A Solana card with high spending limits and no cash, but a fee picture that does not quite add up
The Xplace card is one of those crypto cards that arrive with a bold pitch and a short list of answers to your practical questions. It is a Visa card you load from stablecoins and other assets held on the Solana network, sold in four tiers, with the monthly spending limit climbing from $2,000 on the free Basic plan to $750,000 on Platinum. It is built for people who want to spend crypto balances, and its higher tiers look towards people who want credit against holdings rather than simple spending. My score for it is 7.7 out of 10. It is a well-constructed product for a specific person, and if you are not that person, most of what it offers will not reach you. The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 7.7 out of 10, built for the Solana user who spends, not for everyone
I rated the Xplace card 7.7 out of 10. That is a good but not exceptional number, and it reflects a genuinely usable card with a well-conceived credit feature attached to some real gaps in what the public pages tell you. The score breaks down as follows.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | No official country list, but the card is a Visa accepted in 160+ countries; unofficial reports say 162 countries are open and 34 are closed |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Basic is free, Silver $99 a year, Gold $249 a year, Platinum $999 a year; card terms show 0% FX, 0% Cross Border Fee and 0% Foreign Transaction Fee, and no cash withdrawal; unofficial sources put Silver FX at 0.5% |
| Top-up options | 8 / 10 | Deposits in BTC (cbBTC), ETH (wETH), SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT and xStocks on the Solana network |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Operated by Pontech Group L.L.C-FZ in Dubai, card issued by Third National under Signify Holdings; Trustpilot 4.1 out of 5 from 56 reviews, Google Play 3.5, with complaints about hidden fees and support |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Virtual card instantly, physical Silver now with Gold and Platinum “soon”, Apple Pay and Google Pay built in, but no cash withdrawal at all |
So who does this suit? The audience the card is really designed for, in my reading, is the Solana user who wants to spend stablecoins day to day, or who wants credit against holdings they already own and are willing to put up as collateral. If that is you, the picture is mostly good. You get a card you can load with the tokens you already hold on Solana, real spending limits that go into six figures at the top, cashback in USDC, and a Credit mode that treats your holdings as collateral rather than selling them first.
Who does it not suit? Anyone who needs cash. Cash advances and balance transfers are simply not available under the card terms, and there is no way round that. Anyone who wants to hold funds in a bank-like deposit guarantee scheme should also look elsewhere, because the site itself says it is not a bank, a licensed lender or an investment firm, and non-custodial storage is not the same as deposit protection. Anyone who is uneasy about how a fee table adds up is right to hesitate, because the official page and the card terms do not fully agree on the foreign-exchange picture. And anyone in a restricted country should not plan around the fact that the card is a Visa, because acceptance at the point of sale is not the same as eligibility to open an account.
Will They Give You the Card: Eligibility Checks Before Anything Else
The first thing to establish is whether Xplace will open an account for you at all, because this is where a lot of disappointment sits. The official answer is deliberately vague. The card’s public pages do not publish a country list, and what they do say is that services are not available in all jurisdictions. On the positive side, the card is a Visa, and Visa is accepted in 160+ countries, so once you hold the card you can spend it widely.
That 160+ figure is about acceptance, not about eligibility, and the distinction matters. An unofficial source, CryptoCardHub as of 24 August 2026, lists 162 countries as available and 34 as explicitly unavailable, with Russia among the closed list and India also named. That same source makes a point I would underline for anyone reading any card’s fine print: the absence of a country from the closed list does not prove that the unlisted country is onboardable. A negative list proves only what it says. It does not give you a green light anywhere else. The official pages do not state a country list, and I have not found one that the card itself publishes.
So the honest position is this. If you are in a country nobody has flagged, Xplace has not told you in public that you are ineligible, and the first real answer will come when you try to register and verify. That is a weaker basis for planning than a published list, and it is worth factoring into your decision.
| What the card states | What unofficial sources add |
|---|---|
| No official country list; “services are not available in all jurisdictions” | 162 countries listed as available |
| Visa acceptance in 160+ countries | 34 countries listed as explicitly unavailable, Russia and India among them |
| Nothing stated about unlisted countries | An unlisted country is not thereby confirmed as onboardable |
How to Get It: Registration, Verification and the Card Itself
Getting the card is described as fast. The card says you register and verify in minutes, and that the virtual card activates instantly after sign-up. What the pages do not state is which documents you will need, whether proof of address is required, what age applies, or what the KYC tiers are. There are no tiers described, no processing time given beyond “minutes”, and no list of rejection reasons. In other countries’ regimes, the customer due diligence for this kind of business normally covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documentation, a sanctions check and a politically-exposed-person check, so expect a document request rather than a frictionless flow. But I want to be clear that I am telling you what the general rules look like, not what Xplace specifically publishes, because the card’s own pages do not say.
The card itself is a Visa, offered in two forms. The virtual card is instant. The physical card is where the tiers differ: Silver physical is live now, while Gold and Platinum physical are marked coming soon. Delivery is stated as 7 to 14 business days depending on the region. Delivery countries and delivery cost are not stated, and a replacement fee amount is not stated either, though the terms list “fees for Card issuance or replacement” without giving figures.
| Feature | What the card says |
|---|---|
| Card network | Visa |
| Virtual card | Instant on sign-up |
| Physical card | Silver live; Gold and Platinum “coming soon” |
| Delivery time | 7 to 14 business days, depending on the region |
| Delivery countries and cost | Not stated |
| Replacement fee | Not stated (terms list “fees for Card issuance or replacement” without amounts) |
| Card currency | Not stated |
There are two spending modes worth knowing before you apply, because they change what the card is. In Cash mode, the card spends your stablecoin balance. In Credit mode, it borrows against your holdings, which means your assets are collateral and there is a loan attached. I will come back to the borrowing costs and the liquidation risk later. For now, the two modes together are the main reason I think this card is worth a look if you hold crypto and undecided if you were just after a cheap debit card.
Fees and Costs: What It Really Costs
The headline costs are clear enough, and the payment-level fees are the part where you have to read carefully. The annual fee runs from free to $999, borrowing carries no origination fee, and the card terms show 0% on three separate fee lines. But the card’s own promotional page says only “0% FX on Platinum”, which is a narrower statement, and unofficial sources give a tier-by-tier FX figure that contradicts the terms table. I want to take this in order, so here is the cost picture as published, then three everyday payments to make it concrete.

The cost table
| Fee or limit | What is published |
|---|---|
| Annual fee | Basic free; Silver $99/y; Gold $249/y; Platinum $999/y |
| Borrowing origination fee | None (“No origination fee”) |
| Foreign Exchange Fee | Card terms table: 0% (non-USD) |
| Cross Border Fee | Card terms table: 0% |
| Foreign Transaction Fee | Card terms table: 0% |
| FX on the promotional page | “0% FX on Platinum” only |
| FX by tier (unofficial) | Basic not confirmed; Silver 0.5%; Gold 0.25%; Platinum 0% |
| Conversion fee | Not stated |
| Stablecoin spending spread | “No hidden spread” |
| ATM / cash advance | Not available under the card terms; ATM fee itself not stated |
| Monthly limit | Basic $2,000; Silver $20,000; Gold $200,000; Platinum $750,000 |
| Who sets the limit | Generally Pontech Group L.L.C-FZ; the issuer may set additional limits that can change at any time |
What that means for three everyday payments
A coffee abroad. You tap, the card converts from your balance, and under the card terms the foreign-exchange fee is 0%, the cross-border fee is 0% and the foreign-transaction fee is 0%. On paper that is the cleanest part of this card. But I would not bank on 0% until you have seen your own statement, because the unofficial tier figures put Silver at 0.5% and Gold at 0.25%, and the card’s own page restricts its 0% FX claim to Platinum. If you are on Silver and you buy something priced in euros, the two official statements do not agree on whether a fee applies. Check your first statement rather than assuming.
An online subscription in dollars. This is the plainest case. The card spends your stablecoin balance, the terms promise no hidden spread, and any on-chain network fee for moving the value is charged by the blockchain rather than by Xplace. Nothing in the published material suggests a dollar-denominated purchase carries a special fee beyond what the terms table already lists.
Withdrawing cash. You cannot. Cash advances and balance transfers are not available under the card terms. This is not a fee question; it is a capability question, and if a cash machine is part of how you budget, that alone may end your consideration of this card.
One more cost item to keep in view, because it is easy to miss: your spending limit is generally set by Pontech Group L.L.C-FZ, and the issuer may set additional limits that can change at any time. A limit that can move without notice is worth factoring into any plan that depends on a large monthly purchase going through.
How to Top Up the Card: Deposits on Solana
Topping up Xplace is a transfer, not a card payment, and it happens on the Solana network. The deposit assets listed are BTC as cbBTC, ETH as wETH, SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT and xStocks. These are the wrapped or tokenised forms of the assets rather than the raw coins themselves, which matters because you are sending a Solana token, not a native Bitcoin or Ethereum transaction.

What the pages do not state is the deposit or top-up fee, the minimum top-up, or any fiat top-up options. “No origination fee” refers to borrowing, not to funding. So treat the top-up cost as unknown rather than zero, and remember that the network fee for the transfer is charged by Solana, not by the card.
| Funding fact | Detail |
|---|---|
| Network | Solana |
| Assets accepted | BTC (cbBTC), ETH (wETH), SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT, xStocks |
| Deposit or top-up fee | Not stated |
| Minimum top-up | Not stated |
| Fiat top-up options | Not stated |
| Borrowing origination fee | None |
On the way back out, the card says you can “withdraw the moment you decide” with “no lock-ups”, which sounds reassuring, but the same page qualifies it: withdrawals depend on protocol liquidity and may be temporarily limited during market stress. Withdrawal fees are not stated, and what happens to a balance when you close the card is not stated either, the terms only saying you must surrender or destroy the card. That last gap is one I would want answered before I moved a meaningful balance in, because “no lock-ups” on the way out and nothing said about closing down are different promises.
One practical warning that belongs here even though it is about the category rather than this card: blockchain transfers are irreversible. Send to the wrong network or a mismatched address and the funds can be gone or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Check the network and address before you confirm a deposit.
Paying With It Every Day: Wallets, Rewards and What Gets Blocked
Day-to-day use is where the card is at its most convenient. Apple Pay and Google Pay are native, so you can add the card to your phone’s wallet and pay without handling plastic. Rewards are paid in Credit mode, as cashback by tier: Basic 0.5%, Silver 1%, Gold 1.5% and Platinum 2%, paid in USDC to your wallet at settlement. Cash-mode cashback is not stated, so the reward is tied to the credit side of the product.
The block list is the part that will surprise people if they do not read it. Xplace publishes a Blocked Merchants document, and it is more than a short list of names. Certain merchant category codes are declined automatically, including explosives, small arms, wire transfers, pawn shops, gambling and lotteries, money transfer services, escort and massage services, and political, labour and religious organisations. Named merchants blocked include eToro, Skrill, Neteller, Wish.com, MoonPay and Wise, plus a “dynamic list” that can change. That dynamic list is the detail I would flag: a merchant that works today is not guaranteed to work tomorrow.
| Everyday-use fact | Detail |
|---|---|
| Mobile wallets | Apple Pay and Google Pay native |
| Credit-mode cashback | Basic 0.5%, Silver 1%, Gold 1.5%, Platinum 2%, paid in USDC at settlement |
| Cash-mode cashback | Not stated |
| Auto-declined categories | Explosives, small arms, wire transfers, pawn shops, gambling and lotteries, money transfer, escort and massage, political/labour/religious organisations |
| Named blocked merchants | eToro, Skrill, Neteller, Wish.com, MoonPay, Wise, plus a dynamic list |
| Disputes | Report a disputed charge or error no more than 60 days after it posts |
Two more things you would want to know as a daily user. App store listings exist for both Apple and Google, though the official page does not show ratings. And there is a 60-day window to report a disputed charge or error. If you are auditing your statement monthly, as you should with a card that draws on a crypto balance, you have time, but you have to use it.
What Can Go Wrong: Complaints, the Company and the Platform
This is the section where the card loses most of its points, and I want to be straight about it. The reliability score is 6 out of 10 and that is not because of one bad story but because of a pattern across the reviews and because of what the terms do not promise.
On complaints, the picture depends on when you look. One user report gives Trustpilot x.place at about 4.4 out of 5 from 10 reviews, and xplace.finance at 4.3 from 9, with Google Play at 3.6 from 40 reviews including at least one scam claim. A later reading, as of 20 October 2026, gives Trustpilot x.place at 4.1 from 56 reviews and Google Play at 3.5 from 35 ratings. The direction of travel is what matters: more reviews, a slightly lower score. Themes include a September 2026 report of being offered a plastic card instead of the advertised metal card and being charged extra for a card, which the company answered by saying metal launches in October; a September 2026 “hidden fees” complaint; slow support in August and September 2026; October 2026 incoming SEPA transfers rejected without a reason; and a September 2026 report of being unable to add the card to Apple Wallet. A secondary guide, penchan.co, reviewed 2 October 2026 and unverified, describes Credit mode as a collateral-backed loan with interest and liquidation risk, says the Drift lending protocol was hacked affecting users, and says Xplace moved to Kamino in May. The same guide and aggregators mention withdrawal lockups and slow support. I found no Reddit threads. Official incidents are not stated.
On the company, Xplace is operated by Pontech Group L.L.C-FZ, Meydan Free Zone, Dubai, UAE, licence number 2527237.01. The card is issued by Third National under a programme managed by Signify Holdings, Inc. The site states plainly that it is not a bank, a licensed lender or an investment firm.
| Risk | What I found |
|---|---|
| Reviews | Trustpilot 4.1 from 56 reviews; Google Play 3.5 from 35 ratings (unofficial readings) |
| Complaint themes | Hidden fees, slow support, wrong card type, rejected SEPA transfers, Apple Wallet add failures, scam claims |
| Credit mode | Secondary guide describes a collateral-backed loan with interest and liquidation risk; a lending protocol hack affected users; platform moved to Kamino |
| Withdrawals | Card says no lock-ups but liquidity-dependent; aggregators mention lockups and slow support |
| 2FA, in-app freeze, spending controls, insurance | Not stated |
| Non-custodial claim | “XPlace does not hold your funds” and “cannot freeze, seize, or move your funds” |
Two things in that table deserve your attention. The first is that the standard safety features, two-factor authentication, in-app card freeze, spending controls and insurance, are not stated. The non-custodial claim is a real and meaningful one, because if Xplace does not hold your funds then a company failure does not directly hand over your crypto, but the card is silent on the practical protections you would expect a card to advertise. The second is Credit mode. If you borrow against your holdings, you are taking on a lending position with interest and, per the secondary description, liquidation risk. A protocol hack affecting users is exactly the kind of event that turns a comfortable balance into a forced sale. If Credit mode appeals to you, that is where the real risk sits, not in the everyday spending.
What to Take Instead
If Xplace does not fit, the honest comparison is against other cards that also draw on crypto holdings. None is perfect, and each makes a different trade.
Sponge is a light, minimal option. It is a virtual card created through createSpongeCard, described as a credit card issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member, accepted wherever Visa is accepted. You move USDC collateral from the Sponge wallet with card fund, on a chain such as base, with base or solana mentioned as optional. Country eligibility is not stated and there is no country list on the card pages, only a platform terms minimum age of 13. Costs, fees and rewards are not stated. It scores 4.9 out of 10.
ether.fi sits between. It is issued only in listed jurisdictions, subject to KYC and compliance, covering a long list including the UK, EU states, Australia, Canada, Japan, Singapore, Switzerland, the UAE and 31 US states, with Belgium and Ireland eligible without physical delivery; if your jurisdiction is not listed you cannot apply. Core members normally get one free virtual card, with the first costing $10 in regional-pricing countries. The FX fee on top of base rate by tier runs Core 0.5%, Luxe 0.25%, none for Pinnacle and VIP, and cashback is paid in ETHFI, locked seven days then claimable. ATM withdrawals are blocked in North Korea, Iran and Myanmar. It scores 6.7 out of 10.
Anodos Card is the closest competitor on paper. It is available in 150+ countries with exceptions, is free on the Financial Freedom tier, $9.99 a month or $99.90 a year on Pro, and $29.99 a month or $299.90 a year on Elite. But it carries a card FX fee of 1.50% on Free, 1.25% on Pro and 1.00% on Elite, which is well above the 0% the Xplace terms advertise. Its country rules are also strict, excluding residents of a long list including Belarus, China, Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam, blocking spending in several of those, and requiring users to attest they are not US citizens. It scores 7.2 out of 10.
| Card | Score | Strength | Trade-off |
|---|---|---|---|
| Xplace | 7.7 / 10 | High limits, Solana-native deposits, 0% FX in terms | No cash, country list unpublished, fees contradictory |
| ether.fi | 6.7 / 10 | Clear jurisdiction list, tiered FX down to 0% | Locked cashback, region-limited |
| Anodos Card | 7.2 / 10 | Broad country coverage, free entry tier | 1.00% to 1.50% card FX fee, many country exclusions |
| Sponge | 4.9 / 10 | Simple virtual card, low commitment | Almost nothing published: no costs, fees or rewards stated |
Read that table as a set of trade-offs rather than a ranking. Xplace wins on limits and on the terms’ promise of no FX fee. Anodos wins on how plainly it states its fees and on country coverage, but charges more on foreign currency. ether.fi wins on published jurisdictions and tiered FX that falls to zero at the top. Sponge is worth a look only if you want the smallest possible commitment.
Who I Would Recommend It To
I would recommend the Xplace card to three kinds of person. First, someone already holding stablecoins and other assets on Solana who wants to spend them without converting through an exchange first, and who is content to give up cash entirely. Second, someone with a larger balance who wants real spending headroom, because the jump from $2,000 a month on Basic to $750,000 on Platinum is unusual and is the card’s strongest concrete feature. Third, someone who specifically wants credit against holdings rather than selling them, understands that this is a collateralised loan with interest and, per the secondary description, liquidation risk, and can tolerate the lending-platform risk that comes with it.
I would tell someone else to keep looking. If you need an ATM, this is the wrong card. If you want a card whose fees are stated once and not contradicted elsewhere, Anodos is more honest about its costs even though they are higher. If you want a published list of the countries you can join from, ether.fi is clearer. If you are uneasy about Credit mode, note that the everyday spending benefits, the cashback and the limits do not require you to borrow, and you can stay in Cash mode.
Before you commit, here is the short list of things I would verify yourself. Whether your country is genuinely eligible, since no official list exists. What your first statement actually shows for a foreign-currency purchase. Whether a physical card is shipped to you and what it costs, since that is not stated. And what happens to any remaining balance if you close the card, which the terms do not explain. The card publishes support contacts, an email address and a phone number, and claims 24/7 support across every tier, so those are the routes for the questions the pages have not answered.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Xplace card?
The Xplace card is a Visa you load with crypto assets and spend like an ordinary payment card. You deposit assets on the Solana network, including stablecoins, and the card draws down that balance. It comes in a virtual form that activates instantly and a physical form, with four tiers from a free Basic plan to a $999-a-year Platinum plan. It also offers a Credit mode that borrows against your holdings rather than spending them.
How does the Xplace card work?
You register and verify, which the card says takes minutes, and the virtual card activates immediately. You top it up by transferring supported assets to the Solana network, then spend that balance. In Cash mode the card spends your stablecoin balance; in Credit mode it borrows against your holdings, so your assets act as collateral for a loan. Apple Pay and Google Pay are built in for tap-to-pay.
Is Xplace a bank?
No. Xplace states plainly that it is not a bank, a licensed lender or an investment firm. The operation is run by Pontech Group L.L.C-FZ in Dubai’s Meydan Free Zone, and the card itself is issued by Third National under a programme managed by Signify Holdings. It says it does not hold your funds and cannot freeze, seize or move them, which is a non-custodial claim, but that is not the same as deposit protection.
Who owns Xplace?
Xplace is operated by Pontech Group L.L.C-FZ, registered in the Meydan Free Zone, Dubai, UAE, under licence number 2527237.01. The physical card is issued by Third National, and the programme is managed by Signify Holdings, Inc. So there are separate entities behind the app, the lending and the card itself, which is normal for this category but worth knowing.
Is the Xplace card available in my country?
The card does not publish an official country list, only that services are not available in all jurisdictions. An unofficial source lists 162 countries as available and 34 as explicitly unavailable, with Russia and India among them. Importantly, a country not being on the closed list does not mean you are confirmed eligible; that only becomes clear when you try to register.
Does the Xplace card require KYC?
Yes, as any regulated financial service does. The card describes the process as “register and verify” in minutes, and says nothing about which documents or proof of address it needs. In general, customer due diligence for this kind of business covers identity, address, date of birth, nationality, a sanctions check and a politically-exposed-person check. Expect to be asked for documents, but do not expect the card’s pages to tell you exactly which ones.
Can I withdraw cash or use an ATM with the Xplace card?
No. Cash advances and balance transfers are not available under the card terms, and the ATM fee itself is not stated because there is no cash function to charge for. This is a hard limitation rather than a policy setting, so if a cash machine is part of how you manage money, this card will not work for you.
Is the Xplace card free, and what are the fees?
The Basic tier is free with a $2,000 monthly limit; Silver is $99 a year, Gold $249 and Platinum $999. Borrowing carries no origination fee. The card terms show 0% foreign-exchange, cross-border and foreign-transaction fees, though the promotional page says only 0% FX on Platinum, and unofficial sources put Silver FX at 0.5%. Conversion fee, deposit fee and top-up minimum are not stated.
How do I top up the Xplace card?
You transfer supported assets on the Solana network: BTC as cbBTC, ETH as wETH, SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT or xStocks. The transfer is a blockchain transaction, so the network fee is charged by Solana rather than by Xplace, and transfers are irreversible if you send on the wrong network or to the wrong address. Deposit fees, minimum top-ups and any fiat top-up options are not stated.
Is the Xplace card safe and worth it?
It has real strengths, above all high spending limits and native Solana deposits, and it makes a non-custodial claim that your funds are not held by the company. Against that, the public pages do not state 2FA, in-app freeze, spending controls or insurance; reviews mention hidden fees, slow support and card-type problems; and Credit mode is described by a secondary source as a collateralised loan with liquidation risk. Whether it is worth it depends entirely on whether you need Solana spending, can do without cash, and have read the Credit mode terms.
Credit and cashback cards on the shortlist – cryptocardshortlist
Content created by the «cryptocardshortlist» team
