Walme card review — what you actually get before you top up
The Walme card is a virtual Mastercard-style payment card that draws on a stablecoin balance you top up across TRC-20, ERC-20 and Solana. That is the part of the story Walme tells clearly. The parts the official pages do not tell are what most readers actually need to know: the country list, the legal entity, the card scheme, the dispute process, the ATM fee, the app’s launch status. This review goes through what is published, what is not, and what that means for someone deciding whether to put real money on the card.
The conditions on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Walme earns 5.8 out of 10. The strength is the top-up range: USDT and USDC across three chains, plus a native WLM token with reduced fees, which is unusually flexible for a new card programme. The weakness is disclosure. Country eligibility is a single line on the official site, the legal entity and issuer are not named, the dispute process is not described, the ATM fee is not quoted, and the Android app is marked “Coming Soon” on Google Play. For a reader who already has a stablecoin balance and wants a quick virtual card to spend from, that combination is workable. For anyone who needs a clear contract, an established issuer, or a card that works in a specific country, it is too thin to recommend without more information.
Who it suits
A reader who already holds USDT or USDC on TRON, Ethereum or Solana, who wants a virtual card to spend from those balances, who does not need ATM withdrawals, and who is comfortable with a new programme whose issuer and legal entity are not disclosed.
Who it does not suit
A reader in Belarus, Iran, Russia, Ukraine or Venezuela (where merchant transactions are blocked according to a Walme team reply), a reader who needs a physical card, a reader who needs ATM access, a reader who needs strong customer protection or a clear dispute process, a reader who is not on iOS (the Android app is not yet available).
Score
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Walme states only that availability “may vary by region”; the published list is empty, and a team reply points to several blocked countries |
| Cost | 3 / 10 | $10 to issue, 3% plus $0.25 to top up, 0.4% on every successful payment, plus $0.25 to cancel — the everyday numbers add up fast |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | USDT and USDC across TRC-20, ERC-20 and Solana, plus a native WLM token with reduced fees for holders |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | The legal entity and issuer are not named; no Trustpilot or Reddit reviews exist yet; the card was presented in November 2025 |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Virtual only, two-year validity, Apple Pay and Google Pay supported; no plastic, no ATM disclosure, Android app “Coming Soon” |
| Total | 5.8 / 10 |
Who they will give you the card
Walme’s public pages carry one line on geography: card availability “may vary by region.” That is the entire official statement. There is no list of supported countries, no list of excluded countries, and no explanation of how the regional check works in practice.
A Walme team reply on Product Hunt, which is not an official policy page, lists countries where merchant transactions are blocked for regulatory reasons: Belarus, Iran, Russia, Ukraine and Venezuela. The reply should be read as unofficial, not as a contract. If you live in one of those five countries, the most likely outcome is that the card will not work at the register; if you live somewhere else, the safer framing is that the card may work, not that it is confirmed to work.
The bigger question is what the card does not say rather than what it says. Walme does not publish a country-by-country list, does not separate citizenship from residence, does not name the entity that issues the card, and does not state whether eligibility is decided by your IP, your ID document, or your bank card’s country. That matters because crypto cards have a habit of declining at the worst moment — a hotel check-in abroad, an online checkout with a foreign billing address — and the first line of defence is a clear, published eligibility policy.
A second, related gap: Walme does not state who actually issues the card. On most crypto cards, the programme is run by a fintech marketing the card, while a licensed bank or electronic money institution holds the licence and the obligation to keep your money safe. Walme’s pages do not name that partner, which means there is no published BIN, no published regulator to look up, and no published safeguarding statement. If something goes wrong with your balance, you do not know which institution to ask.
For a reader who has trouble getting an ordinary bank card — which is the audience this review assumes — that gap is the central fact. You may be able to spend from a stablecoin balance, but you are doing it without the disclosures that you would normally have on a cardholder agreement.
How to get it
Walme sells a virtual card. There is no physical version: no plastic, no metal, no engraved option. The card is valid for two years from the moment it is issued.
The card is created without documents. Walme’s own pages describe a no-KYC virtual card, which is unusually light for a payment product in 2026. Most card programmes that touch regulated payment rails ask for at least a name and a date of birth at the top-up stage, because the bank or EMI behind the card is bound by anti-money-laundering rules. Walme’s GitHub page describes a custodial wallet with KYC for cards, while a third-party article describes a non-custodial setup with 2FA and fraud monitoring. The two descriptions do not match, and Walme’s official pages do not settle which one applies. Treat both as unofficial until Walme itself states a model.
What is missing from the public process is the part most readers actually search for: an application form, an ID upload screen, an estimated wait time, a description of who reviews applications, and an answer to the obvious follow-up, “What happens if my top-up arrives from a different network?” Walme does not publish any of this. The published journey is essentially “sign up, top up, get a card number,” and the rest of the experience has to be discovered in the app or after a top-up has been made.
Third-party reporting from November 2025 describes the card as a virtual Mastercard. That detail is not on Walme’s own pages, and the same source dates the card’s first activations to Web Summit Lisbon in November 2025, with a waitlist open. Both points should be read as unofficial and not confirmed by Walme’s own materials.
What it really costs (Fees)
Walme’s fee structure is the part of the product that is most clearly published, and it is the part that most clearly works against a casual user. The headline number is the top-up fee, but the per-transaction percentage and the cancellation fee are what make a week of spending more expensive than it first looks.

| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | $10 one-time |
| Top-up fee | 3% of the top-up |
| Per top-up | $0.25 |
| Cancellation of a top-up | $0.25 |
| Successful payment | 0.4% of the transaction |
| Minimum top-up | $30 |
| Per-transaction limit | $10,000 |
| Per-day limit | $500,000 |
| Per-month limit | none stated |
| ATM fee | not stated |
| FX fee | not stated |
| Card currency | not stated |
| Tiers (standard / premium / metal) | not stated |
| Inactivity or monthly fee | not stated |
To put those numbers into everyday use, three short scenarios are useful. They are not Walme’s own examples; they are worked out from the published fees, with the parts Walme does not state left as gaps.
A $30 minimum top-up to get started. You pay 3% of $30, which is $0.90, plus the $0.25 per-top-up fee, for a total of $1.15 just to put $30 of stablecoin on the card. That represents a total fee of $1.15 to load $30. For a small first load, the initial overhead is higher than the 3% headline suggests.
A $200 weekly grocery run over a month. Top up $200 once a month to keep the loading fee low. That top-up costs 3% ($6) plus $0.25, so $6.25. Four $50 payments at 0.4% each cost $0.20 each, so $0.80 for the month. Total cost: $7.05 on $200 of spending, or about 3.5%. That is roughly what a typical bank-issued debit card with a foreign-currency markup would cost, so the comparison is not a rout — but neither is it a clear win.
A higher monthly run including a cancelled payment. You pay a 3% top-up fee, a $0.25 cancellation fee, and a 0.4% transaction fee on your spending. The absolute dollars add up, showing that a Walme card is not the cheapest way to spend, but it is a convenient way to spend from a stablecoin balance. For larger amounts the percentages stay roughly the same, but the absolute dollars are the point: a Walme card is not a cheap way to spend; it is a convenient way to spend from a stablecoin balance.
The fee Walme does not quote is also important. ATM withdrawals are mentioned in the limit table but no fee is given, and the foreign-exchange fee — the markup on a payment in a currency other than the card’s base — is also not stated. If you travel, or if you buy from a foreign website, the published fees are not the whole bill.
For holders of the WLM token, the fees are “reduced,” which is the only tier Walme discloses. There is no published table showing how reduced, what the qualifying balance is, or what the reduced rates are. The token option is real and could be attractive if you already hold WLM, but it is not enough to compare against other cards on a number.
How to top it up (Top up)
Topping up is the part of Walme that is most clearly described, and the part that is most useful to a reader who already has stablecoins in a self-custody wallet.

Walme accepts USDT and USDC. Both stablecoins can be sent over three networks: TRC-20 (Tron), ERC-20 (Ethereum) and SOL (Solana). The Walme token, WLM, is also listed as a top-up option, with the reduced-fee tier tied to holding it. The minimum top-up is $30, and the top-up fee is 3% plus $0.25 per transaction, as covered in the fee table above.
A few practical points are worth flagging for someone setting this up for the first time. On the network side, choose the chain your sending wallet already has funds on: sending USDT from an Ethereum address costs ETH gas, sending over Tron costs TRX (or burns energy/bandwidth), and sending on Solana costs SOL. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC on TRC-20” is not a native Circle-issued option even though it remains a routable path on the Tron network. Either way, you need a small amount of the native token of whichever chain you choose to pay the network fee; without it, the transfer will not leave your wallet.
On the receiving side, the published process is the standard crypto-card pattern: crypto arrives, is converted to fiat at the current rate, and is loaded onto the card. Walme does not publish the rate source, the spread on the conversion, or the moment at which the rate is fixed. That is a gap to be aware of, especially during volatile hours, but it is a gap that most crypto cards share.
The third-party article from November 2025 describes USDT via TRC-20 or ERC-20 specifically, which is consistent with what Walme’s own pages show. That detail is unofficial, and SOL is on the official list as well.
What is not stated: the per-network deposit address format, what happens if you send on a network Walme does not list, and what happens if you send a token Walme does not accept to a Walme address. On a blockchain, transactions are not reversible, so a wrong-network deposit is usually lost or only recoverable with manual support and no guarantee. The safest reading of Walme’s instructions is: stick to USDT or USDC on one of the three listed networks, copy the address carefully, send a small test amount first, and only then send the full top-up.
There is no published withdrawal process — there is no “cash out from the card to my bank” button described in the public materials. A “withdraw money from Walme” search, which readers do ask about, is not something the official pages answer.
Paying with it every day
Walme’s everyday payment story is built around a mobile wallet. Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, and the card lives inside the app at app.walme.io as a web app. The web app route means the card is, in practice, a phone-first product, not a desktop one. There is no published desktop experience and no published browser extension.
The card itself is virtual, which means two things for everyday use. First, you cannot hand over plastic at a terminal; you use the phone’s wallet for contactless payments, or you read the card number aloud over the phone, or you type it in online. Second, the card has a finite life: two years from the moment of issue, it stops working, and a new card has to be issued. There is no published renewal process; that is a question for support when the time comes.
There is no published ATM network. The limit table shows that ATM withdrawals are within the same per-transaction and per-day limits, but the ATM fee is not given, the partner ATM network is not named, and the daily ATM cap is not separated from the per-day spend cap. A reader who plans to take cash out should treat ATM as essentially undocumented.
The Android situation is a specific gap. The Google Play listing is marked “Coming Soon” at the time of writing, so for the moment the card is functionally an iOS-or-web product. For an Android-only reader, that is a real limitation, not a temporary inconvenience, and it is worth waiting for the app to launch before committing more than the minimum top-up.
On rewards, cashback, points, sign-up bonuses and merchant categories, Walme’s pages say nothing. If a programme exists, it is not in the published material. For a reader choosing between cards, that means the everyday-use comparison is fees, not rewards.
On the dispute and chargeback side, Walme does not publish a process. There is no description of how to raise a problem with a payment, no mention of chargeback rights, and no mention of how long a refund takes. That is a normal line item in a cardholder agreement and its absence is a meaningful gap for any reader who is paying for something expensive online, where a missing dispute process can leave you holding the loss.
What can go wrong
The honest answer to “what can go wrong with the Walme card” is that the published material is too thin to predict most failures, and that itself is the main risk.
On the regulatory and issuer side, the legal entity and the card issuer are not named on the official pages. A third-party source describes the card as a virtual Mastercard from a programme that presented at Web Summit Lisbon in November 2025, with a waitlist. None of that is independently confirmed by Walme, and the issuer in particular is the institution that, under any normal reading of card rules, holds the obligation to keep your balance safe. Without a named issuer, there is no published BIN to look up, no regulator to check the licence of, and no safeguarding statement to read. If you want to know whether your balance is held in a segregated account, the answer in the published material is “we do not know.”
On the country side, the published eligibility is a single sentence and the unofficial list names five countries where transactions are blocked. The most likely failure for a reader in an unlisted country is not a clear “no” at sign-up but a decline at the register, which is a worse experience than a refused application.
On the security model, two sources disagree. A November 2025 article describes Walme as non-custodial with 2FA and fraud monitoring; the Walme GitHub page describes custodial wallets with KYC for cards. “Non-custodial” means the user holds the keys and is solely responsible for seed-phrase safety, while “custodial” means the provider holds the credentials and the user must trust it. The two models have very different failure modes: a self-custody card can lose funds through a lost seed phrase or a clipboard-hijack, while a custodial card can lose funds through the provider’s failure. Until Walme states which model applies, the reader cannot price the risk. Treat both descriptions as unofficial and not confirmed by the card.
On reviews, there is essentially no track record. A search for “Walme card reviews Trustpilot Reddit” returned no Walme reviews in October 2026. The card is new enough that a “no complaints” finding is not a clean bill of health; it is mostly a finding that there is no public history to learn from. There is no published Trustpilot page to watch, and no community thread to compare notes with. For a reader who likes to see what other people have gone through before signing up, that is a real absence.
On the operational side, two specific points are worth watching. First, the Android app is not yet available; the Google Play listing is marked “Coming Soon.” Second, the dispute process is not published; if a payment goes wrong, the published path is empty. Both are common gaps in early-stage card programmes and both close in time, but in the meantime they are real.
The wider category risks — the ones that are not specific to Walme but apply to any card on this model — are worth a paragraph. Crypto transfers are typically irreversible, and a stablecoin sent to the wrong address or on the wrong network is usually lost, with no network-level recovery and no guarantee that a support team can retrieve it. Custodial platforms have a record of failure: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen 2011-2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million in 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million in 2022). Card programmes themselves have been suspended by networks in the past: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022, and WaveCrest was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, which closed every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme in one move. None of those events is a prediction about Walme; they are a reminder that a “card programme” is a contractual relationship that can end, and the safer framing is that the balance on the card is the provider’s liability, not a deposit.
What to take instead
If the Walme card is not quite right, three alternatives are worth a look. They are not direct substitutes — each one makes different trade-offs — and the right choice depends on which gap in Walme matters most to you.
CardFlow is built around Nigeria, with marketing that calls it “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” and aims the card at “Nigerians and global users.” It is a virtual USD Mastercard that the site says can be created quickly, with creation listed as free in the FAQ. Funding is in Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or a Naira bank transfer, and the networks are not specified. The published cost is just the free creation; a monthly fee is not stated, and the per-transaction fees are not stated. CardFlow scored 4.9 out of 10 in this site’s review. It suits a reader who is happy to live inside a single app, who is comfortable with Nigeria-centric onboarding, and who does not need a published fee table.
HyperCard is a prepaid card whose balance can be held in USD or EUR, with crypto deposits such as USDT, BTC and ETH converted to the card’s balance inside the app. The App Store page says the card is accepted in “more than 176 countries,” which is a statement about merchant acceptance, not about where you can apply from. The official pages do not publish a country list for eligibility, do not state a fee schedule, and do not name the network. HyperCard scored 4.7 out of 10. It suits a reader who wants a simple prepaid balance in fiat, accepts that the legal and fee detail is thin, and is happy to be a relatively early customer.
Card.fi is the alternative with the most disclosure. Cards are advertised as shipping to “200+ countries,” with a terms-of-service bar on residents of “a country subject to sanctions that would prohibit the service.” The product line is broader: Virtual Classic, Virtual Premium, physical Classic and Premium, and a metal (stainless-steel) option, with a virtual card included with every physical order. The cards are issued “under licence from the relevant card schemes,” with Visa/Mastercard not named publicly. One-time issuance is $49 for Virtual Classic and $249 for Virtual Premium; physical and metal prices are not listed. The fees are clearly published: a 1.5% plus $1.00 top-up fee on Classic and 1% on Premium, a 3.5% FX fee on Classic and 2.5% on Premium, and a conversion fee shown before each top-up. Top-ups are 32 coins across 5 networks (Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana and Kaanch), converted at the market rate on arrival, with the explicit warning that the wrong chain can mean a permanent loss. Cashback is card-spend only: 0.8% on Classic (cap 10 USDT/month), 1% on Premium, 1.2% on Metal (cap 100 USDT/month, 5,000 USDT) or 2% on Metal (cap 250 USDT/month, 20,000 USDT), plus a headline 10% at coffee shops capped at 10 USDT/month, and balance-earn rates “up to 18%” on Metal, variable. Card.fi scored 6.6 out of 10, which makes it the strongest alternative on this list by published score. The trade-off is the higher issuance price on the Virtual Premium and the lower top-up-fee transparency on the Classic.
| Card | Score | Card form | Issuance | Top-up fee | FX fee | Networks | Cashback | Country disclosure |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Walme | 5.8 / 10 | Virtual only | $10 | 3% + $0.25 | not stated | TRC-20, ERC-20, SOL | not stated | one-line “may vary by region” |
| CardFlow | 4.9 / 10 | Virtual USD Mastercard | free | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | Nigeria-led, no published list |
| HyperCard | 4.7 / 10 | Prepaid, USD or EUR | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | “176 countries” acceptance, no eligibility list |
| Card.fi | 6.6 / 10 | Virtual and physical, metal option | $49 (Classic) / $249 (Premium) | 1.5% + $1.00 (Classic) / 1% (Premium) | 3.5% (Classic) / 2.5% (Premium) | Ethereum, Base, BNB, Solana, Kaanch | 0.8%–2% on spend, up to 10% at coffee shops | “200+ countries” with a sanctions clause |
The simple read of that table: if you want a free virtual card and a quick start, CardFlow and HyperCard both have lower-friction onboarding. If you want published fees, more networks, a physical option, and a cashback programme, Card.fi is the more transparent alternative. If you want a virtual-only card with a wide stablecoin top-up range and a low $10 issuance fee, Walme is the only one of these three that accepts USDT and USDC across three chains for $10 to issue, but it is also the one with the least published support around it.
Who I would recommend it to
A specific reader profile fits Walme. You already hold USDT or USDC in a self-custody wallet on TRON, Ethereum or Solana, and you want a virtual card number to spend that balance online or through Apple Pay on a phone. You do not need a physical card, you do not need cash from an ATM, you do not need to dispute a payment, and you are happy to be a relatively early customer of a programme whose issuer and legal entity are not publicly named. You live somewhere that is not Belarus, Iran, Russia, Ukraine or Venezuela, and you are comfortable that a country-by-country eligibility list has not been published. You are on iOS or you are willing to use the web app at app.walme.io while the Android version is marked “Coming Soon.” You are happy to pay a $10 issuance fee, a 3% plus $0.25 loading fee, and a 0.4% fee on every successful payment, in exchange for a card that spends from your stablecoin balance in three networks.
If any of those conditions does not hold, the picture changes. A reader who needs ATM withdrawals, a physical card, a clear dispute process, an Android app, or a published issuer and BIN should look at Card.fi first, where the disclosure is fuller even if the issuance fee is higher. A reader who is in one of the five countries whose merchants are blocked should not apply, because the most likely outcome is a decline at the register with no published way to ask why. A reader who is not on iOS and does not want to use a web app should wait until the Android app is no longer marked “Coming Soon,” and only then top up the minimum $30 to test the flow end-to-end before committing more.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Walme card?
The Walme card is a virtual payment card that draws on a stablecoin balance. You top it up with USDT or USDC on TRC-20, ERC-20 or Solana, the crypto is converted to fiat at the time of top-up, and the card spends from that balance online and through Apple Pay and Google Pay. It is a virtual-only product with a two-year validity.
How does the Walme card work?
You create an account, generate a virtual card, and top it up by sending USDT or USDC to a Walme address on one of three networks. The crypto is converted to fiat and loaded onto the card; from that point, the card behaves like a prepaid card: payments are taken from the loaded balance and cannot overdraw. The card is added to Apple Pay or Google Pay for contactless use at terminals.
Is Walme a bank?
Walme is not described as a bank on its own pages, and the legal entity and card issuer are not named publicly. Most crypto cards are issued by a licensed bank or electronic money institution, with the crypto brand acting as a programme manager. Walme’s pages do not name the issuing institution, so the usual safeguards of a published BIN and a named regulator are not present.
Who owns Walme?
The owner of the legal entity behind Walme is not stated on Walme’s official pages. The third-party article from November 2025 that describes the card’s launch at Web Summit Lisbon does not name an owner either. Treat the ownership question as not answered until Walme itself states it.
Is the Walme card available in my country?
Walme’s official pages carry one line: card availability “may vary by region.” A Walme team reply on Product Hunt, which is unofficial, lists Belarus, Iran, Russia, Ukraine and Venezuela as countries where merchant transactions are blocked. For any other country, the safest reading is that the card may work, not that it is confirmed to work, and there is no published appeal process if it does not.
How do I apply for the Walme card?
Walme’s published process is a sign-up, a top-up, and a card-number issue, with no document upload step described for the virtual card. There is no application form, no ID step, and no estimated wait time in the public materials. The published journey is unusually light compared with most payment products, and two unofficial sources disagree on whether the underlying wallet is custodial or self-custodial.
Does the Walme card require KYC?
Walme’s own pages describe a no-documents virtual card. A Walme GitHub page describes a custodial setup with KYC for cards, while a third-party article describes a non-custodial model with 2FA and fraud monitoring. The two descriptions do not match, and Walme’s official pages do not settle the question. Treat the KYC position as not confirmed by the card itself.
How do I add the Walme card to Apple Wallet?
The published process is the standard one: open the Walme app or web app, retrieve the card number and expiry, and add the card to Apple Wallet through the Wallet app’s “Add Card” flow. The card is supported by Apple Pay, so the tokenisation step should be straightforward. The same pattern applies to Google Pay, although the Android app is marked “Coming Soon” on Google Play at the time of writing.
Is the Walme card safe?
The card uses standard payment rails and tokenised mobile wallets, which carry the usual protections of contactless and 3-D Secure flows. The gap is in disclosure: the legal entity and issuer are not named, the security model is described inconsistently across unofficial sources, the dispute process is not published, and there is no track record of public reviews to draw on. The safer framing is that the technical plumbing looks standard, but the contractual and reputational record is too thin to call it a low-risk product.
How do I delete my Walme account?
Walme’s published materials do not describe an account-deletion flow. A practical first step is to spend or withdraw any remaining balance before closing, because there is no published guarantee of how a closure interacts with a loaded card. If a deletion option is not visible in the app, the Help Center and Contact pages listed on the site are the next step, and you should keep a record of any closure confirmation you receive.
Virtual cards on the shortlist – cryptocardshortlist
Content created by the «cryptocardshortlist» team
