A self-custody crypto card spending from your USDe balance
Ethena Pay is one of the newer crypto payment cards, and it takes an unusual approach: instead of letting you load a fiat balance and then spend, it draws your spending directly from a self-custody wallet that holds USDe (Ethena’s synthetic dollar) and other supported digital assets as collateral. That single design choice affects everything else about the card: who can get it, how you fund it, and what happens if you lose your keys. This review walks through the card as it is described on Ethena Pay’s own pages and the iOS app, explains the real cost of using it day to day, and looks at what is confirmed and what is not.
The information below reflects what Ethena Pay publishes and what third-party sites report, and is current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Ethena Pay earns a score of 6.7 out of 10 in this review. That is a middling result, and it reflects the card’s mix of genuinely useful features and some real gaps. The card is free to open and free to maintain, the FX cost on non-USD spending is around 1.0% with no cap or markup added by Ethena Pay, and you can get a virtual card and add it to Apple Pay in about a minute. Those are genuinely good points.
Against that, the card is invite-only and currently in beta with around 400 early users, it is not available to U.S. persons at all, and access is restricted for anyone located in, resident in, established in, or accessing the services from Belarus or Russia. The card company, Ethena Pay Ltd. in Malta, states that it is not licensed, registered, authorized, or otherwise approved by financial regulators and that it works through third-party providers. The official Terms do not name the card issuer, and the broader rollout to the US, EU, UK, Canada, Switzerland, Taiwan, and South Korea is listed as “coming soon” rather than a date. If you want a card that is clearly regulated and broadly available today, this is not it. If you already hold USDe or other supported crypto collateral, want to spend from your own wallet, and live in one of the 48 countries where the beta is open, the trade-offs may make sense.
| Criterion | Mark | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Beta by invitation in 48 countries across Latin America, the Caribbean, Asia and the Middle East, Africa, and Oceania; U.S. persons not allowed |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Virtual card, account opening, and maintenance free; FX on non-USD around 1.0% at the network rate; ATM withdrawal $1.00 plus 0.65% |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Self-custody wallet holding USDe and other assets as collateral; spending debits USDe; partners MoonPay and Iron; coins and networks not listed |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Ethena Pay Ltd., Malta, company number C114576, says it is not licensed; issuer not named in the Terms; unofficial reports point to Third National and Signify (Rain); 400-user beta, no complaints found |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual card in about a minute, Apple Pay, physical cards in Standard, Pro, and VIP tiers, ATM available, Google Pay “available soon”; unofficial reports say the card is virtual only |
Who can get the Ethena Pay card
The card is available in 48 countries and is invite-only, so even living in one of those countries is not enough on its own. The list breaks down roughly as follows:
- Latin America (17): Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay
- Caribbean (12): Twelve countries, not individually listed on the card’s pages
- Asia and the Middle East (8): Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, UAE
- Africa (9): Côte d’Ivoire, Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Morocco, Senegal, South Africa, Uganda, Zambia
- Oceania (2): Australia, New Zealand
U.S. persons are not allowed at all, regardless of where they live. The Terms also list Belarus and Russia as Restricted Jurisdictions, and the language matters: access is restricted for anyone “located in, ordinarily resident in, established in, or accessing the Services from” those two countries, so it is your residence or location, not your citizenship, that the card checks. If you are a citizen of one of those countries but live elsewhere and access the service from that other country, the rule does not apply, and the reverse is also true. The card does not publish the full list of Restricted Jurisdictions beyond those two, and the broader rollout to the US, EU, UK, Canada, Switzerland, Taiwan, and South Korea is described as “coming soon” without a date.
How to sign up
Signing up follows a standard verification flow, and the card’s Terms give the operator a wide remit to check you.
- Age and identity: You must be at least 18 years old and pass KYC. Ethena Pay or a third party (Sumsub is named) will request “government-issued photo identification, proof of address, source of funds information”, and may also collect tax and biometric or liveness data. One account per person.
- Outcome: Passing the checks does not guarantee approval; the operator can still decline you. Neither the card’s pages nor the Terms describe a tiered KYC system; there is one verification flow.
- Card generation: After verification, you generate a virtual card. The card’s pages say this takes about a minute, and the same virtual card can be added to Apple Pay. The card runs on the Visa network and the underlying balance is in USD; spending in USD is free.
- Physical cards: Physical cards are part of the Standard, Pro, and VIP tiers. The card’s pages do not give delivery times, countries, or fees for the physical card, and one unofficial report (CryptoCardHub, September 2026) says the card is currently virtual only, with no physical card yet shipped.
If your situation is straightforward, you can expect a working virtual card in Apple Pay within a few minutes of completing the checks. If anything in your application looks unusual, expect to be asked for more documents, and remember that the operator can refuse to onboard you without giving a reason.
Fees: what it really costs
Ethena Pay’s fee structure is one of its stronger points, partly because the issuer, network, and Ethena Pay itself charge very little. The card’s published pages do not list every fee that could apply, so I have kept the table to the figures that are confirmed.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Virtual card issuance | Free |
| Virtual card replacement | Free |
| Virtual card activation | Free |
| Account opening | Free |
| Monthly maintenance | Free |
| Minimum balance | None |
| Inactivity fee | None |
| FX on non-USD transactions | “Typically around 1.0%”, passed through from the card network at cost |
| Cross-border fee | None |
| Domestic USD purchase fee | None |
| Interest on purchases | 0.00% |
| Late payment fee | Up to $40 |
| Returned payment fee | Up to $29 |
| ATM withdrawal | $1.00 plus 0.65% of the amount (operator surcharge may apply) |
| Daily Boost cap on balances | Standard $5,000; Pro $100,000; VIP $1,000,000 |
| Spending limits | Not listed; may be imposed and changed without notice |
| Third-party fees (gas, funding partners) | Charged separately, not set by Ethena Pay |
| Physical card fees by tier | Not listed |
| Crypto conversion fee | Not stated |
To put the everyday cost in concrete terms, three small examples help:
- Coffee in your local currency: If you pay in USD, there is no FX fee and no Ethena Pay purchase fee. The merchant sees a Visa transaction; the network rate applies; you pay the listed price plus the cost of any conversion from your USDe balance to USD.
- A €40 restaurant bill abroad: Your USD card is converted to euros at the network rate, and Ethena Pay passes through around 1.0% as its FX. This would cost you roughly $0.40 in FX plus whatever conversion fee applies when the system debits your USDe. The 1.0% is described as “typical” and is not a cap.
- A $200 ATM withdrawal: You pay $1.00 plus 0.65% of $200, which is $1.30, for a total Ethena Pay fee of $2.30. The ATM operator may add its own surcharge on top, so the final cost depends on the machine.
One unofficial report (CryptoCardHub, September 2026) describes a Philippines user being quoted a $10 charge for a first card through the app. This is not consistent with the card’s published pricing, and the card’s own pages say the virtual card is free; I would treat that $10 charge as an isolated report rather than the rule.
The “no minimum balance” and “no inactivity fee” lines are real wins for a card that, like many crypto cards, is easy to leave dormant. The Daily Boost caps, which are technically limits on interest-bearing balance rather than on spending, are $5,000, $100,000, and $1,000,000 for Standard, Pro, and VIP respectively, and the card earns cashback rather than interest on its own balance.
Top up: how to fund the card
The top-up flow is the part of Ethena Pay that most distinguishes it from a conventional crypto card, and it is the part with the least public detail.

- Where the funds live: The card is linked to a self-custody wallet that holds USDe and other supported digital assets as collateral. When you pay, the system debits the USDe balance, and the underlying assets sit as collateral in your own wallet. Ethena Pay’s Terms state that it “doesn’t hold your funds, keys, or seed phrases”, which means losing your keys means losing access to the collateral that backs the card.
- Funding partners: The card’s pages name MoonPay and Iron as funding partners. What this means in practice is that you can buy USDe or top up your wallet through MoonPay or Iron, paying the fees those services charge. The card does not list which coins, beyond USDe, are supported as collateral, and it does not list which networks are supported. Third-party coverage (The Defiant) says the app launched on Avalanche, which is a hint rather than a full list.
- Internal transfers: Sending USDe to other Ethena Pay users is free, and there is no published deposit fee. The minimum top-up is not stated. Third-party fees such as gas (the network fee the blockchain charges) and funding partner fees are charged separately, not by Ethena Pay, and these can be the largest part of the cost of a small top-up.
- Cash out: The card’s pages do not state how to withdraw the USDe balance or convert it back to fiat. What the Terms do say is that the keys and funds stay with the user, and that sending to other Ethena Pay users is free; everything else about withdrawal is not stated.
A practical consequence of the self-custody model is that you need to manage your own wallet. If you are used to leaving your crypto on an exchange, the switch to a self-custodial wallet is a real change: you own the keys, you own the responsibility, and there is no support line that can recover a lost seed phrase. The network you choose also matters. Stablecoins like USDC and USDT live on many networks (Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum, Stellar, and others), and sending on the wrong network can lock up your funds permanently. The card’s pages do not spell this out, but it is worth keeping in mind if you plan to fund the wallet yourself.
Paying with it every day
Once the card is set up, the day-to-day experience is closer to a standard Visa debit card than to a crypto wallet. The virtual card sits in Apple Pay immediately after generation. Google Pay is listed as “available soon” and not yet live. The card’s pages do not list blocked merchant categories, but the rewards terms exclude cash advances, ATM withdrawals, crypto and stablecoin and NFT and securities purchases, gambling, gift cards, peer-to-peer transfers, and account funding from cashback.
Cashback in AVAX
Cashback is paid in AVAX, not in USDe or in the local currency, and it is paid daily after each transaction settles. The bands are:
- Standard: 4% on the first $2,500 of monthly spend, 1% on $2,500–$4,000, 0% above $4,000
- Pro: 4.5% to $8,000, then 2%, 1%, 0.5% in successive bands
- VIP: 5% to $20,000, then 2%, 1%, 0.5%
- Threshold: Transactions under $1.00 earn no cashback, and refunds reverse the cashback on that transaction
- Access to Pro: Through a subscription or via referrals
- Daily Boost: Standard earns 5% per annum up to $5,000, Pro and VIP earn 6% per annum up to $100,000 and $1,000,000 respectively, on the condition that you make at least one card transaction per month
Receiving cashback in AVAX means you are exposed to AVAX’s price between the moment the cashback is paid and the moment you sell or spend it. That is a real but small risk on small amounts, and a real risk on large ones if AVAX moves sharply. There is no cashback on the categories the card excludes, and there is no cashback on transactions under $1.00.
Disputes and refunds
Refunded, charged-back, or otherwise ineligible purchases reverse their cashback and drop out of your monthly spend total. Chargebacks can be deducted from your balances, and if the chargeback leaves you with a negative balance, that liability remains with you. The card acknowledges complaints by email within five business days and targets a final response within fifteen; the card’s pages do not state a time limit for raising a chargeback, which is something to ask support about if you ever need to dispute a charge.
App and support
The iOS app is in beta. The Australian App Store listing showed two ratings, both 5.0, as of 2 September 2026 (unofficial). The app requires iOS 17 or later; an Android version is planned. Email support goes to [email protected], phone support is 1-844-ETHA-PAY, and there is an in-app help section and a contact page. One third-party report (Penchan, 2026) says the app is English-only.
What can go wrong
Even setting aside ordinary card risks, Ethena Pay has some specific issues worth thinking through.
- The company is unregulated in financial terms. Ethena Pay Ltd. is a Maltese limited company, number C114576, registered in Ta’ Xbiex, Malta. Its own materials state that it is “not licensed, registered, authorized, or otherwise approved” by financial regulators and that it works through third-party providers. The official Terms do not name a card issuer. Unofficial sources (CryptoCardHub, The Defiant) say the Visa card is issued by Third National, a Puerto Rico-chartered bank, and managed by Signify Holdings (Rain). That is a meaningful distinction: the regulated entity that actually issues the card sits behind the brand, and if anything goes wrong, the question is which entity you have a relationship with.
- Self-custody has no safety net. Ethena Pay does not hold your keys, your seed phrase, or your funds, and it explicitly says it provides no custodial or safeguarding services. A lost seed phrase means a lost wallet and a card that cannot draw on its collateral. The card’s pages do not state whether two-factor authentication or an instant card freeze is available, and the app’s security features are not described in detail.
- Closed programmes are a category risk. Across the crypto card industry, programmes have been shut down. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022, and WaveCrest was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. When a programme is closed, users are typically given a notice period, then loading stops, then spending stops, and any remaining balance is withdrawn. None of this has happened to Ethena Pay; it is a general point about the category rather than a forecast for this card.
- Spending limits can be dynamic. The official Terms allow transaction limits to be imposed and changed without notice. Unofficial coverage (CryptoCardHub, September 2026) says the spending limit is dynamic, tied to the value of your collateral, and can be reduced even to zero. If your collateral drops in value, your card can stop working without warning.
- Complaints and incidents. No Trustpilot or Reddit pages surfaced in one search, and the only editorial rating I found is SpendNode’s 3.9/5 from September 2026. The single user complaint that did surface (the $10 first-card charge in the Philippines) is treated as isolated. With 400 beta users, the sample of public feedback is too small to draw firm conclusions either way.
- USDC has a censorship record. If you top up via USDC rather than USDe, it is worth knowing that Tether and Circle have both frozen funds tied to illicit activity. Stablecoins are not censorship-proof, and your wallet can be on a sanctions list. This is a category point, not a criticism of Ethena Pay, but it is part of what self-custody actually means.
What to take instead
The honest answer to “what should I take instead” depends on why Ethena Pay does not fit. If the country list is the problem, ether.fi has the broadest published list, including Argentina, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, UAE, UK, and 31 US states, with Belgium and Ireland eligible without physical delivery. If the self-custody model is the problem, Xplace offers a more conventional tiered card with a $0–$999 annual fee and 0% FX on Platinum. If the closed beta is the problem, Sponge is virtual-only and USDC-funded, though its country list is not stated.
Ethena Pay vs. Sponge
Sponge is a virtual card created with createSpongeCard and described on its homepage as a credit card issued by Rain (a Visa Principal Member), so it is accepted wherever Visa is accepted. Its country list is not stated, the platform terms set a minimum age of 13 for the service, and the card’s fees and cashback are not stated. Funding is USDC collateral moved from the Sponge wallet with card fund, and the example chain is Base (the SDK also mentions Solana). The review’s score for Sponge is 4.9 / 10, which is materially lower than Ethena Pay’s 6.7 / 10. The two products share a self-custody flavour, but Sponge has less public information available.
Ethena Pay vs. Xplace
Xplace is a Visa card with virtual (instant) and physical (Silver live, Gold and Platinum “coming soon”) tiers, accepted in 160+ countries. Annual fees are Basic $0, Silver $99, Gold $249, Platinum $999, and the Platinum tier advertises 0% FX. Cashback is paid in USDC at settlement and ranges from 0.5% (Basic) to 2% (Platinum). Funding accepts BTC (cbBTC), ETH (wETH), SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT, and xStocks, on the Solana network. The country list is not stated, but Xplace is accepted wherever Visa is accepted (160+ countries). The review’s score for Xplace is 7.7 / 10, which is materially higher than Ethena Pay’s 6.7 / 10, and Xplace is the more conventional credit-card-style product with a clear annual fee structure.
Ethena Pay vs. ether.fi
ether.fi is a Visa card issued in a long list of jurisdictions (Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, UAE, UK, and 31 US states), with virtual and physical cards in USD and EUR. Core members normally get one free virtual card; the first virtual card costs $10 in regional-pricing countries (Argentina, Angola, Bangladesh, Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mexico, Nigeria, Peru, Philippines, South Africa, Thailand). FX is 0.5% on Core, 0.25% on Luxe, none on Pinnacle and VIP, with EUR purchases at 0% FX. Cashback is paid in ETHFI (locked for seven days then claimable), with tiers that go up to 3% on the first $50,000 of monthly spend at Pinnacle. The review’s score for ether.fi is 6.7 / 10, the same as Ethena Pay, with the difference that ether.fi has a much broader and clearly listed country footprint.
Across the three, Ethena Pay sits in the middle: more self-custody-oriented than Xplace, more public information than Sponge, and a narrower country list than ether.fi. The right pick depends on what you want from a crypto card.
Who I would recommend it to
Ethena Pay is worth a serious look if you already hold USDe, are comfortable running a self-custody wallet, and live in one of the 48 countries where the beta is open. In that case, the card gives you a way to spend from your collateral without handing the keys to a custodian, and the published cost of doing so is low: a $0 card, no monthly fee, no minimum balance, around 1.0% on non-USD spending, and a $1.00 plus 0.65% ATM charge. The cashback in AVAX is a small bonus if you have a view on AVAX, and the Pro and VIP tiers are there if you want higher bands or a higher Daily Boost cap.
It is not the right card if you are in the United States or one of the Restricted Jurisdictions, if you do not want to manage your own seed phrase, or if you want a clearly regulated, broadly available card today. The “not licensed” line on the company’s own materials, the unspecified card issuer in the Terms, the 400-user beta, and the dynamic spending limit tied to collateral value are all reasons to pause if you are used to the protections of a regulated bank card. Xplace is the more conventional choice if you want tiered cashback and a published annual fee; ether.fi is the broader-geography choice; Sponge is the smallest and least-documented of the four.
The honest summary is that Ethena Pay is a real product with real users, but it is still a beta, and the gaps in its public information are part of the picture. If you are the kind of person who reads Terms and is comfortable with a self-custody wallet, the card is worth signing up to a waitlist for. If you want the comfort of a fully regulated card with a named issuer, this is not the right card today.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Ethena Pay card?
The Ethena Pay card is a Visa payment card that draws spending from a self-custody wallet holding USDe and other supported digital assets as collateral. The card company describes itself as Ethena Pay Ltd., a Maltese limited company, number C114576, which says it is not licensed by financial regulators and works through third-party providers.
How does the Ethena Pay card work?
You complete KYC verification, generate a virtual card in about a minute, add it to Apple Pay, and fund the card by holding USDe and other assets in a self-custody wallet. Each payment debits your USDe balance, and the underlying assets stay as collateral in your own wallet rather than with Ethena Pay.
Is Ethena Pay a bank?
No. Ethena Pay Ltd. is a Maltese limited company that states it is “not licensed, registered, authorized, or otherwise approved” by financial regulators. The Terms do not name a card issuer; unofficial sources point to Third National in Puerto Rico and Signify Holdings (Rain) as the issuer and programme manager.
Where is the Ethena Pay card available?
In 48 countries across Latin America (17), the Caribbean (12), Asia and the Middle East (8), Africa (9), and Oceania (2). U.S. persons are not allowed. Belarus and Russia are Restricted Jurisdictions, with the rule keyed to residence or location rather than citizenship.
How do I top up the Ethena Pay card?
The card is funded by holding USDe and other supported assets in your self-custody wallet. Ethena Pay names MoonPay and Iron as funding partners. The card’s pages do not list the full set of supported coins and networks, and one third-party report (The Defiant) says the app launched on Avalanche.
What fees does the Ethena Pay card charge?
The virtual card, account opening, and monthly maintenance are free. FX on non-USD spending is around 1.0%, passed through from the card network at cost. ATM withdrawals are $1.00 plus 0.65%. Late-payment fees go up to $40, returned-payment fees up to $29.
How do I add the Ethena Pay card to Apple Wallet?
After verification, the virtual card is generated in about a minute and can be added to Apple Pay from within the app. Google Pay is listed as “available soon” and is not yet live. Unofficial sources say the card is currently virtual only, with physical cards in Standard, Pro, and VIP tiers planned.
Is the Ethena Pay card safe?
The card uses a self-custody model, so you hold the keys and Ethena Pay explicitly does not provide custodial or safeguarding services. The card’s pages do not detail two-factor authentication or instant card freeze. The card company states it is not licensed by financial regulators, and the card issuer is not named in the official Terms.
How do I get a refund or raise a chargeback on Ethena Pay?
Refunded, charged-back, or ineligible purchases reverse their cashback. The card acknowledges complaints by email within five business days and targets a final response within fifteen. The card’s pages do not state a chargeback time limit, so ask support before raising a dispute.
Can I withdraw money from Ethena Pay?
Sending USDe to other Ethena Pay users is free. The card’s pages do not state how to withdraw the USDe balance back to fiat, and the minimum top-up is not stated. Third-party fees such as gas and funding partner fees are charged separately.
Credit and cashback cards on the shortlist – cryptocardshortlist
Content created by the «cryptocardshortlist» team
