A prepaid Visa for USDC, priced for the patient and the well-funded

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Keytom positions itself as a payment card for people who hold crypto and want to spend it without first cashing out to a bank. The card itself is a prepaid Visa: virtual at sign-up, with an optional physical card delivered in about 14 days. It spends a USDC balance, tops up from card payments through Visa Direct, from a direct USDC transfer, or by converting euros or other crypto already held in Keytom into USDC, and works in Google Pay and PayPal but not yet in Apple Pay. The hook is access: Keytom advertises availability in over 150 countries, with a Customer Acceptance Policy that explicitly bars residents or citizens of Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Serbia, Ghana, Uganda and Iran, among others.

Keytom works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The numbers behind that promise are the reason this is a middle-of-the-pack option rather than a clear winner. The card is USD-only and cannot be changed. There is a 10 USDC monthly fee per card, a 1% fee on USD purchases and a 2.35% fee on anything else, a 2% ATM fee on USD cash withdrawals, and a 50 USDC charge for the physical card to be delivered. For a USDC-heavy spender who keeps large balances and pays mainly in dollars, the math can be reasonable. For a casual user buying coffee and groceries, the costs add up fast. You will find a detailed breakdown in the costs section below.

Conditions on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Keytom earns 6.0 out of 10. It is a legitimate prepaid Visa on the right network (Visa, accepted almost everywhere), it serves a clear audience (people whose main funding is USDC and who mainly pay in dollars), and its country coverage is wide if you are not in one of the explicitly prohibited jurisdictions. What drags the score down is the everyday cost: a 10 USDC monthly fee, a 1% charge on USD spending, and a 2.35% charge on anything that is not USD. The 2% ATM fee in USD, or 3.35% in other currencies, is also higher than the typical crypto-card market.

Criterion Mark Why it matters
Who can get it 8 / 10 Over 150 countries advertised; explicit sanctions and prohibited-jurisdiction list
Cost 3 / 10 10 USDC/month, 1% USD / 2.35% non-USD spending, 2% USD ATM fee
Top-up options 4 / 10 USDC balance only; Visa Direct, direct USDC, or in-app conversion; networks not stated
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 FINTRAC-registered Canadian MSB, Trustpilot 4.3/5 from a small review base, referral-reward complaints
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa, Google Pay and PayPal, 3,000 USD/day ATM; Apple Pay missing

If you are the kind of person who already holds USDC, mainly pays in dollars, does not pull cash from ATMs, and is unbothered by a 10 USDC monthly fee, Keytom will work. If you are someone who pays a meaningful share of their spending in non-USD currencies, or who needs an Apple Pay option, the fees and feature gaps will hurt.

Who will they give you the card

Keytom says the card is available to residents of “150+ countries”. That is a wide net, but it is not unconditional. The Customer Acceptance Policy lists prohibited jurisdictions, including Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Serbia, Ghana, Uganda and Iran, among others. The rule is not just about where you live: clients with direct or indirect links to those jurisdictions, including ultimate beneficial owners residing there or holding citizenship there, cannot be onboarded. Place of birth or a former citizenship alone does not disqualify you if you hold a valid residence permit or citizenship in an eligible jurisdiction, with enhanced due diligence applied. The full Customer Acceptance Policy is written for corporate clients, but the principle of residence and beneficial-owner checks applies throughout.

What this means in practice: your approval depends on where you actually live, the citizenship you hold, and whether anyone with a stake in the account is from a barred country. Keytom runs the same checks the rest of the regulated payments industry runs, so country rules, sanctions screening and PEP screening are part of the picture even if the card page itself does not use the phrase “KYC”.

(Verdict table follows below.)

How to get it

The card page does not use the words “KYC” or “know your customer”. What it does describe is two-factor authentication, transaction monitoring, anti-money-laundering controls, and a right to ask you for additional verification when something on your account looks unusual. The page also says the policy on customer acceptance, AML and verification can be requested, and the documents required for individuals, the exact processing time, and the official rejection reasons are not stated on the public pages.

Third-party reviews of Keytom (unofficial, not confirmed by Keytom) describe the individual sign-up as asking for a passport, national ID or residence permit, a selfie or liveness check, proof of address, and source-of-funds evidence when requested, with an 18+ age rule. Treat that as the typical pattern, not as a confirmed Keytom policy.

You can hold at most two cards at once: one virtual and one physical, both in USD, both Visa. The card is structured as a credit BIN but spends your own USDC balance rather than a loan. It is contactless, valid for up to five years, and cannot be switched to another currency.

If you order the physical card, expect a delivery time of about 14 days, charged at 50 USDC. The list of countries the physical card is shipped to is not published; the FAQ says issuance, delivery and payments “may be limited or unavailable in some jurisdictions”. A replacement cost is not stated.

(Costs table follows below.)

Fees: what it really costs

There is no getting around the headline numbers on this card, so it is worth stating them plainly.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Keytom payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What you pay or what is allowed
Virtual card issue Free
Physical card delivery 50 USDC (~14 days)
Monthly card fee 10 USDC per card (charged when balance covers it; USD 20 with both cards)
Card payment in USD 1% (min 0.66 USDC)
Card payment in other currencies 2.35% (min 0.66 USDC)
ATM withdrawal in USD 2% (min 0.66 USDC)
ATM withdrawal in other currencies 3.35% (min 0.66 USDC)
Daily ATM limit Up to USD 3,000
Monthly ATM limit Up to USD 10,000
ATM withdrawals per day 3
ATM withdrawals per month 30
ATM withdrawals per year Up to USD 100,000
Per-transaction soft limit ~USD 150,000
Card currency USD only
Balance currency USDC only

There is one tier. No higher tier unlocks lower fees or cashback, and no loyalty programme is advertised on the card page. The single-tier model is simple but it is also inflexible: you pay the same 10 USDC whether you use the card heavily or not at all in a given month, and the fee is charged when the balance covers it, so a thin month does not push you into arrears.

How this plays out in everyday payments:

The published pages do not list a top-up fee for adding USDC or for using Visa Direct, and they do not state who pays the network fee on a direct USDC transfer. The minimum top-up is not stated either.

(Funding details follow below.)

Top up: how to fund it

The card spends from a USDC balance. There are three ways to put USDC into that balance, as described on the public pages:

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Keytom starts with a transfer to the right network

The first option is the one that matters for a non-crypto user: you fund the card the way you would fund any prepaid card, with a debit or credit card pushed through Visa Direct. The second is the on-chain route. The third is for users who already keep euros or other crypto in their Keytom account and want to swap into USDC without leaving the app. The minimum top-up and the party responsible for the network fee on a direct USDC transfer are not stated on the card page.

Unofficial third-party reporting on Keytom’s personal account (not confirmed by Keytom itself) gives SEPA fees of 0.5% plus EUR 0.25 for incoming transfers and 1% plus EUR 0.25 for outgoing (minimum EUR 2.75 each), and a 1.5% fee on EUR-to-crypto conversion. That same source gives a 0.1% plus network-fee figure for crypto withdrawal. Treat these as a sense of the order of magnitude rather than as a published fee schedule.

What stands out, by comparison with the wider crypto-card market, is the absence of any stated list of supported networks. Other cards in the same category typically name the chains they accept USDC on (Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon, Arbitrum, Avalanche) and tell you the network fee is on you. Keytom’s public card pages do not, which means you should confirm the network with support before sending a non-trivial amount.

(Everyday use details follow below.)

Paying with it every day

The card behaves like a prepaid Visa: tap or insert at a shop, pay online, and (with the physical card) pull cash from an ATM. The virtual card works at contactless ATMs, which is a small convenience for a card that has no plastic yet.

Mobile wallets are the main day-to-day convenience. The virtual card can be added to Google Pay and to PayPal. Apple Pay is not available at the time of writing: the FAQ says it is “not available yet” and a recent Trustpilot reply from the company (October 2026) says it is “being brought back”, which implies it was there at some point. If you live on iPhone and Apple Watch, that is a real gap.

Merchant acceptance is broad, with the usual prepaid-card caveats. Some categories are blocked by policy: fuel pumps, gambling, and a few others are not supported, and some platforms block in-game purchases. The card supports 3-D Secure, so you will get a confirmation step on online payments that the issuer judges risky.

Disputes and refunds are handled in the standard way. Refunds go through the merchant and usually land in 2 to 15 days. The original payment fee is not returned, so a refund can come back slightly lower than you paid. There is no extra refund fee, and pre-authorisations on hotels and airlines can hold funds for up to 30 days. Chargebacks are not mentioned on the card page, which is worth knowing if you are weighing this card against a mainstream debit or credit card that gives you a formal chargeback route.

There is no cashback, no purchase rewards, and no perks tier. The single-tier structure means you do not earn anything back on your spending. If the value of a card for you is partly the rewards, Keytom is not the right fit.

(Risks details follow below.)

What can go wrong

The first thing to know is what kind of company you are dealing with. Keytom is operated by KEYTOM SERVICES LTD, registered as a Money Services Business with FINTRAC, the Canadian financial intelligence unit, under MSB number M21788474. The card’s issuing bank is not named on the public pages. That is not unusual in the category, but it does mean the card sits between a regulated Canadian MSB on the crypto side and an unnamed issuer on the card side.

On Trustpilot, the company scores 4.3 out of 5 across 37 reviews in the last twelve months, with 81% five-star and 14% one-star, a respectable average from a small base. The negative themes that show up repeatedly are:

Ten of the 37 reviews are visible without filtering, so the average is built on a narrow set of voices. The themes are still the right ones to pay attention to, especially the cost comparison and the Apple Pay gap, because they are the same things the fee table and the daily-use section already flag.

On the security side, Keytom is custodial: your balance is held by Keytom, not in your own wallet. The standard safeguards are in place: app-based two-factor authentication, transaction monitoring, anti-money-laundering controls, the ability to freeze the card from the dashboard, and segregated client accounts. The FAQ wording says the crypto is “insured up to $100 million through Fireblocks”. Withdrawals can be paused on suspicious activity.

The key thing to weigh is custody. The phrase “insured up to $100 million” is a corporate insurance arrangement, not the same as deposit insurance on a bank account. If the holding company ran into trouble, your claim would sit alongside other customers’ claims, not ahead of them. That is the standard counterparty risk for any custodial crypto card, and it is worth taking seriously: history is full of custodial crypto failures (Mt. Gox, Coincheck, Ronin, and more recently FTX), and a card balance held by a single provider is exposed to the same kind of failure.

Support is offered in-app, on the website, and by email at [email protected], with stated business hours of 5:00 to 15:00 UTC on business days. After-hours messages are answered on the next business day. The site is in English only, and other languages are not stated.

(Alternatives follow below.)

What to take instead

If Keytom’s fees, single-tier structure, or Apple Pay gap put you off, three other prepaid crypto cards are worth a look. None of them is a direct replacement; each one trades a different feature for a different cost.

Card Score What it does well What it does not
International Visa Card 6.7 / 10 Free USD spending on all plans, free USDC/USDT deposits at 1:1 A larger prohibited-country list (Belarus, China, India, Iran, Israel, Russia, Ukraine, and more); physical card “coming soon”
UNi Card 6.1 / 10 Mastercard network, multicurrency, “Spend-to-Earn” rewards up to 3% Costs and fees not fully stated; availability not stated
Morse 7.5 / 10 Zero FX markup on a fully virtual Visa, real-time Visa exchange rate, self-custody model A long closed-beta list of countries needing an invite; physical card not yet available

International Visa Card (6.7 / 10) is closer to Keytom on the country front but stricter: it is unavailable to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case. The card is “U.S.-issued Platinum Visa”, virtual only, with a $5 one-time issuance fee and plans at Classic (free), Pro ($9/month) and Max ($19/month). Card use in USD is free on every plan; foreign currency is Visa’s exchange rate plus 2% FX. USDC and USDT deposit into the USD account free at 1:1, and the page says deposits of any kind are free. There is no cashback stated. The trade-off versus Keytom is the broader prohibited-country list and the absence of a physical card.

UNi Card (6.1 / 10) is a multicurrency card on Mastercard that spends from a UNi.Global account balance, with “no annual fee or foreign transaction fee” and assets converted at “live OTC rates”. There is a “Spend-to-Earn” rewards programme of up to 3% on UNi Card spending. Costs and availability are not fully stated, and physical-versus-virtual detail is not stated either, so this is a card to research on its own merits before committing.

Morse (7.5 / 10) takes a different approach. The card is “fully virtual for now” and spends from a Morse Balance “in any currency” with “zero foreign exchange fees or markups” at the real-time Visa rate. Conversions on Morse use the real exchange rate with no markup, and “paying with the Morse Card, online and contactless, is free”. Funding is more flexible than Keytom’s, with debit card, stablecoin transfer, and Account Details (USD, EUR, MXN, COP, and BRL with a Brazilian CPF), and USDC, USDG and EURC on Solana are free to deposit, with other tokens and chains carrying a fee. The wallet is self-custodial, which removes the Keytom-style counterparty risk on the crypto side. The catch is access: Morse is in closed beta for a long list of countries including the United Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, Switzerland, Hong Kong SAR, Japan, and others, and the card itself is only available in certain countries (the list is not published; you have to check the app).

Across the three, the common reason to choose one over Keytom is fee economics: International Visa Card charges nothing for USD spending; UNi Card offers multicurrency with no FX fee; Morse charges no FX markup on any currency and lets you hold the keys yourself. The common reason to stay with Keytom is access: a USDC-funded USD Visa that is straightforward to understand, plus physical delivery, even if the everyday cost is higher.

(Recommendation follows below.)

Who I would recommend it to

Keytom is the right card for a specific kind of user, and a poor fit for a different one. Here is how I would split it.

You are likely to be happy with Keytom if:

You are likely to be disappointed if:

If that second list is more like you, the International Visa Card (free USD spending), UNi Card (multicurrency, 3% rewards) or Morse (no FX markup, self-custody) will likely serve you better, with the caveat that each has its own country and feature limitations.

For me, the deciding question is simple: do you mainly hold USDC, mainly pay in dollars, and mainly pay digitally? If yes, Keytom works, and the score of 6.0 is fair. If any of those three answers is no, the 6.0 will feel generous.

(FAQ follows below.)

Frequently asked questions

What is the Keytom card?

The Keytom card is a prepaid Visa that spends from a USDC balance. It comes as a virtual card on sign-up and as an optional physical card for an extra 50 USDC delivery fee, both in USD only, both valid for up to five years. Keytom is operated by KEYTOM SERVICES LTD, a Canadian Money Services Business registered with FINTRAC (MSB M21788474); the issuing bank is not named on the public pages.

How does the Keytom card work?

You fund the card with USDC, either by card through Visa Direct, by a direct USDC top-up (the network is not stated on the card page), or through in-app conversion of other currencies. When you pay, Keytom converts USDC to USD at a weighted average of the top five exchanges, applies the relevant fee (1% in USD, 2.35% in other currencies), and the merchant receives the payment in their local currency. The card cannot overdraw because it is a prepaid card, not a credit line.

Is Keytom a bank?

No. Keytom is not a bank. KEYTOM SERVICES LTD is registered as a Money Services Business with FINTRAC, the Canadian financial intelligence unit, under MSB number M21788474. The card-issuing bank is not named on the public pages. Card funds are held by Keytom under segregated client accounts, with crypto described as “insured up to $100 million through Fireblocks”, which is a corporate insurance arrangement rather than deposit insurance.

Who owns Keytom?

The Keytom group operates through KEYTOM SERVICES LTD in Canada. Detailed ownership and corporate structure are not laid out on the public card pages, and the issuing bank behind the Visa programme is not named. If you need that level of disclosure, ask the company directly before funding the card with a non-trivial amount.

Is the Keytom card available in my country?

Keytom advertises availability in “150+ countries”, but the Customer Acceptance Policy lists prohibited jurisdictions including Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Serbia, Ghana, Uganda and Iran, among others. The rule applies to residence and to direct or indirect links, including citizenship and beneficial ownership. If you live in or hold citizenship in a prohibited country, the card is not available to you, even if the country is on the 150+ list. If you have any doubt, the safest step is to ask Keytom support before you sign up.

How do I apply for the Keytom card?

You sign up in the Keytom app (iOS and Android) and complete the verification flow. The card page does not state the documents required for individuals, the processing time, or the official rejection reasons. Third-party reports (unofficial) describe a passport, national ID or residence permit, a selfie or liveness check, proof of address, and source-of-funds evidence when requested, with an 18+ age rule. Treat that as the typical pattern rather than a confirmed policy.

Does the Keytom card require KYC?

The card page does not use the phrase “KYC”. It does describe two-factor authentication, transaction monitoring, anti-money-laundering controls, and a right to ask for additional verification when activity looks unusual. In practice, regulated payments providers run customer due diligence, including identity and sanctions checks, so you should expect to provide documents, a selfie and proof of address at some point. The exact level is at Keytom’s discretion.

How do I top up the Keytom card?

You can top up by card through Visa Direct, by a direct USDC top-up (network not stated), or by swapping euros or crypto from your Keytom account balance. The card page does not state a top-up fee, a minimum top-up, or which party pays the network fee on a direct USDC transfer. Confirm these with support before sending a non-trivial amount, especially on-chain.

Is the Keytom card free?

The virtual card is free to issue. The physical card costs 50 USDC to deliver. There is a 10 USDC monthly fee per card, charged when the balance covers it (USD 20 if you hold both). Card payments cost 1% in USD or 2.35% in other currencies, with a 0.66 USDC minimum on each. ATM withdrawals cost 2% in USD or 3.35% in other currencies, with operator fees on top. There is no cashback or rewards layer, so a “free” month really only means the monthly fee was covered.

Can I add the Keytom card to Apple Wallet?

Not at the time of writing. The FAQ says Apple Pay is “not available yet” and a company reply on Trustpilot (October 2026) says Apple Pay is “being brought back”. The card works in Google Pay and PayPal. If Apple Pay is essential for you, plan around the gap or look at a different card, since no date is given for its return.

Content created by the «cryptocardshortlist» team