A euro account and a prepaid card wrapped around crypto that most of the terms hide
Gekkard sells something fairly simple on the surface and rather unclear underneath: a European IBAN account denominated in euros, a prepaid Mastercard you can hold physically or use virtually, and an app that also lets you buy crypto and hold a euro-pegged token called EURG. That combination appeals to a specific person — someone in Europe who has found ordinary bank cards hard to get, who wants a euro-denominated account they can receive money into, and who also wants to move between euros and crypto without leaving one app. On those three promises the card is coherent. What I cannot get hold of is the part that usually decides whether a card is usable day to day: the price of using it. The card’s own pages did not give me a fee schedule, a commission figure, an ATM policy, withdrawal terms or spending limits, so the largest section of this review is written around what is missing rather than what is there.
The score I give it is 4.7 out of 10. That is not a verdict of “bad product” so much as “not enough published information to commit money to”, plus one substantive operational problem — the crypto partner paused new-client onboarding during licensing work.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Score: 4.7 out of 10
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Residents of EEA countries and Switzerland; version 1.0.6 added registration outside the EEA, and the plastic can be mailed “to any address worldwide” |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Fees are not disclosed; the site could not be read because of a certificate error. The app advertises 3 % on EURG and a 1 % bonus on purchases |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | SEPA, Gekkoin Europe with EURG, and access to Bitcoin, Ethereum and Monero through partner AtlantEX OÜ. No stablecoins or networks listed, and new-client intake is paused |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Papaya Ltd is the developer; issuer and licences could not be read. WalletScrutiny calls the app custodial. App Store 3.0 from 4 ratings, another storefront 2.6 from 15 |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Prepaid Mastercard, plastic or virtual, with limits and a freeze in the app; wallets and ATM are not disclosed |
Total: 4.7 / 10.
Who this suits: a European who wants a euro IBAN they can be paid into, is comfortable that their balance is prepaid rather than banked, and treats the crypto side as a bonus rather than the reason for opening the account. Someone who needs a virtual card number for a single subscription and already holds euros.
Who it does not suit: anyone deciding between cards on price, because the price is the thing that is missing. If your priority is not being charged 2 % on every foreign purchase, or if you want to check whether your money is protected by a deposit guarantee, or if you plan to use it in shops where a prepaid foreign BIN is a liability rather than an asset, this is not yet a card you can evaluate properly.
Will they give you the card
The stated rule is residence, and it has widened twice over. Gekkard is offered to residents of EEA countries and Switzerland. Version 1.0.6 added registration for clients outside the EEA. The physical card, the card states, can be mailed “to any address worldwide”.
Read that carefully, because it is doing more work than it looks. Registration outside the EEA does not mean the account is opened in your name under a licence that covers your country. It means the signup flow stopped refusing non-EEA applicants. Whether the account functions normally afterwards — whether SEPA credits land, whether you can hold EURG, whether support answers — is a separate question that the pages do not answer. The mailing statement is about logistics: the plastic travels. It is not a statement that your country is supported.
Nothing on the public pages says who owns the company. The developer name on the app store listing is Papaya Ltd, and the brand is Gekkard; the crypto services come from AtlantEX OÜ, written in the Estonian-style legal form. The card issuer and its licences are not disclosed. For a financial product that gap is not a technicality: the issuer is the institution that holds your balance and stands behind a chargeback, and “prepaid Mastercard” tells you the network but not the entity.
What the pages also do not say is what identity checks happen. Identity verification level is not stated, and the KYC requirements are not stated. Given that the crypto partner has paused new-client onboarding during licensing work, I would assume documents will eventually be needed, but assume is not know.
How to get it
The card itself is a prepaid Mastercard, available in plastic or virtual form according to the FAQ. The physical one arrives by international mail; delivery time and delivery cost are not stated. Additional cards can be ordered. Underneath sits a European IBAN account in EUR, which is the part that is genuinely different from a typical crypto card: you can be paid into it and hold euros in it, not just spend crypto.
The application path is not described on the pages in terms of steps or documents. So the practical sequence, as far as the public material supports it, is: install the iPhone app “Gekkard: Prepaid Card & Wallet” or the Android app com.papaya.gekkard (“Gekkard: Banking Alternative”), register from a supported country, and wait. What happens in between — which documents, how long, whether the review is automatic — I cannot tell you, because it is not stated.
Fees: what it really costs
This is the weakest part of the card, and I want to be precise about why rather than dramatic about it. The fee schedule is not stated. The issuance fee is not stated. The monthly or maintenance fee is not stated. Conversion fees are not stated. Foreign exchange fees are not stated. ATM terms are not stated — the version history mentions cash top-up locations appearing, but no policy. Daily and monthly limits are not stated, though the card does have spending limits you can set yourself in the app. Tiers are not stated. The card’s currency is not stated, only that the account is EUR and that multi-currency transfers appeared in the version history.

The website, which would normally be where this lives, could not be read because of a certificate error. So the absence of fees is partly an artefact of my own checking, and I want to flag that honestly: what I am reporting is that I could not reach the disclosure, not that the card charges nothing and hides it. But a card that a person is supposed to hold and spend from should publish its costs somewhere reachable, and at the time of this check it did not.
| Fee or limit | What Gekkard states |
|---|---|
| Issuance fee | not stated |
| Monthly fee | not stated |
| Conversion fee | not stated (app advertises 3 % on EURG) |
| Foreign exchange fee | not stated |
| ATM | not stated (cash top-up locations appear in version history) |
| Daily limit | not stated (spending limits are settable in the app) |
| Monthly limit | not stated |
| Purchase bonus | 1 % on card purchases, per version history |
Take three ordinary payments and ask which fees apply. A coffee in your own country: you spend euros from a euro IBAN account, and the only fee that could apply is one the card does not publish, so you cannot price it. A subscription billed in dollars: the card currency is not stated and the FX fee is not stated, so you cannot tell whether this costs a percentage on top of the network rate. A month of small purchases abroad: with no published FX rate and no published limit, you cannot tell whether the card declines quietly or applies a markup each time.
Two things are claimed and worth separating from the fee question. The listing claims 3 % interest on EURG holdings, and the version history mentions a 1 % bonus on card purchases. The official site reportedly says the service is not an investment product. The conditions behind those rates were not read. If a headline rate exists, the things that decide whether it is worth anything — whether it floats, whether it can be withdrawn in euros, what happens if EURG loses its peg — are the details, and the details are the part I would want to see.
Top up: getting money in
This is the area where the card is clearest. There are two main routes.

- SEPA payments into the euro IBAN. This is the ordinary way to fund a European account and probably the cheapest if you have a bank account in the euro area.
- Buying and selling Gekkoin Europe and EURG, the token pegged 1:1 to the euro, inside the app, alongside access to Bitcoin, Ethereum and Monero.
The crypto services are provided by AtlantEX OÜ, described as a licensed exchange. That is the licensed party in the structure; the card is the interface.
What is missing matters. Fees and minimums for SEPA top-up are not stated. Cash top-up locations are mentioned in the version history, but no current list, no locations, no cost. There are no stablecoins and no networks listed — so no USDC, no USDT, no Solana, no TRC20, nothing to send from a wallet you already use. If you are coming from crypto, that is a real constraint: your options are limited to three coins through one partner, plus bank transfers. Withdrawal is not stated either.
And then the practical problem. AtlantEX paused new-client onboarding from 1 July 2026. During a licensing pause, the crypto side of the account may not be usable for a new applicant even though the euro side still works. The pause is described as connected to MiCA licensing. If you are opening the account today, ask first whether the crypto functionality is active for new customers, because a card whose selling point includes crypto is worth much less if that half is closed to you.
Paying with it every day
The mechanics are simple in the way prepaid cards are simple. You spend from a stored balance, not from a bank account that can be overdrawn, which means no negative balance and no surprise on the credit side. The card is a Mastercard, so it works wherever Mastercard is accepted, online and in shops, in plastic or virtual form. The app gives you spending limits you can set, transaction tracking, a temporary freeze, and biometric confirmation for online purchases according to the version history. That last set is the standard safety kit for this kind of card and it is genuinely there.
Where it gets thin is everything around the payment. Wallets are not stated — I do not know whether this card goes into Apple Pay or Google Pay, which is the difference between it being usable at a terminal that only takes contactless-from-phone and being useless there. ATM withdrawals are not stated. Merchant category rules are not stated, so I cannot tell you whether gambling or other blocked categories are refused. Chargeback and dispute terms are not stated, which for a prepaid card is not a minor omission — prepaid coverage varies by scheme and should not be assumed. Address verification for online payments is not addressed, and foreign-issued BINs are a known cause of declines.
The app is where the daily experience lives, and here the ratings are thin. On the US App Store, “Gekkard: Prepaid Card & Wallet” sits at 3.0 out of 5 from 4 ratings, read on 21 October 2025 at version 1.0.9. That is four people, so it tells you almost nothing about quality in either direction. The Android app exists under com.papaya.gekkard as “Gekkard: Banking Alternative” and its rating could not be read. Another App Store storefront listing shows 2.6 out of 5 from 15 ratings. Two small samples pointing in slightly different directions is not evidence of a good or bad app; it is evidence that nobody has written much about this.
What can go wrong
Start with custody, because it is the clearest risk. WalletScrutiny describes the app as custodial and not verifiable. That means the provider holds the credentials to your funds, and your trust in this card is ultimately trust in Papaya Ltd and its partners. Custody carries two risks that bank deposits do not: the counterparty risk that the operator fails, and the hack risk that someone else takes the assets. This is not hypothetical in the category — Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018) and Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022) are the reference points people in this industry already know.
Then the operational risk. AtlantEX paused new-client onboarding from 1 July 2026. If the licensing work does not finish, the crypto feature may stay closed or the operator may change. Programme closures in this category tend to follow a pattern: a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then users are asked to withdraw what is left. I am not saying that will happen here. I am saying you should hold the same low expectation you would hold for any card whose operator history you cannot read.
Next, the payment-level surprises. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on funds that stays for several days, up to about seven. A merchant can look at your card’s issuing country and apply extra scrutiny, which is why a card issued in one country looks foreign in another — and some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards outright. If a purchase is online, the identity check may add friction or, in some setups, shift liability for a fraudulent payment toward you.
Then the disclosure risk, which is the one specific to this card. Without a fee schedule you cannot compute your cost. Without limit figures you cannot know how a payment will behave before you make it. Without dispute terms you cannot know what recourse you have if something goes wrong. And without the issuer’s identity and licences, you cannot confirm that a safeguarded e-money balance is even involved, as opposed to something else entirely. Electronic money institutions in the EU must safeguard customer funds in dedicated accounts or insure them, and those funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme — but that protection only attaches if an EMI is genuinely in the chain.
One more practical hazard, generic to the category but worth stating because it is irreversible: blockchain transfers cannot be undone. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Gekkard does not publish a list of networks, which is exactly the situation in which that mistake gets made.
What to take instead
If the deciding factor for you is known costs, a self-custodial card with published fee terms is a safer place to be. The three below are worth reading next to Gekkard, mainly because each is more transparent about the numbers that Gekkard leaves out.
| Gekkard | International Visa Card | UNi Card | Morse | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score here | 4.7 / 10 | 6.7 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 7.5 / 10 |
| Card | Prepaid Mastercard, plastic or virtual | U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual; physical “Coming soon” | Mastercard, multicurrency | Visa prepaid debit, fully virtual for now |
| Fee picture | Not stated | $5 virtual issuance; no maintenance; USD use free; foreign currency “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”; deposits free | “No annual fee or foreign transaction fee”; live OTC rates, “no hidden exchange fees” | Zero FX fees or markups at the real Visa rate; paying online and contactless is free; card page points to a Cardholder Agreement |
| Crypto side | EURG plus BTC, ETH, MON via AtlantEX OÜ | None — USDC or USDT deposited to a USD account | Not stated | USDC, USDG and EURC via Solana free; other tokens and chains carry a fee; BTC, USDT, Ethereum accepted; self-custodial wallet |
| Catch | Everything unstated | Excludes residents and registrants of a long list of countries; purchases blocked in several | Rewards up to 3% | Closed beta in a list of countries; issuance and monthly fee not stated |
The International Visa Card is the most directly comparable on cost transparency: it publishes a $5 issuance fee, no maintenance fee, free card use in dollars, and a flat 2 % foreign currency fee on top of the Visa rate. What it costs you is reach — it is not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam, purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela, and FATF grey-list countries are reviewed case by case with compliance approval. The rule is by residence or registration, not citizenship.
Morse has the best score of the four at 7.5 / 10 because it combines published fee terms with self-custody: zero FX markup at the real rate, free card payments, free USDC, USDG and EURC transfers on Solana, and a self-custodial wallet. Its limits are real too. Eligibility is by residence and age 18 or over, the app is available in over 140 countries for P2P with local add and withdraw in over 70, and a list of countries sit in closed beta needing an invite code: American Samoa, Australia, Cape Verde, Guernsey, Hong Kong SAR China, Isle of Man, Japan, Jersey, New Zealand, Serbia, Singapore, Switzerland, Thailand, Türkiye, United Kingdom and Western Sahara. It also cannot serve customers subject to sanctions issued by the United States, and by the UK, EU and UN.
UNi Card sits between them: a multicurrency Mastercard spending from the UNi.Global balance, no annual fee and no foreign transaction fee, conversions at live OTC rates, and spend-to-earn rewards up to 3 %. Its eligibility and funding details are not stated, and eligibility for it is not stated at all, so I would not plan around it.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Gekkard, cautiously, to one person: someone in the EEA or Switzerland who needs a euro IBAN today, whose usual card applications have stalled, who is comfortable with a prepaid balance and custodial crypto, and who is not going to be surprised because they have read that the fees are not published.
If that is you, the sensible sequence is: open the app, check that the crypto side is actually accepting new customers before you rely on it, put in a small euro amount via SEPA, test the card on something small, and confirm for yourself whether the fee schedule is readable before you scale the balance up.
I would not recommend it to anyone for whom FX cost matters, who needs guaranteed limits, who plans to rely on chargebacks, or who wants to hold crypto without trusting a provider with the keys. In each of those cases, wait — or look at a card that publishes what it charges.
Frequently asked questions
What is Gekkard card?
Gekkard is a prepaid Mastercard paired with a European IBAN account in euros. You can hold euros in it, receive payments into it, and spend from it either with a plastic card delivered by international mail or a virtual one. The app also offers crypto: EURG, a euro-pegged token, plus access to Bitcoin, Ethereum and Monero through partner AtlantEX OÜ.
How does Gekkard card work?
It works like a prepaid card rather than a debit card. You load euros through SEPA or through the crypto side of the app, and the card spends that stored balance. Because it draws on a balance rather than a bank account, it cannot overdraw. The card is a Mastercard, so it should work wherever Mastercard is accepted, though its limits and fees are not stated publicly.
Is Gekkard a bank?
The public pages do not present it as a bank. It is described as offering a European IBAN account in EUR with a prepaid Mastercard. Who the card issuer is, and under which licences it operates, is not disclosed — that is the first thing worth asking support before you deposit anything significant.
Who owns Gekkard?
The developer listed on the app store is Papaya Ltd, and the brand is Gekkard. The crypto side is provided by AtlantEX OÜ, written in the Estonian-style legal form. The card issuer itself is not named in the public information.
Does Gekkard require KYC?
What the public pages say about identity verification is not stated, and neither is the KYC level. The partner exchange AtlantEX paused new-client onboarding from 1 July 2026 during MiCA licensing work, which normally means document checks are part of the picture. I would expect to be asked for identification at some point, but treat that as an expectation rather than a fact.
How do I top up the Gekkard card?
SEPA payments into the euro IBAN are the straightforward route. You can also buy and sell EURG, the token pegged 1:1 to the euro, and reach Bitcoin, Ethereum and Monero inside the app through AtlantEX OÜ. Cash top-up locations appear in the version history, but no current list is published, and fees and minimums are not stated for any of these.
Is the Gekkard card free?
I could not tell you. The fee schedule, issuance fee and monthly fee are not stated, and the card’s website was unreadable because of a certificate error when I checked. The app advertises 3 % on EURG holdings and a 1 % purchase bonus, but the conditions behind those rates were not readable either. Treat “free” as unverified.
Is the Gekkard card safe?
Safety splits into two questions. The card controls are reasonable: spending limits, transaction tracking, a temporary freeze and biometric confirmation for online purchases. The custody question is harder — WalletScrutiny calls the app custodial and not verifiable, meaning the provider holds the credentials to any crypto you put in it, so you are trusting the operator rather than holding the keys yourself.
Where can I use the Gekkard card?
Anywhere Mastercard is accepted, in theory, since it is a Mastercard. But the wallet situation is not stated — whether the card can be added to Apple Pay or Google Pay is unknown, and that decides whether contactless works at terminals that only take a phone. Merchants can also decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards, and some shops look closely at the issuing country.
Can I withdraw money from the Gekkard card?
Withdrawal terms are not stated. ATM policy is not stated either, and cash top-up locations appear only in the version history. If cash access matters to you, treat it as an open question and ask before you rely on the card as your only way to get at money.
App and neobank cards on the shortlist – cryptocardshortlist
Content created by the «cryptocardshortlist» team
