A USD virtual card for people who cannot open a normal bank card
If you have ever tried to pay a US website with a card and been declined — because your card is foreign, or prepaid, or issued in a country the shop does not want to deal with — then the pitch of US Unlocked is immediately obvious. It is a virtual Visa card denominated in US dollars, issued to people living outside the United States, funded from crypto or from ordinary bank rails. The idea is simple: give websites a dollar card that looks American, without needing an American bank account.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
That idea is worth taking seriously. But taking it seriously also means reading the fine print, the fee table, and the complaints, because the card that solves a problem for some people creates a different one for others. I went through the card’s public pages, its pricing, its terms and its support channels, and this is what I found.
The conditions described below are current as of October 2026.
The verdict
US Unlocked scores 5.1 out of 10 in my assessment. That is a middling score for a card with a genuinely useful trick up its sleeve, and the number itself tells you most of what you need to know: it is competent at the one thing it does, and frustrating at almost everything around it.

The card is for a narrow and specific reader: a non-US resident who needs to pay US online shops in dollars, who cannot or will not open a US bank account, and who is comfortable funding a prepaid balance from crypto. If that is you, this card does something no ordinary card in your pocket can do. If you want a normal everyday card with plastic, an ATM, spending that does not pause while a payment settles, and a support team that answers, this is the wrong product and it will frustrate you.
Where it loses points is telling. The single strongest mark is who can get it — a full 9 — because the eligibility rule is unusually open: any resident outside the US with a valid ID and proof of address. Everything around that openness is weaker. The cost picture is a 4: cheap to hold is not the same as cheap to use. Reliability is a 3, and that is not a rounding error — it is the score that should give a careful reader pause. Everyday use is also a 3, because what you get is a virtual, dollar-only card with a balance cap and no plastic.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | Any resident outside the US with valid ID and proof of address; around 175 countries listed, no exclusions published |
| Cost | 4 / 10 | $4.95/month or $39.95/year subscription, $2 one-time-use cards, 2% crypto load, 3% non-USD merchant fee, $10 unload |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Crypto and stablecoins arriving in 1–2 hours, plus SEPA, UK Faster Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay, credit cards |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | Tern Commerce Inc. and issuer Third National; a March 2026 payment-partner problem acknowledged; Trustpilot 1.9 from 113 reviews |
| Everyday use | 3 / 10 | Virtual-only, USD-only, $3,000 balance cap, no plastic, no ATM; Apple Pay and Google Pay are load methods only |
| Total | 5.1 / 10 | Strong on access, weak on trust and everyday practicality |
Read that table as a shape rather than a list. The card is easy to get into and hard to rely on. Almost every complaint I found traces back not to the technology but to the operational layer — the payment partner, the merchant’s own policies, the support inbox.
Will they give you the card?
Yes, and this is the most generous part of the offer. The stated rule is that anyone residing outside the U.S. with valid ID and proof of address can apply. US residents are not eligible, and the card terms require the cardholder to attest: “You are not a United States citizen”. The rule is based on residence, not citizenship — your passport’s country of issue is not the gate; where you live is.
The card’s countries page lists about 175 available countries, running alphabetically from Albania through to Zambia, and including Kazakhstan, Georgia, Armenia, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova and Turkmenistan. Russia and Belarus do not appear in that list. There is no published list of excluded countries. That is worth sitting with: because no exclusion list is published, you cannot fully confirm from the public pages whether any particular country is currently being declined, so if you are in a border case, the honest advice is to try and expect a possible rejection rather than assume you are clear.
Two practical consequences of the residence rule. First, your proof of address has to be a real residential address — the card does not accept PO boxes or virtual addresses. Second, since the card is tied to where you live rather than who you are, someone who moves may need to re-verify.
How to get it
The application is short and the identity check is single-stage. You need a government-issued photo ID, and you should expect that a recent utility bill or bank statement may also be requested as proof of address. The stated timing is typically under 3 minutes, with a worst case of up to 24 hours. The minimum age is not stated on the pages I read.
The sequence is straightforward: register, verify your ID, choose a plan, load the account, and the card is issued. There is only one verification step, and the card tells you why an application fails — an expired ID, poor image quality, or mismatched information are the named reasons. Some applications will also be pulled into additional review.
The card you receive is digital only. There is no physical card, and none is planned. The card is a virtual Visa in USD, “issued under license from Visa”, and you will find three variants in the dashboard:
- US Unlocked Card — the open-to-buy card, usable at any merchant that accepts it.
- Store Locked Card — locks itself to the first merchant you use it at, which is a sensible guardrail for a one-off subscription.
- One-Time Use Card — deletes itself after a single transaction, so a leaked number has a very short life.
The CVV and expiry date are shown in the dashboard, but only after SMS or one-time-password verification of your identity. That extra step matters more than it sounds: it means a person who gets into your logged-in session still cannot trivially read the card number.
What it really costs
Here is the honest arithmetic of this card. The subscription is $4.95 per month or $39.95 per year (the pricing page markets the annual plan as “Save 33%”), and the annual plan includes one Everyday Spend Card with up to ten cards in total. The two plans — Monthly and Annual — have the same inclusions; there is no richer tier to upgrade into.
The costs below are the ones the card’s own pages and terms state. Where two of its pages disagree, I have shown you the disagreement rather than picking the nicer number.
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Subscription, monthly | $4.95 |
| Subscription, annual | $39.95 |
| Additional Everyday Spend Cards | $1 per month each (the FAQ text says $2 each) |
| One-Time Use Cards | $2 each |
| Free trial | None |
| Crypto load fee | 2% |
| Foreign currency transaction fee | 3% when the merchant does not accept USD |
| Zero-value transaction fee | $0.50 for a $0.00 transaction |
| Returned or reversed payment fee | $30 |
| Unload fee | $10 |
| Maximum account balance | $3,000 |
| Spending limit | Generally set by US Unlocked; the issuer may set additional limits |
There is no ATM fee, because there is no ATM and no physical card — the pages do not mention ATM withdrawal at all.
Now let us follow three ordinary payments through that table, because the fees only mean something once you see which ones bite.
Paying $30 for software that prices in dollars. The merchant accepts USD, so this is the clean case: no currency fee. You pay the $30, the balance drops by $30, and that is the whole story. This is what the card is for.
Paying an equivalent of $30 at a store or service that insists on its own currency. The card’s terms say the store is billed in dollars, but when a merchant does not accept USD a 3% foreign currency transaction fee applies. On $30 that is roughly ninety cents, on top of whatever spread the merchant’s own pricing carries. Here is the wrinkle the FAQ papers over: the card’s own FAQ says cards are billed in USD with no FX fee, while the card terms describe a 3% charge in exactly this situation. I would plan for the 3% being the real number and be pleasantly surprised if it is not.
Loading $100 of crypto onto the card. A 2% crypto load fee applies, so $2 comes off before the money lands. On top of that, the blockchain itself charges a network fee for the transfer, which is set by the network and not by the card. Add the $4.95 monthly subscription and the picture is clear: this card is only cheap if you are loading meaningful amounts and paying for many months on one subscription. The annual plan at $39.95 is the version that stops the subscription from dominating small top-ups.
One more charge worth knowing about before you need it: a returned or reversed payment costs $30. If a subscription auto-renews against an empty balance and the payment bounces, that is a $30 lesson.
How to top up
There are more ways in than you might expect, which is one of the card’s quiet strengths. The headline route is crypto and stablecoins, and the card says the funds arrive in 1–2 hours. The coins and networks it supports are not named on the pages I read, so do not assume your usual token on your usual chain will work — that is exactly the kind of detail you want confirmed before you send anything irreversible.

The other routes are ordinary bank money:
- SEPA and UK Faster Payments
- Apple Pay, Google Pay, and credit cards — availability varies by country
- PayPal and Venmo are not supported
The fees and timings differ sharply by route, and again the card’s own FAQ contradicts its pricing page in one place.
| Top-up method | Fee | Arrival |
|---|---|---|
| Crypto / stablecoin | 2% | 1–2 hours |
| SEPA / UK Faster Payments | $2.00 + 2% on the pricing page; the FAQ says SEPA $0.70 + 4.5% | 3–5 business days |
| Apple Pay / Google Pay / credit card | $1.00 + 5% | Usually instant |
There is no stated minimum top-up. One thing to internalise before you ever press the button: loads are non-reversible once submitted. Crypto transfers in particular are irreversible by the nature of the technology, so a wrong network or a wrong address is not something support can undo for you.
On the way out, the card does not describe a normal withdrawal. Balance-to-crypto or balance-to-bank withdrawal is not described on the pages I read; what is stated is an unload fee of $10, and that closing the account requires a $0 balance. So the exit path is thin, and it costs you $10 to use it.
Paying with it every day
The word doing the work here is “every day”, and this is where the card is weakest. What you hold is a virtual Visa, in USD only, against a $3,000 maximum balance, with a spending limit the card generally sets for you and which the issuer may tighten further. A $3,000 ceiling is fine for subscriptions and small purchases and simply does not stretch to a month of normal spending.
Apple Pay and Google Pay are only top-up methods. That is the single most common misunderstanding I expect people to arrive with, because the card mentions both wallets in its funding section and readers assume the card can be pushed into a phone wallet. The pages do not describe adding the card to Apple Pay or Google Pay, so treat tap-to-pay on your phone as not established. There is no app — the card’s own pages describe a website dashboard only, with no App Store or Google Play app mentioned. Managing the card means a browser.
There is no cash withdrawal story. No physical card, no ATM, no plastic. The card is built for US e-commerce, not for a wallet in a shop.
Some merchants are simply closed to it. The card restricts high-risk categories including gambling, crypto, adult, money transfer, and weapons, and its terms also mention internet gambling and cash-like purchases such as lottery tickets and casino chips. But restriction is only the card’s own policy — separately, merchants can decline the card anyway. The underlying reason is structural: a card number carries a six- or eight-digit issuer identification number at the front, and when the shop’s system looks it up and finds an issuer country different from the billing address on the payment, some merchants apply extra scrutiny or refuse. That is why a card issued in one country can read as “foreign” to a shop in another, and it is the background against which the user reports of rejected payments in the next section make sense.
The card does describe a way to handle a failed payment, and it is the one redeeming feature of daily use. If a charge goes wrong, the process is: contact the merchant first, then open a dispute with support. You are asked to report any disputed charge within 60 days of the statement. A chargeback resolved in your favour is credited to the account. Two caveats sit under that: pre-authorisation holds can take up to 31 days to release, and if you suspect fraud you should email support immediately and mark the charge in the dashboard.
What can go wrong
I would not sign up without reading this section, because the complaints here are not hypothetical edge cases — they are the substance of the card’s score.
The card’s own voice is part of the story. US Unlocked acknowledged an ongoing issue with its payment partner in a reply on Trustpilot dated 7 March 2026. A company publicly admitting a live problem with the pipe that moves money is not a small thing, and it tells you the operational layer is the fragile part.
The user reports cluster into four themes, and each has a timestamp:
- Accounts put under review or closed after deposits — reported across January, June, July and September 2026.
- Cards rejected by merchants — reported repeatedly from February to September 2026.
- Billing and refund disputes, including an annual fee charged instead of monthly (September 2026) and fees kept after cancelling (November 2025).
- Limits cut without warning — the cards-per-account cap was reduced from unlimited, to 100, then to 10, across reviews in 2025–2026.
That last item deserves a moment. A product that used to let you hold unlimited cards and now allows ten is telling you, in plain terms, that its own risk appetite changed. The same is true of the $3,000 balance cap and of a spending limit the card “generally sets” and the issuer may cut further. On this card you are not the customer in the relationship; you are the exposure being managed.
The complaint score itself: Trustpilot 1.9 out of 5 from 113 reviews, of which 18 were in the last twelve months, as read on 2026-10-21.
Two structural facts to keep in view. The company behind the brand is Tern Commerce Inc., and the card programme issuer is “Third National”, issued under licence from Visa; the registration country is not stated. And a card network does not run this product — Visa licences the issuer and can suspend a programme, but the brand is only the front end. This is why partner problems are your problems.
On security, the card does some things right. There is 2FA via an authenticator app (Account Settings > Security), SMS or one-time-password verification before card details are shown, 3-D Secure is mentioned, and the account auto-unlocks after 30 minutes. The one-time and store-locked card types meaningfully limit exposure. What is not described is any safeguarding of funds — and for a prepaid balance that is the absence you most want filled in.
Support is email and a contact form, Monday to Friday, 9 AM to 6 PM EST; languages are not stated. That is a real constraint if your problem arrives on a Saturday in a language other than English.
One last piece of context on volatility, because it does not show up in reviews but changes what you hold. Stablecoins aim to hold a steady dollar value, but as the BIS put it in July 2025, roughly 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation sits in Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC, and “despite the name, stablecoins are not necessarily stable”. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. If you load USDT or USDC and it depegs before you spend it, that loss is yours, not the card’s.
What to take instead
If US Unlocked’s specific promise — a dollar card for US websites — is what you need, no alternative reproduces it exactly. But there are three other ways to hold crypto-linked cards, and each solves a different part of the problem. Here is how they compare.
| US Unlocked | CardFlow | HyperCard | Card.fi | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score in my assessment | 5.1 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 4.7 / 10 | 6.6 / 10 |
| Who it is for | Non-US residents paying US online shops in dollars | Nigeria-focused, “Nigerians and global users”; no country list stated | No country list on official pages | Ships to “200+ countries”; bars residents of sanctioned countries |
| Card | Virtual USD Visa | Virtual USD Mastercard, about 3 minutes to create | Prepaid “HyperCard”, balance in USD or EUR | Virtual Classic/Premium, physical Classic/Premium, metal option |
| Cost | $4.95/mo or $39.95/yr; $2 one-time-use card | Virtual card “completely free”; monthly fee not stated | Not stated; App Store page lists no fees | One-time: Virtual Classic $49, Virtual Premium $249; no monthly fee |
| Fees | 2% crypto load; 3% non-USD merchant fee; $10 unload | Not stated | Not stated on readable pages | Top-up 1.5% + $1.00 (Classic) or 1% (Premium); FX 3.5% (Classic) or 2.5% (Premium) |
| Top-up | Crypto and stablecoins, SEPA, Faster Payments, Apple/Google Pay, credit cards | BTC, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer | Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH in the app | 32 coins across 5 networks; per-card deposit address |
| Rewards | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Cashback: Classic 0.8%, Premium 1%, Metal 1.2% or 2% (monthly caps apply); up to 18% on balances, variable |
| Where it wins | The dollar card, and eligibility | Free to create, fast | Multi-currency balance | Fee tiers, cashback, named coins and networks |
Read across the rows rather than down the columns. CardFlow is cheaper to start and clearer about who it serves, but its pricing and fee pages leave a lot unsaid. HyperCard offers a USD or EUR balance, which US Unlocked does not, but almost nothing about its cost is published on the pages I could read. Card.fi is the only one of the four that names its coins and networks — 32 coins across 5 networks, converted at market rate on arrival — and the only one with a stated cashback scheme, and it is also the only one with real upfront card prices. It is barred for residents of, or orders from, “a country subject to sanctions that would prohibit the service”.
One warning that applies to all of them and is worth repeating: blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network a provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. And stablecoins are not censorship-proof — Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend US Unlocked to a person who has a specific, recurring dollar-denominated US online bill and no working alternative. Someone paying for a US SaaS tool, a US-hosted service, or a US merchant that declines their normal card. For that person, paying $4.95 a month for a usable dollar Visa — with a 3% fee only when a merchant refuses dollars — is a genuine solution to a real problem, and the 9 out of 10 for eligibility is deserved.
I would not recommend it as a primary card. I would not recommend it to anyone planning to hold a large balance, because the ceiling is $3,000 and the spending limit is not yours to set. I would not recommend it to anyone whose budget cannot absorb a $30 returned-payment fee and a $10 unload fee without thinking. And I would approach it with the operating knowledge that this is a prepaid balance behind a brand whose own complaint page records a 1.9 rating, an acknowledged payment-partner problem, and accounts closed after deposits.
Before you commit, do what I would do. Confirm that your country and your coin are actually on the supported list that day, since the countries page names no exclusions and the supported coins and networks are not published. Ask yourself honestly whether you could tolerate the card being declined at the checkout that matters, and whether your money is better sitting in a stablecoin until you need it than sitting as a dollar balance on a platform that manages its risk by closing accounts. If the answer to the second question is no, one of the alternatives above — Card.fi if you want published fees and named networks, HyperCard if you need a euro balance — will serve you better. If the answer is yes, this card will do its job.
Frequently asked questions
What is the US Unlocked card?
US Unlocked is a virtual Visa card issued to people living outside the United States, denominated in US dollars, and intended for paying American online merchants. It is issued under licence from Visa by “Third National”, with Tern Commerce Inc. behind the US Unlocked brand. There is no physical card — it exists as a card number, expiry date and CVV in a web dashboard. It is a prepaid product: you load a balance and the card spends only that balance.
How does the US Unlocked card work in practice?
You register, verify a photo ID and proof of address, pick a plan, load the account, and the card details appear. You then type or paste the card number, expiry and CVV into a US checkout, in the same way you would with any card. The card spends from the pre-loaded balance, so it cannot overdraw. Spending limits apply and are generally set by US Unlocked, on top of the $3,000 maximum account balance.
Is US Unlocked a bank?
No — it is not a bank, and you should not treat it as one. It is a prepaid card programme: Tern Commerce Inc. markets the brand, and “Third National” is the issuer, under licence from Visa. Because it is prepaid rather than a bank account, your balance is not a bank deposit and no deposit guarantee scheme is described. The card’s own pages do not describe any safeguarding of funds, which is worth weighing before you hold a large sum on it.
Who can apply, and is my country eligible?
The rule is residence-based: anyone residing outside the U.S. with valid ID and proof of address, with US residents not eligible and a cardholder attestation that you are not a US citizen. The countries page lists around 175 available countries, from Albania to Zambia, and Russia and Belarus do not appear in it. No excluded-country list is published, so if you are in a borderline case, expect a possible rejection rather than assuming you are clear.
Does US Unlocked require KYC, and how long does it take?
Yes — you need a government-issued photo ID, and a recent utility bill or bank statement may be requested as proof of address. PO boxes and virtual addresses are not accepted. There is one verification step, and the process is typically under 3 minutes with a worst case of up to 24 hours. Named rejection reasons are an expired ID, poor image quality and mismatched information, and some applications go to additional review. The minimum age is not stated on the pages I read.
What does US Unlocked cost, and which fees will I actually pay?
The subscription is $4.95 per month or $39.95 per year, with no free trial; One-Time Use Cards are $2 each. In practice, the fees you are most likely to meet are the 2% crypto load fee, the 3% foreign currency transaction fee when a merchant refuses dollars, a $30 fee on a returned or reversed payment, and a $10 fee to unload. Note that the card’s FAQ says cards are billed in USD with no FX fee while its card terms describe the 3% charge — plan for the 3% being real.
How do I top up, and how long does it take?
Crypto and stablecoins arrive in 1–2 hours, though the specific coins and networks are not named on the pages I read, so confirm before sending anything irreversible. SEPA and UK Faster Payments take 3–5 business days; Apple Pay, Google Pay and credit card top-ups are usually instant and vary by country. PayPal and Venmo are not supported. Whatever the route, loads are non-reversible once submitted, and the blockchain charges its own network fee on top of the card’s 2%.
Can I add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay and use it in a shop?
Not on the evidence I found. Apple Pay and Google Pay appear in US Unlocked’s materials only as methods of funding the card, and adding the card to a phone wallet is not described. There is no physical card and no ATM, and the card’s pages say nothing about cash withdrawal — it is built for US e-commerce. Separately, some merchants refuse the card anyway: high-risk categories such as gambling, crypto, adult, money transfer and weapons are restricted by the card’s own policy.
How do I get my money back out?
The card does not describe a normal withdrawal to crypto or to a bank account on the pages I read. What is stated is an unload fee of $10, and that closing the account requires a $0 balance. So if you need to leave, plan for the $10, bring the balance to zero first, and do not assume a smooth cash-out route exists.
Is US Unlocked safe, and what about the complaints?
The card has genuine safeguards: authenticator-app 2FA, SMS or OTP verification before card details are shown, 3-D Secure, and an account that auto-locks after 30 minutes; the one-time and store-locked card types reduce exposure. Against that, the public record is poor. Trustpilot shows 1.9 out of 5 from 113 reviews, and the company itself acknowledged an ongoing payment-partner issue on 7 March 2026. Users report accounts closed or reviewed after deposits, cards rejected by merchants, fees kept after cancelling, and the cards-per-account cap cut from unlimited to 10. No safeguarding of funds is described.
Virtual cards on the shortlist – cryptocardshortlist
Content created by the «cryptocardshortlist» team
