VIIO Card Review: A Zero-Fee USD Card With One Very Large Asterisk
The VIIO card scores 6.6 out of 10. It is not a bad card — it is an unusually cheap one, with a virtual card that costs nothing to issue and a physical card that is free right now. The problem is not the price. The problem is that almost everything you would want to know before handing this card your money is missing from the public pages: the list of countries that can actually get one, the exact conversion percentage, the blockchain networks behind the crypto top-ups, the identity-document list, the limits. What is published is confident; what is unstated is exactly where the risk sits. My honest read is that VIIO suits a specific person — a Colombian resident who wants a dollar card funded from a USDC balance — and is a poor fit for anyone who is choosing a crypto card by comparing features on a table, because the table is mostly blank.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.6 / 10, best for Colombians holding dollars
VIIO is Persimon S.A.S., branded “Persimon (VIIO)”, a Colombian operation built around a “Digital USD balance” and a Visa card that spends from it. La Republica reported the launch in January 2025 with Visa and Dock. The card is clearly designed for the Colombian market: the contract is governed by Colombian law, disputes are handled under Article 51 of the Colombian Consumer Protection Statute, the top-up rails include the Colombian PSE system, and the app is in the Colombian App Store. If you are elsewhere, this review is really about whether you could plausibly open one — and the card’s own pages do not tell you.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Merchants in 200+ countries, but the list of countries that can be issued the card is not disclosed; the contract is governed by Colombian law and the product is aimed at Colombia |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Virtual issuance 0 USD, reissue 0 USD, monthly 0 USD; plastic is free now, 5 USD if the balance is under 50 USD; “The Card currently does not charge any fee”; the conversion percentage is not stated |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | USDC and USDT balances, top-up by PSE, bank transfer and crypto by address or QR; networks are not disclosed and the crypto top-up fee is not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Persimon S.A.S. (VIIO Colombia), the issuer is not named; no official incidents or reviews found; iOS 4.0 out of 5 from 12 ratings |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual card with dynamic CVV and physical contactless card, Visa ATMs worldwide, virtual card links to Apple Pay; Google Pay not disclosed |
| Total | 6.6 / 10 | Cheap and usable day to day, but built around one country and unusually quiet on the details |
The pattern across the marks is worth naming. Cost and everyday use are strong because the card does the basics without charging you for them. Who can get it and top-up options sit in the middle because the rails exist but are not documented. Reliability sits at 6 not because anything went wrong, but because I found nothing — no incidents, no issuer name, almost no reviews — and in cards, silence is a risk factor, not a reassurance. A card that has never been reported as broken may simply be new; a card that has never been reported as broken may also be small. I cannot tell you which, and you should not treat the absence of complaints as a clean bill of health.
Will they give you the card?
Here is the honest answer: the card’s own terms do not publish the list of countries whose residents can be issued a VIIO card. That is not stated. What the pages do say is that merchants accept it in “200+ countries” — but a merchant country is not an issuing country. Those are two different lists, and conflating them is the single easiest mistake to make with this card. One is about where you can spend; the other is about where you can sign up.
What is clear is the legal frame. The contract is governed by Colombian law. The app is in the Colombian App Store. The support email is a .me address but the help centre points you to a Colombian bank and to PSE — Colombia’s instant payment scheme — as a top-up route. The help centre also has a page about a passport without a Colombian ID, though I did not read the answer to it. Take all of this as a signal, not a rule: VIIO is a Colombian product that is reachable from elsewhere, or at least tries to be. Whether you personally qualify depends on a country list the public pages do not show you.
Here is how to think about it in one paragraph. If you are a Colombian resident with a dollar balance you want to spend, VIIO is aimed at you and the rails are local and familiar. If you are anywhere else, your first job is not to read the fee page but to get a straight answer on whether your country of residence can be issued the card at all — because if the answer is no, every other section of this review is academic. And if the answer is yes, you are still on Colombian soil contractually, which has real consequences for how disputes, freezes and complaints are handled.
How to get it
The signup path itself is short and the requirements are modest, at least on paper. You confirm you are of legal age, you supply the information the app requests, you update that information at least once a year, and you consent to credit bureau checks. That is the identity framework the terms describe. What they do not do is list the actual documents — the document list is not stated. So you know a check exists; you do not know in advance what you will be asked to photograph. Have your passport and a proof of address to hand and expect the process to resemble any other regulated onboarding.
There is one threshold that decides which card you get, and it is a balance, not a document:
- Virtual card — free once your account is topped up with at least 3 USD.
- Physical card — requires a balance of at least 50 USD.
- Activation — the card is issued deactivated; you switch it on inside the app.
The physical-card balance threshold is worth sitting with. It is not a fee, but it is a gate: below 50 USD you are a virtual-card user. That is fine for online and Apple Pay spending. If you want the plastic in your hand for contactless at a café, you need to park at least 50 USD in the account first.
On delivery, the card’s public pages do not state where the physical card is shipped, how long it takes, or what it costs. Not stated. So if you are outside Colombia and were hoping the plastic would arrive at your door, that is an assumption, not a plan.
Replacement terms, by contrast, are clear and generous in the ways that matter. A replacement physical card costs 5 USD. Reissuing the virtual card is 0 USD. Both are free if the card is defective or if a disputed charge is resolved in your favour.
| Card | Issue | Minimum balance | Monthly | Reissue |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Virtual | 0 USD | 3 USD top-up | 0 USD | 0 USD |
| Physical | “No cost (currently exempt)” | 50 USD balance | 0 USD | 5 USD |
What it really costs: the Fees
This is the section that pulls VIIO’s score up, and it is also the section with the biggest asterisk. VIIO currently charges nothing to hold the card, nothing monthly, and — in its own words — “The Card currently does not charge any fee.” That is unusually plain-spoken for a financial product. But the asterisk is this: the conversion fee, the FX spread, and the exact cost of paying abroad are not itemised. The card says purchases “Depend on the VISA type and exchange rate” and lists no percentage. It says you can “Pay in any currency, VIIO handles the conversion” — without telling you the rate or the margin. Whether that is genuinely zero-fee or just zero-fee on the items the card chose to list, you cannot tell from the pages.

Here is everything that is actually stated, so you know what you are working with:
| Fee or limit | What VIIO says |
|---|---|
| Virtual card issuance | Free (0 USD) |
| Virtual reissuance | 0 USD |
| Monthly fee | 0 USD |
| Physical issuance | “No cost (currently exempt)”; 5 USD if balance is under 50 USD; fees may be reinstated |
| Conversion / FX fee | Not itemised — depends on Visa type and exchange rate; no percentage published |
| ATM withdrawal | “Withdraw local cash at any VISA ATM worldwide”; fee “Depend on the ATM operator”; VIIO’s own fee not listed; free allowance not stated |
| Card purchase | “The Card currently does not charge any fee” |
| Currency | “Digital USD balance”; withdraws in COP, USD, CAD, AUD, EUR, GBP, MXN; pays in any currency with conversion |
| Credit / limit | Credit is capped at the value of digital assets in the account; per-KYC limits not stated |
| Plans | Single tier — no paid plans stated |
Let me walk three everyday payments through that table, because that is where the missing percentage actually bites.
Paying for a coffee in pesos. You tap a Visa terminal with the physical card. The card converts from your USD balance at whatever rate Visa and the network apply; the page gives no percentage and no breakdown, so the cost of that coffee is the price plus an undisclosed conversion margin. Small amounts make an unknown margin feel invisible, and it is.
Paying for something online in dollars. This is the card’s comfort zone. The card says it does not charge a fee, and if you spend in USD against a USD balance, there may be no conversion at all. Online is where VIIO is most likely to feel free.
Withdrawing local cash at an ATM. You can withdraw at any Visa ATM worldwide. The fee “Depends on the ATM operator” and VIIO’s own fee is not listed, and no free allowance is stated. So an ATM withdrawal is the one everyday action where VIIO points you at someone else’s price list — the ATM owner’s — and declines to say what it adds, if anything, on top.
I want to be fair about the exemptions, because a word like “exempt” is doing a lot of work. The physical issuance, PSE top-up and withdrawals are all marked “currently exempt.” That means today they are free. It also means they are not certain to stay that way, and the physical-card line says plainly that fees may be reinstated. Budget as if these are promotional, not permanent.
How to Top up
Topping up is the part of VIIO that is most obviously built for Colombia, and also the part where I would slow down and read twice. You hold USDC and USDT balances, and you can fund the account three ways: PSE, bank transfer, and crypto (by sending to a wallet address or QR code). The cost picture, again, is generous on the rails it lists and silent on the one you would most worry about.

- COP via PSE — no cost (currently exempt).
- COP via bank transfer — no VIIO cost, but your bank may charge.
- Crypto top-up — the fee is not stated.
That last bullet is the one to hold onto. When you send crypto, two costs can appear: the network’s own on-chain fee (gas or bandwidth, charged by the blockchain, not by VIIO) and any fee the provider layers on top. VIIO names the first kind generically but does not name the second. And critically, the networks are not read out either — you are not told which chains the crypto top-up accepts. Send on the wrong network and, as a general rule about blockchain transfers, the money can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee.
There is one more top-up-related number worth carrying in your head, because it is a small trap: the virtual card needs a minimum 3 USD top-up. That is the point at which the free card becomes usable. It is a small, sensible threshold, but it means a card you have just opened cannot be used until money is in it.
On the way out, the numbers are friendlier. Withdrawals in COP, USD, CAD, AUD, EUR, GBP and MXN are “No cost (currently exempt).” A transfer to a crypto wallet charges “network fee only” and “VIIO charges none.” What is not addressed is the balance if you close your account — so if you ever plan to leave, ask what happens to any funds sitting in the account before you close it, because the pages do not say.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, VIIO behaves like a normal prepaid Visa, which is its quiet strength. A prepaid card draws on a stored balance rather than asking a bank to pull funds from a linked account at the moment of purchase, so the card cannot overdraw; that is also why topping up first is the whole workflow. The virtual card carries a dynamic CVV — a security code that changes — and the physical card is contactless. It runs on Visa, so Visa ATMs worldwide are in scope. The virtual card links to Apple Pay.
What is not disclosed matters here too:
- Apple Pay / Google Pay — Apple Pay for the virtual card is stated; Google Pay is not disclosed.
- Blocked categories — not stated. So you do not know up front whether gambling, or anything else, is blocked on your card. (For context, gambling is a specific four-digit merchant category, MCC 7995, and many issuers block it by their own policy rather than by law — but the blocked list varies by issuer, and VIIO’s is not published.)
- Rewards — not stated. There is no cashback or points programme advertised that I can find, so do not assume one.
One practical note on mobile wallets and foreign cards, because it explains a lot of the “it just got declined” stories you will hear about any card like this: tokenisation replaces your card number with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element, never on the phone maker’s servers, with a one-time dynamic code per payment. That is good security. But address verification — the check that compares the street number and ZIP a shopper types with the issuer’s records — is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable on foreign-issued cards. A Colombian-issued card can therefore get declined at a merchant that leans on that check, and some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards outright because the BIN lookup reveals the issuer country. Visa and Mastercard do not themselves issue these cards to consumers; they license issuers and can suspend a programme — in November 2022 Visa said it had terminated its global agreements with FTX and the FTX US debit card was wound down. That is the background risk every card in this category carries.
The app is a minor but real data point. On the Colombian iOS App Store, VIIO is rated 4.0 out of 5 from 12 ratings, which I read on 2026-10-21. Twelve ratings is a very small sample — it tells you almost nothing statistically — but it is not a red flag either. The Google Play rating was not readable (the page truncated).
What can go wrong
Let me separate the things I confirmed from the things I could not, because in this section the second list matters more than the first.
What I found: no official incidents. I searched for complaints and reviews and turned up no Trustpilot page, no Reddit thread, nothing in the way of a public pattern of problems. Read the right way, that is neutral-to-mildly-positive. Read the wrong way, it is nothing at all.
What I could not establish:
- Who issues the card. The issuing bank is not named on the pages I read. The footer says the operation “does not provide or offer regulated financial services,” and the terms say VIIO “does not collect public funds.” That is consistent with a company that is a programme manager or front-end rather than the bank itself — the issuer holds the card programme; the brand markets it. But because no issuer is named, you are trusting a brand whose banking partner you cannot see.
- Is your money held, and by whom? The custodial status is not stated. The terms say VIIO “does not receive or manage user money.” That is a meaningful claim, but the card’s operating model — how the stablecoin balance is held, whether by a licensed partner — is not spelled out. You should understand the difference: with a custodial wallet, the provider holds the credentials and you must trust them completely; with a self-custody-linked card, the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, and you alone bear the risk of key loss, phishing, and malware that swaps a copied address. Transfers are irreversible and there is no built-in recovery.
- Are the free things permanent? No. Several fees are “currently exempt” and the physical card line warns fees may be reinstated.
- What does a dispute cost you in time? Reversal requests — fraud, an unauthorised purchase, non-delivery, defective goods — must be filed within five business days of becoming aware. Five business days is short. Miss it and the route closes. They are handled under Article 51 of the Colombian Consumer Protection Statute.
A few practical safety features are stated and worth using. The virtual card’s dynamic CVV changes. You can freeze or cancel the card instantly in the app. There are instant alerts. The PIN blocks after 3 wrong entries. Together these are a decent everyday kit — freeze-on-suspicion, alerts, a code that is not static. Use them.
Support, for what it is worth, is a real address — [email protected], plus a help centre at intercom.help/viio_help/en. The help centre states hours of Monday to Friday, 9 am to 5 pm, with the time zone not stated, and the pages exist in Spanish and English. If you are not in Colombia, note both gaps: you may be doing your 3-D Secure challenge at 3 a.m. your time and emailing a support inbox that may be asleep. And note the freeze-and-dispute path depends on that support actually answering.
The wider category carries real, documented history, and it is the right lens for a card this young. Custodial platforms have failed: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Programme closures tend to follow a pattern — a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw your balance. I am not suggesting VIIO is heading that way; I am saying that when a card is cheap and young and quiet, the question “who ultimately holds my funds, and what happens if this company or its issuer stops?” is the question worth asking before you load it. One more structural point: whether the balance is safeguarded like an e-money balance (segregated in dedicated accounts or insured — not the same as a bank deposit and not covered by deposit guarantee schemes) or held some other way is exactly the kind of thing the “does not collect public funds” line leaves open.
What to take instead
VIIO is not the only card in this category, and it is not obviously the best fit for everyone. Here is how it stacks up against three alternatives on what each of them actually publishes.
| VIIO | International Visa Card | UNi Card | Morse | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.6 / 10 | 6.7 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 7.5 / 10 |
| Who can get it | Country list not stated; Colombian law | Not for residents/registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam; FATF grey list case by case; rule by residence or registration | Not stated | By residence, 18+, “supported country”; app in 140+ countries; invite-only in a list including Australia, Japan, Singapore, Switzerland, UK, US-adjacent territories |
| Card | Virtual + physical, Visa, USD balance | U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual (physical “coming soon”) | Multicurrency, Mastercard network, spends from UNi.Global balance | Fully virtual Visa prepaid debit, spends from Morse Balance |
| Cost | Virtual free, physical free now (5 USD under 50 balance), 0 monthly | 5 USD virtual issuance; plans Classic free / Pro 9.00 / Max 19.00 per month | No annual fee; issuance fee not stated | Issuance and monthly not stated |
| FX / conversion fee | Not itemised; “currently does not charge any fee” | Visa rate + 2% FX fee; USD use free | No FX fee; live OTC rates, “no hidden exchange fees” | “Zero foreign exchange fees or markups,” real-time Visa rate |
| Rewards | Not stated | No cashback stated | Spend-to-Earn up to 3% | Not stated on card pages |
| Custody | Not stated | — | — | Wallet is self-custodial |
A few things stand out. The International Visa Card publishes a number you can actually plan around — a 2% FX fee and a 5 USD issuance — which is more transparency than VIIO gives on conversion, even though its eligibility rules are the most restrictive of the four. UNi Card offers a 3% spend-to-earn and a live OTC rate with no hidden exchange fees, but publishes almost nothing about who can get it or how it is funded, which is the same problem VIIO has in a different place. And Morse, at 7.5, is the highest-scoring of the group on the strength of one thing VIIO does not offer at all: it states zero FX fees or markups at the real Visa rate, and its wallet is self-custodial, so the key problem that cuts both ways on VIIO simply does not arise there.
None of these is a clean sweep, and I want to resist overselling any of them. The International Visa Card blocks residents of a long list of countries by residence or registration — citizenship is not mentioned — so it is not the answer for everyone either. Morse is invite-only in a long list of countries and publishes no issuance or monthly fee. UNi tells you almost nothing about funding. The honest summary is that the whole category is thin on published detail, and VIIO is thinner than most on exactly the fields — country eligibility, conversion percentage, networks — that determine whether a card works for you. Choose VIIO if you are the Colombian dollar-holder it is built for. Choose elsewhere if you need a self-custody model, a fixed FX rate, or a card you can actually be issued in your country of residence.
Who I would recommend it to
VIIO, for these specific people:
- You are a Colombian resident with a stablecoin balance — USDC or USDT — and you want a dollar Visa card that spends it directly, with the local rails you already use (PSE, bank transfer) to refill it.
- You mostly pay online, in USD, and you value a card with no monthly fee, no issuance fee, and a card the company says charges no fee — with the understanding that some of that is “currently exempt.”
- You can live inside the support hours (Mon–Fri, 9–5, time zone unstated) and remember to file any reversal within five business days.
- You are comfortable that Google Pay, rewards, blocked categories, and delivery details are simply not published, and you can decide around that.
VIIO, not for these people:
- You need to know your conversion percentage before you spend, and the card will not say.
- You are outside Colombia and cannot get a straight answer on whether your country can be issued the card — because the list is not disclosed.
- You want self-custody — your own keys, your own risk. VIIO’s custodial status is not stated, and a card that hands control to a provider you cannot audit is the wrong tool.
- You rely on Google Pay, cashback, or predictable ATM economics — none of which VIIO publishes.
- You need payouts in a currency beyond the seven listed, or you are sending large balances and want certainty that exemptions will not be reinstated.
My actual recommendation: if you are the Colombian dollar-holder this card is designed for, VIIO is a good deal and I would use it — precisely because the fee side is so favourable. If you are anyone else, treat VIIO as a card you can use, not a card you can rely on, and pick a competitor where the eligibility and fee numbers are printed rather than implied.
Frequently asked questions
What is VIIO card?
VIIO is a Visa payment card issued by Persimon S.A.S., a Colombian company, that spends from a “Digital USD balance” you can hold in USDC and USDT. It works like a prepaid card: you load the balance, the card spends it, and it cannot overdraw. VIIO launched in Colombia in January 2025 with Visa and Dock. It is a crypto card in the sense that crypto funds the balance, not in the sense that you hold crypto keys on the card.
How does the VIIO card work?
You open the account, get identity-checked, and top it up. A virtual card becomes free once you hold at least 3 USD, a physical card once you hold at least 50 USD. Cards arrive deactivated and you switch them on in the app. When you pay, the balance converts and the Visa network processes it like any other card purchase. The virtual card has a dynamic CVV that changes, and it links to Apple Pay.
Is VIIO a bank?
No — or at least, it does not present itself as one. The footer says it “does not provide or offer regulated financial services,” and the terms say it “does not collect public funds.” The issuing bank behind the card is not named on the public pages, which means the bank actually holding the programme is a piece of information you do not have. For a card like this, that is worth asking about directly.
Who owns VIIO card?
The card belongs to Persimon S.A.S., trading under the brand “Persimon (VIIO)” in Colombia. La Republica reported the launch in January 2025 with Visa and Dock as partners. Beyond that ownership line, the card’s public pages do not spell out the corporate structure, so the depth of detail stops early.
Is the VIIO card available in my country?
The card’s public pages do not publish the list of countries whose residents can be issued a VIIO card — that list is not stated. The pages do say merchants accept the card in “200+ countries,” but that is where you can spend, not where you can sign up. The contract is governed by Colombian law, so assume Colombia is the target market. If you are elsewhere, get a clear yes on your country before you load anything.
Can I use the VIIO card in my country?
Almost certainly yes at the merchant. VIIO is a Visa card and the page says it works at merchants in “200+ countries,” with contactless on the physical card and cash withdrawals at any Visa ATM worldwide. The catch is cost: the conversion fee is not itemised, purchases “depend on the VISA type and exchange rate,” and ATM fees “depend on the ATM operator.” You can spend abroad; you just cannot see the price of doing it in advance.
How do I top up the VIIO card?
Three ways: PSE for Colombian pesos (currently exempt from cost), a bank transfer in pesos (no VIIO cost, but your bank may charge), or crypto sent to a wallet address or QR code. You hold USDC and USDT balances. The catch is the crypto route: the fee is not stated and the supported networks are not disclosed, so send only on a network the app confirms, or the transfer can be lost.
Does the VIIO card require KYC?
Yes. The terms require you to confirm legal age, supply requested information, update it at least yearly, and consent to credit bureau checks. The exact document list is not stated, so bring a passport and proof of address and expect standard onboarding. Because the contract is Colombian, the checks will be run under Colombian rules, not the rules of wherever you live.
Is the VIIO card free?
Nearly, as it stands. Virtual issuance, virtual reissue and the monthly fee are all 0 USD, and the card says it “currently does not charge any fee.” The physical card is “No cost (currently exempt)” but carries a 5 USD charge if your balance is under 50 USD, and the page warns fees may be reinstated. That word “currently” appears often enough that you should treat the free-ness as promotional.
Is the VIIO card safe and worth it?
Safe enough with the tools switched on: dynamic CVV, instant freeze in the app, instant alerts, PIN lock after 3 wrong entries. Worth it if you are a Colombian resident spending a dollar balance with no monthly fee. Less certain if you care about custody — the card does not state whether your funds are self-custodial — or about FX, since the conversion percentage is never published. File any dispute within five business days or the route closes.
App and neobank cards on the shortlist – cryptocardshortlist
Content created by the «cryptocardshortlist» team
