Nero promises a quick virtual card on USDT or USDC, then leaves the important boxes empty

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Nero is a virtual card you fund with USDT or USDC, keep in a phone wallet, and spend like an ordinary payment card in shops and online. On paper that is a genuinely useful thing to have. In practice, when I went through the card’s own pages looking for the details you need before you trust it with money — who issues it, what it costs, which countries it will actually give it to, what happens when a payment goes wrong — a large share of those boxes were simply empty. Not hidden behind a login, not “contact us for details”. Empty. Nero scores 4.8 out of 10 on my scale, and most of the reason sits in that gap between what the card promises and what it documents.

Nero works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The details below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 4.8 out of 10

Let me start with the score, because a number deserves context rather than a headline. Nero is a thin, new product with a clean idea and very little published substance. It is not a scam on the evidence I could find — but it is also not something I would put meaningful money into without checking things myself first, and that is a different statement from “it is fine”.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Nero starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 The card’s own site says restricted countries exist, but does not name them
Cost 3 / 10 A 4% top-up fee, an issuance fee with no amount given, and no FX fee disclosed
Top-up options 6 / 10 USDT or USDC, networks unconfirmed, conversion happens at payment time
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Nero Sphere LIMITED, Hong Kong; issuer and licences unnamed; no complaints or reviews found either way
Everyday use 6 / 10 Virtual card with Apple Pay and Google Pay; ATM situation not stated
Total 4.8 / 10 A quick virtual card funded with USDT or USDC, with more gaps than answers

Who this suits: someone who already has USDT or USDC sitting on-chain, who wants a virtual card number today rather than a physical card in the post, and who is comfortable treating the balance as spending money rather than savings. If that is you, the mechanics make sense.

Who this does not suit: anyone choosing between cards by reading fee tables, or anyone who needs to know, before they hand over money, which licensed institution holds their funds, which regulator licenses it, whether their country is eligible, or what happens when a shop’s payment is disputed. Those are not edge cases. They are the questions.

There is one more thing worth naming plainly at the start. I found no complaints and no user reports about Nero — and I also found no independent reviews, no Trustpilot page, and no track record to weigh. Absence of complaints in a product that launched on 25 June 2026 tells you very little. A young service has not yet accumulated a public record, in either direction.

Will they give you the card?

Short answer: probably, if you are not in a restricted country — but the card never tells you which countries those are, so you cannot check before you try.

Nero’s own pages say that restricted countries exist. The list itself is not published on the pages I could read. That is the whole of the eligibility position, and it is a strange one: a rule you are told exists but not told about. If you live in, say, the EU, the UK, the US, Nigeria or Australia, you have no way to read the card’s terms and find out whether your address is acceptable.

I looked specifically for anything about Russian and Belarusian citizens or residents. Nothing. No statement either granting access or refusing it. If you are in that position, treat “no statement” as “unknown”, not as permission — not because Nero has said anything restrictive, but because the country list is unpublished in the first place.

Nothing on nationality is stated either. The general pattern across regulated cards is that screening is done on citizenship and country of birth as well as country of address, and separate rules apply to sanctioned jurisdictions. None of that is visible here.

What I can tell you is what happens if you are eligible: registration, topping up and card issuance are described as fully online, with no visit to a bank branch. That is the whole of the process documentation.

The one conclusion I would draw: this is not a card to apply to from a restricted or high-risk jurisdiction on the assumption that nobody is checking. The correct move is to read the terms yourself at sign-up, look for the country list and the sanctions language, and decide from what you find there. If the terms do not answer it, treat that silence as information.

How to get it

Getting it is straightforward, and the card says so: registration, top-up and card issuance are all fully online, and no branch visit is involved.

What you receive is a virtual card with a standard number, expiry date and CVC. Two things are not stated. The card network is not named — you are not told whether this is a Visa or a Mastercard, which matters more than it sounds (more on that below). The card currency is not stated either.

There is no physical card described. Delivery of a plastic card is not stated, so I would not plan around receiving one.

The KYC question deserves a direct answer, because people search for it constantly: identity verification is not described. A press release says registration, top-up and card issuance are fully online, and that is the entire picture — no mention of what documents are asked for, and no tiers, no limits tied to verification level, and no statement about which countries require stronger checks than others.

Why that matters more here than with a bank: card issuing is a regulated activity almost everywhere, and the rules in the EU, for example, require customer due diligence covering name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documents, a sanctions check and a politically-exposed-person determination before a relationship can proceed. A provider that issues cards without describing any of this is either describing a process on a page I did not see, or operating somewhere with lighter requirements. Either way, the person applying is the one left in the dark, and a first deposit made in that state is hard to unwind.

Practical advice, then: complete verification before you deposit, not after. If a card gives you a number before asking who you are, understand what protection that number comes with before you spend from it.

Fees and what a payment actually costs

This is the weakest part of the card, and the lowest score in my table. One fee is disclosed, and it is not the fee most people will assume is the expensive one.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Nero payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What Nero’s public pages say
Issuance One-time fee, amount not stated
Monthly fee None stated
Top-up commission 4%
Conversion Crypto is converted to fiat at the time of payment
FX fee Not stated
ATM Not stated
Daily limit Not stated
Monthly limit Not stated
Tiers Not stated
Card currency Not stated

So: a 4% charge on every top-up, on top of whatever the network charges you for moving the tokens, and on top of whatever conversion spread applies when the crypto becomes fiat at the moment of payment. The FX fee — the thing that decides whether a foreign purchase is cheap or expensive — is simply absent.

Let me walk three ordinary payments through what is actually known, because that is more useful than the table alone.

Buying coffee for 4 USD. You top up, and 4% comes off the top-up before anything else. The tokens convert to fiat at the payment moment; the conversion and FX fee for that step are not stated, so I cannot tell you what the card charges on top. What I can tell you is that your 4% is already spent before the coffee is.

A subscription of 12 USD a month. Multiply that same 4% by twelve. Whether a declined or retried authorisation leaves a hold on your funds — which can persist for several days — is a general property of card payments and not something Nero documents either way. A small, reliable, repeated charge is exactly the case where an unstated hold hurts most.

Anything priced in a currency that is not your own. Here the disclosure stops entirely. There is no stated FX fee, and no stated card currency to tell you what you are being converted into. This is the payment where the card’s published information is least able to help you.

Add to all of it what the blockchain charges: on-chain network fees for a deposit are paid to the blockchain, not to the card, so a top-up of a small amount on a busy network can cost a meaningful fraction of it. That is normal, but it is a second cost on top of the 4%, not part of it.

My honest read: 4% is not a predatory top-up fee, and it is not a cheap one either. For someone moving larger balances infrequently it may be acceptable. For someone topping up weekly for everyday spending it compounds into the dominant cost of using the card — and the missing FX and conversion figures mean you cannot compute your true cost per purchase from what Nero publishes. You would be guessing.

How to top it up

Top up with USDT or USDC. That is the mechanism, and it is the reason the card exists.

How it works in practice: you deposit the stablecoin, and it is converted to fiat at the time of payment rather than sitting on the card as crypto. Card issuance happens within minutes of funding, according to the card.

The gap is networks. Which blockchains the deposits are sent on is not confirmed on the readable pages. This is not a technicality, and I would treat it as the single most consequential missing fact on the card. USDT and USDC each exist on many chains — USDT has been issued on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche; Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks, as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar. Sending on a network the provider does not support is a well-known way to lose money, because blockchain transfers are irreversible: a deposit on the wrong network can be lost or require manual recovery with no guarantee.

There is a related trap specific to USDC. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option. If you are used to moving USDT on Tron and then try the same reflex with USDC, you are guessing. And if you do hold ETH-based tokens, remember that fees on Ethereum are paid in ETH, so a wallet with USDT and no ETH cannot send.

Also not stated: the minimum top-up, who pays the network fee, and whether any fiat top-up option exists at all. If fiat funding is possible, that changes who this card is for considerably — a card reachable from a bank account is a different product from one you can only reach by already owning stablecoins.

On the fee: the 4% top-up commission, described in the fees section above, is the published figure. It is charged on top of the network cost.

Withdrawal is not described at all. That matters for anyone treating this as a place to hold funds rather than spend from.

Paying with it every day

Day to day, the card is a virtual card with a standard number, expiry and CVC, and it works with Apple Pay and Google Pay for contactless payments in store. That is the whole of the confirmed everyday function, and for a virtual card it is the right set of features — a phone wallet is where most virtual cards actually get used.

What you get at the checkout: the usual. What you do not get documented: blocked merchant categories are not stated, so you cannot know in advance whether gambling, crypto-adjacent merchants, or anything else will decline. Merchant category codes are how issuers apply those policies, and the blocked list varies by issuer even where the number is a category standard.

Three practical things worth knowing about card payments generally, since Nero does not describe them either way:

Also not stated: whether there is a rewards programme, whether there is an app (the service is described as used via website), and how disputes work. That last one matters. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received — and prepaid-card coverage varies by jurisdiction and should not be assumed.

Netting it out: as a spending tool, virtual with Apple Pay and Google Pay is enough for many people. As a described product, it is thin — no app, no rewards detail, no blocked-category list, no dispute process, no ATM story, no limits.

What can go wrong

Nothing has gone wrong publicly that I can find, and I want to be careful about how I say that. I found no official incidents, no user reports and no news about complaints. There is also no Trustpilot page for Nero as of 21 October 2026, and no independent reviews. A service that launched on 25 June 2026 simply has not built a public record yet.

What I can tell you is where the risk sits structurally.

Who is behind it. The company named is Nero Sphere LIMITED, with a Hong Kong dateline. The press contact is David Vance, Director of Growth, and the press address is [email protected]. The issuer is not named and no licences are named. This is the single most important gap on the page. A card is issued by a licensed institution under a card network’s licence; the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front end that markets it. When Nero does not tell you which institution issues the card or under what licence, you cannot check that institution’s register, and that register is exactly where the answers are.

A young, paid-press-only footprint. The 25 June 2026 launch announcement is a paid press release. That is a normal way to launch and not a red flag by itself, but it means the public record of this card is largely material its own team wrote.

Programme risk. Cards can be switched off. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves — they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. A closure typically means a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. Since Nero describes no withdrawal process at all, that is a scenario you would be walking into without knowing the exit.

Custody. The card’s pages say nothing about who holds the crypto between deposit and spend. That is worth a moment of general context. A custodial platform has a record of failure: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Transfers are irreversible by design, and a stolen key has no built-in recovery.

Security and support. Security measures are not stated — no mention of two-factor authentication, freeze, spending limits or how a compromised account gets recovered. Support is handled by staff rather than automated systems, at the marketing email address, and languages and hours are not stated.

Your protection if something goes wrong. Debit-card reversal rights differ by jurisdiction, credit-card rights differ again, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. With an unnamed issuer in an unnamed jurisdiction, nobody can tell you which regime you are in.

I found no official incidents, no user reports and no news about complaints. That is the honest finding, and it cuts both ways: it is not a warning, and it is not reassurance either.

What to take instead

None of these are dramatically better in every respect — all three sit in the same mid-range, and all three have their own unstated corners. But each is more documented than Nero, which is worth something when you are about to deposit.

CardFlow — 4.9 / 10. Aims at Nigeria, describing itself as “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” and serving “Nigerians and global users”, with no country list or exclusions stated. A virtual USD Mastercard created in 3 minutes. Notably, its site FAQ says creating a virtual card is completely free — Nero’s issuance fee has no stated amount at all. Funds with Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or a Naira bank transfer, networks not stated. Monthly fee and the rest of the fee schedule not stated. Compared with Nero, you get a named network and a free-issuance statement; you lose the fiat-free simplicity of stablecoin-only funding if that mattered.

HyperCard — 4.7 / 10, essentially tied with Nero. A prepaid card with a balance in USD or EUR, funded by depositing crypto such as USDT, BTC or ETH in the app and converted to USD or EUR on the card; networks not stated. The App Store page says the card works in “more than 176 countries” — that is acceptance, not eligibility, and the official pages state no country list. Costs are not stated; the App Store page lists no fees. For someone who wants a euro balance, this is worth a look.

Card.fi — 6.6 / 10, the best-documented of the four, and the one I would read first. Cards ship to “200+ countries”, with terms barring residents of, or orders from, “a country subject to sanctions that would prohibit the service”. A full range: Virtual Classic and Virtual Premium, physical Classic and Premium, metal in stainless steel, and every physical order includes a virtual card. Cards are issued “under licence from the relevant card schemes” — though neither Visa nor Mastercard is named.

The difference is in the numbers, and they are all published. One-time fees: Virtual Classic $49, Virtual Premium $249; physical and metal prices are not listed; there is no monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee. Top-up fees: Classic 1.5% plus $1.00, Premium 1%. FX fees: Classic 3.5%, Premium 2.5%, with the conversion fee shown before each top-up in the terms. Funding is the broadest of any of the four: 32 coins across five networks — Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana and Kaanch — including USDT, USDC, ETH, BNB, SOL and KAANCH, with a deposit address per card and conversion at the market rate on arrival. The terms also warn that sending on the wrong chain risks permanent loss, which is more than any other card here says out loud.

Rewards exist only on Card.fi, and only on card spending: cashback Classic 0.8% (capped at 10 USDT a month), Premium 1%, Metal 1.2% (capped at 100 USDT a month and 5,000 USDT) or 2% (capped at 250 USDT a month and 20,000 USDT); a headline 10% at coffee shops capped at 10 USDT a month; and interest on balances “up to 18%” on Metal, variable.

The trade-off is honest: you pay a stated upfront fee where Nero charges an unstated one, and Card.fi’s 3.5% FX on Classic is worse than Nero’s unstated FX might turn out to be. But you can do the arithmetic. That is the difference.

Who I would recommend it to

To someone who already holds USDT or USDC, wants a virtual card number today rather than a card in the post, is used to choosing a blockchain network for a deposit, and treats the balance as cash to be spent rather than money to be kept. For that person, Nero’s basics — USDT or USDC funding, virtual card with a standard number, Apple Pay and Google Pay, issuance within minutes of funding — are a coherent, usable package.

To anyone else, I would say read Card.fi’s published numbers first and come back to Nero only if its disclosure has caught up. Not because Nero is dangerous, but because a card that will not tell you who issues it, what the FX fee is, or which countries it serves has not yet earned the same trust as one that publishes all three.

And if you do go ahead: read the country list in the terms before depositing, confirm which network your token goes on from the provider’s own current instructions, get the virtual card number only after verification is complete, check the 4% top-up fee against how often you plan to top up, and put in an amount you would not mind losing. That last point is not alarmism — it is what you do when an issuer and jurisdiction are undisclosed.

One clarification, since it comes up constantly: a card is a payment instrument, and stablecoins sit on top of that. Neither Nero’s card currency nor its issuer is named, and I have made no assumption about either. If you need certainty about which deposit guarantee, licence or consumer regime covers your balance, that is a question for the provider in writing before you fund the card — not something any review can supply.

Frequently asked questions

What is Nero card?

Nero is a virtual payment card funded with USDT or USDC, converted to fiat at the moment of payment. You receive a card number, expiry and CVC, usable through Apple Pay and Google Pay for contactless spending. The company named behind it is Nero Sphere LIMITED, Hong Kong. The issuing institution and its licences are not named on the card’s public pages.

How does Nero card work?

You deposit USDT or USDC, it is converted to fiat when you pay, and the card spends that balance. The card is issued within minutes of funding, and everything is online with no branch visit. Which blockchain networks the deposits run on is not confirmed on the readable pages, which is the detail to check before sending anything.

Is Nero a bank?

Not on the published evidence. The pages name Nero Sphere LIMITED in Hong Kong as the company, and describe a press contact there. No banking licence, issuer name or card-scheme licence is named. Because a card has to be issued by a licensed institution somewhere, the honest answer is that the issuing entity is not disclosed here — ask for it in writing.

Does Nero card require KYC?

Identity verification is not described. A press release says registration, top-up and card issuance are fully online, and that is the full picture — no documents listed, no verification tiers, no country-specific rules. Complete any verification offered before you deposit, since a card issued first and verified later leaves your money already exposed.

How much does Nero cost?

One-time issuance fee with no amount stated, no monthly fee stated, a 4% top-up commission, conversion to fiat at payment, and an FX fee that is not stated. ATM fees, daily and monthly limits, tiers and card currency are also unstated. The 4% is on top of blockchain network fees, which are paid to the network rather than to Nero.

Is Nero card free?

Not as far as the pages show. There is a one-time issuance fee whose amount is not published, and a 4% commission on every top-up. For contrast, CardFlow’s own FAQ says creating a virtual card there is completely free. If the cost of the card matters to you, Nero will not give you the number.

How do I top up Nero card?

Send USDT or USDC to the card’s deposit address, and the card converts to fiat at the point of payment. The 4% top-up commission applies, plus any network fee. Minimum amounts, who pays the network fee, and whether fiat top-ups are possible at all are not stated — so check the provider’s current network instructions before sending.

How do I add Nero card to Apple Wallet?

Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported for contactless in-store payments, so the card is designed to live in your phone wallet rather than your physical pocket. Adding it is a standard wallet flow. Note that the card network behind Nero is not named, and the issuer can restrict a tokenised card number on particular channels.

Where can I use Nero card?

Wherever virtual cards and Apple Pay or Google Pay are accepted, subject to the issuer’s own policies. Blocked merchant categories are not stated, so gambling or other restricted categories may decline without warning. Address verification is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines — relevant given the Hong Kong dateline.

Is Nero card safe?

I found no official incidents, no user reports and no complaints — and also no independent reviews and no Trustpilot page as of 21 October 2026. For a service that launched on 25 June 2026 that absence proves little. The real question is disclosure: issuer, licences, security measures, withdrawal process and dispute handling are all unstated, so fund it with an amount you could afford to lose.

Content created by the «cryptocardshortlist» team