A virtual dollar card for freelancers, with a $3 opening fee and no monthly bill

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Cleva is a virtual card that spends straight out of a crypto balance, aimed at freelancers and remote workers who get paid in dollars and need something that behaves like an ordinary card at the checkout. It is a good fit for a Nigerian or American freelancer billing foreign clients, and a poor fit for anyone who wants cash from an ATM or a physical card in the post. My score is 5.8 out of 10, and the single biggest reason is not a fee or a bug — it is that the card’s own public pages do not tell you whether your country can have one.

Cleva works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.8 out of 10, and the arithmetic is honest

The score is not a verdict on whether Cleva is a scam. It is a verdict on how much of the decision you can make from public information, and how well the card performs at the specific job it advertises. The reliability mark is the strongest in the set; the “who can get it” mark is the weakest. Everything else sits between them.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 3 / 10 No country list published; KYC guides exist only for Nigeria and the US; earlier checks mentioned Africa and the US
Cost 7 / 10 Card creation $3, no subscription; international transaction 2% + $0.80; card funding $0
Top-up options 6 / 10 USD wallet: USDT/USDC deposit $2.00, free US debit card, ACH, wire; networks not named
Reliability and complaints 8 / 10 Licensed US partners, MSB registration with FinCEN; Trustpilot 4.7 out of 5 across 126 reviews; App Store 4.7 out of 5 from 1.5K ratings
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual USD only; Apple Pay and Google Pay supported; no ATM

A freelancer in Nigeria or the United States, paid in dollars, who wants a clean virtual card for subscriptions and international invoices will find this genuinely useful, and will probably wonder why it is so little known. Anyone who needs a physical card, cash withdrawals, a card in their home currency, or a clear answer to “will this work where I live?” is guessing rather than planning.

There is one more thing to hold in your head through the rest of this review: Cleva’s public pages do not publish a country list for the card. Everything I write about eligibility below is what the card says regarding these two countries, plus what it said earlier. That gap is the honest reason the middle of this score is not higher.

Will they give you the card?

Short answer: if you are in Nigeria or the United States, the card documents a route for you. Anywhere else, you are reading between the lines.

Cleva does not publish a country list for the card. Its help centre carries identity-verification guides for Nigeria and the United States only. For Nigeria, the billing address comes from your verified identity data. For the United States, Cleva supplies the billing address. The site also says accounts can hold USD, GBP and EUR “regardless of where you’re based”.

That last sentence is the one people quote at me, and it is the one I would not plan around. “Regardless of where you’re based” describes the multi-currency accounts, not the card. An earlier check of the card’s eligibility spoke of Africa — including Nigeria, Ghana, Uganda and Kenya — and the United States. That earlier wording has not been replaced with a clear current list. So if you are in Ghana or Kenya and everything you read says yes, that is encouraging, not confirmed.

What the card says Detail
Published country list for the card Not published
Countries with detailed KYC guides Nigeria, United States
Earlier eligibility wording Africa including Nigeria, Ghana, Uganda, Kenya, and the US
Multi-currency account claim USD/GBP/EUR “regardless of where you’re based”

What this means practically: the only places where you can read the exact documents, the exact order of steps and the exact failure modes are Nigeria and the US. That is not evidence that other countries are refused. It is evidence that nobody has published what to send if you are somewhere else — and with identity verification, an unsupported document set is a rejection, not a small delay.

Identity verification is mandatory, not optional. The account is a USD account and it opens only after verification passes. That is normal for this category and it is also the point at which your country becomes somebody else’s compliance decision. I will walk through what each of the two documented countries asks for, and what the card does not say, in the next sections.

How to get it

Answer: sign up by email, verify your identity, open a USD account, create the card for $3 — and be ready to fail the first attempt, because there is one verification and no published tiers.

The sequence the card describes is short and worth reading as a checklist rather than a surprise. There is a single verification step; no tiers are published, and no upgrade path. You create one or more cards, with a design you can customise, and the card is virtual. It runs on Visa, and Cleva describes acceptance as “150 million+ merchants worldwide where Visa is accepted” — which is Visa’s general network reach, not a promise about your favourite shop.

The card currency is USD. That single fact drives most of what follows in this review, so I would not skim it.

The verification requirements differ sharply by country, and this is where a lot of applications quietly fail:

That “not stated” matters. I would not assume your proof of address is unnecessary just because no page lists it — but I also would not tell you to send a document you have not been asked for. The safest reading is that the address requirement is folded into the identity document for the US, and handled through the verified identity for Nigeria.

Rejection reasons are published, which is unusual and genuinely useful. Your application can be refused because:

Two practical notes. First, “scanned” and “digital” being listed as unsupported tells you exactly what not to do: photograph the physical document, do not upload a scan or a phone gallery copy. Second, delivery is not applicable — this is a virtual card only, so there is no waiting for post and no shipping address to get wrong.

If your verification fails, the card publishes no retry timeframe. That is a real gap for anyone planning around a deadline.

Fees: what it really costs

Answer: opening the card costs $3, there is no monthly fee listed, and using it outside the US costs 2% + $0.80 per transaction. The number to watch is not the fee — it is the $3,000 ceiling you set yourself.

Here is the full set of costs the card publishes, and it is a short list, which is itself a small comfort:

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Cleva payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value
Card creation $3
Monthly fee None listed
Card authorisation $0.80 per transaction
International transaction (non-US sites) 2% + $0.80
Card funding $0
Decline $0
Crypto conversion for the card Not stated
ATM Not stated (virtual card for online payments)
Per-transaction spending limit Set by you, $1 to $3,000
Cards per 90 days Up to 3
Daily and monthly limits Not stated

Now let me run three ordinary payments through that table, because the headline fee hides a structural fact.

A $40 subscription from a US service. The card funds at $0, and there is no monthly bill. If the merchant is a US site, the 2% international line does not apply. This is the cheapest way to use the card, and if your spending is mostly domestic US subscriptions this is where Cleva looks good.

A €30 design tool billed to a US-based freelancer. Your wallet holds USD, the merchant charges in euros. The card’s notes say it works in multiple currencies — naira, dirhams, pounds, euros — with automatic conversion, and that you can hold USD, GBP and EUR accounts. But the specific conversion rate or conversion fee applied to the card is not stated. So the honest version: I can tell you the 2% + $0.80 international charge applies to non-US sites, and I cannot tell you what the currency conversion adds on top. Ask support before you run a large invoice through it.

A $3,000 laptop. This is the one that catches people. The per-transaction spending limit is yours to set, from $1 to $3,000. That is your ceiling for a single purchase. The card can be closed after 15 consecutive declines for insufficient funds — and a successful spend of $0.50 or more resets that counter after 24 hours. That counter sounds forgiving until you are mid-weekend with a subscription bouncing and your rent payment depending on the card.

One more limit worth knowing: up to 3 cards within 90 days. There is a single card type, called Classic, so upgrading your way out of a limit is not an option.

There is no cashback on card spending. Cleva Points, which give cashback on transactions redeemable for USD, and USD Savings up to 3% per year, are account features rather than card rewards — worth having, but not a reward for spending on the card.

How to top up

Answer: the card spends directly from your Cleva USD wallet, and you fill that wallet with USDT or USDC for $2.00 flat, a US debit card for free, ACH or FedNow for 0.8% with a $2.00 minimum and $5.00 maximum, a wire for $10.00, or a GBP/EUR transfer at 0.8% auto-converted to USD. Deposits from Upwork are free.

This is the part of Cleva I like most. Spending is decoupled from topping up: the wallet takes money, the card takes money from the wallet, and the two cost different things. So the choice is really “how do I want to bring money in”, not “how do I want to pay”.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Cleva starts with a transfer to the right network
Top-up route Fee Notes
USDT / USDC deposit $2.00 flat, changing to $2 flat regardless of amount; payments under $2 are charged $1 Networks for USDT/USDC not stated
US debit card Free US-issued cards
ACH / FedNow 0.8%, min $2.00, max $5.00 New pricing applies from August 7, 2026
Wire $10.00
GBP / EUR transfer 0.8%, min $2.00, max $10.00 Auto-converted to USD
Upwork deposit Free

Two of those numbers deserve a second look. The ACH/FedNow band is narrow and friendly: 0.8% but never more than $5.00, so a $600 payroll from a US client costs $4.80, not $600 in fees. The GBP/EUR band is the same percentage with a $10.00 ceiling. The wire at $10.00 is the expensive door you open only when you need speed or a bank that will send it.

The stablecoin route is the one crypto-native people will use first, and it is where I have the most caution. The networks for USDT and USDC are not named. That is not a small omission. If you send USDC on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, the transfer can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee — blockchain transfers do not reverse. Check the network in the app before you send, every time, and keep a small balance on a network you have already used successfully. Also note that on-chain network fees are charged by the blockchain, not by Cleva, and who pays them is not stated here.

On the way out: a fee for converting from USD and paying out exists, listed as a help-centre question, but the amount was not readable on the public pages. Transfers to local bank accounts are advertised as free. What happens to a balance if you close the account is not stated.

Paying with it every day

Answer: you add the card to Apple Pay or Google Pay and pay online in dollars. There is no ATM, no physical card, and a merchant-category filter that is not published.

The everyday reality is narrower than the marketing suggests, and knowing that early saves arguments. The card is virtual, currency USD, and it lives in your phone wallet. Apple Pay and Google Pay both work, which is genuinely the main path for day-to-day spending — you tap or pay in the wallet rather than typing card details into ten different subscription pages.

Some merchant categories are unsupported by merchant category code, and the list is not given. The card names categories that do work, and they are a fair sample of what freelancers and remote workers buy: Amazon, Upwork, PayPal, Claude, OpenAI, TikTok, Meta. That list is also a hint about the intended user — this is a card for paying for the tools and platforms of online work.

Two everyday friction points deserve space in your head.

First, a merchant category code is the four-digit number that classifies a business, assigned when it starts accepting cards, and issuers block specific codes by policy rather than by law. If your card is declined somewhere unexpected, this filter is a plausible reason, and the card does not tell you which codes it blocks. There is also the general category problem: some merchants decline prepaid or foreign cards, because the issuer’s BIN lookup reveals the card type and the issuer’s country. Address verification, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type against issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — so a decline at a strict online merchant is not automatically about you.

Second, a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds that stays for several days, typically up to 7. On a pre-funded balance that is uncomfortable: the money is still yours, but it is not spendable while it sits there.

The app is iOS and Android. The App Store rating is 4.7 out of 5 from 1.5K ratings. The Google Play rating was not read. When something goes wrong, the card’s stated channels are in-app chat or email.

And if a payment goes wrong in a way that needs reversing, the dispute fee is $50 per card dispute. The chargeback process and time frames are not stated. That is a real number to weigh before you file a $15 dispute.

What can go wrong

Answer: I found no official incident, but the user-report themes are predictable — fees felt too high, verification too demanding, resolution too slow — and the structural risks are custody, an unnamed issuer and a policy change.

Let me take these in order of how much they should worry you, because they are not equal.

Who actually holds the money and who issued the card. Cleva Technologies, Inc. is the App Store seller. The site says funds are “securely processed by our licensed U.S-based financial partners” — the partners are not named. Cleva states it is registered as a Money Service Business with FinCEN, which is the US money-transmitter registration, and it says it holds an IMTO licence from the Central Bank of Nigeria in its own blog, undated. The card issuer is not named. For the crypto side, the custody is custodial: your money sits with licensed US partners, and a custodial wallet means you must trust the provider completely, because they hold the credentials.

That is the honest shape of it. This is not a bank, and I would not treat it as one. Cleva Points and USD Savings are account features — cashback on transactions redeemable for USD, and savings up to 3% per year — not card rewards.

The failure history of this category. Custodial platforms have a record of it: Mt. Gox, about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022. On the card-programme side, WaveCrest was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes, and in November 2022 Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX”, with the FTX US debit card programme wound down by its issuer. Programme closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. So the risk is not that Cleva is unsafe today; it is that any provider in this category can change shape.

What the users say. I found no official incidents. On Trustpilot the page shows 4.7 out of 5 from 126 reviews, 124 of them in the last 12 months, with 5% one-star. The themes, as user reports rather than established fact: fees too high (October 13, 2026), verification described as thorough and challenging (September 27, 2026), and support resolution time (October 14, 2026, minor). An AI summary on that page also mentions balance discrepancies and slow resolution, undated, and one user cited saying an account was closed without reason, also undated. I weight the dated individual reports above the undated summaries, and I would weight all of it below the fee table, which is published and checkable.

Policy and fee changes. The card changed the stablecoin deposit fee to $2 flat regardless of amount, applied new ACH/FedNow pricing from August 7, 2026, and app version 2.3.0 raised the failed-transaction limit before termination from 3 to 10. Every one of those moved in your favour or stayed neutral, which is a good sign about how the product is run. The point is that they moved.

What you can control. The card offers instant freeze and unfreeze in the app, with unfreeze requiring a security PIN or authentication code, plus a spending limit you set yourself. Two-factor authentication is not stated on the pages I read, which is a gap rather than a red flag. Support is advertised as “here 24/7”, with in-app chat, [email protected] and a help centre at help.getcleva.com.

The category risks you cannot control. Stablecoins can depeg — TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis — and “despite the name, stablecoins are not necessarily stable”. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof. And in the US, the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss measured in your local currency at fair market value on the transaction date — which means each card payment funded from crypto can be a separate disposal. I am not giving you tax advice; I am telling you it is a cost of this way of spending that has nothing to do with the fee table. Speak to someone qualified about your own situation.

What to take instead

If your reason for hesitating is not Cleva-specific, these are the three I would compare it against. Each scores higher than Cleva in the same assessment; the reasons are different, and so are the compromises.

Card Score Card type Entry cost FX cost Main compromise
Cleva 5.8 / 10 Virtual Visa, USD $3 card creation 2% + $0.80 on non-US sites; conversion not stated No published country list, no ATM
Morse 7.5 / 10 Fully virtual Visa prepaid Not stated; card page says fees may apply Zero FX fees or markups, real-time Visa rate Closed beta in many countries; list not published
International Visa Card 6.7 / 10 U.S.-issued virtual Platinum Visa $5 issuance, no maintenance Visa rate + 2% FX fee Long country exclusion list; physical card “coming soon”
UNi Card 6.1 / 10 Multicurrency Mastercard No annual fee; issuance not stated No foreign transaction fee, live OTC rates Least transparent of the four on who can get it

Morse (7.5 / 10) is the strongest of the four and the one I would look at first if your priority is not paying foreign-exchange markups. It advertises zero foreign exchange fees or markups at the real-time Visa rate, conversions on Morse at the real rate with no markup, and paying with the card online and contactless free. It is fully virtual for now, a Visa prepaid debit that spends from a Morse balance in any currency, and the wallet is self-custodial. Deposits by debit card, stablecoin transfer and account details in USD, EUR, MXN and COP (BRL needs a Brazilian CPF) are supported, with USDC, USDG and EURC via Solana free and other tokens or blockchains carrying a fee. What holds it back is access: eligibility is by residence, not citizenship, users must be at least 18 and resident in a supported country, the app is in over 140 countries for P2P but local add and withdraw in over 70, and a set of countries is closed beta behind an invite code — American Samoa, Australia, Cape Verde, Guernsey, Hong Kong SAR China, Isle of Man, Japan, Jersey, New Zealand, Serbia, Singapore, Switzerland, Thailand, Türkiye, United Kingdom, Western Sahara. It cannot serve customers subject to US sanctions, and also UK, EU and UN sanctions. Its issuance and monthly fee are not stated.

International Visa Card (6.7 / 10) is the plainer option, and its costs are unusually legible: virtual issuance $5 one-time, no maintenance fee, card use in USD free on all plans, foreign currency at the Visa exchange rate plus a 2% FX fee, and no fee on deposits of any kind. Deposits in USDC or USDT into the USD account are free at 1:1 per an earlier check, with networks not stated, and USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow deposits also work. No cashback is stated. The catch is the exclusion list — the account is not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case. Purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. Note the rule is residence or registration, not citizenship. Its physical card is “coming soon”.

UNi Card (6.1 / 10) is the multicurrency option: a card on the Mastercard network spending from a UNi.Global account balance, with no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, assets converted at live OTC rates and no hidden exchange fees, plus spend-to-earn rewards up to 3%. It is the least transparent on eligibility — who can get it is not stated — and its issuance fee and funding routes are not stated either. Whether it issues physical or virtual is not stated.

Worth saying plainly: none of these is a bank, and Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves — they license issuers and can suspend a programme.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Cleva to three kinds of person, and be cautious for everyone else.

The Nigerian freelancer on an international contract. This is the clearest fit in the whole list. You invoice in dollars, you spend in dollars, the KYC guide is written for you, the billing address comes from verified identity data rather than something you have to invent, and Upwork deposits are free. If your clients pay into a USD account and your spending is subscriptions and software, this card does the job for $3.

The US-based remote worker who wants one card for everything foreign. No monthly fee, no funding fee, USD spending on US sites free of the international charge, and Apple Pay and Google Pay so you are not retyping card details. Set your per-transaction limit once and check it against what you actually buy.

Anyone who is genuinely deciding between Cleva and a bigger name, and values the deposit rails. ACH and FedNow at 0.8% capped at $5.00, a free US debit card, a $2 flat stablecoin deposit, and a free path from Upwork. That is a well-built set of ways in, and the stablecoin route is cheap compared with most of the category.

I would hold back for these:

My actual recommendation: if you are in one of the two documented countries and your spending is dollars, open it — the cost of being wrong is $3 and a verification attempt. If you are anywhere else, do not upload documents until the card has told you in writing what it wants.

Frequently asked questions

What is Cleva card?

Cleva is a virtual Visa card that spends directly out of a crypto-linked account balance rather than out of a bank account. You load the balance with USDT, USDC, a US debit card, ACH, wire or a GBP/EUR transfer, and the card draws down that balance as you pay. It is USD-denominated, virtual only, and marketed to freelancers and remote workers paid in dollars. Cleva Technologies, Inc. is the company behind it.

How does the Cleva card work?

The flow is: sign up by email, pass identity verification, open a USD account, create the card for $3, then top up the wallet. The card spends from that USD wallet. You can add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay for contactless and in-app payments. You also set your own per-transaction spending limit between $1 and $3,000, and you can freeze and unfreeze the card in the app.

Is Cleva a bank?

No, and you should not plan as though it were one. Cleva says its funds are “securely processed by our licensed U.S-based financial partners” without naming them, and states it is registered as a Money Service Business with FinCEN. It also states it holds an IMTO licence from the Central Bank of Nigeria. It is a money-transmitter and custodial setup, not a bank, so bank deposit protections should not be assumed.

Who owns Cleva?

The App Store seller is Cleva Technologies, Inc. Beyond that, the card issuer is not named, and the licensed US partners holding the funds are not named either. Cleva’s own blog states it holds a Central Bank of Nigeria IMTO licence, undated. If ownership and issuer identity matter to your decision, that is a question worth putting to support directly.

Which countries can get the Cleva card?

Cleva does not publish a country list for the card. Its help centre has identity guides for Nigeria and the United States only. An earlier check spoke of Africa — Nigeria, Ghana, Uganda, Kenya — and the US. The site also says accounts can hold USD, GBP and EUR “regardless of where you’re based”, which describes the accounts rather than the card. Check with support before sending documents from anywhere else.

Does the Cleva card require KYC?

Yes, identity verification is required to open the USD account, and there is one verification with no published tiers. Nigeria asks for an international passport, voter’s card, driver’s licence or NIN, plus the original physical ID and a live selfie. The US asks for a passport, ID card, driver’s licence or residence permit, an SSN, a matching address including unit number, a Stripe Link connection and a live selfie.

How much does the Cleva card cost?

Creating the card costs $3 and there is no monthly fee listed. International transactions on non-US sites cost 2% + $0.80, card authorisation is $0.80, funding the card is $0, and declines are $0. A dispute costs $50. Crypto conversion for the card is not stated, so I cannot give you an all-in rate for a non-dollar purchase.

How do I top up the Cleva card?

You top up the USD wallet, not the card. USDT or USDC deposits cost $2.00 flat, changing to $2 flat regardless of amount, with payments under $2 charged $1. A US debit card is free. ACH and FedNow cost 0.8% with a $2.00 minimum and $5.00 maximum. Wire is $10.00. GBP and EUR transfers cost 0.8%, min $2.00, max $10.00, auto-converted to USD. Upwork deposits are free.

Is the Cleva card safe, and is it free?

On safety, the card uses licensed US partners and holds funds custodially, offers instant freeze and unfreeze, a user-set spending limit, and says support runs 24/7. Trustpilot shows 4.7 out of 5 from 126 reviews with 5% one-star; user themes include high fees, strict verification and slow resolution. On cost, it is not free — the $3 creation fee is one-time, and there is no monthly subscription listed.

Is the Cleva card worth it?

Worth it if you are a freelancer in Nigeria or the US, paid in dollars, spending mostly on subscriptions and online tools. Then you get a clean virtual card for $3, with free Apple Pay and Google Pay and useful deposit rails. Not worth it if you need cash, a physical card, a card in your home currency, or clarity about eligibility from your country — those are exactly the places where Cleva’s public pages are thin.

Content created by the «cryptocardshortlist» team