Plumex card, looked at from the outside: a Czech-built crypto card for Europe and Ukraine whose real numbers are still partly under wraps
Plumex is one of the newer names you come across when looking for a payment card that spends from a crypto balance. It is built by a Czech company, runs a mobile app, supports Apple Pay and Google Pay, and is pitched at people in Europe and Ukraine. It also comes with a pricing structure where most of the numbers you would normally compare are simply not published, and where the entity holding the funds, the company behind the card, and the licence it relies on are not stated in the same place. This review goes through who Plumex is built for, how to get the card, what it costs in practice, how to fund it, what everyday use looks like, and where the open questions are. By the end you should be able to decide whether it fits your situation or whether one of the alternatives is a better match.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Plumex sits at 5.9 out of 10 in my scoring, which puts it in the “interesting, but not yet convincing” band. The score is built from five sub-scores: who can get the card (5/10), cost (7/10), top-up options (5/10), reliability and complaints (6/10), and everyday use (6/10). The combination tells a story. Plumex has reasonable bones — a free basic plan, a swap fee of 0.5%, support for Apple Pay and Google Pay, and a stated focus on Europe and Ukraine — but the cost side only looks good on the line items that have numbers. The fees page exists, yet most amounts are not published; the foreign-exchange margin is not disclosed; ATM and card-issuance details are missing; and the company behind the card has not put a licence number or a card issuer on the public page. For Europeans and Ukrainians looking for a crypto app with a card, Plumex is worth a look. For anyone who needs to see hard numbers before signing up, or who needs a named bank or e-money licence behind the card, the public information is too thin to confirm either way.
Score breakdown
| Criterion | Mark | Why it lands there |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Aimed at Europe and Ukraine; supported countries are shown only in the app; depends on residence and actual location. |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | 0.5% swap on the free Basic plan, free swaps on the paid Premium plan; most other fees and the FX margin are not published. |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Spends directly from a crypto balance; supported coins and networks are not disclosed; the team says crypto deposits are fee-free. |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Platform is Plum Labs s.r.o. (Czech Republic), custody is by Plum Global Inc. (Panama); no licence numbers and no card issuer named; no public complaints, no Trustpilot reviews yet. |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Apple Pay and Google Pay work; card type, physical form and ATM behaviour are not stated. |
| Total | 5.9 / 10 | Promising, but too many open questions on cost, custody and licensing to score higher. |
In short, Plumex is best suited to a user in a supported European country or in Ukraine who already holds crypto, is comfortable with a custodial app, and does not need a physical card or an ATM in the near term. If any of those conditions do not hold for you, the rest of the review will help you see where it falls short.
Who will they give you the card
Plumex is described by the team as “built for everyday money needs in Europe and Ukraine.” That is a tight geographic pitch, and the fine print narrows it further. Availability “may vary by country and local requirements,” and the supported countries are shown inside the app rather than on a public list. Eligibility is tied to where you actually live and where you are when you use the service, not to your citizenship. The Ukraine-only service route has a specific carve-out: it “is not available to persons residing in or accessing the services from the European Union.” If you are a Ukrainian citizen living in Poland, for example, the European rules are the ones that govern your access.
What this means in practice: you should not assume that being in a European country is enough. The app is the source of truth. If the country you live in is not on the list, you will not be able to complete sign-up; if it is on the list but you are travelling, the service may behave differently while you are away. The flip side is also true — a country on the list today can be removed if local rules or the operator’s risk policy change, and the public materials flag that as a possibility.
Age and identity rules are standard for the category. The service is for adults, and the app says you must be 18 or older. A “5-minute KYC” is advertised, but the actual depth of the check depends on the provider at that moment. You can be asked for a government ID, proof of address, a selfie or a live video check, and the team is explicit that there is no fixed review period — some applications clear fast, others wait on documents. Risk-based limits apply rather than tiered KYC: the more you do, the more the system may ask of you.
Rejection reasons are listed on the public page, and they tell you where the operator draws lines. An application can be refused for an ineligible residence or location (including the use of a VPN or proxy to appear to be somewhere else), a sanctions match, transactions that look structured or unexplained, documents that do not line up, payments made from a third party, missing information under the Travel Rule, and blockchain activity the system flags as high-risk. The last item is worth pausing on: if you regularly move funds through mixers, privacy tools, or addresses linked to hacks, you can be refused even when your identity and address are clean.
How to get it
Sign-up is designed to feel quick. You download the app, register, and go through KYC. The advertised “5-minute” flow assumes the provider’s checks do not pull you into a deeper review. The reality is that a faster path depends on the documents you have to hand and on what the system sees in your profile.
What the public page does not say is just as important as what it does. Card type, network, currency and form factor (physical, virtual, or both) are not stated on the site. A check from earlier visits suggests the card draws directly from the crypto balance, but the current product page does not confirm the network or whether there is a plastic card at all. Delivery time for a physical card is also not stated. So the practical sign-up question — what you will be holding in your wallet, on your phone, or both — does not have a public answer before you install the app.
Once you are in, the experience is app-driven. Limits are set on a risk basis, not on a published tier system, so the thresholds that apply to you will only become clear after you start using the service. For most readers, the safer way to think about it is: the entry is light, but the unknowns around the card itself only resolve themselves once you are past sign-up.
What it really costs: Fees
The headline pricing is friendly. The Basic plan is free, and on it the swap fee is 0.5%. The Premium plan is listed at $14.99 a month and is marked as “Coming soon” at the time of writing; on Premium, swaps are free, and the plan adds exclusive card designs, lounge and Fast Track access, eSIM best prices, one free cash in or out per month up to $499, and priority support. A free basic plan with a small swap fee is a sensible shape for a crypto card. The problem is that the surrounding fees — the ones that decide whether the card is actually cheap to use in your daily life — are not in numbers on the public page.

Costs
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | Not stated |
| Monthly fee (Basic) | Free |
| Monthly fee (Premium) | $14.99/month (Coming soon) |
| Crypto swap fee (Basic) | 0.5% |
| Crypto swap fee (Premium) | Free |
| Foreign currency conversion | Not stated |
| FX margin | Not stated |
| ATM withdrawal | Not stated |
| Cash in/out (Premium perk) | 1 free per month, up to $499 |
| Daily spending limit | Not stated |
| Monthly spending limit | Not stated |
| Crypto withdrawal | Service fee + network fee, amounts not stated |
The three everyday payments worth pricing in your head are these. First, paying in your home currency from a crypto balance: a 0.5% swap is your only disclosed cost on Basic, and the FX layer (if any) is hidden. Second, paying in a foreign currency while travelling: the swap still applies, and there is normally a foreign-currency margin on top, but Plumex has not published that number. Third, withdrawing cash from an ATM: the ATM fee itself is not stated, and a separate MoneyGram cash-pickup service exists that works in “200+ countries” and “100,000+ locations” — that is a different product, not a card cash withdrawal, and the fees for it are not given here either.
The honest reading is that the costs you can see look reasonable, and the costs you cannot see could move the picture in either direction. If you are the kind of person who only ever pays in your home currency, the 0.5% swap on Basic is the cost that matters, and it is competitive. If you travel, pay in foreign currencies, or rely on ATMs, you have to assume there is a margin and ask the support team for the actual number before you commit.
How to top it up: Top up
The card spends from the crypto balance held in the app, which is the model most users mean by “top up” in this category: you transfer crypto in, and the card pulls from that balance at the moment of payment. The conversion happens when you pay, not when you fund. The team’s public messaging, including a LinkedIn post from the company, is that crypto deposits are fee-free, and the official fees page lists the relevant categories without putting amounts on them. That is a useful commitment in principle, but it leaves two questions open.

First, which coins and which networks are supported is not stated on the public page. If you hold only Bitcoin, or only ERC-20 tokens, or only stablecoins on a specific chain, you need to check that your combination is supported before you move anything. Second, fiat top-up — adding money from a bank account or card — is not stated at all. For a card sold on everyday use, that is a noticeable gap: the explicit, working top-up route is crypto, and fiat on-ramp details are left for the in-app flow.
Crypto withdrawals from the app are described as carrying a service fee plus the network fee, with the amounts not given. Closing the account is allowed once any pending transactions have settled, and assets are returned to you. If you decide to leave, that path is documented, which is a small but real plus.
The practical takeaway: topping up starts with a transfer of a supported coin on a supported network, and the only firm number you can plan around today is that the company says there is no fee on its side. Network fees (gas, bandwidth, or whatever the underlying chain charges) are charged by the blockchain, not by Plumex, and they are out of the operator’s control.
Paying with it every day
What the public page confirms is the part most readers care about: the card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and the brand line is “Crypto behind the tap.” That means the card can be added to a phone wallet and used contactless, which is the everyday behaviour that matters for most people. Blocked merchant categories are not stated, so you should expect a standard set of restrictions (gambling, adult content, certain financial services) without being able to confirm the exact list in advance.
Rewards and cashback are not stated. Perks are flagged as “Coming soon,” so the Basic plan today is a card that does what it says — it pays from a crypto balance — and nothing more. The Premium plan, once live, ties rewards-style perks (lounge, Fast Track, eSIM) to a subscription rather than to spending.
App ratings on the App Store and Google Play were not read for this review, so the smoothness of the app, frequency of updates and the kind of feedback users leave there are out of scope. The same goes for the user experience around adding the card to Apple Wallet or Google Wallet: the public materials point to mobile-wallet support, and the rest is in-app.
Disputes and refunds follow a documented path. Refunds are not automatic; when they happen, the money goes back to the original source; routine decisions are made within 10 Business Days, and more complex cases are targeted at 30 calendar days. Your right to dispute through your bank or card scheme is not limited by the platform, which matters because some crypto products ask you to give up chargeback rights. Plumex does not. That is a quiet but real point in its favour.
A note on the underlying mechanics, in case you have been burned by a similar card before. A payment card number starts with a six- or eight-digit issuer identification number that tells a merchant which institution issued the card and from which country. If the issuer country differs from your billing address, a merchant may apply extra checks, and some sites decline prepaid or foreign-issuer card numbers outright. The cardholder agreement and the public materials do not say which network Plumex runs on, so I cannot tell you whether the BIN will be flagged as European, Panamanian, Canadian, or something else. If a specific merchant keeps declining the card, that is a likely reason.
What can go wrong
The honest part of any review is the risk section, and Plumex has more of these than average. None of them is a deal-breaker on its own; together, they explain why the score sits in the fives and sixes rather than in the eights.
Who is behind the card. The platform is Plum Labs s.r.o., a Czech company with Company ID 243 80 792, registered in Prague. Custody of the crypto balance sits with Plum Global Inc., a company registered in Panama. Fiat and exchange services are run by Innovate Payments Inc., a company in British Columbia, Canada, and identity verification is routed through LMLP consulting s.r.o., another Czech entity. None of these companies has a published licence number on the Plumex site, and the card issuer is not named. That is not the same as saying the company is unlicensed, but it does mean you cannot verify the licence claim from the public page — you have to ask support, or wait for the company to publish the details.
Custody and your keys. The card is custodial, which means Plum Global Inc. holds the credentials for the funds backing your balance. That is convenient, and it is the standard model for this category, but it also means that if the custodian runs into trouble, the funds can be hard to recover. Custodial platforms have a track record of high-profile failures, and the category history is part of the risk you take on. The public materials do not describe two-factor authentication, instant card freeze, or other safeguards by name, so the protective layer on the user side is not documented either.
The numbers that are not there. A review of a card has to lean on fees, and Plumex’s fees page lists categories without amounts in several places that matter: card issuance, foreign currency conversion, ATM withdrawals, daily and monthly limits. You can use the card, but you cannot reliably price the card before you commit. For some readers that is fine — a 0.5% swap is the cost they care about, and that number is published. For others, especially people who travel or withdraw cash often, the missing numbers are a real reason to pause.
Sanctions and country rules. Sanctions screening is part of standard onboarding, and the rejection-reasons list calls it out specifically. If your name, your address, or any of the counterparties in your transaction history matches a sanctions list, the account can be refused or closed. This applies regardless of which country you are signing up from. National rules also matter: the same providers that serve Ukraine explicitly do not serve EU residents on that route, and European rules govern European access.
Support. The contact details are [email protected] for general questions and [email protected] for complaints, with complaints acknowledged within 3 Business Days and a final reply targeted at 30 calendar days. Languages and operating hours are not stated. That is workable, but not generous: if you need help in a hurry and English-only is the only confirmed option, you should plan around that.
Public track record. No official incidents or user complaints turned up in the searches I ran. Trustpilot shows no reviews yet, with a TrustScore of 0, which is not the same as “bad” — it is just empty. Trustpilot can take a while to fill, and the absence of reviews at this stage is more an absence of data than a positive or negative signal.
What to take instead
If Plumex’s open questions are deal-breakers for you, three alternatives cover most of the use cases in this review. They are presented here in the same shape I would use to compare them: who can get it, what the card is, what it costs, and how it is funded. Scores are from my own scoring framework and reflect the published information at the time of writing.
International Visa Card
- Score: 6.7 / 10.
- Who can get it: The card is not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam. Purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The rule is by residence or registration, not by citizenship, and FATF grey-list countries are reviewed case by case.
- What the card is: A U.S.-issued Platinum Visa card, virtual at launch, paid in USD. A physical card is listed as “Coming soon.”
- Cost: Virtual card issuance is $5 one-time, with no maintenance fee. Plans are Classic (free), Pro at $9.00 a month and Max at $19.00 a month. Card use in USD is free on every plan; foreign currency is charged at the Visa exchange rate plus a 2% FX fee. Deposits of any kind are free.
- Top up: You deposit USDC or USDT into the USD account at 1:1 with no fee, per the earlier check, and the fees page confirms deposits of any kind are free. USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow deposits are also listed. Networks for stablecoin deposits are not stated.
- Rewards: No cashback stated.
The International Visa Card is the right alternative if you want a clearer fee structure, a real network on the front of the card, and a path that mixes stablecoin and fiat deposits. The 2% FX fee is the cost that matters for travellers, and it is published.
UNi Card
- Score: 6.1 / 10.
- Who can get it: Not stated on the public materials.
- What the card is: A multicurrency card on the Mastercard network, spent from the UNi.Global account balance. Physical and virtual form factors are not stated.
- Cost: “No annual fee,” and the card has “no foreign transaction fee.” Assets are converted at live over-the-counter rates, with “no hidden exchange fees.” Issuance fee is not stated.
- Top up: Not stated.
- Rewards: Spend-to-Earn rewards of up to 3% with UNi Card.
UNi Card is the right alternative if multicurrency spending and a stated cashback rate matter more to you than a published fee schedule. The lack of stated top-up methods is a real gap if you want to plan funding in advance.
Morse
- Score: 7.5 / 10.
- Who can get it: Eligibility is by residence, not citizenship. Users must be at least 18 and a resident in a supported country. The app is available in over 140 countries for peer-to-peer use, and local add/withdraw is available in more than 70. A closed beta in several countries — American Samoa, Australia, Cape Verde, Guernsey, Hong Kong SAR China, Isle of Man, Japan, Jersey, New Zealand, Serbia, Singapore, Switzerland, Thailand, Türkiye, the United Kingdom and Western Sahara — needs an invite code. The card is “available only in certain countries,” and the list is not published; you have to check the app.
- What the card is: A fully virtual card on Visa, prepaid, drawing on the Morse Balance in any currency.
- Cost: Issuance and monthly fees are not stated; the card page points to the Cardholder Agreement. Paying with the card online and contactless is free, foreign-exchange and conversion use the real exchange rate with no markup.
- Top up: You can deposit by debit card, stablecoin transfer, or Account Details (USD, EUR, MXN, COP; BRL needs a Brazilian CPF). USDC, USDG and EURC over Solana are free; other tokens and blockchains carry a fee. Bitcoin, USDT, Ethereum and other tokens can also be deposited. The Morse Wallet is self-custodial.
- Rewards: Not stated on the card pages.
Morse is the right alternative if you want a self-custodial wallet feeding a card, with the conversion margin explicitly at the real exchange rate and free stablecoin deposits on a listed network. The closed-beta country list and the absent fee line items on the card page are the trade-offs.
Quick comparison
| Card | Score | Cost headline | FX | Top up | Card form |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plumex | 5.9 / 10 | Basic free, Premium $14.99/month (Coming soon); 0.5% swap | Not stated | Crypto only, network not stated | Not stated |
| International Visa Card | 6.7 / 10 | Plans from free to $19.00/month; $5 virtual issuance | Visa rate + 2% | USDC/USDT 1:1; USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow | Virtual; physical Coming soon |
| UNi Card | 6.1 / 10 | No annual fee | Live OTC rate | Not stated | Not stated |
| Morse | 7.5 / 10 | Not stated on card page | Real rate, no markup | Debit card, stablecoin, Account Details; free on USDC/USDG/EURC over Solana | Virtual |
Who I would recommend it to
Plumex is a reasonable fit if you are a European or Ukrainian resident whose primary need is a card that spends from a crypto balance you already hold, and you do not depend on foreign-currency conversions, ATM withdrawals or a published fee schedule. If you want the comfort of mobile-wallet support on both Apple Pay and Google Pay, the right to dispute through your bank, and a free basic plan with a small swap fee, the bones are in the right place.
Plumex is not a good fit if you need to see the full fee schedule before signing up; if you travel frequently and want a published FX margin; if you rely on cash withdrawals; if you need a named card issuer, a published licence number, or a physical card on day one; or if you want a self-custodial model where you hold your own keys. In any of those cases, one of the alternatives above will fit you better, and the comparison table is the quickest way to pick.
The honest summary: Plumex looks like a card in progress, not a card that has finished telling you what it is. The public information is enough to start, and not enough to commit if you are the kind of person who prices every fee in advance. If you do start, the on-ramp is light, the basic plan is free, and the in-app flow is where the open questions resolve themselves.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Plumex card?
Plumex is a payment card that spends from a crypto balance held in the Plumex mobile app. The card is built by a Czech company, Plum Labs s.r.o., and is aimed at users in Europe and Ukraine. The card network, form factor and currency are not stated on the public page, though earlier checks suggested the card draws directly from the crypto balance.
How does the Plumex card work?
You hold crypto in the Plumex app, and when you pay with the card the balance is converted at the moment of payment. The app supports Apple Pay and Google Pay, so you can add the card to a phone wallet for contactless use. The basic plan charges a 0.5% swap fee; the paid Premium plan, listed as “Coming soon” at the time of writing, makes swaps free.
Is Plumex a bank?
No. Plumex is a payments and crypto platform run by Plum Labs s.r.o. in the Czech Republic, with crypto custody by Plum Global Inc. in Panama and fiat and exchange services by Innovate Payments Inc. in British Columbia, Canada. No bank or e-money licence numbers, and no card issuer, are published on the Plumex site.
Who owns Plumex?
The platform is Plum Labs s.r.o., a Czech company with Company ID 243 80 792, registered in Prague. The custody entity is Plum Global Inc. in Panama, and the fiat and exchange partner is Innovate Payments Inc. in British Columbia, Canada. Identity-verification routing is handled by LMLP consulting s.r.o., also in the Czech Republic.
Is the Plumex card available in my country?
Plumex is described as “built for everyday money needs in Europe and Ukraine,” with the supported countries shown only in the app. Availability depends on your residence and on where you actually are when you use the service, and the Ukraine service route is not available to people residing in or accessing from the European Union. If your country is not on the in-app list, sign-up will not work.
How do I get the Plumex card?
You download the Plumex app, register an account, and complete KYC. The advertised flow is “5-minute KYC,” though the actual review time depends on the documents you provide and on the provider’s checks. Card type, network, currency and delivery are not stated on the public page, so the answer to “what do I get?” only becomes clear in the app.
Does the Plumex card require KYC?
Yes. KYC is part of sign-up, and the platform supports government ID, proof of address, selfie or liveness checks, and sometimes a video check. Risk-based limits apply rather than published tiers, and the team lists several rejection reasons, including sanctions matches, inconsistent documents, third-party payments, missing Travel Rule information, and high-risk blockchain exposure.
How do I top up the Plumex card?
You transfer crypto to the app; the card then spends from that balance. The team says crypto deposits are fee-free, although the specific coins and networks supported are not disclosed on the public page. Fiat top-up options, if any, are not stated. Crypto withdrawals from the app carry a service fee plus the network fee, with amounts not given.
How do I add the Plumex card to Apple Wallet or Google Wallet?
The app supports Apple Pay and Google Pay, so once the card is set up in the app you can add it to either wallet and pay contactless. The exact steps depend on the version of the app and the phone you use, and Plumex’s help pages describe the flow.
Is the Plumex card safe?
Safety on a custodial card depends on the operator. Plumex custody sits with Plum Global Inc. in Panama, and no licence numbers, no card issuer, and no specific user-side safeguards such as two-factor authentication or instant card freeze are published. The brand has no public complaints on file and no Trustpilot reviews yet, so the track record is too short to confirm either way. Treat the card the way you would treat any custodial crypto product: do not store more on the platform than you can afford to lose.
App and neobank cards on the shortlist – cryptocardshortlist
Content created by the «cryptocardshortlist» team
