A virtual crypto card that says almost nothing about itself
Payth is a virtual card you load with crypto and then spend like an ordinary payment card, including at cash machines. That is the whole pitch, and on paper it is a reasonable one for someone who holds BTC, ETH or USDT and cannot get a normal bank card to work. The problem is how little the card’s own public pages give you to go on. There is a stated ATM fee and a stated absence of transaction fees; beyond that, the issuing bank, the country of registration, the licences, the card network, the card currency, the fees for currency exchange and foreign purchases, the daily and monthly limits, whether Apple Pay and Google Pay work, whether a cash-back programme exists — none of it is published. I have gone through what is there and worked out what it means for you, and I will keep telling you which gaps are the card’s silence and which are simply ordinary facts about crypto cards that apply to anyone.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.2 out of 10, and the number is mostly about silence
Payth scores 6.2 out of 10 in my assessment. That is not a bad card being marked down for being bad — it is a card doing something reasonable with very thin public information. Here is the breakdown.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | Issued worldwide except restricted countries, among them Afghanistan, Russia, Ukraine, Iran, Syria |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | “Zero transaction fees”, 2% ATM withdrawal fee; issuance and servicing not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | BTC, ETH or USDT into the wallet; networks not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Operated by POPPO LLC; country, issuer and licences not named; no App Store rating, version 1.0.6; custodial wallet; no complaints found |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual cards; ATM access; Apple Pay and Google Pay not disclosed |
| Total | 6.2 / 10 |
The strongest mark is eligibility, and it is strong partly by absence: the site says it is issued globally except for a restricted list, which is broader than many rivals can claim. The weakest is reliability, and it is weak for a reason that has nothing to do with how the card performs — nobody has published who stands behind it. If your question is “who is legally responsible for my money if this goes wrong”, the card does not answer it anywhere I could find.

So who does this suit? Someone who already holds crypto, already deals in USDT, already knows how to move funds on a blockchain, and wants a virtual card number for online payments without a bank application. Someone for whom the absence of a monthly fee and the 2% cash machine charge is genuinely the deciding factor. And someone comfortable with a custodial setup, where the provider holds the wallet rather than you holding the keys.
Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a physical card in an envelope, anyone who spends heavily abroad and cares about the foreign-exchange cost, anyone who plans around cash-back or rewards, anyone who needs Apple Pay, and — importantly — anyone who is choosing between cards and treating a low score from one reviewer as the deciding factor. This is a young product with a thin public footprint. That can mean anything from “deliberately quiet, perfectly fine” to “nothing to see here yet”. I cannot tell which from the outside, and neither, on this evidence, can you.
Will they give you the card?
Mostly yes, and the restriction is about where you live rather than what you hold. Payth says it is issued globally except for restricted countries, and the site’s wording is that it “cannot serve residents of the following countries and regions”. Among the countries named are Afghanistan, Russia, Ukraine, Iran and Syria. The site adds that the list “is updated periodically based on issuer policies”, which is worth reading carefully: the exclusion list is not a fixed rule the card publishes once, but something that can change with the issuer’s own risk appetite, without much notice.
Belarus was on the restricted list at the earlier check of this card, and Russia is named on the official page now. That is the pattern to expect — the list moves.
One thing the card is explicit about, which is more than most: residence is what counts. The restriction is stated in terms of residents, not citizens. That said, be aware that the card’s identity checks are a separate matter, and those are nationality-sensitive in a different way. I will come back to that below.
A card network you would recognise is not named. The site talks about virtual cards and does not say whether that number runs on Visa or Mastercard. The same goes for the currency the card is denominated in. Neither fact is stated, and neither is a detail you can shrug off: the network determines how widely the card is accepted and how online fraud checks are handled, and the currency determines what happens to your balance when you spend.
So the honest answer on eligibility is: if you live in a country that is not on the list, you are in the intended audience, and the card will not tell you anything else you need before you start.
How to get it
The route the card describes is short and conventional. You register in the app, you verify your identity, you deposit crypto into the Payth wallet, and you receive a virtual card. There is no branch, no paper application, no waiting for the post.
Identity verification is handled by Sumsub, and the card’s description of the rule is unusually specific: the check “only accepts IDs or passports issued by the same country as your ID”. Read that twice if your identity document comes from one country and you live in another — that is precisely the situation this phrasing excludes. A document from a country you no longer live in, a document from a third country, a residence permit where a passport is expected: all of these can end in a decline rather than a workaround.
The card says the review “typically take 5–10 minutes”. Ten minutes is the sort of figure that means “fast when it works”. There is one decline reason the card does mention, and it is a useful one to have in your head: refusals “may be due to a high-risk flag”. Proof of address and age are not stated as separate requirements, so I would not treat them as confirmed either way — this is one of those points where the card’s public pages simply do not say.
What you get at the end is a virtual card, with “multiple virtual card options” offered. Whether a physical card exists is not mentioned; delivery is not stated either, which is consistent with a virtual-only product but is not a confirmation of one. There is a single level of identity verification described and no tiers — no upgrade path with higher limits at a higher verification level, which again tells you the limits are not something the card is marketing around.
This is the section where the card is at its most confident. It describes the process clearly, names its verification partner, gives a timing and states a document rule. It is the sections on money — fees, limits, custody — where the published detail runs out.
Fees: what a payment actually costs you
Here is the honest fee picture, and it is a short one because the card publishes very little.

| Item | What Payth says |
|---|---|
| Issuance | not stated |
| Monthly fee | not stated |
| Transaction fees | “zero transaction fees” |
| Crypto conversion | “competitive rates”, no percentage given |
| Foreign exchange fee | not stated |
| ATM | 2% withdrawal fee, no free allowance stated |
| Daily limit | not stated |
| Monthly limit | not stated |
Let me take three ordinary payments and walk through what actually applies, because “zero transaction fees” is doing less work in that sentence than it first appears.
Buying a coffee in your own currency. This is the case the headline is really about. If your balance is already in the currency of the shop, the card’s own transaction fee is zero. What you may still pay is the crypto conversion — the moment your crypto became spendable money — and the card describes those rates only as “competitive” with no number attached. So the fee you actually experience here is a number you cannot look up in advance. That is not a reason to avoid the card; it is a reason to do one small test purchase and check what your own statement says, before you commit to spending from it.
A subscription in euros while your balance sits in dollars. Two things can happen, and the card discloses neither. First, the currency conversion on the payment, if the card supports a foreign-currency balance at all — the card currency is not stated, so I cannot tell you whether it holds more than one. Second, any separate foreign-exchange fee on top. Neither is published. For a card aimed at people who spend across borders, this is the single biggest gap in the fee table, and it is the one I would push hardest to have answered before putting real money through it.
Withdrawing cash from an ATM. This is the one number you do get, and it is clean: an “only 2% ATM withdrawal fee”, with the card claiming usability at “millions of merchants and ATMs worldwide”. What is not stated is whether any withdrawal amount is free before that percentage applies — an allowance would meaningfully change the cost of a small cash withdrawal, and there is no figure for one. Also note the ATM percentage sits on top of whatever your own bank charges, though with a virtual card that is usually not an issue; it will be if you ever pair the card with a mobile wallet, if that turns out to be possible.
Where you are not spending the balance does not show up as a card fee at all, but it still costs you: moving crypto onto a blockchain costs a network fee, paid to the network by the sender, independent of anything the card charges. If you top up in small amounts often, that is a real drag that never appears in a fee table.
Two more limits that are simply absent: the daily and monthly spending limits, and whether any tiers exist. If you are someone who needs to know they can put a larger amount through in one go — a travel booking, a deposit — the answer is not on the site, and you would only find out at the moment you tried.
How to top it up
You deposit crypto. The card names BTC, ETH and USDT, and its App Store listing speaks of “multiple cryptocurrencies” such as USDT and BTC. The wallet then turns that into spending credit — the card’s phrase is that you “top up your digital assets and get spending credit instantly”, and the earlier check of this card found crypto converted to fiat at the point of sale.
The conversion is the part that deserves care, and not because the card does anything unusual. It is that stablecoins are not what their name suggests. USDT and USDC are meant to hold a steady value against a fiat currency, but as the BIS found in July 2025, roughly 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation sits in those two names, and both have broken their peg at least once — TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. When your balance is nominally dollars and then gets converted into whatever the merchant charges, a depeg turns directly into a cost to you. This is a property of the asset class, not of this card.
The bigger practical risk is the network. The card does not say which networks its USDT and ETH deposits should arrive on, and that omission has teeth. Blockchain transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost outright or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of success. So the practical rule is the same one that applies to any custodial wallet — check the network before you send, and expect the deposit to be credited to the wallet rather than to a card balance in front of you. What the card does not publish, and I could not find anywhere: a deposit fee, a minimum top-up, who pays the on-chain network fee, and whether you can top up with ordinary fiat money rather than crypto. If the last of those is a no, that is the card’s whole model — crypto in, card out.
Withdrawing money back out is not stated at all, so treat “get money off the card” as an open question rather than an assumed capability.
Paying with it every day
The daily reality is a virtual card number, spendable at merchants and at ATMs. That is genuinely useful for online payments, subscriptions and anywhere a stored-balance prepaid card is accepted — and most of these cards behave like prepaid cards, drawing on a balance you have loaded, which means they cannot overdraw and the worst case is losing the balance you loaded.
What is not disclosed is the part that decides whether a card is pleasant or irritating in daily use. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned. That is a real omission rather than a technicality: mobile wallet payments replace the card number with a device-specific number stored in the phone’s secure hardware, which is generally more accepted online than a card number typed into a browser, and harder to misuse. If you rely on paying by phone, this is a capability you need to have confirmed, and the card’s pages do not confirm it.
Wallet support generally is not stated, blocked merchant categories are not stated, and no cash-back or rewards programme is mentioned at all. On the last point, read that as “no cash-back found” rather than “no cash-back exists” — but if you are choosing a card, a rewards programme you have to discover is not one you can plan around.
The app exists on iOS and Android, with an Android APK download as well, and the App Store listing as I read it on 21 October 2026 showed no rating: the store says it “hasn’t received enough ratings or reviews to display an overview”. The listed version is 1.0.6. I could not read the Google Play rating. A version number that low, and no public rating, tell you this is an early product — which cuts both ways, and it is also an argument for testing it with a small balance rather than a large one.
Two support signals are worth your attention. The app mentions “built-in risk controls”, and there are FAQ entries on the site regarding transaction refund delays and payment failures. The existence of these topics indicates that failure modes are real: a payment can fail while the balance is still deducted. Time frames for resolution are not stated, so the duration of a refund remains unclear. Support is not stated beyond that in-site FAQ: no languages, no hours, no email, no phone number.
One general point about why cards like this get declined, because it is not the card’s fault. Each card number carries a six- or eight-digit issuer identification number that any merchant’s system can look up to see which institution and country issued it, and a shop may apply extra scrutiny if that country differs from the billing address. That is why a card issued in one country can look foreign in another. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards for exactly this reason. Address verification, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address a buyer types with the issuer’s records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — a common cause of declines. None of that is specific to Payth, but with the issuing country not disclosed, you cannot predict which side of that line you fall on.
What can go wrong
Custody. This is the big one. The card’s phrasing — “deposit BTC, ETH or USDT in your wallet”, Payth Wallet — implies a custodial wallet, where the provider holds the credentials rather than you. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key, so with a custodial wallet you must trust the provider completely. The card does not publish a seed-phrase option, two-factor authentication, or an instant card freeze for Payth; the app listing mentions built-in risk controls, and “Monitor spend / Freeze card” is not stated for this card specifically.
That trade-off is not uniquely Payth’s and it is not automatically bad, but you should weigh it against the record. Custodial platforms have failed before: Mt. Gox with about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck with about US$400 million in 2018, and the Ronin Network with US$625 million in 2022. There is counterparty risk and hack risk, and blockchain transfers have no built-in recovery — a stolen key cannot be frozen or returned by the network.
Card programmes also close. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes in the region. The usual pattern when that happens is a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then users are asked to withdraw what is left. That is why the unstated withdrawal terms on Payth are a question I would want answered.
Who is behind it. The App Store lists the developer as POPPO LLC. The country of registration is not stated, the issuing bank is not stated, and no licences are named. That is not a scandal by itself — small firms often operate under someone else’s licence — but it does mean you cannot verify the regulatory status of the entity holding your funds, and that is information a card can publish and this one does not. If it holds customer money as e-money, an electronic money institution is required to safeguard those funds in segregated accounts or insure them; those funds are not bank deposits and a deposit guarantee scheme may not cover them. In the EU a card is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side, so a crypto card commonly depends on two licences. With none named, I would want to know which regime, if any, applies.
Note the asymmetry in that: in the EU, MiCA has applied to stablecoin rules since 30 June 2024 and to crypto-asset service providers since 30 December 2024, and ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised providers that anyone can check. Payth is not described as a regulated EU service, so that register is not a place to look for it — which is itself the point.
Identity checks that can go wrong. The document-country rule is the practical trap, and declines for a “high-risk flag” are the card’s own stated reason for refusal. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require an institution to refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end it — which is why accounts get frozen pending documents. Even where that regime does not formally apply, the pattern is common.
Payments that fail and take your balance anyway. The FAQ entries confirm this happens. A declined authorisation can also leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven.
App-level risk. No App Store rating to read, version 1.0.6, and version history I could see showed 1.0.5 released on 15 September and 1.0.6 on 20 September, with the year not shown on the listing. I found no complaints: no official incidents, and a search of Trustpilot and Reddit turned up only unrelated brands with similar names. No Trustpilot page for payth.com was located. Here I want to be clear about what that does and does not mean: a card with no complaints is most often a card with few users. It is not evidence of a good track record.
Where you stand if something goes wrong. Chargebacks work through the issuer, and US debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E while credit card rights come from Regulation Z; prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed to apply. The FAQ suggests refunds do happen, but no time frame is published. This is a review, not legal or tax advice, and nothing here should be taken as either.
What to take instead
Three alternatives came up in my comparison. None is obviously better, and each fails in a different direction — which is useful to know, because the failure you can see is the one you can plan around.
| Payth | CardFlow | HyperCard | Card.fi | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| My score | 6.2 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 4.7 / 10 | 6.6 / 10 |
| Who it targets | Worldwide except restricted countries | Nigeria and “Nigerians and global users” | No country list published | Ships to “200+ countries” |
| Card | Virtual, network not stated | Virtual USD Mastercard, ready in about 3 minutes | Prepaid, balance in USD or EUR | Virtual and physical, including metal (stainless steel) |
| Issuance cost | Not stated | “Completely free” | Not stated; no fees listed | $49 virtual Classic, $249 virtual Premium |
| Top-up fee | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Classic 1.5% + $1.00; Premium 1% |
| FX fee | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Classic 3.5%; Premium 2.5% |
| Funding | BTC, ETH, USDT; networks not stated | Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer | Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH | 32 coins across 5 networks |
| Rewards | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Cashback on card spending, from 0.8% upward |
CardFlow is the one to look at if you are in Nigeria or have Nigerian ties. Its own positioning is “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform”, and it also says “Nigerians and global users”, though no country list or exclusions are published. The card itself is clear: a virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes, and “Creating a virtual card is completely free”. It takes a Naira bank transfer as well as Bitcoin, USDT and ETH, which is a genuinely different funding route from Payth’s crypto-only one. Its mark is 4.9 / 10 because most of the numbers I would want — transaction fees, top-up fees, limits — are simply not stated, so the free creation fee is the only figure on offer.
HyperCard is the thinnest of the three on disclosure, at 4.7 / 10. The official pages state no country list at all; the App Store says the card works in “more than 176 countries”, which is about acceptance, not about who can sign up — a distinction worth keeping in mind, because “works in 176 countries” and “will issue to you” are different claims. It is a prepaid card with a balance in USD or EUR, funded by depositing crypto such as USDT, BTC or ETH in the app and converted to the card currency. Networks not stated, fees not stated on the pages I could read, no rewards mentioned. If you are choosing, HyperCard is the option where I would want the most written confirmation before depositing anything.
Card.fi is the most transparent of the four and the only one that publishes a full fee schedule, which is why it scores 6.6 / 10 despite being more expensive. Cards ship to “200+ countries”, though the terms bar residents of, or orders from, “a country subject to sanctions that would prohibit the service” — a looser formulation than Payth’s named list, and one that puts the work on you. It offers Virtual Classic and Virtual Premium, physical Classic and Premium, and a stainless steel metal option, with a virtual card included in every physical order, issued under licence from the relevant card schemes though Visa and Mastercard are not named.
The fees are the interesting part, because they are the ones you can actually plan around: top-up Classic 1.5% plus $1.00 and Premium 1%, FX Classic 3.5% and Premium 2.5%, with the conversion fee shown before each top-up. Funding runs to 32 coins across 5 networks — Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana and Kaanch — including USDT, USDC, ETH, BNB, SOL and KAANCH, converted at market rate on arrival, with a separate deposit address per card. That last detail is the trap: sending on the wrong chain there risks permanent loss, which is the same irreversible-transfer problem Payth leaves you to guess about. Rewards are real and quantified — cashback on card spending only, from Classic 0.8% with a 10 USDT monthly cap up through Premium 1% and Metal at 1.2% or 2% with tiered caps, plus a headline 10% at coffee shops capped at 10 USDT monthly, and interest “up to 18%” on balances for Metal holders, variable. Those figures are the kind of thing Payth simply does not offer you to compare.
My honest read across the four: if you need the published numbers, Card.fi is the only one that publishes them, and you pay for that transparency. If you want the shortest path from crypto to a card number and you are comfortable with an unpublished fee schedule, Payth is in the running. If you are in Nigeria, CardFlow’s local funding route may matter more than anything else on this page.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Payth to someone who has already made their peace with the custodial model, holds USDT they are comfortable seeing converted, and wants a virtual card this week without a bank application. If that is you, the flow described — register, verify with a document from the country you live in, deposit BTC, ETH or USDT, receive a virtual card number — is plausible and short, and the absence of a stated monthly fee removes the main reason people leave a card they do not use.
I would not recommend it as your only card, and I would not recommend it as your only money.
Before you commit anything, here is the short list of what I would get answered, in this order:
- Which card network and which card currency? Unstated, and both change how the card behaves abroad.
- What is the FX fee and the conversion rate? “Competitive” is not a number you can plan with.
- What are the daily and monthly limits? Unstated.
- Can the card be frozen instantly, and is two-factor authentication available? Neither is stated for Payth.
- Who is the issuing bank, which entity holds the funds, and under what licence? None named.
- What are the withdrawal terms? Unstated, and it is what matters if a programme winds down.
- Can it be added to Apple Pay or Google Pay? Not mentioned.
- Which networks should USDT be sent on? Unstated, and an irreversible-transfer question.
That list is long, and I want to be honest about why rather than dress it up. I could not shorten it, because the card’s own pages do not answer these things. That does not tell you they are bad answers — only that nobody has published them. Where a card is young and cheap to try, the sensible response is a small test: a modest deposit, one small purchase, one cash withdrawal, and then a look at what your statement actually charged you. That tells you in a week what this page cannot.
Frequently asked questions
What is Payth card?
Payth is a virtual payment card you fund with cryptocurrency. You register in the app, verify your identity, deposit BTC, ETH or USDT into a Payth wallet, and receive a virtual card number you spend at merchants and at ATMs. The card claims “zero transaction fees” and a 2% ATM withdrawal fee. It is operated by POPPO LLC, and the issuing bank and licences are not stated publicly.
How does Payth card work?
It works as a stored-balance card, closer to a prepaid card than a bank debit card. Your crypto is converted into spendable balance, and the card draws down that balance, so it cannot overdraw. The card’s site says crypto is converted to fiat at the point of sale, and that you get spending credit instantly. It is a custodial setup, meaning the provider holds the wallet credentials rather than you holding the keys.
Is Payth a bank?
Not on the evidence published. The card is presented as a crypto-funded payment card, and the App Store names POPPO LLC as the developer. The issuing bank, the country of registration and any licences are not stated. So I cannot tell you which regulated institution stands behind the balance, and I would not assume the usual bank protections apply — e-money balances are not bank deposits and may fall outside deposit guarantee schemes.
Who owns Payth?
The App Store listing gives the developer as POPPO LLC. Nothing further is published: no country of registration, no named beneficial owner, no licence numbers. If ownership matters to your decision, that is a question to put to their support and judge the answer by whether it comes back at all.
Is the Payth card available in my country?
Likely yes, since it says it is issued globally except for restricted countries. It “cannot serve residents of” the listed countries and regions, which include Afghanistan, Russia, Ukraine, Iran and Syria, with Belarus also restricted at an earlier check. The restriction is stated in terms of residence, not citizenship, and the list “is updated periodically based on issuer policies” — so it can change without much notice.
Does Payth require KYC?
Yes, and the document rule is the part to note. Identity verification runs through Sumsub, which “only accepts IDs or passports issued by the same country as your ID”. Reviews “typically take 5–10 minutes”. Declines “may be due to a high-risk flag”. A single verification level is described with no tiers, and proof of address and age are not stated as separate requirements — the card’s public pages simply do not say either way.
Is Payth card free?
Zero is the number attached to paying with it: the card states “zero transaction fees”. Issuance and any monthly fee are not stated at all. The one clear charge is a 2% ATM withdrawal fee, with no free allowance mentioned. Currency conversion is described only as “competitive rates” with no percentage, and no foreign-exchange fee is published — so the honest answer is that you know one price and are guessing at the others.
How do I top up the Payth card?
You deposit BTC, ETH or USDT into your Payth wallet and get spending credit instantly. The App Store listing refers to “multiple cryptocurrencies” such as USDT and BTC. The networks are not named, which matters: transfers are irreversible, so sending on an unsupported network or to an address of a different network can lose the funds. Deposit fee, minimum top-up, who pays the network fee and fiat top-ups are all unstated.
Can I add the Payth card to Apple Wallet?
The card’s pages do not say, and neither Apple Pay nor Google Pay is mentioned. That is a meaningful gap rather than a small one, since mobile wallet payments generally convert the card number into a device-specific number that is better accepted online. If paying by phone is essential for you, treat this as an unanswered question and confirm it before you deposit anything.
Is Payth card safe?
Nobody can tell you from the outside, because the card publishes too little to assess. It is a custodial wallet, so you are trusting the provider with the credentials, and there is a real history of custodial failures. The App Store shows no rating and version 1.0.6, the wallet is custodial, and instant freeze and two-factor authentication are not stated for Payth. I found no complaints, but a short complaint history usually means few users, not a good track record. Test with a small balance.
Virtual cards on the shortlist – cryptocardshortlist
Content created by the «cryptocardshortlist» team
