A crypto card that promises no-hassle spending, with a fee schedule nobody has pinned down

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you are weighing a UPay card, you are probably doing it for one reason: ordinary bank cards are hard to get where you live, or a bank account is a formality you cannot complete. If that is you, this review matters more than most, and I want to be direct with you about what I found: the everyday spending side of this card is genuinely well built, and the transparency side is not. UPay scores 6.1 out of 10 in my assessment — above the middle, well short of comfortable. The number is not a mystery; it is the sum of a card that does daily payments well and a company whose public pages leave the numbers you would need to actually plan a budget exactly blank.

UPay works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 Claims support in 180+ countries, though some countries are excluded and the list can move with regulatory or issuer policy
Cost 4 / 10 Official pricing is not disclosed; third-party figures for issuance and top-up conflict with each other
Top-up options 6 / 10 Wallet top-up with BTC, ETH or USDT, USDC also listed; networks are not named anywhere I could find
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Licences named but no issuer bank stated; user reports of freezes and false PEP flags; a low Trustpilot score on a very small sample
Everyday use 9 / 10 Virtual and physical cards, Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay, ATMs mentioned
Total 6.1 / 10 A well-built payment surface attached to an incompletely disclosed product

Verdict: a strong payment card wrapped in an unfinished information page

The score above is not a rounding error of enthusiasm or caution. It is the shape of the product exactly: 9 out of 10 for everyday use, 4 for cost, 4 for reliability and complaints. If you already know you can get this card and you already know what it charges, the everyday-use half is the bit you will actually enjoy — virtual and physical cards, personal and business, the three big mobile wallets supported, payments converted to USD, EUR, AED and others. If you are trying to answer the questions a person normally asks before signing up — how much, from where, is it safe, will it work — this is precisely where the card’s own pages go quiet, and the answers that exist online come from third parties who disagree with each other.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up UPay starts with a transfer to the right network

Who does this suit? Someone who already holds BTC, ETH, USDT or USDC, wants to spend it at ordinary shops without opening a bank account, and treats the card as a payment tool rather than as a place to park money. If that is your situation, the card does its job and I can see why people keep it. Who does it not suit? Anyone who needs a bank account, anyone who cannot clear identity checks with a document from their own country, anyone who wants to hold a balance and trust it, and anyone who needs to know the exact cost of a payment before they make it. For all four, there is not enough published information for me to tell you it is safe, and “not stated” is not a small thing when it is the fee.

The word to hold on to as you read the rest is *not stated*. UPay’s public pages, as far as I could read them, do not publish the country list, the issuance fee, the monthly fee, the conversion spread, the ATM fee or the spending limits. That is not me being unable to find them — it is what the pages say by omission. Where I quote a figure below, I tell you whether it comes from UPay or from a third-party site, and I tell you when two third-party sources contradict each other. Numbers you did not get from the card company are numbers I cannot vouch for.

Will they give you the card?

Yes, most likely — but the “yes” has a condition attached, and that condition is about your document, not your address.

UPay says it supports 180+ countries. That is the company’s own claim, and it is the number you will find on its pages. The page also says it does not serve residents of certain countries, and that the list may change with regulatory or issuer policies — which is honest phrasing from a company that cannot promise a country list it does not control.

The condition that matters most in practice is this: UPay’s KYC partner accepts only ID documents issued by the same country as the user. If your passport, national ID or driver’s licence comes from a different country than the one you live in, that is a problem before anything else happens. This is not an unusual rule in this category — it exists because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to the country of your address — but it is the rule most likely to end an application quietly.

Third parties put different numbers on the reach. Finbold, in July 2026, described availability in “over 150 countries” with the US, Germany, France, Argentina and Canada as examples, noting that availability depends on your location, eligibility and the specific product. TechBullion, undated, said “at least 168 countries”. Nobody has published the restricted-country list. The gap between “over 150” and “180+” is not worth arguing about; what matters is that the honest answer to “is UPay available in my country” is: probably, unless your country is on a list I cannot show you.

How to get it

The path is short and the sequence is exactly what you would guess:

  1. Create an account and verify your identity.
  2. Choose and apply for a card.
  3. Fund your wallet.
  4. Spend.

That is the whole flow. The verification step runs through Sumsub, the identity-check provider, and takes 5–10 minutes according to UPay. Only one verification level is described — a single Sumsub check against an ID document issued in your own country. UPay does not publish a tier structure, and it does not state what happens if you fail: there is no published list of rejection reasons, no stated re-application route, no published document list beyond “ID from the same country as the user”. Whether a proof of address is required is also not stated.

On card types, the choice is wide: virtual and physical, and personal and business. The card network is not named by the card company. This matters more than it sounds — the network is the rail that decides where the card is accepted and who processes a transaction, and UPay does not say which one it uses. On the card forms, payments convert to USD, EUR, AED and others.

Two things a reader always asks and the pages do not answer: whether a physical card arrives, where, how fast and at what cost — not stated; and what currency a card is issued in — not stated beyond the payment currencies listed.

On the Stellar virtual card specifically, unofficial sources disagree with each other in useful ways. Cryptocards.so says email, phone and an identity document are required, with no proof of address and no selfie. The Coin Republic, June 2026, says KYC is mandatory through the wallet app. And on the network question the four unofficial sources I found say four different things: Visa (PayAtlas), Mastercard “wherever Mastercard is accepted” (Finbold, July 2026), both Visa and Mastercard (The Coin Republic, June 2026), and a Visa virtual Stellar card (cryptocards.so). When four unofficial sources say four things, treat the network as unknown.

Fees: what it really costs

This is the section that decides the score, and it is the section the card leaves blank. The official cost is not stated. The official fee schedule is not stated. UPay’s card page does say one honest thing: conversion may occur during a payment, depending on the network and settlement. That sentence is doing a lot of work in a short space, and it tells you a conversion exists without telling you what it costs.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a UPay payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The figures below that are not marked “official” are third-party figures. Read them as leads to confirm, not as terms.

Fee or limit What the card says What unofficial sources say
Issuance — virtual not stated $10 (Finbold, Jul 2026); $50 for the Stellar virtual card with no monthly fee (cryptocards.so, undated)
Issuance — physical not stated $100 activation fee on Premier/Platinum/Precious, with no annual fees (Finbold)
Monthly fee not stated no monthly fee stated for the Stellar card (cryptocards.so, undated)
Top-up / recharge not stated 2% on virtual cards, 1% on Precious, Premier virtual a flat 1% transaction fee with “no deposit or cross-border fees”, UPay Wallet 1.5% (Finbold, Jul 2026); 3% top-up and 1% FX on the Stellar card (cryptocards.so, undated)
Conversion / FX conversion may occur at payment; no figure a “no FX fees” policy is advertised alongside a 1% FX figure (Finbold vs cryptocards.so)
ATM card can be used at ATMs; fee and allowance not stated ATM withdrawals supported with no fee amount stated (The Coin Republic, Jun 2026; Hackernoon 2025); not supported on the Stellar virtual card (cryptocards.so, undated)
Spending limits not stated Stellar virtual: $20,000 daily, monthly unlimited (cryptocards.so, undated); Finbold (Jul 2026) states no limits

The two virtual-card issuance figures — $10 and $50 — cannot both describe the same product, and the top-up figures split three ways (2%, 1%, 3%). A “no FX fees” advertisement sitting next to a stated 1% FX fee is the kind of contradiction that resolves itself only when you ask the company directly. Treat the whole unofficial column as a set of questions, not a price list.

There are no tiers to compare. The card page and home page name no tier structure at all; the only distinctions offered are personal versus business and virtual versus physical.

Three everyday payments, and which fees touch them

A coffee in your own country, paid by phone. You tap with Apple Pay, Google Pay or Samsung Pay. If the card currency matches what the till asks for, the merchant’s amount is what you are charged. Any fee here would be a top-up fee already paid when you loaded the wallet, or a conversion fee if the payment currency differs from your balance. UPay’s marketing says spending works “without the need for currency conversion” — but the disclaimer on the same pages says conversion between digital assets and fiat may occur during payment. Both sentences are on the card’s pages, and the disclaimer is the one that describes what actually happens.

A subscription or an online purchase in a currency your balance does not hold. This is where conversion enters. The card page names USD, EUR and AED among the payment currencies, so a payment in one of those from a balance held in something else involves a conversion at a rate and spread the card does not publish. A foreign-currency fee or spread is not stated. What you can do is check the amount on the confirmation screen before you authorise, because you cannot check the rate afterwards.

A cash withdrawal at an ATM. The home page says the card works at ATMs. The fee and the allowance are not stated. Unofficial sources say withdrawals work, with no amount, on domestic and overseas machines — and that they do not work at all on the Stellar virtual card. If cash is part of why you want this card, that is one of the first things to confirm in writing before you rely on it.

Two general notes that belong to the category rather than to UPay. First, a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds that stays for several days, typically up to seven. Second, card payments usually involve several parties: the network routes the message, an issuer licensed by that network holds the programme, and the crypto brand is often only the front end. UPay does not name its issuer bank or its network — not stated — so I cannot tell you which institution stands behind the money when you spend.

How to top it up

Top-up runs through the wallet, in crypto: BTC, ETH or USDT, with USDC also listed among supported coins. That is the core mechanism, and it is a sensible one for someone already holding those assets.

What is not stated is the part that makes top-ups risky. The networks are not named. Neither on the card page, nor on the main site, nor in the help centre. This is the single most consequential gap in the funding story, and it is worth dwelling on. Sending USDT on one network to a deposit address built for another can lose the funds outright: blockchain transfers are irreversible, the network cannot freeze or return them, and recovery then depends entirely on a support ticket that may or may not be answered. It costs the same amount of money to send on the correct network, and it is the difference between a working balance and a support request. Confirm the network in writing before your first transfer, every time the provider changes it.

Also absent from all three UPay sites I read: the top-up fee, the minimum top-up, and whether any fiat option exists. On the unofficial side, cryptocards.so lists BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC and DOGE for the Stellar card. Finbold, July 2026, says wallet top-ups can be made from a bank account or from an eligible Visa or Mastercard. Networks: not found by either.

One more gap: withdrawal is not stated. There is no page on withdrawing your balance and no page on closing the account. A card you can fill but not obviously empty is a different proposition from a card you can spend and cash out, and right now that end of the product is undocumented on the pages I read.

Paying with it every day

This is where the card earns its best mark, and it earns it on facts rather than promises.

You get virtual and physical cards, in personal and business forms. You can add the card to Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay — all three are stated on the home page. Card payments convert to USD, EUR, AED and others. ATMs are supported by the home page’s own wording. Cashback is not stated on the card page; the home page carries an “Earn While You Sleep” product as a title only, which I read as a separate product rather than a card reward.

Apps are available: an App Store listing, a Google Play listing and an APK download are all linked from the main site. I did not find a rating or a review count to report.

A handful of practical notes for daily use, drawn from how these cards behave generally:

What UPay does not publish: its dispute process. The FAQ page returned a page error when I read it, and the help centre’s terms page is a stub listing topics with no content. If a payment goes wrong, I cannot tell you from the card’s own pages what your route is. That is a real gap for anyone spending regularly.

What can go wrong

I have separated what UPay has stated from what users have reported, because the difference matters here.

The company’s position. UPAY TECHNOLOGY LTD., registered in Denver, Colorado, USA — though the address on the site is garbled. Licences named: MSO (Hong Kong), VASP Lithuania “In-Principle Approval”, MSB United States, MSB Canada. The issuer bank and the card network are not stated. The Coin Republic, 29 June 2026, reported the card expanding crypto spending options with BTC, ETH and USDT converted to fiat, and stated that the company’s licence claims were unverified by that article — I have not independently confirmed them either.

User reports. A June 2026 review described the picture as mixed: praise for speed and easy crypto deposits, complaints about verification, accounts frozen mid-transaction with document requests, and false PEP flags with no appeal route. User report themes from within 2026 include false PEP flags during KYC, unsupported ID types, temporary account restrictions after deposits, Apple Pay not available on some cards or regions, declined transactions, delayed refunds, and unclear fees.

Two structural points explain why those themes cluster where they do. First, PEP screening is a routine part of due diligence — in the EU, customer due diligence includes determining whether the customer is a politically exposed person — and if due diligence cannot be completed, rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction or end the relationship. That is why accounts get frozen pending documents. It is lawful and normal, and it is also exactly where a false positive hurts an ordinary person with no way to appeal. Second, Apple Pay availability varies by card and region in reports, so the wallet support that makes this card excellent in one place may not be there in another.

Trustpilot. The upay.com page, read on 20 October 2026, showed 3.3 out of 5 from 1 review — a two-star review about a KYC failure using a Palau digital residency ID. One review is not a signal in any useful sense. Other pages: Trustpilot for upay.best shows 2.5/5 from 19 reviews; The Coin Republic in June 2026 cited 2.6/5 from 19 reviews for Upay Technology Limited. Note that the domain differs from upay.com — treat those with care, and note also that an aggregator flagged a name collision with unrelated UPay entities, so make sure you are reading about the card and not about something else with the same name. Cryptocards.so, an unverified aggregator, cites Trustpilot and Google Play ratings of roughly 2.5–2.8 stars, reports app crashes after an update and a support bot with no escalation route.

The uncomfortable background. This category has a history of providers failing and programmes closing. WaveCrest, a Visa card issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest is also a good illustration of why custody matters: custodial platforms have a record of failures — Mt. Gox, about US$350 million reported stolen 2011–2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022. Whether UPay holds your balance custodially is not stated on the pages I read, and that single unknown carries more weight for your money than almost anything else in this review. If they hold it, you are trusting them completely; if the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, you bear sole responsibility for key loss, for phishing, and for clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps a copied address.

Support. UPay lists a Help Centre at help.upay.com, an FAQ, and [email protected]. When I read the help centre root page it showed only a Chinese-language heading, “Help Center”, with no article list.

What to take instead

I want to be careful here: none of these is a recommendation over UPay for everyone. They are the alternatives I compared against while forming the score, and the trade-offs differ.

CardFlow — 4.9 / 10. Aimed squarely at Nigeria, describing itself as “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” serving “Nigerians and global users”, with no country list or exclusions stated. A virtual USD Mastercard, created in minutes. Creating a virtual card is free (site FAQ); the monthly fee is not stated, and so are transaction fees. Funding: Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or a Naira bank transfer; networks not stated. No rewards stated. Where UPay spreads its claims across 180+ countries, CardFlow is honest about being one market. If you are in Nigeria, that focus may be an advantage rather than a limitation.

HyperCard — 4.7 / 10. The lowest of the three. No country list on the official pages; the App Store says the card works in “more than 176 countries” — which is acceptance, not eligibility, and the distinction is exactly the one that trips people up. A prepaid “HyperCard” with the balance in USD or EUR, network not stated on the App Store page, no fees listed there. Funding: deposit crypto such as USDT, BTC or ETH in the app, converted to USD or EUR. Networks not stated. For someone who wants a simple prepaid card, this is a thinner proposition than UPay.

Card.fi — 6.6 / 10. The strongest alternative on the numbers, and the only one whose fees and rewards are actually published. Cards ship to “200+ countries”; terms bar residents of, or orders from, a country subject to sanctions that would prohibit the service. Four card types — Virtual Classic, Virtual Premium, physical Classic, physical Premium, plus metal in stainless steel; every physical order includes a virtual card; cards issued “under licence from the relevant card schemes”, though Visa and Mastercard are not named. One-time prices: Virtual Classic $49, Virtual Premium $249; physical and metal prices are not listed; no monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee. Fees: top-up Classic 1.5% + $1.00, Premium 1%; FX Classic 3.5%, Premium 2.5%, with the conversion fee shown before each top-up. Funding: 32 coins across 5 networks — Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana, Kaanch — including USDT, USDC, ETH, BNB, SOL and KAANCH, with a deposit address per card, converted at market rate on arrival; sending on the wrong chain risks permanent loss. Rewards are the most generous of the three and are clearly capped: cashback Classic 0.8% (cap 10 USDT/month), Premium 1%, Metal 1.2% (cap 100 USDT/month, 5,000 USDT) or 2% (cap 250 USDT/month, 20,000 USDT); a headline 10% at coffee shops capped at 10 USDT/month; up to 18% on balances for Metal, variable.

The trade is plain. Card.fi gives you named networks, stated fees, stated rewards and stated caps — and a 3.5% FX fee on the Classic tier is more than you will pay anywhere for a single foreign purchase. UPay gives you the better everyday card and the better daily-use score, and asks you to find out the price yourself.

UPay CardFlow HyperCard Card.fi
Score 6.1 / 10 4.9 / 10 4.7 / 10 6.6 / 10
Reach 180+ countries claimed Nigeria focus 176+ countries acceptance 200+ countries
Card types Virtual and physical, personal and business Virtual USD Mastercard Prepaid Virtual and physical, metal
Pricing not stated Virtual creation free not stated $49 / $249 virtual
Top-up fee not stated not stated not stated 1.5% + $1.00 / 1%
Networks not stated not stated not stated 5 named

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the UPay card to a person who already holds BTC, ETH, USDT or USDC; who cannot comfortably open an ordinary bank account; who has an identity document from the country they live in; who wants Apple Pay or Google Pay to work at an ordinary shop; and who treats the balance as money in motion rather than money in storage. For that person, the card’s everyday-use design is the best in this comparison, and I can say so without reservation.

I would not recommend it as a first card, and I would not recommend it to anyone planning to hold a balance for long. The reasons are the ones I have kept returning to: the cost is not stated, the withdrawal process is not stated, the dispute process is not stated, the networks for top-up are not stated, the custodial position is not stated, the issuer is not named, and the Trustpilot evidence is thin but negative — 3.3 out of 5 from a single review about a KYC failure, alongside a 2.5 from 19 on another domain. None of that is proof of a problem. All of it is absence of proof, and for a card whose entire reason to exist is access for people other cards refuse, absence of proof is the wrong kind of absence.

If you want the crypto-card idea but a fully published price list, Card.fi is the more legible product, with the FX fee as the thing to weigh. If you want a card that works well in one country and tells you so, CardFlow may be honest in a way UPay is not.

Before you commit, I would get three things in writing from the company: the total cost of a purchase in a currency you do not hold, the networks accepted for each coin you plan to send, and how you get the money back out. Those three answers settle most of what this review could not.

And one last thing that is not about this card at all. In the US, the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at the fair market value on the date of the transaction — which means each card payment funded from crypto may be its own disposal. That is a fact to be aware of, not advice; I am not able to tell you what your position is, and you should not take this paragraph as a view on your taxes.

Frequently asked questions

What is the UPay card?

The UPay card is a payment card you load with crypto and then spend like an ordinary card, in shops, online or at ATMs. It comes as a virtual or a physical card, in personal and business versions. UPay is not a bank; it is UPAY TECHNOLOGY LTD., a company in Denver, Colorado, that markets the card and its wallet. It names licences in Hong Kong, Lithuania, the US and Canada, but does not name its issuer bank or card network on the pages I read.

How does the UPay card work?

You create an account, verify your identity through Sumsub, apply for a card, fund your wallet with BTC, ETH, USDT or USDC, and then spend. It behaves like a prepaid card: crypto is converted and loaded as a balance, and the card draws on that balance, so it cannot overdraw. Payments convert to USD, EUR, AED and others, and UPay says conversion may occur during a payment depending on the network and settlement.

Is UPay a bank?

No — it is not. It is a card programme front end with named licences: MSO in Hong Kong, a VASP registration in Lithuania described as “In-Principle Approval”, and MSB registrations in the United States and Canada. The Coin Republic reported in June 2026 that it could not verify those licence claims, and I could not verify them either. The issuing bank is not stated anywhere on the pages I read, which matters because the issuer, not the brand, holds the card programme.

Who owns UPay?

The registered company is UPAY TECHNOLOGY LTD., with a Denver, Colorado address — though the address on the site is garbled. Licences are claimed in several jurisdictions. One caution: an aggregator warned of a name collision with unrelated UPay entities, so check that any review you read is about upay.com and not about another business with the same name. Ratings attached to other UPay domains do not necessarily describe this card.

Is the UPay card available in my country?

Probably, and I cannot tell you for certain. UPay claims support in 180+ countries while saying it does not serve residents of certain countries, with the list able to change. No restricted-country list has been published. Unofficial sources say “over 150 countries” (Finbold, July 2026) and “at least 168 countries” (TechBullion, undated). The practical gate is not the country list but the document rule: the KYC partner accepts only ID issued by your own country.

How do I apply for a UPay card?

Create an account and complete the Sumsub identity check, which UPay says takes 5–10 minutes, then choose and apply for a card, fund the wallet and spend. Only one verification level is described. There is no published list of accepted documents beyond an ID from your own country, no stated proof-of-address requirement, and no stated reasons for rejection or route to reapply — so treat this as a process you may need to ask about rather than one you can predict.

Does the UPay card require KYC?

Yes. KYC is mandatory and runs through Sumsub, requiring an ID document issued in the same country as you. On the Stellar virtual card, unofficial sources say email, phone and an ID document are needed, with no proof of address and no selfie (cryptocards.so, undated), while The Coin Republic (June 2026) says KYC runs through the wallet app. Users report false PEP flags and unsupported ID types. PEP screening is a normal part of due diligence, which is why flagged accounts get frozen — but an appeal route is not published.

What does it cost to use the UPay card?

Officially, I cannot tell you — the cost, fees and limits are all not stated on UPay’s public pages. Unofficial figures conflict: $10 or $50 virtual issuance, $100 physical activation, top-up fees of 2%, 1% or 3%, a flat 1% transaction fee on Premier virtual, 1.5% on UPay Wallet, and a “no FX fees” policy advertised alongside a stated 1% FX fee. Treat these as questions to ask, not as prices. Card.fi, by contrast, publishes 1.5% + $1.00 top-up and 3.5% FX on its Classic tier.

How do I top up the UPay card?

Through the wallet, in crypto: BTC, ETH or USDT, with USDC also listed. The critical gap is that the networks are not named anywhere on UPay’s sites — and sending on the wrong network can lose the funds permanently, because blockchain transfers are irreversible. Top-up fee, minimum and any fiat option are also not stated; unofficial sources mention bank-account or eligible Visa/Mastercard funding and DOGE on the Stellar card. Confirm the network in writing before your first transfer.

Can I withdraw money from the UPay card, and is it safe?

Withdrawal is not stated — there is no page on taking money out and no page on closing the account, which is itself an answer you should weigh. On safety: UPay states no custodial status, no 2FA arrangement, no safeguarding policy and no freeze terms. What I can report is user feedback within 2026 of frozen accounts, false PEP flags, declined transactions, delayed refunds, Apple Pay missing in some regions, and app crashes, alongside praise for speed and easy crypto deposits. Trustpilot for upay.com showed 3.3/5 from one review on 20 October 2026.

Content created by the «cryptocardshortlist» team