Kinesis card, reviewed from the outside in
Kinesis runs a crypto-backed payment card that converts gold, silver, crypto or a dollar-pegged token at the point of sale, and pays a 2% reward in gold for the first six months. The pitch is unusual: spend from a precious-metals balance, not from a bank account. After working through what Kinesis publishes and what third-party sites have reported, my honest read is that the card is real and live for a virtual product, but the official pages are unusually thin on the practical questions a cardholder actually asks — who qualifies, what it costs, what the limits are — and a chunk of what circulates online comes from promotional coverage or from users complaining on Trustpilot rather than from the card’s own documentation. The conditions described below are current as of 2026-10-20.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
If you have come to Kinesis because ordinary bank cards are hard to get, the first question is whether the card is even available where you live and what you will pay to spend from it. The rest of this review walks through who the card suits, how you get one, what it costs in practice, how you fund it, what daily use looks like, what can go wrong, and what the alternatives are.
Verdict
Kinesis earns 4.8 out of 10 in my assessment, with a clear shape to that score. The proposition is interesting — a virtual card that draws on a precious-metals balance and pays 2% cashback in gold for the first six months — but the practical foundation is wobbly: the card is virtual only, the official pages are silent on the KYC requirements, the card-issuing licence, the network, ATM access, fees and limits, and a meaningful share of the user reports on Trustpilot describe delayed or frozen withdrawals and weak support. If you are already deep inside the Kinesis ecosystem, hold gold (KAU) or silver (KAG) there, and treat the card as a way to spend that balance, it can make sense. If you are shopping for a primary everyday card, the missing information alone is a reason to look elsewhere.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5/10 | The official page does not list eligible countries; starting data points to the US, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the site shows a pre-registration step rather than a direct sign-up. |
| Cost | 6/10 | The card’s own pages do not publish fees. Unofficial sources report no monthly or sign-up fees but quote a 1.95% transaction fee in one place and 0.22% conversion plus 0.45% per transaction in another — these conflict. |
| Top-up options | 5/10 | Gold (KAU), silver (KAG), crypto and a dollar-pegged token (C1USD) convert instantly at the point of sale from the Kinesis account, but the supported networks are not stated. |
| Reliability and complaints | 4/10 | The card issuer and its licences are not named on the card’s pages. Trustpilot for Kinesis Money sits at 2.4 from about 750 reviews; users report withdrawal delays around 40 days, complaints about fees, and liquidity worries. |
| Everyday use | 3/10 | The card is virtual only; Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned anywhere on the official pages and there is no ATM access. |
| Total | 4.8/10 | The card is real and the cashback is genuinely 2% in gold for six months, but the gap between the official story and the practical details makes it hard to recommend to anyone who is not already in the Kinesis ecosystem. |
The audience I would steer toward this card is narrow: existing Kinesis users who want to spend their gold, silver or crypto balances in shops and online, are comfortable with a virtual-only product, and can tolerate the unanswered questions. Outside that group, the lack of published fees, the absence of a physical card, and the volume of withdrawal-related complaints push the card down the shortlist.
Who will they give you the card
The honest answer to “who can get the Kinesis card” is that the card’s own pages do not say. There is no list of eligible countries, no age statement, and no clear statement of the issuer’s licensing footprint. What is on the official site, as of the check date, is a pre-registration flow and a description of the card rather than a self-serve sign-up.
The starting data for this review points to the United States, Latin America and the Caribbean as the regions where the card was first being rolled out, but that is a starting signal, not a published eligibility list. If you are reading this from Europe, the UK, much of Asia or Africa, the practical question is whether Kinesis will accept your application at all; the official pages do not let you answer that before you sign up. The KYC (Know Your Customer) requirements are similarly undocumented on the card page itself — the site links a KYC guide, but the content of that guide was not part of the public pages I worked from.
This is the kind of card that looks interesting on a marketing page and then leaves the practical questions for support. A reader who has had trouble getting a bank card — for immigration reasons, for thin credit history, for any of the reasons that send people looking at crypto cards in the first place — should not assume that “crypto card” automatically means “easy to get”. Regulated card issuers still run KYC checks, and the checks for a card issued in the US or the Cayman Islands may exclude residents of jurisdictions the issuer does not serve.
What this means in practice is that you cannot compare this card’s availability to a mainstream debit card before you start. You can, however, compare the answers Kinesis gives to the questions that are public: the company runs a support centre, a contact form and a community forum, and the website links a guide to identity verification. If you cannot find a list of supported countries, the safer assumption is to write to support before you commit time and personal documents.
How to get it
The Kinesis card is a virtual card. There is no physical card offered on the card’s own pages; the site describes a digital card that exists in your Kinesis account, and a third-party Substack report from 2026 describes the virtual card as live, with a separate physical Visa card (from 2021) being a different product altogether. For this review the relevant product is the virtual one.
The signup process runs through the Kinesis website and the Kinesis mobile app. The site shows a pre-registration step tied to a “6 months free” cashback offer, and third-party promotional coverage describes the virtual card programme as now live. The card’s network is not stated officially; one unofficial source, a 2026 Substack write-up of promotional coverage, says the card runs on Mastercard and is operated by BAANX. I would not rely on that alone — it is unofficial, and the card’s own pages do not confirm it.
The KYC step is referenced but not detailed on the card page. The site links a KYC guide; the practical implication is that you will need to verify your identity before the card works, but the level of verification (basic identity document, proof of address, source-of-funds checks) is not stated for the card product. That matters because, in the EU and the US, KYC rules require issuers to verify name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documents, run sanctions screening and, in many cases, assess whether the customer is a politically exposed person — a heavier process than “upload your passport”. On a regulated card, you should expect at least a passport or national ID, a selfie check, and a recent proof of address.
The card currency is not stated on the official pages. Most virtual cards in this corner of the market settle in US dollars, euros or pounds, and the cardholder’s home currency is converted at the point of sale, but you should not assume any of that without seeing it on Kinesis’s own page or in the cardholder agreement.
The simple summary: sign up at kinesis (the pre-registration flow is the visible entry point as of the check date), complete the KYC steps that appear in your account, and a virtual card is provisioned in your account. Because the network and the card currency are not published, treat the card as a “we will tell you at the next step” product, not a “here is exactly what you will get” product.
What it really costs: the Fees
This is where the review gets uncomfortable, and where the difference between official and unofficial information matters most. The Kinesis card’s own pages do not publish a fee schedule. The site links a general Kinesis fees page, but the content of that page was not part of the public information I worked from for the card product. Several of the figures that circulate online come from promotional coverage rather than from the card issuer itself, and they conflict.

| Fee or limit | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Card issuance | not stated | — |
| Monthly or annual fee | not stated officially; UNOFFICIAL: none | Promotional coverage, 2026 |
| Sign-up fee | not stated officially; UNOFFICIAL: none | Promotional coverage, 2026 |
| Conversion fee | not stated officially; UNOFFICIAL: 0.22% in one source | Promotional coverage, 2026 |
| Transaction fee | not stated officially; UNOFFICIAL: 1.95% in one source, 0.45% in another | Promotional coverage, 2026 |
| FX (foreign exchange) fee | not stated | — |
| ATM withdrawal | not stated; the card is virtual and ATM access is not mentioned | — |
| Daily limit | not stated officially; UNOFFICIAL: $15,000 (one source), €15,000 (another) | Promotional coverage, 2026 |
| Monthly limit | not stated officially; UNOFFICIAL: over $400,000 (one source) | Promotional coverage, 2026 |
A few things to draw out of this. The first is that you cannot, in good conscience, recommend this card based on its fee profile because the issuer does not publish one. The second is that the unofficial numbers do not agree: a 1.95% transaction fee is more than four times a 0.45% transaction fee, and the difference between them is the difference between a usable everyday card and an expensive one. The third is that the limits in unofficial sources are large ($15,000 a day, over $400,000 a month) but those numbers come from one source each and are not confirmed by the card itself.
What three everyday payments would look like, given what is published:
- A $5 coffee. The conversion runs at the point of sale, so the only fee in the official picture is whatever the Kinesis account itself charges for the conversion from KAU, KAG, crypto or C1USD to the merchant’s currency. The unofficial transaction-fee range (0.45% to 1.95%) suggests a real-world cost of somewhere between 2 cents and 10 cents on a $5 purchase — not enormous in absolute terms, but the spread is wide, and you do not know which end of it you are on until the card’s own page publishes a number.
- A $100 grocery shop. The same conversion applies, and the cost would be somewhere between $0.45 and $1.95 on the unofficial figures. Against the 2% gold cashback for the first six months, the lower end of that range leaves you slightly ahead, and the higher end wipes the cashback out.
- A $1,000 flight booked in a foreign currency. If you pay in a currency other than your card’s base currency, an FX fee almost always applies. That fee is not stated on Kinesis’s pages. On most crypto cards, an FX fee in the 0.5% to 2% range is normal, but “normal” is not a number you can budget against.
The cashback is 2% paid in gold (KAU), and access to the cashback plan is free for six months from launch. If the card’s transaction fee is at the 0.22% conversion / 0.45% transaction end of the unofficial range, the 2% gold cashback more than compensates. If the fee is at the 1.95% end, the cashback barely covers the cost of the spend and you are left with gold exposure rather than a reward. The honest thing to say is that you cannot answer this question with the public information.
How to top up the card
Kinesis’s pitch for the card is that you do not top it up in the way you top up a prepaid card. The card spends from your Kinesis account balance, and the conversion happens at the point of sale. In other words, when you tap or insert the card, the merchant is paid in fiat and your Kinesis balance — denominated in gold (KAU), silver (KAG), crypto, or a dollar-pegged token (C1USD) — is converted at that moment.

The starting data describe this as an instant conversion: the user does not have to pre-load a fiat balance, the card simply draws on the account and converts in the background. The networks on which you can move gold, silver, crypto or C1USD into the Kinesis account are not named on the card’s pages. Kinesis does run a public token ecosystem, and KMS Labs is described in starting data as the issuer of the ERC-20 gold (KAU) and silver (KAG) tokens — ERC-20 is the standard token format on Ethereum, so transfers of those tokens involve Ethereum gas fees paid in ETH. Outside the card’s own pages, that is inference, not confirmation, and the supported deposit networks for the card product itself are not stated.
The Kinesis site also describes buying gold and crypto “with your card or bank transfer”, which implies that there is a fiat on-ramp inside the Kinesis app as well. The fee and minimum for that on-ramp are not stated for the card. If you do go down the bank-transfer route, the cost is whatever the Kinesis account charges for the buy, plus whatever your bank charges for an international transfer, plus the blockchain network fee if the buy settles in a token. None of those numbers are published on the card page.
There is no card-specific withdrawal fee in the public information either. The general “how to withdraw money from Kinesis” question, which appears in reader search data, is answered in different places for different products — selling gold or crypto inside the Kinesis app, transferring to a bank account, or moving tokens to an external wallet — and the fees, minimums and processing times depend on the route you pick. Treat the card as a spend tool rather than a withdrawal tool; the Kinesis account is the underlying balance, and the card is one way to draw on it.
The practical takeaway: top up by funding your Kinesis account with KAU, KAG, other crypto or C1USD, then spend. The networks, fees and minimums are not stated on the card’s own pages, so the safest move is to test with a small amount first and watch what the account actually debits.
Paying with it every day
In the everyday-use dimension, the Kinesis card is thin. It is a virtual card only — there is no physical card in the current product, and third-party coverage describes a separate physical Visa card from 2021 that is a different product. There is no mention of Apple Pay or Google Pay on the card’s pages, which means the realistic ways to pay are limited to entering the card details at an online checkout, or to the online-payment experiences that virtual cards support. There is no ATM, so cash access is not a feature of this product.
A virtual card without mobile-wallet support is a card that lives inside your laptop or phone’s autofill, and that has consequences for in-person shopping. A reader in a country where contactless payment is the norm at the supermarket or the metro will find that the Kinesis card, as described on its own pages, does not cover that case. If a physical card is announced later, that calculus changes, but it has not been announced on the pages I worked from.
The cashback is the bright spot. Kinesis pays 2% cashback in gold (KAU) for the first six months from launch. That is a competitive headline rate for a crypto card, and the fact that it is paid in gold rather than in the card’s own token ties the reward to a more established store of value. The rate after the six-month free period is not stated on the card’s pages; “6 months free from launch” is a launch offer, not a permanent rate, and the standard rate beyond that is not published.
The mobile app is mentioned (“keep track of your assets on the go”), but independent user ratings are not available, leaving its real-world performance difficult to assess. The 2% cashback offer also has the shape of a launch promotion rather than a permanent rate, and the fine print of “from launch” is the kind of phrase that quietly defines the offer’s start date and end date at the issuer’s discretion.
The disputes and chargeback position is not stated on the card’s pages. On a regulated card, you would expect chargeback rights (a chargeback is a refund a card network forces the merchant to issue when you dispute a transaction) under the card network’s rules — Visa or Mastercard both have them — but a virtual card issued under a programme where the issuer and licence are not named on the public page is not a card where you can take that for granted. The general category background is worth keeping in mind: under 3-D Secure, liability for fraudulent online payments can shift to the cardholder’s bank, and on prepaid-style products the consumer protections are thinner than on a credit card.
What can go wrong
Two things to worry about. The first is the gap between what the card’s pages say and what the surrounding ecosystem reports. The card’s own pages do not name the issuer, do not name the licence, do not publish a fee schedule, do not publish a limit schedule, and do not state the supported networks or the supported KYC levels. KMS Labs is named in starting data as the issuer of the KAU and KAG tokens, but the card issuer is a different legal entity, and the relationship between KMS Labs, Kinesis Money and the licensed card issuer is not explained on the public pages. In a market where the card brand on the front of the card and the regulated entity on the back are often different companies, that gap is worth noting.
The second is the user-report side. Trustpilot for Kinesis Money (not the card specifically) sits at 2.4 out of 5 from around 750 reviews, with 115 in the last 12 months as of 21 October 2026. The themes are consistent: delayed or frozen withdrawals (some users report waits of about 40 days), template replies from support, complaints about fee disclosure, and liquidity concerns. CIMA — the Cayman Islands Monetary Authority, which regulates parts of the Kinesis group — was named in complaints in October 2026. None of the reviews I sampled specifically mention the card, so these are about the broader Kinesis Money product rather than the card product, but they are the user base you would be joining.
The security pitch on Kinesis’s pages is short: “your assets are in safe hands”, with independent audits and monthly attestations linked. The custody model, the two-factor authentication, the freeze process — none of it is stated on the card page itself. The general category background is worth keeping in mind here: custodial platforms have a record of failures (Mt. Gox, Coincheck, Ronin Network), and a card programme can be wound down by the network if the issuer falls out of compliance — Visa did this with FTX in November 2022 and with WaveCrest in 2018. That does not mean Kinesis is heading that way, but it is the shape of the risk a custodial crypto card product carries.
The cashback offer has a cliff at the end of the six-month free period. “6 months free from launch” is a launch promotion; the standard rate beyond that is not published. If the card’s everyday economics depend on the 2% gold cashback, then the second half of the year on the card is on a different rate than the first half, and that rate is not stated.
The support picture is mixed. The site links a support centre, a contact-support page and a community forum. Languages and hours are not stated. The Trustpilot reviews describe template replies to support tickets, which is a different signal.
What to take instead
The honest comparison is that the alternatives in the same category each address a different weakness of the Kinesis card. None of them is a perfect substitute, and the choice between them depends on what you actually want from a crypto card.
| Alternative | Score | Best for | What it does that Kinesis does not |
|---|---|---|---|
| GoMining Card | 6.6/10 | Bitcoin-native users who want cashback paid in mining power | Virtual now, physical “coming soon”; cashback rises with VIP level, “up to 5%”; funded from a GoMining wallet in BTC, USDT, GOMINING and other coins; eligibility is worldwide except prohibited jurisdictions. |
| Greencart (Gnosis Pay) | 6.9/10 | Users in the EEA, Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia or Mexico who want a self-custody-backed Visa | Visa card, virtual free, physical carries a one-off admin fee; no monthly, deposit, withdrawal, transfer or FX fees according to the site; spends from a self-custodial Gnosis Pay Safe; guaranteed floor 0.5% in B3TR on every purchase, up to 4% with staked B3TR and GreenCart+, capped at $40 per transaction and per month (the App Store text mentions higher rates that differ from the site). |
| Young Card | 5.7/10 | Users who want a tiered YNG-token cashback structure | Cashback paid in YNG tokens, rate by Club tier: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6% (Bronze and Silver not stated). Country availability, cost and fees not stated officially. |
Three quick reads. GoMining’s cashback is paid in mining power, which is a different reward instrument and ties your return to Bitcoin mining economics. Greencart is the strongest of the three on transparency — it publishes a fee schedule, a country list and a cashback structure, and it sits on a self-custodial wallet so the funds do not leave your control until the moment of payment. Young Card’s published scores are weaker and the company publishes less than either of the other two; the YNG-token cashback structure is interesting on paper but harder to evaluate without more public information.
If the Kinesis card’s missing fee schedule and unclear availability are dealbreakers for you, Greencart is the cleanest alternative in the table. If you specifically want gold-denominated rewards and are willing to live with the unanswered questions, the Kinesis proposition is different enough that the alternatives are not direct substitutes.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Kinesis card to a narrow reader. You are already a Kinesis user with a meaningful balance in KAU, KAG or C1USD, you want to spend that balance in shops and online, and you are comfortable with a virtual-only card. You are not relying on the card as your only payment method, you have a backup card for the cases this one does not cover (cash, contactless in countries where mobile wallets are the norm, in-person shops that do not accept virtual cards), and you can tolerate the gap in the public information about fees and limits.
I would not recommend the Kinesis card to a reader who is shopping for a primary everyday card, who is choosing a card on the basis of its published fee schedule, who needs ATM access, who relies on Apple Pay or Google Pay, or who cannot afford to have a balance tied up in case of withdrawal delays. For those readers, the alternatives in the previous section are stronger starting points, and a regulated non-crypto card is stronger still if you can get one.
The single most important thing to do before signing up is to ask Kinesis support, in writing, for the answers the public pages do not give: which countries are eligible, what the fee schedule is, what the card’s network and currency are, what the KYC requirements are, what the limits are, and what the post-six-month cashback rate is. If you cannot get those answers in writing, the gap between what is published and what you would be agreeing to is too wide to sign over your identity documents.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Kinesis card?
The Kinesis card is a virtual payment card that draws on a Kinesis account balance denominated in gold (KAU), silver (KAG), other crypto or a dollar-pegged token (C1USD), converting at the point of sale so the merchant is paid in fiat. The card is virtual only as of the check date for this review.
How does the Kinesis card work?
When you pay, the card converts the relevant amount from your Kinesis account balance into the merchant’s currency at the moment of sale. The reward is 2% cashback paid in gold for the first six months from launch. The card’s network and the supported deposit networks are not stated on the official pages.
Is Kinesis a bank?
Kinesis is not described as a bank on the card’s pages. The company behind the Kinesis account and tokens is Kinesis Money, and starting data name Kinesis Cayman; the card issuer and its licences are not named on the public card page.
Who owns Kinesis?
The card’s own pages do not describe the ownership structure. Kinesis Money is the brand name, and the parent group involves a Cayman entity and KMS Labs (the issuer of the KAU and KAG tokens) per starting data; for a definitive answer you would need to look at the company’s corporate filings.
Is the Kinesis card available in my country?
The card’s own pages do not publish a list of eligible countries. Starting data point to the United States, Latin America and the Caribbean as the first regions. The safest approach is to write to Kinesis support and ask before you start the KYC process.
Does the Kinesis card require KYC?
The card’s pages link a KYC guide but do not describe the level of verification. In practice, a regulated card issuer will ask for an identity document, a selfie check, proof of address and sanctions screening at minimum.
How do I top up the Kinesis card?
You do not top up the card in the way you top up a prepaid card. The card spends from your Kinesis account, and the conversion from KAU, KAG, other crypto or C1USD happens at the point of sale. Funding the Kinesis account itself is a separate step and the supported networks are not stated on the card page.
Is the Kinesis card free?
The card’s own pages do not publish a fee schedule. Unofficial coverage reports no monthly or sign-up fees but quotes conflicting transaction fees (1.95% in one place, 0.45% in another); the public information is not detailed enough to answer the question with confidence.
Can I add the Kinesis card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?
The card’s pages do not mention Apple Pay or Google Pay, and the card is virtual only. In the absence of an explicit integration, the realistic answer for the current product is no.
Is the Kinesis card safe?
Kinesis’s pages link independent audits and monthly attestations, and describe assets as being “in safe hands”. The card’s own pages do not name the issuer, the licence, the custody model, the two-factor authentication process or the freeze procedure. Trustpilot for Kinesis Money sits at 2.4 from about 750 reviews, with user reports of delayed withdrawals; this is about the broader Kinesis product rather than the card specifically.
Credit and cashback cards on the shortlist – cryptocardshortlist
Content created by the «cryptocardshortlist» team
