A stablecoin-funded Visa with an open eligibility claim and a heavy fee schedule
The FV Bank card gives you a physical Visa debit card tied to a US-dollar account that you can fund with stablecoins, and it scores 5.5 out of 10. That middle score is not a polite shrug: the account side is genuinely strong, with opening available from over 100 countries and a card that works wherever Visa is accepted, and the cost side is genuinely bad, with a $50 plastic fee, $50 to $100 a year in card maintenance and a 2.99% fee on every foreign-currency purchase. It suits you if you already hold USDC, USDT or PYUSD, you want a dollar-denominated account with a real plastic Visa in your hand, and you mostly spend in the United States. It does not suit you if you live outside the US and buy things in local currency every day, if a $50 issuance fee is a real cost for you, or if your bank’s deposit protection is what you are relying on — FV Bank International Inc. is not FDIC-insured.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
The score, criterion by criterion
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | Account opening “available from over 100 countries”; card works wherever Visa is accepted; no country list published |
| Cost | 1 / 10 | $50 plastic card, $50/year card maintenance ($100 for international accounts), 2.99% on foreign-currency transactions, $3.50 ATM inside the USA and $5.00 outside |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Deposit USDC, USDT or PYUSD with conversion to USD; networks and deposit fee not disclosed |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | FV Bank International Inc., licence OCIF IFE-063, Visa principal member, not FDIC-insured; Trustpilot 2.2 out of 8 reviews on blocked funds and a $200 deduction |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Physical Visa, ATMs, Apple Wallet; Google Pay not named, virtual card not disclosed |
| Total | 5.5 / 10 |
The pattern in that table is worth stating plainly: this card is generous on access and stingy on running costs. A 9 and a 1 pull in opposite directions, and which one dominates depends entirely on how you spend money.
Will they give you the card
Yes, on paper, to almost anyone — FV Bank says account opening is “available from over 100 countries”, and the card is usable worldwide wherever Visa is accepted. That is about as open an eligibility statement as this category gets. There is no country list on the page, which cuts both ways: you are not turned away on geography, but you also cannot check a list before applying, so if your country matters to you for tax, currency or regulatory reasons, you will have to ask.
That is the whole of the eligibility picture. There is no stated minimum age in what the public pages say, no income requirement, no deposit minimum published alongside the opening claim.
The one place where eligibility could still catch you out is not eligibility at all but compliance: FV Bank is a licensed bank and digital-asset custodian, and as a regulated business it runs the checks that any regulated business runs — sanctions screening, identification, ongoing monitoring of transactions. That is why the broad “over 100 countries” claim coexists with the fact that some people get refused. The “What can go wrong” section sets out what that looks like in practice.
How to get it
You apply through apply.fvbank.us, and for a USD account the bank says it can take “as little as 24 hours”. The card itself is a Visa debit card, available as a physical plastic card and, for employees, as cards issued on the account. It sits on a USD account. Whether a virtual card exists is not stated on the pages I checked.
Physical cards are ordered in the portal or app and, per the bank’s own blog, delivered “anywhere in the world”. How long delivery takes and what it costs are not stated. A replacement card is $50.
On the documentation question, be aware of the gap: KYC is not stated on the cards page, and the documents required are not readable from the public pages. So nobody can tell you from the marketing material whether you will need a passport, a proof of address, a selfie, or a utility bill. As a licensed financial entity it will identify you — every regulated one does — but the precise list is something only the application flow will reveal.
Fees: what it really costs
This is where the 1 out of 10 comes from, and it deserves to be read line by line before you apply rather than after.

| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Plastic card issuance | $50 per card |
| Replacement card | $50 |
| Annual card maintenance | $50 per card (domestic US accounts), $100 per card (international accounts) |
| Purchase transactions | Free |
| Foreign currency transaction | 2.99% |
| Crypto conversion fee | Not stated |
| ATM inside the USA | $3.50 |
| ATM outside the USA | $5.00 |
| ATM balance inquiry | $1.00 |
| PIN change | Free |
| Domestic US and international individual limits | $7,500 per day in purchases, 15 transactions per day, 60 per week |
| International business limits | $12,000 per day in purchases, 15 transactions per day, 60 per week |
| ATM limit | Not stated |
| Network of ATMs | ~1.9 million ATMs in 200+ countries |
Now the arithmetic that matters. If your account is classified as international, the card costs you $50 up front and $100 a year before you spend a cent. Add the 2.99% on anything bought outside the US, and consider what that does to a €40 or £40 purchase: the fee is not a rounding error, it is a meaningful slice of the ticket. A card that is free to use in dollars becomes expensive the moment it is used the way most people actually use a card.
Compare that with the two everyday payments people tend to worry about.
A coffee in the United States. Purchase transactions are free, so a $6 coffee costs $6. The 2.99% does not apply to a domestic dollar purchase, and this is the scenario the fee schedule is built for.
A coffee in Portugal, on an international account. The purchase is converted, plus 2.99% on the foreign-currency transaction, and you are carrying a $50 annual maintenance charge on a card that mostly exists to spend euros. That is the scenario that drags the cost mark down to 1. ATM withdrawals make the same point harder: $5.00 outside the USA, plus whatever your own bank charges for the withdrawal, plus $1.00 if you check the balance at the machine.
One more line to note: the crypto conversion fee is not stated. You are told that deposits of USDC, USDT and PYUSD are converted to USD, but not what that conversion costs. The 2.99% figure is the foreign-currency transaction fee, and reading it as a substitute for a conversion fee would be a mistake.
Top up: how the money gets in
Topping up happens in stablecoins. You deposit USDC, USDT or PYUSD and they are converted to USD at the moment of deposit — automatically, according to the card’s own description. The account is a USD account and the card draws on that dollar balance, so the stablecoin side is essentially a funding rail rather than something you spend directly.

There is a Convert feature that sells digital assets held in custody for USD, and withdrawal works by converting custody assets to USD and transferring to the bank balance. The cards page does not state withdrawal fees or the balance required to close an account.
What is missing here is the part that most often goes wrong. The deposit network is not disclosed, and the deposit fee and minimum are not disclosed. Those two gaps matter more than they sound. Blockchain transfers are irreversible: if you send on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the funds can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Stablecoins also exist on several chains — USDT is issued on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche — and choosing wrong is the single most common irreversible mistake in this category. If you deposit, confirm the network from FV Bank’s own interface before you send anything. On-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, so they sit on top of whatever FV Bank charges, or charges nothing, as stated.
One more piece of context worth having: Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. Stablecoins are not censorship-proof, and a provider’s compliance systems can act on that.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, this is a physical Visa debit card in about 1.9 million ATMs across more than 200 countries. It is available in Apple Wallet — that comes from a bank blog post title from around October 2026, and an earlier cards page says digital wallet use is possible. Google Pay is not named. Rewards are not stated; there is no cashback on the page. Disputes — how you challenge a charge — are not stated either.
The app side is an online banking platform and a mobile app, though the supported platforms and store ratings were not read and the App Store page was not found, so I cannot tell you how well it is rated or whether it is available in your region.
There are card controls worth looking for when you set it up: limits you can set, PIN changes, and the ability to disable transactions, all inside online banking and the app. For someone whose problem with ordinary banking is that money moves without their say-so, having a switch matters more than most of the feature lists on this kind of card.
What can go wrong
Start with the company, because that determines what protections you actually have. The issuer is FV Bank International Inc., licensed by OCIF in Puerto Rico as an International Financial Entity under licence IFE-063. It is a principal member of Visa — announced in October 2021 — and it is not FDIC-insured. It is also a digital-asset custodian, custodial rather than self-custodial. So your money is held by an institution, and an international financial entity licence is not the same thing as domestic bank deposit insurance.
Then the complaints. No official incident came up in what I checked, but Trustpilot shows 2.2 out of 5 from 8 reviews, read on 21 October 2026, seven of them one-star. The themes, all from user reports: funds blocked after proof of funds (August 2026), an unexpected $200 deduction after a rejected transfer (October 2025), poor communication (January and October 2025), and doubts about whether this is “a real bank” (June 2025). Eight reviews is a very small sample, and small samples skew angry — that is worth holding onto before you weight them. But the specific shape of the allegations is the part to notice: money not available, a deduction that was not clearly explained, and a support line that did not explain either.
| What users reported | When |
|---|---|
| Funds blocked after proof of funds | Aug 2026 |
| $200 deduction after a rejected transfer | Oct 2025 |
| Poor communication | Jan 2025, Oct 2025 |
| Doubts that it is “a real bank” | Jun 2025 |
Then the category risks, which apply here as they do to every custodial card. A custodial provider holds your credentials, so you must trust it completely. Transfers are irreversible. Custodial platforms have a genuine record of large losses — Mt. Gox at about US$350 million reported stolen across 2011–2014, Coincheck at about US$400 million in 2018, Ronin Network at US$625 million in 2022. And programme closures happen: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. A 2026 closure reported by a secondary source — single source, unconfirmed — ended new loads on 8 July and spending on 8 August. The pattern of a shut programme is always the same: a notice period, spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw what is left.
Two smaller things that surprise people. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards, because the merchant category lookup of the issuing institution reveals the card type and issuer country, which is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven.
Nothing in the public material describes how to dispute a charge, so I would not assume a chargeback route exists until you have seen the cardholder agreement.
What to take instead
| FV Bank | International Visa Card | UNi Card | Morse | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 5.5 / 10 | 6.7 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 7.5 / 10 |
| Card type | Visa debit, physical plastic | U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual (physical “coming soon”) | Multicurrency card on the Mastercard network | Visa prepaid, fully virtual for now |
| Issuance | $50 | $5 one-time | Not stated | Not stated |
| Ongoing cost | $50/yr ($100 international) | None on Classic; Pro $9.00/mo, Max $19.00/mo | “No annual fee” | Not stated; cardholder agreement applies |
| Foreign currency | 2.99% | “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee” | “No foreign transaction fee” | “Zero foreign exchange fees or markups”, real-time Visa rate |
| Spending in USD | Free | Free on all plans | Not stated | Free online and contactless |
| Rewards | Not stated | No cashback stated | “Spend-to-Earn” up to 3% | Not stated on card pages |
International Visa Card is the direct comparison, and the difference is mostly money and geography. It costs $5 to issue with no maintenance fee on the free plan, and 2% on foreign currency instead of 2.99%. But its exclusion list is explicit — no account or card for residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case and compliance approval. The rule runs on residence or registration, and citizenship is not mentioned. Purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. If you are outside that list, this is a cheaper card; if you are inside it, FV Bank’s open “over 100 countries” claim is the point in FV Bank’s favour.
UNi Card spends from a UNi.Global account balance on the Mastercard network, with no annual fee and no foreign transaction fee, converting at live OTC rates with “no hidden exchange fees”, and pays “Spend-to-Earn rewards” up to 3%. Who can get one is not stated, and so is how you fund it — which is a lot of unknowns for a card whose selling point is its fee schedule.
Morse scores highest of the three at 7.5 out of 10, and it earns that on cost and access: zero FX fees or markups at the real Visa rate, free contactless and online payments, and deposits by debit card, stablecoin transfer or Account Details, with USDC, USDG and EURC via Solana free. Its own wallet is self-custodial, which removes the custodian risk that sits under FV Bank. Against that, the card is “fully virtual for now”, and eligibility is by residence rather than citizenship, with users required to be at least 18 and resident in a supported country. The card is “available only in certain countries” and the list is not published — you have to check the app. Some countries are in closed beta behind an invite code, including Australia, Japan, Singapore, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, Türkiye and others, and Morse cannot serve customers subject to US, UK, EU or UN sanctions. Issuance and monthly fees are not stated; the card page says only that “fees may apply”.
The honest summary: if your priority is a dollar account funded in stablecoins with a physical card and an open eligibility claim, FV Bank is in the running. If your priority is paying abroad cheaply, Morse or the International Visa Card are cheaper on the facts published.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend FV Bank to someone who already holds USDC, USDT or PYUSD, wants a US-dollar account rather than a dollar-denominated pile, and spends mostly in the United States — where purchase transactions are free and the 2.99% simply does not bite. If you also want plastic in your hand, and Apple Wallet as a backup, it does that job.
I would not recommend it to someone whose normal spending is in a local currency outside the US, because $50 to open and $100 a year, plus 2.99% on every foreign purchase, is a high price for the convenience. I would also hesitate for anyone who needs deposit protection or who intends to hold a meaningful balance for a long time — FV Bank International Inc. is not FDIC-insured, it is custodial for digital assets, and the complaint pattern is about money becoming unavailable and deductions arriving without a clear explanation. And if you are in one of the excluded countries on the International Visa Card list, FV Bank’s wide-open eligibility may be the main reason it is worth looking at at all.
Before you apply, check three things yourself: what it costs you in your own currency and spending pattern, what the cardholder agreement says about conversion fees that are not on the cards page, and what happens to your balance if you want to leave.
Frequently asked questions
What is FV Bank card?
FV Bank is a bank that pairs a US-dollar account with a Visa debit card you can hold in plastic. You fund the account mainly with stablecoins — USDC, USDT or PYUSD — which convert to dollars on deposit, and you then spend that dollar balance like an ordinary debit card. It is issued by FV Bank International Inc., a Puerto Rico-licensed international financial entity.
Is FV Bank a real bank?
It is a licensed financial entity rather than a household name, which is the honest answer. FV Bank International Inc. holds licence IFE-063 from OCIF as an International Financial Entity, and it has been a Visa principal member since October 2021. What it is not is FDIC-insured, so do not treat a balance there as the same as a US bank deposit.
How do I get an FV Bank card?
You apply through apply.fvbank.us, and the bank says a USD account can be open “as little as 24 hours”. Physical cards are ordered in the portal or app and delivered “anywhere in the world”. The $50 issuance fee and $50–$100 annual maintenance are the real cost of getting one, so check which account classification applies to you before paying.
Does the FV Bank card require KYC?
Almost certainly, but the public pages do not say. KYC is not stated on the cards page and the required documents are not readable. As a licensed bank it must identify customers and screen them, so expect identity documents and an address check — and expect limits or pauses while that happens.
What does it cost to use the card?
Purchases in dollars are free, but everything else adds up: $50 to issue the plastic card, $50 per year on a domestic US account or $100 on an international one, 2.99% on foreign-currency transactions, $3.50 per ATM withdrawal inside the US and $5.00 outside it, and $1.00 for an ATM balance inquiry. On top of that the crypto conversion fee is not stated.
How do I top up the FV Bank card?
You deposit USDC, USDT or PYUSD and they convert to USD automatically at deposit. The deposit network and the deposit fee are not disclosed, which matters because blockchain transfers are irreversible — sending on an unsupported network can lose the money. Confirm the network in FV Bank’s own interface before sending anything.
Is the FV Bank card safe?
Structurally it is a custodial setup: a licensed bank holds both your balance and your crypto credentials, and it is not FDIC-insured. There is no official incident in what I checked, but Trustpilot shows 2.2 out of 5 from 8 reviews, with reports of blocked funds in August 2026, a $200 deduction after a rejected transfer in October 2025 and poor communication. Small sample, but worth weighing.
Can I use the card in my country?
The card works wherever Visa is accepted, and account opening is described as available from over 100 countries with no country list published. What that does not tell you is whether your specific country raises currency, tax or compliance issues for you. Individual and international limits are $7,500 per day in purchases, 15 per day and 60 per week; international business limits are $12,000 per day with the same transaction counts.
Does FV Bank offer cashback or rewards?
No cashback is stated on the page, and rewards are not disclosed. Card controls are a more useful feature for most people: you can set limits, change your PIN and disable transactions from online banking or the app. The card is also in Apple Wallet, though Google Pay is not named.
Is the FV Bank card worth it?
Worth it if you hold stablecoins, want a dollar account, and mostly spend in the US, where purchases are free. Not worth it if you buy in local currency daily — $50 to open plus $100 a year plus 2.99% per foreign purchase will outweigh the convenience. For cheaper foreign spending, look at a virtual Visa or Mastercard card with a lower FX fee and no annual charge.
App and neobank cards on the shortlist – cryptocardshortlist
Content created by the «cryptocardshortlist» team
