PPAY card, reviewed from the outside
PPAY is a small payments product built around a crypto wallet, a virtual card in US dollars, and a physical Mastercard. It is run by a company called PROSPER DIGITAL SYSTEMS LTD, and the public material is unusually thin: a single home page, a terms page, an AML policy, and a help centre that does not always answer the questions it raises. That thinness is the main thing I kept running into while writing this review, and it is also the main reason the score lands where it does.
If you came here looking for a quick “should I sign up?” answer, the short version is this: PPAY looks built for a Nigerian audience, it does not publish the numbers a reviewer would normally need to score a card, and the alternatives I compared it against are clearer about who they serve and what they charge. Whether the rest matters depends on what you actually need a card for, and the rest of this page walks through that.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
PPAY lands at 4.5 out of 10 in my scoring, with a strong everyday-use mark pulled down by gaps in almost every other area. The card itself is functional: a virtual USD card and a physical Mastercard, an app, and the kind of wallet-with-card setup that people often want. What is missing is the public information that lets you tell, before signing up, what the card will actually cost you and what the company behind it actually is.

| Criterion | Score | Why I marked it down |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 3 / 10 | The terms name Nigeria and an undefined “eligible country”; the home page says “10+” countries but lists none |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | No issuance, monthly, conversion, FX or ATM fee published; only P2P transfers are confirmed free |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | The wallet holds crypto and a WhatsApp bot handles swaps, but supported coins and networks for topping up the card are not stated |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Owner named in the footer; no issuing bank, no licence, no public incident record, and no Trustpilot or Reddit presence to weigh |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Virtual USD card plus physical Mastercard, the strongest part of the package; mobile wallets and ATM acceptance are not stated |
PPAY makes most sense if you are in Nigeria, you are comfortable with crypto-native flows, and you want a wallet that hands you both a virtual and a physical card from the same place. It is a weaker fit if you live outside the listed geography, if you need to know your monthly fee in advance, or if you want a card programme backed by a clearly named bank or e-money licence you can look up.
The score reflects that: a usable card, a wallet, and a defined owner get it above the bottom of the scale, while the missing fees, missing top-up detail, missing licence, and missing public review trail hold it well below the cards I compared it against. P2P sends without commission is a real positive and a rare feature, but it is not enough on its own.
Who will they give you the card
PPAY is gated first by residence, not by citizenship, and the territory it covers is described loosely. The terms say “You must be a resident of Nigeria or an eligible country where PPAY operates”, and the home page advertises “10+ countries supported” without naming any of them. So in practice you can only tell whether you are in scope by signing up and seeing whether the verification flow lets you through.
The age floor is eighteen, in line with the rest of the industry. PPAY also says it runs “tiered verification limits” without publishing what those tiers are, what the cut-offs are, or how long a tier upgrade takes. The terms only say that not responding to verification or “EDD” (enhanced due diligence) requests can lead to suspension or termination of the account, which is a softer version of the same warning every regulated issuer has to give.
The only country the card pages name is Nigeria. The terms are governed by the laws of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, and disputes go to the Lagos State courts, which is consistent with a Nigerian-incorporated product rather than an internationally licensed one. If you are reading this from outside Nigeria and your country is not on that unnamed “10+ countries” list, the safe assumption is that PPAY does not yet serve you.
PPAY also flags that it screens for “high-risk jurisdictions” in its AML policy but does not list them. The company is described as “a technology company, not a bank”, which is a meaningful caveat for a product whose value depends on holding your money safely until you spend it.
How to sign up
Sign-up is the most clearly described part of the experience. PPAY runs a standard KYC flow that asks for full legal name, residential address, date of birth, phone number, email, a government-issued ID, a selfie or biometric check, proof of address, and “BVN, NIN, or equivalent verification data where applicable” — BVN is the Nigerian bank verification number, NIN is the national identification number, so the phrasing is the Nigerian regulatory vocabulary grafted onto an international form. Identity verification is described as mandatory before account activation.
The basic flow is the one most apps use: create an account, complete identity verification, then use the features. The terms add that KYC is needed for “certain features in compliance with CBN regulations”, and CBN is the Central Bank of Nigeria, which fits the rest of the picture.
The two cards you can end up with are a USD virtual card “for online shopping” and a physical Mastercard “accepted everywhere Mastercard is” — though the network for the virtual card is not stated. The virtual card is denominated in US dollars. The physical card delivery time is not stated, which is unusual even for small issuers; most say at least “within X business days” or “international shipping available”.
What it really costs
This is where the review starts to fray. PPAY does not publish an issuance fee, a monthly fee, a conversion fee, an FX fee, or an ATM fee, and the terms only say that fees “may apply to bank transfers, card funding, and certain third-party services” without giving amounts. The only fee the company confirms anywhere is that P2P sends are “zero peer-to-peer fees”. The home page also talks about “live rates: crypto and fiat rates with a built-in converter”, which is a feature, not a price.
The costs table below shows the gaps explicitly. Where a value is not stated, the table says so rather than guessing.
| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Card issuance (virtual) | not stated |
| Card issuance (physical) | not stated |
| Monthly fee | not stated |
| Conversion fee | not stated |
| FX fee | not stated |
| ATM withdrawal fee | not stated |
| Daily spending limit | not stated |
| Monthly spending limit | not stated |
| P2P transfer fee | zero (confirmed) |
| Card currency (virtual) | USD |
| Card network (physical) | Mastercard |
| Card network (virtual) | not stated |
| Multi-currency support | not stated |
| Tier-based pricing | not stated |
Walking through a few everyday payments makes the missing numbers sharper. If you buy a US-dollar subscription from the virtual card, the only cost the company confirms is whatever the live conversion rate shows when you load the card; if you buy a subscription priced in euros, the cost is the live rate plus whatever FX markup PPAY applies, and that markup is not published. If you walk up to an ATM with the physical Mastercard, the ATM operator will charge its own fee, the network may apply a cross-border fee, and PPAY may charge a fee of its own — and you will not know the last of those three until it shows up on your statement.
Two practical implications follow. First, you cannot honestly budget for PPAY the way you can budget for a card with a published price list. Second, until you actually try a transaction, the only reliable way to find out what something costs is to read the receipt.
A useful test before relying on the card for anything that matters is a small test load and a small real purchase, then reading the in-app history line by line. If the maths does not add up to a number you are happy with, do not load more.
Top up the PPAY card
The funding story has the same pattern: a high-level description, no detail. PPAY says the wallet “holds crypto” and that swaps go through a WhatsApp bot for “OTC trades, crypto swaps”. The home page does not list which coins are supported, which networks they can be sent over, what the minimum top-up is, or how long a top-up takes. There is also no fiat on-ramp described — no “buy with card” button, no bank transfer flow, no third-party processor named.

The consequences of that gap are not abstract. Crypto transfers are irreversible, and a stablecoin sent on a network the platform does not support, or sent to a deposit address for a different network, can be lost. Stablecoin issuers like Circle and Tether can also freeze funds linked to illicit activity, so even a successful transfer is not a guarantee that the receiving account will keep access to it.
What this means for you in practice: until PPAY publishes the coins and networks it accepts, any top-up is a calculated risk. The safer first move is to send a small test amount, wait for it to credit, and only then send a meaningful balance. It is also worth screenshotting the deposit address, the network, and the transaction ID before sending, because that is the evidence you will need if anything goes wrong.
If you are topping up from an exchange, choose the network PPAY names — when it names one — and double-check the memo or tag field, because sending USDT-style assets to the wrong tag is a common way to lose a deposit.
Paying with PPAY every day
Once the card is loaded, the experience should be straightforward. The physical Mastercard works at any merchant that accepts Mastercard in person, online, or at the point of sale. The virtual card is built for online shopping and is denominated in US dollars, so it is naturally a better fit for US-dollar-priced subscriptions than for purchases in other currencies.
Mobile wallet support — Apple Pay and Google Pay — is not stated. That is a real gap, because tokenising a card in a phone wallet is the easiest way to use it at a physical terminal without handing the card over, and it also adds a layer of security because the merchant never sees the real card number. Until PPAY confirms otherwise, you should assume the card is plastic-and-online only.
Rewards are another area where the public material is quiet. There is no cashback stated, no spend-to-earn programme, and no point system. PPAY does advertise a savings feature “up to 8.5% APY”, but that is yield on a savings balance, not a return on card spending, and the two should not be confused in a comparison.
Disputes are handled in a fairly old-fashioned way. The terms say transactions are final once confirmed, that refunds are decided case by case, that chargebacks are not mentioned, and that disputes should first go through support. In practice that means your first stop for any problem is the in-app chat or [email protected], and you should keep screenshots, receipts, and any merchant correspondence, because a support-led process rewards people with evidence.
The app itself exists on iOS and Android in the sense that there are app store buttons on the home page, but the buttons currently link to placeholders, so there is no listing to read ratings from. Treat any app store download as something to verify yourself before installing.
What can go wrong
There are three categories of risk worth thinking about with PPAY: the company, the technology, and the regulatory environment.
The company risk is the headline. PPAY is owned by PROSPER DIGITAL SYSTEMS LTD, but the registration country is not stated, the issuing bank is not named, and no licence is published. The company is explicit that it is “a technology company, not a bank”, which is true but does not tell you what kind of regulated entity it is. There is no FinCEN registration, no MiCA authorisation on the public register, and no EMI licence number to look up. For a product that holds your money, that is a meaningful gap.
The technology risk is normal for a custodial wallet. PPAY says “every account, and every sensitive action within it, is protected by biometric and two-factor verification”, and that transactions are screened for fraud and sanctions. It also confirms a freeze feature exists in the help centre by listing the question “Can I freeze my card?” — but the help centre does not currently give an answer, so the live experience is unclear. The custody model itself is not stated, and safeguarding of customer funds is not stated, which means you cannot tell whether customer money is segregated from operating money in the way an EMI would have to segregate it.
The regulatory risk is mainly Nigerian. PPAY’s terms are governed by Nigerian law and its AML policy refers to CBN regulations. That is fine for Nigerian customers, and it does mean PPAY has at least a domestic regulatory frame to operate within, but it is not the same as being supervised by a regulator with the same standing as a UK FCA-authorised EMI or an EU MiCA-authorised CASP. The home page’s promise of “10+ countries” sits awkwardly next to a terms-of-service jurisdiction that is one country.
The complaint and incident record is, unusually, empty. I could not find a Trustpilot page for PPAY, the Reddit and X searches I ran turned up a different company called Perpay, and there are no dated news events in the public record. That is not a clean bill of health — an absence of complaints can simply mean the card is too new or too small to have attracted them — but it is also not a black mark.
The wider category context is worth a paragraph, because the same risks apply to most crypto cards. Custodial platforms have a long history of failure: Mt. Gox, Coincheck and the Ronin Network bridge hack are the most-cited examples, with hundreds of millions of dollars lost in each. Networks themselves can fail or fork, and the networks behind the most-used stablecoins have been delisted before — Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, for example. Stablecoins can also depeg: the TerraUSD collapse in May 2022 and a brief USDC depeg during the March 2023 US banking crisis are the obvious reminders that “stable” is a name, not a guarantee.
Two smaller frictions are worth flagging. First, AVS — the address verification system used heavily in the US, Canada and the UK — does not work well for foreign-issued cards, and some merchants also decline prepaid or foreign BINs. Second, mobile-wallet support is not stated, so the card may not work with Apple Pay or Google Pay until PPAY confirms it.
What to take instead
PPAY is not the only option in this corner of the market, and the alternatives below are all clearer about who they serve, what they charge, and what backs them. The scores below are from the same scale used for PPAY.
| Card | Score | Issuer and licence | Card form | Best fit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| International Visa Card | 6.7 / 10 | “U.S.-issued Platinum Visa card” by an unstated bank | Virtual, physical coming soon | People who want a US-dollar Visa and a published plan price |
| UNi Card | 6.1 / 10 | Multicurrency Mastercard on the UNi.Global account | Mastercard, physical/virtual not stated | Spend-to-earn users who want up to 3% back |
| Morse Card | 7.5 / 10 | Visa prepaid debit, self-custodial Morse Wallet | Fully virtual for now | Users in 140+ countries who want zero FX markup and self-custody |
International Visa Card is the closest alternative if the things you liked about PPAY were the USD-denominated card and the simple wallet feel. It costs $5 to issue the virtual card, has no maintenance fee, and runs on three plans: Classic free, Pro $9.00 a month, and Max $19.00 a month. Card use in US dollars is free on every plan; foreign-currency transactions carry “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”. Deposits of USDC and USDT into the USD account are free at 1:1, and you can also fund the account in US dollars, euros, SEPA, SWIFT or FedNow. On the negative side, the list of excluded residences is long — Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam — and purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. There is no cashback.
UNi Card is the right reference point if the missing rewards section of this review is the part that bothers you. It is a multicurrency Mastercard that spends from the UNi.Global account, charges no annual or foreign-transaction fee, and converts at live OTC rates with “no hidden exchange fees”. The headline feature is “Spend-to-Earn rewards” up to 3% with UNi Card. The downsides are that eligibility, funding, and physical/virtual form are not stated in the public material, and the card score reflects that missing detail.
Morse Card is the option I would look at first if the PPAY gaps in fees, top-up detail, and licence worried you. The card is fully virtual for now, sits on Visa’s prepaid-debit rails, and spends from the Morse Balance “in any currency”. Conversions use the real exchange rate “with no markup” and “zero foreign exchange fees or markups”, and “paying with the Morse Card, online and contactless, is free”. Deposits of USDC, USDG and EURC on Solana are free; other tokens and blockchains carry a fee, and the Morse Wallet is self-custodial, which means the user holds the keys rather than the company. The card is “available only in certain countries” with a long invite-code list that includes the UK, Singapore, Switzerland, Japan and Türkiye, and a long general-availability list that covers 140+ countries. The card-issuance and monthly fees are not stated on the card pages, and the help centre has an “Earn rewards” collection that I did not read.
If PPAY were the only option in the market, the calculus would be different, but the alternatives above all publish something PPAY does not, whether that is a fee, a licence or a self-custody architecture.
Who I would recommend PPAY to
PPAY is a reasonable product for a narrow reader. If you live in Nigeria, you are comfortable with crypto wallets, you want a virtual USD card for online shopping and a physical Mastercard for everyday spend, and you do not mind a feature set that is described at a high level rather than spelled out in numbers, then PPAY is worth a closer look — particularly because the P2P zero-fee feature is real and rare.
It is a poor fit if you live outside the unnamed “10+ countries” list, if you need to see the fee schedule before you sign up, if you want a card backed by a named bank and a published licence, if you want cashback or spend-to-earn, or if you want to tokenise the card in Apple Pay or Google Pay. For any of those needs, the alternatives above will probably serve you better.
If you do decide to try PPAY, the way to keep risk low is straightforward: start with a small crypto top-up, do one or two real purchases, read the in-app history carefully, and only load more once the numbers match what you expected. Keep your own records of every transaction ID, network and address, because the support-led dispute process rewards people with evidence. And keep the savings feature separate from the card in your head — the 8.5% APY figure is a yield on a stored balance, not a return on what you spend.
The 4.5/10 score captures this. PPAY is not a bad product in itself; it is an under-explained one, and the credit-card-shaped part of it works. The cost is that you, the user, end up doing the due diligence the company has not published.
Frequently asked questions
What is the PPAY card?
PPAY is a payments product from PROSPER DIGITAL SYSTEMS LTD that combines a crypto wallet with a virtual card denominated in US dollars and a physical Mastercard. The wallet is built to hold crypto and let you swap inside the app, and the cards are designed for online shopping and everyday spend respectively.
How does the PPAY card work?
You create an account in the app, complete identity verification, and load the card from your wallet balance. The virtual card is denominated in US dollars and is intended for online shopping; the physical Mastercard works at any merchant that accepts Mastercard. Spending pulls from the loaded balance rather than from a bank account.
Is PPAY a bank?
No. PPAY describes itself as “a technology company, not a bank”. The owning company is PROSPER DIGITAL SYSTEMS LTD, named in the site footer, but the registration country, issuing bank and any payment-services or e-money licence are not stated on the public pages.
Who owns PPAY?
The footer of the PPAY website credits PROSPER DIGITAL SYSTEMS LTD as the owner. No further ownership detail, registration number or licensing body is published on the pages I read.
Where is the PPAY card available?
The terms name Nigeria and “an eligible country where PPAY operates”, and the home page advertises “10+” countries supported without naming any. The terms are governed by the laws of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and disputes go to the Lagos State courts, which is consistent with a Nigerian product that may or may not also serve a small set of other countries.
Does PPAY require KYC?
Yes. The sign-up flow asks for full legal name, residential address, date of birth, phone, email, a government-issued ID, a selfie or biometric check, proof of address, and “BVN, NIN, or equivalent verification data where applicable”. The company says identity verification is mandatory before account activation, and that failing to respond to verification or enhanced-due-diligence requests can lead to suspension or termination.
How do I top up the PPAY card?
The wallet is described as holding crypto, and swaps are handled through a WhatsApp bot for OTC trades and crypto swaps. The supported coins, networks, minimums and processing times for topping up the card are not stated in the public material, which means a small test top-up is the safest first move.
How much does the PPAY card cost?
The only fee the company confirms is zero commission on P2P transfers. The issuance fee, monthly fee, conversion fee, foreign-exchange fee and ATM fee are not stated, and the tier-based limits and pricing are not stated either. Treat the card as a “find out at the till” product until PPAY publishes a price list.
Can I add the PPAY card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?
Mobile-wallet support is not stated in the public pages, and the home page’s app-store buttons currently link to placeholders rather than to listings. Until PPAY confirms otherwise, assume the card is plastic-and-online only and check for yourself if tokenised wallet support matters to you.
Is the PPAY card safe?
PPAY says every account and every sensitive action is protected by biometric and two-factor verification, and that transactions are screened for fraud and sanctions. The help centre lists a “Can I freeze my card?” question but does not currently answer it. The custody model, safeguarding arrangements and any insurance on customer funds are not stated, so the product does not yet give a reviewer the same level of comfort as a card issued under a clearly named banking or e-money licence.
App and neobank cards on the shortlist – cryptocardshortlist
Content created by the «cryptocardshortlist» team
