A prepaid Mastercard that spends from your CoinSpot crypto balance: who it's actually for

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Coinspot’s card is a prepaid Mastercard issued under Australian licensing, and the company keeps the experience narrow on purpose: you spend from a crypto balance held at the CoinSpot exchange, and the card itself is an AUD-denominated payment instrument on top of that balance. That makes it a tidy tool for Australian residents who already keep funds on the exchange, and a poor fit for almost everyone else. The card page does not name a list of eligible countries, and the public information I could check is silent on a physical card, ATM access, and a foreign-currency fee. The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Coinspot works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Verdict

Coinspot earns 6.2 out of 10 in my scoring, and the breakdown is more useful than the number. The card is cheap to run and the everyday experience is simple if you are an Australian CoinSpot customer, but the geography is restrictive, the published information is thin, and there is no rewards programme to offset the conversion cost. The card suits a narrow audience and disappoints almost everyone outside it.

Criterion Mark Why it scores there
Who can get it 3 / 10 No public country list; the page leans on AUD and Australian licensing, and unofficial sources point to Australian customers only.
Cost 8 / 10 No startup or annual fees, no lock-in periods; a conversion fee applies (1% per unofficial coverage).
Top-up options 7 / 10 Any crypto listed on CoinSpot (470+), up to five linked wallets drawn in your chosen order; specific networks are not named.
Reliability and complaints 8 / 10 Issued by a licensed Australian payments provider; the exchange has a 4.3/5 TrustScore, with complaints centred on account restrictions rather than the card.
Everyday use 5 / 10 Apple Pay and Google Pay supported, prepaid Mastercard; no physical card mentioned, no ATM access described, no cashback.
Total 6.2 / 10 Cheap and simple for Australians already using CoinSpot, narrow for anyone else.

The audience note attached to the score sums it up: this is a card for Australian residents who want to spend crypto directly from their CoinSpot wallets. If that is you, the card is genuinely useful. If you are outside Australia, the public facts give you very little to work with, and I would not assume you can get one.

Will they give you the card

Coinspot does not publish a country list for the card, and the card page itself only says you need a fully verified CoinSpot account with two-factor authentication enabled. The page talks in Australian dollars and refers to Australian licensing, which is the strongest signal in the public material. Unofficial coverage from Finder (September 2024) describes the card as available to Australian customers with a verified CoinSpot account, and I have not seen a reliable source placing the card outside Australia. If you are not in Australia, do not assume you can sign up.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Coinspot starts with a transfer to the right network

The eligibility check itself is part of the broader CoinSpot account verification. You need an individually verified account, which on CoinSpot generally means identity documents, and you need 2FA turned on before the card option appears. The card page does not list specific document requirements, a minimum age, or processing times, so treat anything you read on third-party sites as unofficial. If verification is the bottleneck for you, that is the part of the journey to test first, and the card comes after.

Because there is no physical card mentioned on the card page and Finder reports that physical cards are not available, the eligibility question is really about whether you can add a digital card to a mobile wallet and spend it that way. That is the only flow the official material describes.

How to get it

The path runs through your existing CoinSpot account rather than a separate card application. The steps in practice:

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Coinspot payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
  1. Complete full individual verification on CoinSpot. The card page does not spell out the documents, and the exchange’s own verification tiers are referenced but not quoted in the card material. If you are not at the top tier, the card option will not appear.
  2. Enable two-factor authentication on the account. This is called out as a hard requirement, not an option.
  3. Open the card section in the CoinSpot app and add the prepaid Mastercard to Apple Pay or Google Pay. The card page describes digital wallet use and does not describe a physical card.
  4. Link up to five CoinSpot wallets to the card, in the order you want them drawn at the point of sale. The card page lists over 470 cryptocurrencies, so any asset on CoinSpot is, in principle, spendable.

Verification tiers, processing time, and the reasons an application might be refused are not stated on the card page. If your account is at a lower tier, expect to finish verification before the card option shows up; if you have already been verified, the rest is in-app. Treat anything a third-party site says about document requirements as unofficial until you confirm it against your own account screen.

The card is denominated in Australian dollars. Crypto is converted to AUD at the time of each transaction, and a refund returns the AUD value to your CoinSpot account rather than the coins you originally spent. That detail matters if you care about holding the same asset through a return.

What it really costs

Coinspot is unusually straightforward on the headline fees, and the public page does not list a foreign-currency fee, ATM fee, or tier structure at all. Unofficial sources (Finder, September 2024; coverage at launch by savings.com.au and Accountants Daily) put a 1% conversion fee on the card. The card page itself does not show that number, so I am giving it to you as unofficial and not confirmed by the card. I could not find any official figure for FX, ATM, or daily and monthly limits.

Fee or limit What the public material says
Issuance None stated.
Monthly / annual fee None stated; “no startup or annual fees” on the card page.
Conversion 1% per unofficial coverage (Finder, Sep 2024; launch coverage). Card page says conversion happens at “CoinSpot’s best exchange rates” with no margin figure.
Foreign-currency fee Not stated.
ATM withdrawal Not stated; card described as digital-only, ATM access not described.
Daily spending limit $4,999 per Finder (Sep 2024); not stated on the card page.
Monthly spending limit Not stated.
Tiers Single tier; one prepaid reloadable Mastercard.

Three everyday situations help to show how this lands in practice. None of them are personalised calculations, and the numbers depend on the conversion fee being the 1% unofficial figure.

A $50 coffee in Sydney. You pay in AUD, the card converts the chosen coin to AUD at the point of sale, and the 1% conversion fee (unofficial) is the only cost the public material points to. There is no monthly fee to dilute this, and no extra foreign-currency fee because the merchant is Australian.

A $30 streaming subscription in US dollars. The card page does not state a foreign-currency fee, so the cost depends on whether your bank, the network, or the issuer adds one. With no FX figure to point to, I would treat this as an unknown rather than assume it is free, and watch the first statement for the line item.

A $200 grocery shop paid from a coin you do not want to sell. The card converts at the time of payment, so you take the AUD/AUD side for granted but accept the conversion fee and the price at that moment. If the coin’s value moves between authorisation and settlement, the difference lands in your AUD balance.

If you are comparing cards, the costs table is the one to look at first. The card wins on absence of fixed fees and loses on the silence around FX and ATM access, and those two gaps are the reason the everyday-use mark is mid-range rather than higher.

How to top it up

You top the card up by linking CoinSpot wallets to it. Up to five wallets can be linked, and they are drawn in the order you set, so the first wallet on the list is the one the card tries first at the point of sale. Any cryptocurrency listed on CoinSpot is, in principle, a funding source, and the card page quotes more than 470. Specific networks are not named on the card page, and the funding flow is described as spending from a wallet, not transferring stablecoins to a card address. That distinction matters: this is not a card you send USDC to from an external wallet.

There is no mention of a direct AUD top-up from a bank account or card on the card page itself. The CoinSpot fees page lists card (AUD) deposits to the exchange as free, which is a different flow: it tops up your exchange balance, not the card. A refund returns the AUD value to the CoinSpot account, and the closure treatment of any remaining balance is not stated on the card page.

In practice, the top-up decisions look like this:

Network fees (gas, bandwidth) for any deposit to the exchange are charged by the blockchain, not by CoinSpot, and a card-side top-up fee, minimum, or waiting time is not stated on the card page.

Paying with it every day

The everyday picture is narrow but tidy. The card is a prepaid reloadable Mastercard, denominated in Australian dollars, and the card page describes Apple Pay and Google Pay use. There is no mention of a physical card in the official material, and Finder reports that physical cards are not available, so the realistic everyday use is tap-to-pay from a phone wallet and online checkout. Blocked merchant categories are not listed, so I cannot tell you whether gambling, crypto purchases, or dating are restricted; that is the kind of detail you would find in a cardholder agreement, and the card page references a PDS and TMD without linking them.

There is no cashback or rewards programme on the card. Finder (September 2024) describes it as offering no rewards or cashback, and the card page does not mention any. That is a meaningful gap if you compare cards: a 1% conversion fee is roughly the cost of a baseline cashback card, and a 1% to 5% cashback card pulls ahead on net spend.

The CoinSpot app is where you manage the card: balances, transactions, and (per unofficial coverage from infochoice.com.au) freezing, spending limits, and switching the card on and off. The app’s public ratings on the Apple App Store sit at 4.8 out of 5 from around 46,000 ratings (version 3.11.14, read 2026-10-20); the Google Play rating was not readable on the day I checked. Support is a 24/7 live chat with a local team, plus email at [email protected], a Help Centre, a contact form, and a complaints policy.

A few everyday scenarios to keep in mind:

What can go wrong

The card itself is a thin layer over a CoinSpot account, so most of the things that can go wrong are really about the account and the exchange. The official complaints record on the card is blank; the public material I checked turned up no card-specific complaints or Reddit threads. The signal you do see is on the exchange, not the card.

Trustpilot for the exchange (CoinSpot) shows a TrustScore of 4.3 from 2,823 reviews, with 278 reviews in the last twelve months and 7% of those at one star (read 2026-10-20). The themes are account-level rather than card-level: transfers and accounts restricted without a clear explanation, withdrawal and 2FA difficulties, and slow, repetitive support replies, mostly in September and October 2026. CoinSpot responds to 89% of negative reviews. None of the negative themes I read were about the card itself, which is consistent with the card being a small part of the overall product and the account being the point of friction.

The structural risks are about the issuer and the exchange. The card is issued by EML Payment Solutions Limited (AFSL 404131) and distributed by Casey Block Services Pty Ltd, trading as CoinSpot, so a programme change at EML or a regulatory action against either entity would change the card. As a custodial product, the funds sit with the exchange, not with you; you depend on CoinSpot’s safekeeping and on the regulated status of the issuer. The card page does not state insurance, and “freeze and spending controls in the app” comes from unofficial coverage rather than the card page itself, so treat it as a feature to confirm rather than a guarantee.

If you are the kind of person who worries about these things, the practical checklist is short: finish verification before you rely on the card, keep a record of your cardholder agreement and the linked PDS/TMD, watch the first month of statements for any FX or ATM line items, and have a plan for getting your balance out if anything at the exchange looks off.

What to take instead

The Coinspot card is one of several crypto cards in the market, and the trade-offs are easier to see if you put them side by side. I have scored each alternative using the same criteria to show where the Coinspot card is the better fit and where another card fits better.

Card Score Card type Where it is available Cost notes Rewards Funding
Coinspot 6.2 / 10 Prepaid Mastercard, AUD Australia (unofficial) No annual fee; 1% conversion (unofficial) None CoinSpot wallets, 470+ coins
Coinbase Card 6.4 / 10 Visa prepaid debit, USD All US states except Hawaii No spending or annual fees; spread at conversion Optional crypto rewards, US only US bank account or Coinbase crypto balance
OKX 6.2 / 10 Mastercard virtual debit, EUR EU plus Norway (Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded) No card fee; 0.1% conversion spread (May 2026) 2%–10% cashback in EUR, USDG only USDC or USDG in OKX Pay
Young Card 5.7 / 10 Not stated officially Not stated officially Not stated officially YNG token cashback by tier (0.1% to 3.6%) Not stated officially

A few notes on the alternatives. The Coinbase Card is a US product, so the comparison is a useful contrast in scope: the US version is open across all states except Hawaii under a PATRIOT Act identity check, and the funding model is a US bank account or a Coinbase crypto balance, with optional crypto rewards on every purchase for US users. The OKX card is a euro-denominated Mastercard that runs on USDC or USDG in OKX Pay, has no card fee and a 0.1% conversion spread per the May 2026 explainer, and pays 2% to 10% cashback in EUR on USDG purchases with monthly caps by tier. The Young Card is the weakest of the three on my framework, mostly because the official material is thin; what is clear is that its cashback is paid in YNG tokens, with rates by Club tier (Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6%).

The honest read is that the Coinspot card is the right tool for a narrow, well-defined job. If you are an Australian CoinSpot customer who wants to tap a phone to pay from a Bitcoin or Ethereum balance without selling first on the exchange, it does that cheaply and without fuss. If you are outside Australia, if you want a card that pays you back, or if you want a card that is explicit about FX and ATM charges, the alternative cards are worth a look.

Who I would recommend it to

The Coinspot card earns its score by being cheap, simple, and tightly integrated with the CoinSpot exchange, and it loses points by being geographically narrow, light on published detail, and offering no rewards. The recommendation follows from that.

I would recommend the Coinspot card to an Australian resident who is already a verified CoinSpot customer, keeps crypto on the exchange, and wants a low-friction way to spend that balance in Australian dollars from a phone wallet. For that reader, the card does what it says on the tin, the absence of monthly fees matters, and the lack of cashback is not a deal-breaker because the alternative is selling on the exchange and paying a fee there.

I would not recommend it to anyone outside Australia on the evidence available, to anyone who wants a physical card or ATM access, to anyone who treats cashback as a meaningful part of their card choice, and to anyone who needs published foreign-currency fees before they sign up. The card page does not state those things, and the unofficial coverage is not a substitute for a cardholder agreement you can read before you commit.

The wider point is that the card is a thin layer on the exchange, so the due-diligence job is mostly about the exchange. CoinSpot is a long-running Australian exchange with a licensed issuer, a responsive Trustpilot presence, and a published complaints process, but the negative themes on Trustpilot are about account restrictions and support speed rather than the card, and a custodial product always carries counterparty and hack risk. If you are comfortable with that trade-off, the card is a sensible add-on; if you are not, the alternative cards above are the place to start.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Coinspot card?

The Coinspot card is a prepaid, reloadable Mastercard denominated in Australian dollars that spends from a crypto balance held at the CoinSpot exchange. The card is issued by EML Payment Solutions Limited (AFSL 404131) and distributed by Casey Block Services Pty Ltd, trading as CoinSpot. In practice, you link up to five CoinSpot wallets to the card and pay from the wallet at the top of your chosen order.

How does the Coinspot card work?

At the point of sale, the card converts the chosen cryptocurrency to Australian dollars at “CoinSpot’s best exchange rates” and settles the payment in AUD. A refund returns the AUD value to your CoinSpot account rather than the coins you originally spent. The card page describes Apple Pay and Google Pay use and does not describe a physical card.

Is CoinSpot a bank?

No. CoinSpot is a cryptocurrency exchange that distributes the card; the card itself is issued by EML Payment Solutions Limited, an Australian Financial Services Licence holder (AFSL 404131). EML is a payment-services provider, not a bank, and the card is a prepaid product rather than a bank account.

Who owns CoinSpot?

CoinSpot is operated by Casey Block Services Pty Ltd, trading as CoinSpot, which distributes the card. The card itself is issued by EML Payment Solutions Limited (AFSL 404131). The card page does not name the exchange’s ultimate owner, and the corporate information I could verify did not give a clean answer, so for anything beyond the issuer and distributor, the company’s own corporate page is the next place to look.

Is the Coinspot card available in my country?

The card page does not publish a country list. The public material leans on AUD and Australian licensing, and unofficial coverage (Finder, September 2024) describes the card as available to Australian customers with a verified CoinSpot account. If you are outside Australia, do not assume you can sign up; check your own account screen first.

How do I get the Coinspot card?

You get the card by completing full individual verification on CoinSpot, enabling two-factor authentication, and adding the card in the CoinSpot app to Apple Pay or Google Pay. The card is described as digital-only, and there is no mention of a physical card in the official material.

Does the Coinspot card require KYC?

Yes. The card is only available to users with a fully verified CoinSpot account and 2FA enabled. The card page does not list specific documents, a minimum age, or processing time, and CoinSpot’s verification tiers are referenced rather than spelled out, so treat the specifics as a moving target until you see them in your own account flow.

How do I top up the Coinspot card?

You top the card up by linking up to five CoinSpot wallets to it and choosing the order they are drawn. Any cryptocurrency listed on CoinSpot is eligible, and the card page quotes more than 470. The card page does not name networks and does not describe a direct AUD top-up from a bank account or card.

How do I add the Coinspot card to Apple Wallet?

The card page describes Apple Pay and Google Pay support, so the flow is to add the card in the CoinSpot app and follow the prompt to add it to your phone wallet. The card is digital-only in the official material, so this is the only path the card page describes.

Is the Coinspot card safe?

The card is issued by a licensed Australian payments provider and managed through the CoinSpot app, with 2FA as a hard requirement. The card is a custodial product, so the funds sit with the exchange rather than with you, and the card page does not state insurance. The exchange’s Trustpilot score is 4.3 from 2,823 reviews with 7% one-star reviews in the last twelve months, and the negative themes are about account restrictions and support speed rather than the card itself.

Content created by the «cryptocardshortlist» team