What a Belarus-issued crypto exchange card actually delivers in practice

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

WhiteBird is a crypto card programme that runs on Mastercard and Visa rails, issued by Belarusian StatusBank and tied to the WhiteBird exchange. The headline pitch is straightforward: you fund a balance from crypto or from roubles, and you spend it wherever cards are accepted. The reality, after going through the public material, is a narrower product than the marketing suggests, and the score on this page (4.4 out of 10) reflects that gap.

WhiteBird works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

One important caveat up front. Verification of the card’s official pages resulted in a connection error. Almost everything factual in this review therefore comes from third-party sites (myfin.by, ForkLog, Habr, CoinSpot) and is marked as unofficial. Treat every fee, limit and country rule below as unconfirmed by the card itself until verified via official channels.

Conditions in this article are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

WhiteBird scores 4.4 out of 10. That score is broken down as follows, with each criterion explained in the sections that follow.

Criterion Score Reason
Who can get it 2 / 10 Eligibility is not disclosed officially; unofficial sources point to Belarus and Russia, with Visa support extended to several other former-Soviet countries.
Cost 4 / 10 First virtual card for non-residents of Belarus 200 BYN (unofficial), extra plastic 100 BYN, no maintenance fee; sell-to-card 1.5%, buy-from-card 2.5%.
Top-up options 4 / 10 Ruble top-up via SBP and SberPay, with crypto sold on the WhiteBird exchange to the card; bank-side fees 0.4–1.5%; supported networks and coins are not disclosed.
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 WhiteBird holds a Belarusian licence and is a resident of the High-Tech Park, with StatusBank as issuer; no complaints were found in the searches I ran.
Everyday use 6 / 10 Virtual card included, physical plastic for 100 BYN; Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM behaviour are not described anywhere.

Who it suits: Russian and Belarusian residents who already deal in roubles, want to convert crypto or rouble balances to a Mastercard/Visa card, and live within the card’s delivery footprint. Who it does not suit: anyone outside that footprint, anyone looking for a clear, officially-documented product, and anyone who needs tokenised wallet support, ATM access or a known dispute process spelled out in advance.

Who will they give you the card

Officially, WhiteBird does not publish who qualifies. The card’s own pages were unreachable when I checked, and no eligibility checklist is in the public material. That is itself a problem, because you cannot compare what you have against what the issuer demands before you start an application.

Russian citizens generally qualify with a passport, and the first virtual card costs 200 BYN for non-residents of Belarus while Belarusian residents get it free. StatusBank is the issuing bank, and WhiteBird is a High-Tech Park resident in Belarus. Visa card support has also been extended to cards issued in Belarus, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Georgia, supplementing the existing Mastercard footprint.

Putting that together, the practical answer is: if you are a resident of Belarus or Russia, you stand a reasonable chance. If you hold a card from one of the other countries in the extended Visa list, you may be able to use the Crypto Status tier. Everywhere else, the public material offers no commitment, and you would be applying blind.

The product line is also split in two. There is a Crypto card (Mastercard, tied to the WhiteBird exchange and to the non-custodial Bitcash wallet) and a Crypto Status card (Visa). Crypto Status has lower trading commissions, reportedly 1.3% sell and 2.3% buy, compared with 1.5% and 2.5% on the standard Crypto card. Which one you can apply for is not documented in any official place I could reach.

How to get it

The signup process is described by third parties, not by WhiteBird itself. According to profinvestment.com, identification is mandatory and goes through a partner bank’s app, but the whole flow can be completed without leaving the country you are in. That is consistent with how most Belarus-issued programmes work: you download the app, complete a KYC step that checks your passport or national ID, and the card is provisioned once that step clears.

What I could not confirm:

The physical card, if you want one, can be ordered with delivery to Belarus and Russia for 100 BYN. Delivery time, tracking options, courier terms, signature requirements, and lost-in-transit policies remain undocumented.

The Crypto card is a digital Mastercard debit card. The Crypto Status card is on Visa. Neither is described in official terms as virtual-only or physical-only; the unofficial picture is that both tiers support a digital card by default and a physical one for an extra fee.

Fees: what it really costs

Because the official fee schedule is not available, every figure below is unofficial, taken from profinvestment.com (6 October 2026), myfin.by and Habr. Where two sources disagree, I have noted it.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a WhiteBird payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Amount (unofficial)
First virtual card, Belarus residents Free
First virtual card, non-residents of Belarus 200 BYN (profinvestment) / 250 BYN (starting data)
Additional physical plastic 100 BYN
Monthly maintenance 0
Sell crypto to card 1.5% (profinvestment) / 2.5% (Habr, up to $10k/month)
Buy crypto from card 2.5% (profinvestment) / 3% (Habr, up to $10k/month)
Crypto Status tier, sell 1.3%
Crypto Status tier, buy 2.3%
ATM withdrawal fee Not stated
Daily spend limit Not stated
Monthly spend limit Not stated
Single exchange operation Up to 39,950 BYN (per CoinSpot; this is an exchange limit, not a card limit)

A few things stand out. The first card for a Belarusian resident is free, but for everyone else the entry fee is steep at 200–250 BYN, which is real money even before you have spent anything. The trading spread is the main ongoing cost: 1.5% to sell crypto onto the card and 2.5% to buy crypto with the card. On a 1,000 BYN purchase that is 25 BYN, and on a 1,000 BYN sale that is 15 BYN, before any bank-side fees on the top-up side. Habr’s higher figures (unofficial: 2.5% sell, 3% buy, capped at $10,000 a month) suggest a tiered structure, but these figures are unofficial and not confirmed by WhiteBird’s terms.

The Crypto Status tier lowers the spread slightly (1.3% / 2.3%) but, again, you have to know to ask for it and meet whatever undocumented eligibility applies.

What a coffee costs. For a Belarusian resident with a free virtual card, paying for a 10 BYN coffee with crypto sold onto the card costs 0.15 BYN in the sell spread. For a non-resident who paid 200 BYN for the card and 100 BYN for the plastic, fixed costs are 300 BYN before any purchase, and every sale still costs 0.15 BYN per 10 BYN.

What a monthly grocery run looks like. Spending 1,000 BYN a month from crypto at the 1.5% sell rate means 15 BYN in spread. Add a 0.4–1.5% bank fee on the rouble top-up side, which adds 4–15 BYN to the 15 BYN spread, on top of any fixed card costs already paid.

What an ATM withdrawal looks like. This is where the public material goes quiet. No ATM fee is published, no ATM limit is published, and no information on which ATM networks the card works on. If you need cash, you are taking the issuer on trust.

Top up: how to fund the card

The model is two-sided. You can top up in roubles, or you can sell crypto on the WhiteBird exchange directly to the card. Both are described by profinvestment.com, and neither is documented in official terms.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up WhiteBird starts with a transfer to the right network

Rouble top-up. Unofficial: you can fund the card via SBP (the Russian fast-payment system) and SberPay. Bank-side fees on these channels run 0.4–1.5% depending on the bank you send from. That is on top of any spread WhiteBird may apply on conversion, although the public material does not say whether a spread is added when you top up in roubles or only when you sell crypto.

Crypto top-up. The model is: you sell crypto on the WhiteBird exchange to your card, and the card balance is credited in fiat. The exact networks and coins supported are not listed in the unofficial sources I read, which is a real gap. If you are used to cards that publish a list (USDC on Ethereum, USDT on Tron, and so on), you will not find that here.

Withdrawal. The card’s withdrawal flow is not described. Whether you can move fiat from the card back to a bank account, and at what cost, is not in the public material.

What this means in practice. In Russia, the SBP and SberPay route provides predictable bank-side fees. For users elsewhere in the extended Visa list, the rouble top-up may be unavailable, requiring reliance on the crypto-sell side. Outside both groups, neither path is documented to work.

Paying with it every day

The card is described as a debit card tied to the WhiteBird exchange and (for the Crypto tier) to the non-custodial Bitcash wallet. In prepaid terms, that means you load a balance, then spend it; the card cannot overdraw. Conversion happens at the point of sale in the network’s currency, and WhiteBird’s spread is what you pay on top.

What works in theory, and is not confirmed anywhere:

What is not in the public material:

There is an Android “WhiteBird” app listing on trashbox.ru (version 1.1.8), which suggests the app exists, but app-store ratings and reviews were not part of the public material I could read.

The upshot is that the card is sold on a “spend your crypto anywhere” promise, but the everyday mechanics of that promise (which wallet, which MCCs, which tokenisation, which dispute route) are not in writing. If you are the kind of person who is happy to discover these by trial and error, that may be fine. If you want to know in advance whether your subscription service or your local supermarket will accept the card without a fuss, you do not have that information to go on.

What can go wrong

Five risks matter here, and they are mostly about what is not said rather than what is.

Unofficial country footprint. The card’s public material does not state who can apply, who can be issued a card, or who can use it. Unofficial sources point to Belarus and Russia as the core market, with Visa support extended to a handful of other countries. If your country is not in that list, you are guessing.

A licence in Belarus, not an EU/US one. WhiteBird is a Belarusian licence holder and a High-Tech Park resident, and the issuer is StatusBank in Belarus. That is a real regulatory status, but it is not a MiCA authorisation in the EU, a UK FCA registration, or a US state money-transmitter licence. If you are an EU/UK/US resident relying on local consumer protection, you do not have it here.

Custodial balance risk. The Crypto tier is tied to the non-custodial Bitcash wallet, which means your crypto sits in your own wallet until the moment of sale. That part is genuinely better than a fully custodial model, but the moment the crypto is sold, the resulting fiat balance sits with the issuer. If the issuer or the exchange runs into trouble, that balance is exposed to the same counterparty risk that hit Mt. Gox, Coincheck and the Ronin Network in the past.

There is no published dispute, support or reversal process. The cardholder agreement, support channels, complaint procedure and chargeback rules are not provided. If a merchant charges you twice, a payment is unauthorised, or a withdrawal never arrives, the path from identifying a problem to issuer resolution is undocumented—a meaningful gap for a card used every day.

Network and stablecoin risk if you fund with crypto. Because the supported networks and coins are not listed, you may send a deposit on a network the platform does not support, or to an address of a different chain. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a wrong-network deposit is typically lost or, at best, requires manual support recovery with no guarantee. Circle has already stopped supporting USDC on Tron, and Tether has frozen wallets on sanctions lists, so even within a single coin, the right chain matters.

No complaints found. I should add that the absence of complaints is not the same as a clean record. The product is small and concentrated in two markets, and a low complaint count can mean either a healthy product or a small user base that has not yet had time to push back.

What to take instead

If WhiteBird’s unofficial status and Belarus-centred footprint are deal-breakers for you, here is how three alternatives stack up on the facts available.

Young Card scores 5.7 out of 10. Cashback is paid in YNG tokens, and the rate is set by Club tier: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6%. Bronze and Silver are not stated. Country availability, fees, KYC and funding are also not stated in the public material I could read, so this is a higher-reward option with the same kind of documentation gap as WhiteBird.

Coinbase Card scores 6.4 out of 10 and is the most clearly documented of the three. It is available in all US states except Hawaii, and account opening follows the USA PATRIOT Act identity rules (name, address, date of birth, ID). It is a Visa prepaid debit card, virtual or physical, and spends either cash or crypto; all crypto is converted to US dollars for purchases and ATM withdrawals. Coinbase charges no spending fees and no annual fees, and the only cost is the spread Coinbase applies when it buys, sells or trades crypto at the moment of payment. Funding is by linking a US bank account or by depositing part of a paycheck into Coinbase. US card users can opt into crypto rewards on every purchase, with the reward rate shown in the app and the user picking from a rotating list of coins. The catch is the US-only footprint.

OKX scores 6.2 out of 10 and is the European option. The card launched on 28 January 2026 for the EU plus Norway (Iceland and Liechtenstein are excluded, though the explainer’s conclusion says “entire EEA”, which is inconsistent). It is a euro-denominated virtual Mastercard debit card linked to OKX Pay, issued through an unnamed European licensed payment provider, and there is no card fee. There is no transaction fee and no OKX FX fee; the conversion spread is 0.1% per the May 2026 explainer, versus the 0.4% market spread quoted in the launch press release (the explainer is the newer figure). Conversion to euro happens at purchase. You fund it with USDC or USDG held in OKX Pay; other coins must be converted first, and there is no auto top-up, so a payment is declined if the balance is insufficient. Cashback is paid on USDG purchases only (USDC earns nothing), at monthly rates that vary by tier: Regular 2% capped at 10 EUR, VIP1 4% capped at 300, VIP2 4.5% capped at 450, VIP3 5% capped at 1,000, VIP4+ 10% capped at 1,000. The press release quotes a 30-day promo of up to 20% VIP and 15% regular.

If you are a US resident, Coinbase Card is the obvious alternative. If you are in the EU/EEA and want a euro card with a low spread, OKX is worth a close look. If you are somewhere else and Young Card’s geography covers you, that is a possibility, but you would want to confirm fees and country list before applying. None of these is a direct replacement for WhiteBird if you specifically need a Belarus-issued Mastercard tied to a rouble-funded exchange, because that combination is what WhiteBird offers and the alternatives do not.

Who I would recommend it to

The narrow case where WhiteBird makes sense is this: you live in Belarus or Russia, you already use the rouble banking rails (SBP, SberPay), and you want a Mastercard or Visa debit card whose balance is funded by selling crypto on a Belarusian exchange. You are comfortable with a product whose official pages are not reliably reachable, whose fee schedule is only in third-party sources, and whose dispute process is not documented. You are happy to take the 1.5% sell spread as the cost of doing business, and you are not planning to rely on Apple Pay, Google Pay or ATM withdrawals as primary use cases.

Outside that case, the gaps outweigh the benefits. A US resident has Coinbase Card, with clearer rules and a US licence behind it. An EU/EEA resident has OKX, with a MiCA-aligned structure and a 0.1% spread. A user anywhere else who needs documentation, support channels and a published fee schedule has nothing to read here, and that is enough of a reason to look elsewhere.

Frequently asked questions

What is the WhiteBird card?

WhiteBird is a crypto card programme issued by Belarusian StatusBank on Mastercard and Visa rails, tied to the WhiteBird exchange. There are two tiers: Crypto (Mastercard, linked to the non-custodial Bitcash wallet) and Crypto Status (Visa, with lower exchange commissions). The card’s official pages were unreachable when this review was written, so the description here is from third-party sources.

How does the WhiteBird card work?

You fund a balance either by topping up in roubles via SBP and SberPay, or by selling crypto on the WhiteBird exchange to the card. The balance is then spent wherever Mastercard or Visa is accepted, with the spread on the crypto sale (1.5% on Crypto, 1.3% on Crypto Status) being the main fee.

Is WhiteBird a bank?

No. WhiteBird is a Belarusian-licensed company and a High-Tech Park resident, but the actual card issuer is StatusBank in Belarus. WhiteBird is the programme manager and exchange operator, not the bank.

Who owns WhiteBird?

The owning entity is White Bird CJSC. The Belarusian licence and High-Tech Park residency are confirmed by ForkLog, but shareholder structure is not in the public material I could read.

Is the WhiteBird card available in my country?

The official page does not say. Unofficial sources point to Belarus and Russia as the core markets, with Visa support extended to cards from Azerbaijan, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Georgia. If you are not in one of those, you are relying on the card to tell you, and the card’s pages were not reachable during research.

How do I apply for the WhiteBird card?

Unofficial sources describe a process through a partner bank’s app, with mandatory KYC via passport, completed without leaving your country. The exact steps, accepted IDs, and review time are not documented in any source I could read.

Does the WhiteBird card require KYC?

Yes. Identification is mandatory and goes through a partner bank’s app, per profinvestment.com. The KYC levels (basic versus enhanced) and the documents required at each level are not stated in the public material.

How do I top up the WhiteBird card?

You can top up in roubles via SBP and SberPay, with bank-side fees of 0.4–1.5% depending on the channel, or you can sell crypto on the WhiteBird exchange directly to the card. The supported crypto networks and coins are not listed in any source I could read.

Can I add the WhiteBird card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?

Not stated. Neither the official material (which was unreachable) nor the third-party sources I read describe tokenised wallet support. If mobile wallet use is important to you, confirm it in the app before relying on it.

Is the WhiteBird card safe?

The card is issued by a regulated Belarusian bank (StatusBank) and the platform is a High-Tech Park resident, which is a real regulatory status. On the other hand, official documentation is not available, the dispute and complaint process is not published, the supported crypto networks are not listed, and your fiat balance sits with the issuer once crypto is sold. Whether that balance of factors feels safe to you depends on your own risk tolerance.

Content created by the «cryptocardshortlist» team