Azul, a Telegram-only virtual Mastercard with no KYC and no named bank behind it

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

I have spent a lot of time on crypto cards, and the honest summary for Azul is this: it is a Telegram bot that issues a virtual Mastercard, it does not ask you for identity documents, and it costs a $20 creation fee plus $5 a month, most of which comes back to you if you spend $2,000. That is the whole pitch, and in some ways it is an unusual one. In other ways it is a thin layer over things the card’s own pages never quite name — which bank issues it, which licence it runs on, which coins and networks it accepts. I scored it 5.3 out of 10. That is a middling mark, and the sections below explain exactly where it comes from.

Azul works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

If you have been searching for a way to pay online with crypto balance and you do not want to hand over your passport, this card is genuinely unusual. If you need cash from an ATM, want to spend in your local currency without surprises, or want to know that a real regulated bank stands behind the balance, this is the wrong card. Let me take you through it in the order you would actually meet these questions.

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

The verdict

Azul is a 5.3 / 10 card. That number is not a shrug; it is the sum of six criteria that each told a different story, and I would rather show you the working than round it to “fine” or “avoid”.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Azul starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 9 / 10 Worldwide apart from a long list of sanctioned and embargoed places; the card says those restrictions apply regardless of your nationality
Cost 2 / 10 $20 to create (refunded after $2,000 of spending), $5 a month, 4% to top up with crypto, $0.25 per transaction
Top-up options 5 / 10 Crypto sent to the card in Telegram; first top-up up to 10 minutes, later ones 1–5 minutes; $20 minimum; coins and networks not disclosed
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 “Azul Cards” with no legal entity or country named, and “licensed banking partners” with no names either; no complaints found
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual Mastercard only, with Apple Pay and Google Pay; no physical card, no ATM
Total 5.3 / 10

Read that table and the shape of this card becomes obvious. The one strong score is access. Everything else is either thin or withheld. Azul is generous about who it will take money from — almost anyone, anywhere, without papers — and stingy about what it will tell you about what is on the other side.

Who does it suit? A Telegram user who wants a virtual card quickly, does not want to complete KYC, and mostly pays online in USD, because Apple Pay and Google Pay take the card number and that is the intended daily use. Who does it suit badly? Almost anyone who needs a physical card, needs to take money out at a bank or ATM, needs a clear answer on which coins and networks are accepted before sending money, or is uneasy about a balance sitting behind a bot with no named legal entity. And I want to say plainly to anyone worried about the no-KYC side: rules that let a card avoid identity checks are the same kind of rule that can change overnight. That is a fact of how this category works, not a scare tactic.

Will they give you the card?

Yes, and more widely than most cards on the market. Azul is available worldwide except in Russia, Belarus, North Korea, Iran, Syria, Cuba, Sudan, Venezuela, Ukraine, and the Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia and Kherson regions. What is striking is the wording around that list: the card states that the restrictions apply regardless of the user’s nationality. In other words, this is not a citizenship screen. If you live in one of those places, you are excluded; if you are a citizen of one of those places but live in Paris or Buenos Aires, the card says you are not excluded on that basis. You should read that as the card’s own statement about its risk policy, not as a legal opinion about anyone else’s rules — if your country or your bank has opinions about crypto cards, that is a separate matter and you should look into it yourself.

For everyone else, the answer is essentially yes, subject to the standard reality that a virtual Mastercard number only helps where Mastercard is accepted online. That is a very large part of the internet, but it is not “everywhere you might want to pay”.

One thing worth setting expectations about: because there is no KYC, there is also no notion of a KYC level. Some cards give you tiers — verified, higher limits, better rates — that unlock as you upload documents. Azul has none of that. There is one card, one set of features, and the site mentions that features can depend on your “card tier” without ever listing what those tiers are.

How to get it

This is the shortest part of the review, because Azul makes it a Telegram conversation. The help centre says plainly: no mobile apps, no KYC. It goes further and says they never ask for your email, your phone number, or your ID. The website’s word for it is “No paperwork.”

Practically, the card is created inside Telegram — you find the bot, the bot makes the card, and you are holding a card number. There is no delivery step, because there is no physical card to deliver; the help centre simply marks delivery as not applicable for a virtual product. The card works anywhere Mastercard is accepted, and a physical card is described as not available but possibly coming later. Your balance is held in USD; crypto you send in is converted to USD.

I will say the thing that strikes me most about this process, and it is not a technical point. The claim that no email, no phone number, and no ID is ever requested is an unusually strong one, and it is what makes Azul different from almost every comparable card. A reader considering this card should treat that claim as the product’s central promise, and should understand what a promise like that implies: the checks other issuers are required to perform are not being performed here, so the protections that come with them — chargeback rights, deposit-style recourse, a named entity to complain to — may not exist in the form they do elsewhere. I am not telling you to break any rule; I am telling you to read the absence of checks as information about where you stand if something goes wrong.

What it really costs: fees

The cost picture is the weakest of the six criteria, and it earned 2 / 10 for a reason. Azul charges to open the card, charges to keep it, charges to put money in, and charges again on every purchase. Here is every number the card’s own pages publish, and nothing else:

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Azul payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value
Card creation (one-time) $20, refunded after $2,000 in spending
Monthly maintenance $5 per month
Crypto top-up fee 4%
Per transaction $0.25
FX fee Not stated
ATM withdrawal Not available — a virtual card cannot take cash out at ATMs
Minimum top-up $20
Maximum top-up $20,000
Per-transaction cap $20,000
Monthly spending cap $150,000

Note that an FX fee is not stated. I have looked, and the card’s public pages simply do not give one. That matters more on a card that converts your crypto into USD and then asks a merchant in another country to charge you — because the network and the merchant’s acquirer will do currency conversion of their own, and whatever margin they take is not something this card publishes. Some cards in this category charge 1.5% or more for non-USD payments; Azul does not tell you its number, so you are left estimating rather than budgeting.

Now let me do what a reader actually wants: take three ordinary payments and see what the fee column does.

Two limits shape everyday behaviour. The minimum top-up is $20 and the maximum is $20,000, and the monthly spending cap is $150,000. The site says limits depend on your region and your tier, and support can arrange higher limits. The doc pages themselves describe a single card, so treat the “tier” language as a promise of flexibility rather than a table of options you can look up.

How to top it up

You send crypto to the card, through Telegram. The help pages describe the action and the timing but do not, in the pages I read, name which coins or which networks are accepted. That is the single most useful thing a card like this could tell you and the thing it does not, so treat it as a question to ask in the support chat before your first transfer, not after.

The timing is good, at least by the standards of moving value across a network: the first top-up can take up to 10 minutes, and top-ups after that are described as 1 to 5 minutes. The fee is 4%, the minimum is $20 and the maximum is $20,000. Who pays the network fee, and whether there is any way to add funds by fiat bank transfer, are both not stated.

I want to be careful here with the network question, because it is the one place where a wrong move is expensive and hard to undo. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the money can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee of success. Two practical habits follow from that, and neither is a trick or a workaround — they are just care. First, confirm the exact coin and network in support before your first transfer, and treat any answer you get in the chat as the thing to match. Second, remember that some tokens cannot be sent from a wallet unless it holds a little of the chain’s own gas token; sending USDT on Ethereum from a wallet with no ETH simply fails. These are the ordinary rules of the networks themselves, not rules Azul invented.

Two limits on what the balance can do are worth knowing now. You cannot yet transfer funds to other users, or between your own cards. And whether you can withdraw the balance back out to crypto or to a bank is not stated. That second point deserves emphasis: if withdrawal is not available, then the $20 creation fee and the $5 a month are not a small cost, because the money in the account is money committed, not money parked.

Paying with it every day

The card is a virtual Mastercard, and the two ways you will actually use it are Apple Pay and Google Pay, both of which the card supports. Add the card number to your phone wallet and it behaves like any contactless or online card. That is the design, and for paying subscriptions and websites it is a workable one.

What it will not do is everything else. The card lists a set of things that are not allowed: money transfers, pay-at-pump fuel, ATM and bank cash, currency exchange and quasi-cash, dating and escort, gambling and betting, and bail and bond. It also lists some merchants that are currently unavailable, including Canva, Adobe, Steam, eBay, Uber and petrol stations. So “works anywhere Mastercard is accepted” is true in the sense that the number is a Mastercard number; it is not true in the sense that any Mastercard acceptance will go through. Some of the blocked categories are blocked by policy rather than by law, and the list can change, so the categories most worth avoiding are also the ones most likely to shift.

Two smaller everyday details. There is no app — only a Telegram bot — and the docs even carry a page asking why there is no app and why Telegram only. There is no cashback stated. There is a referral programme that pays “up to 40% of our fees from every transaction made by your referrals”, which is a revenue share on the card’s own fee income rather than a reward on your spending. One card is issued per Telegram account. And 3-D Secure is supported, which is the identity check on online payments; under it, liability for a fraudulent online payment can shift from the merchant to your bank, or — as critics of the standard point out — to you.

A last thing about how a virtual card behaves at a till. The number carries an issuer identification prefix that a merchant can look up, and if the issuer’s country differs from your billing address the merchant may apply extra scrutiny. That is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. It is not a trick and not a way to look like someone else; it is simply the thing that happens to foreign and prepaid cards, and it is a fair reason to expect an occasional decline at a physical till even when the card is fine.

What can go wrong

I found no complaints, and I want to be honest that this cuts both ways. There is no Trustpilot page for Azul that I could find. A young or quiet service can be quiet for good reasons, and it can also be quiet because nobody has had a bad enough experience to write one up. Absence of complaints is not the same as a good track record.

The bigger question is who is on the other side. The name on the pages is “Azul Cards”, and the legal entity behind it is not stated — no company registration, no country. The site says the card is “powered by licensed banking partners”, but it names no issuer and no licence. So when I ask the plain question — is this a bank? — the honest answer from the public pages is that it does not say. It says there are licensed partners. It does not say which, or under whose licence they issue the card, or what recourse you have if a balance is frozen. For a reader who wants to know what they are trusting with their money, that is not a small gap.

Custody and security are similarly only half described. The card is managed inside Telegram, one card per Telegram account, and it supports 3-D Secure. Whether funds are safeguarded, whether there is two-factor authentication, whether you can freeze the card instantly — none of that is stated. Telegram itself is a chat app, and the card number and balance live inside it; whether that matters to you is a judgment I can leave to you, but I would not want you to make it by default.

Support is real in the ordinary sense: live support via Telegram, a Help Center, and a Contact Us page. If something goes wrong, there is somewhere to go. Whether the answer you get is binding on a named company is a separate matter, and one the pages do not resolve.

And then there is the category-wide risk nobody can price. Crypto card programmes do get closed. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme. Closures tend to follow a shape: a notice period, then loading stops, then spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw whatever is left. When a provider’s entity is unnamed, that withdrawal step is the step you have least information about. This is not a prediction that Azul will close; it is the reason I do not treat an unnamed provider as a settled one.

I have left out the numbers I could not verify, and there is one worth naming: a 2026 programme closure reported by a secondary source — new loads ended 8 July 2026, spending stopped 8 August 2026 — is single-source and unconfirmed, so I mention it only as the kind of timeline a closure runs on, not as news about any card here.

What to take instead

If you are weighing this against other Telegram-based virtual cards, here is how the three I compared actually look side by side. All four scores are mine, on the same scale as Azul’s.

Card Score Where it works Card and cost Top up What stands out
Azul 5.3 / 10 Worldwide except Russia, Belarus, North Korea, Iran, Syria, Cuba, Sudan, Venezuela, Ukraine, and the Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia and Kherson regions; restrictions apply regardless of nationality Virtual Mastercard only; $20 creation (refunded after $2,000 spent), $5/month; no ATM Crypto to the card in Telegram; coins and networks not named; $20–$20,000; 4% No KYC at all; no app, bot only
Telecard 6.1 / 10 Over 150 countries wherever Mastercard is accepted; identity check available in most major regions; no supported/excluded list published; terms bar only US-sanctioned users Virtual Mastercard, instant; no physical or metal card; USD; standard plan $5 one-time, VIP $49 setup then $19/month; main page says signing up is free with no monthly fee on the basic plan USDT on Tron (TRC-20) or Ethereum (ERC-20), USDC on Ethereum (ERC-20); Polygon not supported; ETH and TRX also listed on the main page; bank transfers “coming soon” Conversion 1.5% on non-USD payments; gas 0.5 USDT per successful transaction; FX and cross-border “up to 3% each”; $99 minimum deposit to activate, stated as not a fee
OnCards 4.6 / 10 Not stated — no country list, and no mention of Russian or Belarusian citizens or residents Virtual Mastercard or Visa in Telegram; network not fixed; costs not stated (“no hidden charges”, no amounts) USDT on BEP20 only; bank transfers not accepted The narrowest funding route of the four: one coin, one network
Balance Pay 5.7 / 10 No country list or restrictions published; interface in EN and RU Virtual Visa now; metal or plastic planned; no monthly fee, registration free; full tariffs “will appear later” USDT on TRON (TRC-20), Polygon and Base; more networks “coming soon” Physical cards and Visa Signature perks promised for later, not available today

Two things stand out if you read across the row. First, Telecard is the only one of the four that publishes its networks, its conversion fee, and its per-transaction gas fee in plain numbers, and it is the only one of the four whose pages mention an identity check at all — which is why it scores highest even though its fee stack is heavier. Second, all of them are virtual-first, and all of them have something they are waiting to add. Balance Pay’s physical card, Azul’s physical card, Telecard’s bank transfers — every one of these is described in the future tense. If you need something today, read the “planned” rows as promises, not products.

One more piece of context that helps more than any single card. In this category, the card brand is often only the front end. Visa and Mastercard do not themselves issue crypto cards to consumers; they license issuers, and an issuer can be suspended. So the name on the front of the app is rarely the entity whose licence actually stands behind your balance. That is true of Azul, and it is true of its competitors, and it is why the “which bank?” question is worth asking of any of them — and why a card that names no issuer at all leaves you with the least to go on.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Azul to one specific reader: someone who lives in Telegram all day, already holds crypto, pays mostly online in USD through Apple Pay or Google Pay, and has a deliberate reason for not wanting to complete identity checks — and who accepts, having read the section above, that this means accepting an unnamed entity and a balance they may not be able to withdraw. If that is you, the card does what it says, quickly and cheaply in setup terms, and $20 refunded at $2,000 of spending is a generous way to start.

I would not recommend it if any of the following is true of you. You need cash from an ATM — the card cannot do it. You need a physical card in your wallet. You plan to pay in a currency other than USD and you want to know the FX cost in advance. You want to know which coins and networks are accepted before you send anything. You are holding an amount you would call your savings. Or you simply want to know, in plain words, which bank and which licence stand behind your balance — because on these pages, that answer is not given.

The score of 5.3 / 10 is a way of saying this: Azul is unusually open about who it will accept and unusually quiet about what it is. That combination is fine for a careful, small-scale user who has read the gaps. It is not fine as an all-purpose everyday card, and I would not pretend otherwise on its behalf.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Azul card?

Azul is a virtual Mastercard that you create and manage inside Telegram rather than through a mobile app. You top it up with crypto, the balance is converted to USD, and you spend it online or through Apple Pay and Google Pay. There is no physical card — the card’s own pages say one may come later. The card states it never asks for your email, phone number or ID, and does not perform KYC.

Is Azul a bank?

Not one that the public pages describe as a bank. The name given is “Azul Cards”, and the legal entity and country behind it are not stated. The site says the card is “powered by licensed banking partners” but names neither the issuer nor any licence. So whether you are dealing with a bank, an e-money institution or a programme manager cannot be answered from what is published — which is itself worth knowing before you fund it.

Does the Azul card require KYC?

No. The help centre states there is no KYC, no mobile apps, and that they never ask for your email, phone number or ID, and the site says “No paperwork”. Because there is no verification, there are also no KYC levels or upgrades — the docs describe a single card. Do read what a missing identity check means for your recourse before you rely on the card for anything important.

How do I top up the Azul card?

You send crypto to the card through Telegram. The fee is 4%, the minimum is $20 and the maximum is $20,000. The first top-up can take up to 10 minutes and later ones are described as taking 1 to 5 minutes. Which coins and networks are accepted is not named on the pages I read, so ask support before your first transfer — network transfers are irreversible.

What does the Azul card cost?

The numbers the card publishes are $20 to create the card, refunded after $2,000 in spending; $5 per month in maintenance; a 4% fee on crypto top-ups; and $0.25 per transaction. There is no stated FX fee, which matters if you pay in a currency other than USD. There is no ATM and no physical card. On a small spend, the monthly fee dominates; on a large one, the creation fee comes back.

Can I withdraw money from an Azul card?

No cash withdrawals: the card is virtual and the help pages list ATM and bank cash as restricted. Transfers to other users, and between your own cards, cannot yet be made. Whether you can withdraw the balance back to crypto or to a bank is not stated. That last point is the one to establish before you commit real money, because it decides whether the balance is spendable or simply tied up.

Is the Azul card safe?

There are no complaints I could find and no Trustpilot page, but there is also very little to check against. The legal entity and issuer are not named, and custody arrangements, two-factor authentication and whether you can freeze the card are not stated. The card does support 3-D Secure for online payments, and it is managed inside Telegram. I would treat it as a small-scale tool rather than a place for money you cannot lose.

Is the Azul card free?

No. The main page does not present it as free, and the published charges are a $20 creation fee and $5 a month. The $20 is refunded once you have spent $2,000, so it functions more like a refundable deposit than a one-off price. On top of that sit the 4% top-up fee and the $0.25 per transaction, so a card used lightly ends up costly.

Can I add the Azul card to Apple Wallet?

Yes — Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, and with a virtual-only card the phone wallet is really the intended way to use it. Adding the card number works the way it does for any card. Worth knowing that Apple Pay replaces your card number with a device-specific number stored in the phone’s secure hardware, so the wallet is at least not storing your card number in the cloud.

Which countries can use the Azul card?

Worldwide except Russia, Belarus, North Korea, Iran, Syria, Cuba, Sudan, Venezuela, Ukraine, and the Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia and Kherson regions. The card states that these restrictions apply regardless of the user’s nationality, so the screen is about where you are rather than what passport you hold. Separately, the card only works where Mastercard is accepted, and some merchant categories and named merchants are blocked.

Content created by the «cryptocardshortlist» team