A narrow virtual card with a $5 monthly fee, a $15 reserve and no way to get cash out

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

EMCD Payment is not the sort of card you put in a wallet and forget about. It is a virtual Mastercard number and nothing else — no plastic, no cash machine, no 3-D Secure, a balance that lives inside the card rather than in your bank account, and a monthly fee that most people who are careful about $5 a month will still notice on the statement. It is aimed at one specific person: someone already holding USDT in EMCD’s internal wallet who wants to spend it online, in dollars, without moving money through a bank first. For that person it does one job. For everyone else the gaps are hard to overlook, and I want to be clear about which gaps I found and which I simply could not find any answer to.

EMCD Payment works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

My score for this card is 5.3 out of 10. That is not a rounding of something kinder. The access is genuinely wide, and that is where the single strongest mark comes from; the money side is where it falls apart. A card that costs $19 to issue, $5 a month to keep, 1.5% to load and 1.5% plus fifty cents to spend is a fairly expensive way to do something a good bank card does for nothing.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 9 / 10 Works wherever Mastercard is accepted, except a list of thirteen countries; the February 2026 release says “available to eligible users in Latin America” and gives no country list
Cost 2 / 10 Plus $19 issuance, Premium $25, $5 a month maintenance, top-up 1.5%, purchase 1.5% + $0.50; the press release says “Issuance is free” and the help centre says otherwise
Top-up options 5 / 10 Top up from EMCD’s internal USDT wallet, USDT converts to USD; no networks named, and topping up by card number is not possible
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 The card is run by KazeFi and EMCD “does not issue cards”; issuing country and licences are not named; the Light tier is closed to new issuance; Trustpilot for the company shows blocks after KYC and no reviews of the card itself
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual Mastercard only; Apple Pay and Google Pay work; no ATM; no 3-D Secure
Total 5.3 / 10 Wide access, thin money and a very short feature list

Who should read on. If you want a normal card — something with plastic, cash access, and purchase protection — this is not it, and no amount of reading will change that. If you hold USDT, cannot get a bank card in your country, and your spending is online subscriptions, hosting and SaaS, then you are the person this product was built for, and the sections below will tell you exactly what it costs to run it. If you are simply curious about crypto cards in general, I have explained the mechanics in a separate section, because several of the disappointments here only make sense once you know what the card actually is.

Will they give you the card?

Yes, almost everywhere — this is the strongest thing about it. The card works wherever Mastercard is accepted, with a list of exceptions: Afghanistan, Belarus, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Russia, Myanmar, Somalia, Ukraine, Yemen and China. That list is long enough that it is worth reading twice if you are anywhere near it.

Here is what the card does not say, and I want to be plain rather than generous about it. Whether the restriction applies to your citizenship or to where you live is not stated. That distinction matters more than it sounds: some issuers screen on nationality and country of birth, others on residence, and a card that works “in the UK” can still be refused to a UK citizen living in Dubai. So treat the thirteen-country list as a floor, not a ceiling on the exclusions.

The other thing you will not find is a positive country list. The February 2026 press release announces the card as “available to eligible users in Latin America” — and stops there, with no country list of any kind. That word “eligible” is doing a lot of work in a single clause, and no one at EMCD has published what fills the gap. If Latin America is your region, the practical answer is that this card appears to be aimed at you; if it is not, you are in the part of the world the announcement did not discuss, and the only exclusion list you have is the thirteen countries above.

Identity verification is mandatory. You verify with a valid government-issued ID, and the check happens after your first top-up rather than before — so you can fund the wallet before the card exists and prove yourself afterwards. If your document is rejected, you retry with a different one. If the check is still running after thirty minutes, you contact support. Processing normally takes minutes. Whether you also need proof of address or proof of age is not stated, and there is no tier structure of checks to speak of: one ID verification, no levels.

One practical detail that will decide whether this works for you at all. The card is virtual only. EMCD’s own words: “Currently, we only offer virtual cards — Plus and Premium.” That means no delivery, no courier, no waiting, and also no physical card for a shop that insists on handing you something. It is a Mastercard number, denominated in USD, valid for two years, with a limit of two active cards per person.

How to get it

The order of operations is unusual and worth knowing before you start, because it is not the order you would guess. Three steps:

  1. Top up from the USDT wallet.
  2. Issue the card.
  3. Verify your ID.

That sequence matters because the card comes before the check on you. You are not verified at the point of application; you are verified after the money has already moved into the card balance. If the verification fails, the money is sitting there with an unverified holder in front of it, and the help centre’s own advice — retry with a different document, or contact support after thirty minutes — is all I found on what happens next.

The cards are Plus and Premium. Both are virtual Mastercard cards in USD. Both are valid for two years. You can hold up to two active cards at once. There is no delivery step to worry about, because there is no physical product. Card activation is not a separate step in anything I read; the card becomes usable when it is issued and funded.

The app is worth a warning here, and it is not the sort of warning that sounds alarming. The EMCD app is listed for iPhone and iPad, published by Emcd Tech Limited, and the version I looked at on the Nepal storefront carried no rating at all — “not enough ratings” — with the listing read on 21 October 2026. I could not find a Google Play listing. And the important part: the card is not available through the App Store build. So the app you can find is not the app that issues this card. On a platform where you would expect to do everything in one place, the card lives somewhere else.

Fees: what it really costs

The honest headline here is that this is an expensive card. Let me show the arithmetic rather than the adjectives.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a EMCD Payment payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Plus Premium
Issuance $19 $25
Monthly maintenance $5 $5
Top-up 1.5% 1.5%
Purchase 1.5% + $0.50 1.5% + $0.50
Declined payment $1.50 $1.50
Refund $0.50 $0.50
Reversal $2.00 $2.00
Chargeback $35 $35
Card closure $15 $15
Non-USD conversion a 3% conversion fee may apply a 3% conversion fee may apply
ATM / cash withdrawal not available not available
Per transaction $1,000 $10,000
Per day $3,000 $50,000
Per month $10,000 $400,000

Before you read anything into that table, there is a contradiction you should know about because it is exactly the kind of thing that wastes an afternoon. The press release of 13 February 2026 says “Issuance is free, with no monthly maintenance fee,” with additional fees under the Terms. The help centre says $19 and $25 to issue and $5 a month. Both are official. I have used the help-centre figures throughout, because a fee that appears on a pricing page is a fee you will be charged, and a promotional line calling issuance free is not a pricing page. But you should know that the company’s own two official sources disagree, because that tells you something about how firmly these numbers are held.

Now let me run three ordinary payments through it, because percentages hide their weight until you see them on a real amount.

A ten-dollar subscription. The purchase fee alone is 1.5% of $10, which is fifteen cents, plus the fixed $0.50. So $10.65. Then add the $5 monthly maintenance, which on a $10 purchase is half the purchase itself. A card that costs $5 a month is a card that needs to be used for something substantial, and a small recurring charge is the worst possible fit for it.

A two-hundred-dollar purchase. The purchase fee is 1.5% of $200, or $3.00, plus $0.50, so $3.50. Against $5 monthly maintenance, one purchase like this a month roughly covers the maintenance and comes close to covering the issuance cost in its first month. This is the shape of use the fees were built for — and note that if the purchase is not in dollars, a 3% conversion fee may apply on top, which would add $6 and take the total to $9.50 for the same basket.

Funding it in the first place. Your first top-up has to be at least $20, and of that, $15 is held as a security reserve until your total spending passes $2,500. So a $20 first load leaves you $5 to spend and $15 frozen. The top-up fee of 1.5% on $20 is thirty cents. But the more useful number is the fee on a realistic $200 load — $3.00 — and against the 3% conversion fee that may apply to any non-dollar purchase, the total cost of getting dollars and then spending them abroad can stack up faster than the individual lines suggest. Adding cards and networks is where the real money goes.

Two limits on the price itself. There are no spending-limit controls available yet, so you cannot cap the card at twenty dollars a day through the app. And declined payments cost $1.50 each, which is a small fortune for a payment that fails because the merchant wanted 3-D Secure, which this card does not support. That is not a hypothetical: it is the single most likely reason a payment of yours will be declined.

The older Light card, for comparison, since you may meet references to it: no annual or monthly fee, 2.5% per top-up, $0.25 per purchase, $0.02 to link to Apple or Google Pay, a $2,000 monthly top-up limit and no spending limit. It sounds cheaper on the running costs and much worse on the top-up cap. It is closed to new issuance anyway, so this is history, not an option.

Top up: how money gets onto the card

There is one way in, and it is worth stating plainly: you top up manually from EMCD’s internal USDT wallet, through the card menu. The USDT converts to USD and lands on the card balance. Networks are not stated. Top-up by card number is not possible — so you cannot load it from another exchange or a bank, and you cannot have someone send to it like a bank transfer.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up EMCD Payment starts with a transfer to the right network

That is the whole funding story. If you do not already hold USDT inside EMCD, this card has no use to you, because the step that would get USDT there is not described anywhere I could find. And even if you do, the network question is unresolved: which chain your USDT must sit on to be accepted is not stated in the card’s own materials, which is precisely the detail that decides whether a deposit arrives or disappears. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery from support with no guarantee attached. USDT exists on several chains — Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche among them — so the risk here is a real fork in the road, not a theoretical one.

The practical parameters: minimum first top-up $20, of which $15 is held as a security reserve until your cumulative spending exceeds $2,500. Top-up fee 1.5%. Top-ups and issuance typically complete in three to five minutes. Who pays the on-chain network fee for the transfer is not stated, and there is no fiat top-up — funding is USDT only.

And you cannot get the money back out. This is the detail that stops me more than any fee. There is no withdrawal of the card balance to your EMCD account. The remaining balance is refunded only when you close the card, and then it is converted to USDT, with a $15 closure fee. So the exit from this card costs fifteen dollars, and it lands as USDT rather than as dollars — even if you entered with dollars. For anyone who needs to move between fiat and crypto regularly, that asymmetry is the fact to weigh before anything else on this page.

The bank may close cards with $20 or less on them, or after 30 days of inactivity. That rule comes from the Light article, so I would treat it as indicative of the programme’s habits rather than as a confirmed current policy for Plus and Premium — but it is worth knowing that a card left empty does not sit there patiently forever.

Paying with it every day

Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported. You add the card through the wallet app and choose email verification; if the app asks for a phone call, contact support. This is the single feature that makes the virtual-only design tolerable, because a device-based token is about as close as a virtual card gets to being in your pocket. You can pay in any currency and the conversion is automatic — at a possible 3% conversion fee on non-USD purchases.

What you cannot do: take out cash. Cash withdrawals and ATM use are not supported at all, which is not a limit or a fee but an absence. If a city, a landlord, a parking garage or a market wants cash, this card is useless. If cash matters at all where you live, that ends the conversation.

3-D Secure is not supported, and this is the one I would raise with anyone considering the card. 3-D Secure is the identity check that online merchants rely on — the issuer assesses the risk and either waves the payment through or challenges you with a one-time code or a biometric prompt. It is Mastercard’s Identity Check, and it exists because a large share of online fraud happens on card payments. Without it, merchants that require it decline the payment. On a virtual, card-not-present card, that is a meaningful fraction of the web. Budget for it: some of your payments will simply not go through, and each decline costs $1.50.

Blocked merchant categories are not stated, so I cannot tell you whether gambling, adult content or anything else is filtered. What I can say is that merchants can decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards because the issuer and country show up in a lookup at the point of sale, and cards issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. If you travel, that is a second source of declines on top of the missing 3-D Secure.

There is no cashback. No cashback is mentioned in the card’s help articles or in the press release — the honest reading is that it is not stated, and the natural conclusion is that there is none. Nobody is paying you to spend here; you are paying them.

Disputes work, with prices attached. Refunds cost $0.50, reversals $2.00 and a chargeback $35. No time frames are stated. If USDT was deducted but the card was never credited, you contact support with the last four digits of the card, the date and the amount.

What can go wrong

Start with the corporate picture, because it is the largest single unknown. The card is operated by KazeFi under its regulatory authorisations. EMCD states plainly that it “does not issue cards, process payments, or convert crypto to fiat.” The press release is datelined Hong Kong. The registration country of the operation, the issuing bank, the issuing country and the licences are all not stated. So when I say this card is not issued by EMCD, I am repeating the company’s own position — and when I ask who is on the hook when a payment fails, the public pages do not answer. That is a real gap, not a formality.

The reward structure of this category explains why that gap matters. A card payment involves the network (Mastercard here) routing messages and setting rules, the issuer — a bank or e-money institution licensed to issue under the network’s licence — actually holding the programme, and the crypto brand often being only a programme manager or front end. When the middle layer is missing or unnamed, you are the one left holding the risk.

What about the balance itself: the card balance is separate from your Main account and is not a bank account. The custody model and how the funds are safeguarded are not stated. Whether there is two-factor authentication, whether you can freeze the card instantly in the app — neither is stated. Spending-limit controls are not yet available. For context on what safeguards normally look like: app-based 2FA, instant freeze, spending limits, 3-D Secure confirmation and tokenised mobile wallets are the standard set, and this card clearly does not offer the last of those. I am not going to tell you it is safe or unsafe. I am telling you that the company has not said, and that in a product holding real money, silence is information.

Then the record. Officially: the Light card was closed to new issuance for cards issued after July 2025 — described in the help centre as a programme change. The press release of 13 February 2026 announces the Mastercard-linked USDT card for Latin America and says Light cards are no longer issued. In the press, I found no independent complaints about the card.

On Trustpilot for the company as a whole company — not the card — the rating was unavailable “due to a breach of our guidelines” when I looked on 21 October 2026, across 190 reviews: 83% five-star, 11% one-star. What users describe (unofficial user reports, not confirmed by the card) are account blocks and bans after KYC checks in November 2025 and March 2026, slow verification in November 2025, and missing bonuses in November 2025. Note what is absent from those themes: not one complaint about the card itself on the page I read. Both the positive and the negative here are company-level, and a reader tempted to treat the 83% as a verdict on the card would be reading it wrong in both directions.

There is also a small date discrepancy worth recording, since it is the kind of thing that makes you doubt the rest: one source dates the announcement November 2025 while the press release itself is dated 13 February 2026, and the sources differ on which is right.

Two more failures that are not EMCD’s fault but will land on you. Blockchain deposits are irreversible — if your USDT goes to the wrong network, there is no chargeback mechanism for a blockchain transfer, only a support request. And Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof and a stablecoin balance is not a neutral holding.

One last category, mentioned because it belongs in a full review and I will not be giving advice on it: in the US the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss measured in local currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction. Each card payment funded from crypto may therefore be a separate disposal. That is a matter for a qualified professional in your jurisdiction, not for me.

What to take instead

I want to be careful here, because the honest comparison is not flattering to anyone. Every option below also has blank spaces — this is a thin corner of the market, and I found no card here that publishes an issuing bank and a licence in plain text. But they are shaped differently from EMCD, and shape matters when you are choosing where to hold money.

EMCD Payment CardFlow HyperCard Card.fi
My score 5.3 / 10 4.9 / 10 4.7 / 10 6.6 / 10
Card type Virtual Mastercard, USD Virtual USD Mastercard, about 3 minutes to create Prepaid, network not stated on the App Store page; balance in USD or EUR Virtual and physical Classic, Premium and metal (stainless steel); every physical order includes a virtual card
Who it is aimed at Anyone outside thirteen named countries; press release says Latin America “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform”, Nigerians and global users Official pages state no country list; the App Store says the card works in “more than 176 countries” (acceptance, not eligibility) Cards ship to “200+ countries”; terms bar residents of, or orders from, a country subject to sanctions that would prohibit the service
Cost to start $19 Plus / $25 Premium, $5 a month “Creating a virtual card is completely free”; monthly fee not stated Not stated; App Store page lists no fees One-time: Virtual Classic $49, Virtual Premium $249; physical and metal prices not listed; no monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee
Spending fee 1.5% + $0.50 Not stated Not stated on pages I could read Top-up Classic 1.5% + $1.00, Premium 1%; FX Classic 3.5%, Premium 2.5%; conversion fee shown before each top-up
Funding Internal USDT wallet only; networks not stated; not by card number Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer; networks not stated Deposit crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH in the app, converted to USD or EUR; networks not stated 32 coins across 5 networks — Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana, Kaanch — including USDT, USDC, ETH, BNB, SOL, KAANCH; own deposit address per card; converted at market rate on arrival
Rewards Not stated Not stated Not stated Cashback on card spending: Classic 0.8% (cap 10 USDT/month), Premium 1%, Metal 1.2% (cap 100 USDT/month, 5,000 USDT) or 2% (cap 250 USDT/month, 20,000 USDT); headline 10% at coffee shops capped at 10 USDT/month; balances “up to 18%” on Metal, variable

Three ways to read that table.

If your problem is that you cannot get a bank card in your country, EMCD’s reach is the argument for it and nothing else is. It explicitly names the countries where it does not work, and that kind of bluntness is rarer than it should be. CardFlow is explicitly Nigerian and says so; HyperCard’s country position is unstated officially, and its “176 countries” line describes where the card is accepted, not who can sign up.

If your problem is cost, CardFlow’s free virtual card is hard to argue with on the entry fee, but its spending and top-up fees are not stated anywhere I could read, so the comparison ends at the door. Card.fi’s numbers are the only ones on this page that are fully published: $49 for a virtual Classic is more than EMCD’s $19, but there is no monthly fee, no annual fee, no inactivity fee and no minimum balance. Over a year of moderate spending, EMCD’s $60 in maintenance alone exceeds Card.fi’s entire virtual Classic price.

If your problem is that you hold several coins, Card.fi is the substantive answer. Thirty-two coins across five named networks, with a separate deposit address per card, is a real funding operation; EMCD’s single internal USDT wallet with no networks named is a real limitation. Card.fi’s warning also deserves reading: sending on the wrong chain risks permanent loss. And note that Card.fi’s headline “10% at coffee shops” is capped at 10 USDT a month — that is what a headline number usually is.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card to exactly one person: someone who already holds USDT inside EMCD, cannot get an ordinary bank card, spends online and in dollars, and treats the card as a spending tool rather than a piece of financial infrastructure. For that person, $19 plus $5 a month plus the fees buys something unobtainable otherwise — a Mastercard number that works almost everywhere and can be pushed into Apple Pay or Google Pay.

I would not recommend it if any of the following is true. If you need cash, stop reading — there is no ATM and no withdrawal. If you are going to spend in a currency other than dollars regularly, the possible 3% conversion fee on top of 1.5% plus $0.50 is where the money goes. If you shop anywhere that requires 3-D Secure, expect declines at $1.50 each. If your spending is small enough that $5 a month is a meaningful share of it, this card is priced wrong for you. If you want to move money between fiat and crypto, note that you cannot get the balance back out except at a $15 closure fee and in USDT. And if you are the kind of person who wants to know which bank issued your card and under which licence, that answer is not public, and I would not want you running money through a gap like that.

The comparison table is where I would send anyone still deciding. EMCD is the widest-reaching and among the most expensive. CardFlow is the cheapest entry with the most published about its audience. HyperCard is the vaguest. Card.fi scores highest, publishes the most numbers and has a physical card and cashback — at a higher entry price.

Frequently asked questions

What is EMCD Payment card?

It is a virtual Mastercard card that spends a USD balance loaded from USDT. EMCD is the platform; the card is run by KazeFi, and EMCD says it does not issue cards itself. It is a spending tool for people who hold USDT and cannot get a normal bank card — not a bank account, and not a physical card.

How does the EMCD Payment card work?

You top up from EMCD’s internal USDT wallet, USDT converts to USD, and the card spends that balance. The balance lives in the card, separate from your Main account, and the card cannot overdraw. Payments go through Mastercard’s network, and conversion to another currency happens automatically, with a 3% conversion fee possibly applying.

Is EMCD Payment a bank?

No, and the company’s own wording is clear that it is not one. EMCD says it “does not issue cards, process payments, or convert crypto to fiat.” The card balance is separate from your Main account and is not a bank account. The issuing bank, its country and the relevant licences are not stated on the public pages.

Who owns EMCD Payment?

The card is operated by KazeFi under its regulatory authorisations, while the app is published by Emcd Tech Limited and the press release is datelined Hong Kong. Registration country, issuing bank and issuing country are not stated. So the operator of the card is named, but the legal and regulatory stack behind it is not fully public.

Can I use the EMCD Payment card in my country?

Probably, unless you are in one of thirteen named countries: Afghanistan, Belarus, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Russia, Myanmar, Somalia, Ukraine, Yemen and China. The card works wherever Mastercard is accepted. Whether eligibility follows citizenship or residence is not stated, and there is no positive country list — the February 2026 release only says Latin America.

Does the EMCD Payment card require KYC?

Yes. Identity verification with a valid government-issued ID is mandatory, and it happens after your first top-up. If your document is rejected you retry with a different one; if it is still running after thirty minutes you contact support. Proof of address and age requirements are not stated, and there is no tiered structure.

How do I top up the EMCD Payment card?

Manually, from the internal USDT wallet in EMCD’s app, through the card menu. The minimum first top-up is $20, of which $15 is held as a security reserve until your total spending passes $2,500, and the top-up fee is 1.5%. Which networks are supported is not stated, and you cannot top up by card number.

Can I withdraw money from EMCD?

No. There is no withdrawal of the card balance back to your EMCD account. A remaining balance is refunded only when you close the card, converted to USDT, with a $15 closure fee. Cash withdrawals and ATM use are not supported either, which is a separate and more total restriction.

Is the EMCD Payment card safe to use?

I cannot tell you that it is safe, and I would not tell anyone it is. It uses Mastercard’s network and works through Apple Pay and Google Pay, but 3-D Secure is not supported, the custody and safeguarding model is not stated, and two-factor authentication and an in-app freeze are not stated either. What you are accepting is an undisclosed stack.

Is the EMCD Payment card worth it?

Only for someone who already holds USDT in EMCD, cannot get a bank card, and spends online in dollars. Against that: $19 to issue, $5 a month, 1.5% to top up, 1.5% plus $0.50 per purchase, a possible 3% conversion fee, $1.50 per declined payment, no ATM and no cashback. Card.fi scores higher at 6.6 out of 10 and publishes its fees.

Content created by the «cryptocardshortlist» team