Under EU rules an electronic money institution must safeguard customer funds in segregated accounts or by insurance, but such funds are not bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. Check the register of authorised providers for your own peace of mind.

Beyond that, ordinary card risks apply. Blockchain transfers are irreversible: Bitcoin sent to an address the provider does not support, or on the wrong network, can be lost and may need manual recovery with no guarantee. Merchants can look up the card’s issuing country from the first six or eight digits of the card number, and some decline prepaid or foreign cards on that basis alone. Address verification is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines at some checkouts. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days.

On the positive side, the controls are decent: you can freeze the card instantly and change limits in the app, set up recovery codes and a 3-D Secure password, and the PRO option is self-custodial. The card allows a pseudonymous name, which some readers will value and others should think about twice.

Support is reachable: live chat on Telegram, email at [email protected] or [email protected], an FAQ and a live support widget, with a stated response time of within two business days. Note the contrast with the January 2026 case, where the visible reply came in March 2026 — the stated window and the experienced one are not the same thing.

What to take instead

Three other cards came up in the same review pass, and each solves a different part of the problem wavecard leaves open.

International Visa Card scores 6.7 / 10 — slightly higher — and is the widest-reaching of the four. It is open to far more of the world, with a specific exclusion list rather than a single region, and it settles in US dollars. Its cost is a $5 one-time virtual card issuance with no maintenance fee, card use in dollars free on all plans, and 2% on foreign currency on top of the Visa exchange rate. You fund it with USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT or FedNow transfers, and deposits of any kind are fee-free. Rewards are not stated.

UNi Card scores 6.1 / 10 and goes the other way on fees. It is a multicurrency Mastercard spending from a UNi.Global account balance, with no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, and assets converted at live OTC rates with no hidden exchange fees. It pays up to 3% back with Spend-to-Earn rewards, which is the strongest rewards position in this group. Who can get one is not stated, which is itself worth asking about before you plan around it.

Morse scores 7.5 / 10 — the highest here — and is the one to look at if fees are your priority. It is a fully virtual Visa prepaid debit spending from a Morse balance in any currency, with zero foreign exchange fees or markups at the real-time Visa rate, conversions on the Morse platform at the real rate with no markup, and paying with the card online and contactless free. It takes debit card deposits, stablecoin transfers, and USDC, USDG and EURC via Solana free with other tokens carrying a fee, and the wallet is self-custodial. Against that: eligibility is by residence, not citizenship, the app works in over 140 countries for peer-to-peer and local add/withdraw in over 70, but the card itself is available only in certain countries — the list is not published, so you have to check the app. Issuance and monthly fees are not stated; the card page says only that fees may apply under the Cardholder Agreement. It also cannot serve customers subject to US sanctions, and a set of countries including Australia, Hong Kong, Japan, Singapore, Switzerland, the UK and others are in closed beta behind an invite code.

wavecard International Visa Card UNi Card Morse
Score 6.3 / 10 6.7 / 10 6.1 / 10 7.5 / 10
Where EEA residents 18+ Most of the world, with an exclusion list Not stated Residents of supported countries
Card Virtual instantly, physical Visa debit Virtual U.S. Platinum Visa; physical “coming soon” Multicurrency Mastercard Fully virtual Visa prepaid debit
Recurring fee None None on Classic; $9 Pro, $19 Max No annual fee Not stated
FX None between fiat; 1% BTC conversion Visa rate + 2% None Zero, at the real-time Visa rate
Rewards Not stated Not stated Up to 3% Not stated
Funds held by Issuer in Estonia, distributed by a Lithuanian company Not stated Not stated Self-custodial wallet

The honest summary: if your problem is cost, Morse is the strongest on paper. If your problem is reach, International Visa Card covers more of the planet. If your problem is being paid back for spending, UNi Card is the only one of the four that states rewards. And if your problem is specifically spending Bitcoin inside the EEA, wavecard is the one doing that job, and none of the three replaces it.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend wavecard to a resident of the EEA who already holds Bitcoin, spends most of it deliberately rather than as a savings pile, and wants a Visa card that draws down that Bitcoin at the point of sale without a separate conversion step. The pricing rewards exactly that behaviour: no monthly fee, no FX fee, an instant virtual card for EUR 2.99, and Google Pay and Samsung Pay working the moment it is issued. If you are comfortable with the card holding your Bitcoin rather than your own wallet, the PRO option over NWC is there when you want the opposite.

I would not recommend it to you if you are outside the EEA, if you need chargeback rights when a merchant fails to deliver, if your crypto is in stablecoins, or if Apple Pay on an iPhone without a workaround is a requirement rather than a preference. I would also hold back if you are the kind of person who needs a published dispute process, a named chargeback scheme, or a long public track record — a score built on 25 Trustpilot reviews and one well-documented freeze is thin, and the two-business-day support promise did not match the January 2026 experience.

One last practical test before you commit: ask support, in writing, what happens to a remaining balance if you close the account, and what the deposit minimum is. Neither is stated publicly, both are easy to answer, and the answers decide whether this is your everyday card or your second card.

Frequently asked questions

What is wavecard card?

wavecard is a payment card that converts Bitcoin at the moment of purchase and pays merchants like an ordinary Visa debit. You load it with BTC, and when you tap or pay online the card sells exactly enough Bitcoin to cover the price. It runs on the wave.space platform, is issued by a third-party provider in a white-label arrangement, and is aimed at euro users inside the EEA spending a Bitcoin balance.

How does the wavecard card work?

You keep Bitcoin on the card, and it converts at the moment of payment, so you are exposed to the Bitcoin price between the moment you buy something and the moment the transaction settles. Spending Bitcoin costs 1% in conversion plus roughly a 0.5% spread already built into the quoted BTC price. No foreign exchange fee applies between fiat currencies, and spending from euros already on the vIBAN is a 1% swap under the terms.

Who owns wavecard?

The company you deal with is Wave Space Exploration UAB, number 306727148, based in Lithuania. Its terms say licensable financial services come from Lightspark Payments Europe AS, number 16298772, in Tallinn, Estonia, and that the card is issued through a white-label arrangement with a third-party provider, with Wave Space acting as distributor. The licence type is not stated publicly, and the contract is governed by Lithuanian law.

Who can get a wavecard card?

All residents aged 18 or over within the European Economic Area, by residence rather than citizenship — thirty countries from Austria to Iceland, including Liechtenstein, Norway and Iceland. Outside the EEA it is not available. The public pages do not list which documents are required or what proof of address is accepted, so if your address situation is unusual, ask before applying.

Does wavecard require KYC, and how long does it take?

Yes. A verified wave.space account is required, and the card’s own description puts sign-up and verification at under five minutes, with KYC free of charge. Only a “Tier 2 KYC” level is mentioned publicly, which raises monthly spending to EUR 15,000; other tiers, processing times and rejection reasons are not stated, so treat the five minutes as a marketing figure.

How much does wavecard cost?

Issuance is EUR 2.99 for the virtual card and EUR 29.99 for the physical one, and there is no monthly fee. Spending Bitcoin costs 1% plus a spread of about 0.5% already in the price, and there is no FX fee between fiat. Cash machines cost 3% + EUR 2 with no free allowance stated. Spend limits are EUR 10,000 daily and monthly, rising to EUR 15,000 monthly at Tier 2.

How do I top up the wavecard card?

Four routes are described: Bitcoin on-chain, Lightning through invoices or LN addresses, euros into your personal vIBAN to buy Bitcoin at the terms’ 1% conversion, and the PRO self-custodial option connecting your own Lightning wallet over NWC, with Alby recommended. No stablecoins are supported. Deposit fees and minimums are not stated publicly, and network withdrawal fees may apply.

Can I add wavecard to Apple Wallet?

Not directly — direct Apple Pay support is described as coming soon, and today you add the card through the Curve app instead. Google Pay, Samsung Pay, Fitbit Pay and Garmin Pay are supported by default with no extra steps. If Apple Pay on an iPhone matters to you, that gap is a good reason to test one of the other cards first.

Is wavecard safe, and what about the frozen accounts?

The app lets you freeze the card, change limits, set recovery codes and a 3-D Secure password, and the PRO option keeps Bitcoin self-custodial. But Trustpilot shows 4.3 from 25 reviews, and the recurring theme is accounts frozen with funds held — one January 2026 case where the company said in March 2026 that it was suspended for compliance reasons. Treat this as a custodial wallet, not a bank deposit.

What should I do if I want to withdraw money or close my account?

Withdrawals and refunds come back as Bitcoin converted at the available market rate, not as euros, so a refund from a shop does not arrive in cash. You close the account by emailing [email protected]. What happens to a balance still on the account at closure is not described publicly, so ask before you leave money sitting there, and remember accounts idle for 365 days may be closed or charged a maintenance fee.

Content created by the «cryptocardshortlist» team