A free virtual Mastercard that turns your crypto into payments, but only if you can verify in Argentina
The Fiwind card is a fully virtual Mastercard issued by an Argentine fintech. You can fund it with Argentine pesos, US dollars, or a long list of cryptocurrencies, and spend the balance anywhere Mastercard is accepted, including through Apple Pay and Google Pay. The card itself is free, the marketing promises zero card-payment fees, and the crypto buy/sell flow is also free. The catches are real, though: the company is Argentina-first, the card issuer is not named publicly, the help center is Spanish-only, and outside Argentina the public information about limits, KYC documents, and dispute handling is thin.
I went through the Fiwind website, the public help center, the App Store listing, the Argentine regulator’s PSAV registry, and the public reviews I could find. What follows is what the card actually says it does, what it does not say, and where I would hesitate before signing up.
Conditions on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Fiwind scores 5.8 out of 10 in my assessment. It is a free, no-frills way to spend crypto at Mastercard merchants, and the funding list is unusually wide. But it is also a card built for one market first, with an unnamed issuer, almost no third-party reputation, and very little English-language support. If you are an Argentine resident paying from USDT, USDC, or pesos, the on-paper value is hard to beat. If you are anywhere else, you are betting on an unregulated virtual-asset provider whose card-issuer relationship is not disclosed.
| Criterion | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 3 / 10 | Argentina-first fintech with Pix support for Brazil; the full country list is not published and the card issuer is not named |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | No issuance or maintenance fees, no card-payment fees, but 1.5% on international purchases and a 0.50% + 0.50 USD fee on USDT/USDC bank transfers |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | Pesos, US dollars, and a long list of crypto networks including Bitcoin Lightning, Ethereum, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, BNB Chain, Tron, TON, Cardano, XRP Ledger, Stellar, Polkadot, and World Chain |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Registered as a virtual asset service provider with Argentina’s CNV (the company itself notes this is not a licence); only one public review on Trustpilot; near-perfect App Store score from Argentine users |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Only a virtual Mastercard, no physical card, no cash access described, but Apple Pay and Google Pay work |
Who it suits: people in Argentina and Brazil who want to pay from a crypto balance without buying dollars on the parallel market, and who are comfortable with a fintech they have to verify themselves.
Who it does not suit: anyone who needs cash, a physical card, dispute or chargeback clarity, English-language support, or a card from a named, licensed bank.
Will they give you the card
Fiwind does not publish a country list. The company is Argentine, the App Store seller is FINANCEWIND S.A., and the help center is in Spanish (help.fiwind.io/es). The card is described as working at any Mastercard merchant worldwide, but who can request it is left as “the markets we serve” — and what that means in practice is not stated.
What is stated is the second-largest market: Brazil. Fiwind explicitly supports Pix, the Brazilian instant-payment system, which means a Brazilian onboarding path is built into the product. For every other country, you would have to download the app, enter your details, and see what happens.
Two registration facts do appear. Financewind S.A. is on the Argentine regulator CNV’s PSAV register (Virtual Asset Service Provider, entry No. 75, dated 6 September 2024), and a related entity, Fiwind Capital S.A., is registered as an ALYCI (CNV No. 2231). Fiwind’s own site, though, adds the caveat that being on the PSAV register “does not imply a licence or supervision”. The card issuer — the bank or e-money institution whose BIN actually sits behind the Mastercard number — is not named in the public materials I read.
For comparison, an international prepaid card that does publish a country list (one of the alternatives below) explicitly excludes residents of countries including Russia, Belarus, Iran, Cuba, North Korea, and several others, and blocks purchases in a further set. Fiwind gives you none of that disclosure up front. If you live in a country where prepaid card issuance is restricted or where US sanctions apply, you will not know whether Fiwind will issue to you until you try.
How to get it
Sign-up is in the Fiwind mobile app on iOS or Android. The app store listing for Argentina shows 4.9 stars from around 9,600 ratings at the time I checked, and the version was 1.107.0. The Google Play listing exists under the package name com.fiwind.app, though I did not pull the score.
The flow, as the help center describes it, is:
- Download the app, register, and “complete the required data”.
- Verify your current address and your phone number in the app — these two checks are required before a card can be requested.
- Choose a payment currency for the card from the card menu (you can change it later).
- The card is then generated and ready to use immediately. It is described as 100% virtual, “completamente virtual”, and there is no physical card option, no shipping step, and no waiting period.
Account verification produces a tier called Gold. Sending in proof of address moves you to Platinum. Sending in income documents takes you to Black, which is the highest investor tier — though the help center notes that Black does not necessarily exceed Platinum. Each tier sets operating limits, denominated in US dollars, with an annual limit that renews on 1 January and a monthly cap inside that. The specific USD figures are in a separate article that is not on the public help-center landing pages, so I am not citing numbers I have not read.
What the help center does not say is just as important as what it does say. The exact documents required for KYC are not listed on the page, the processing time for new accounts is not given, and the grounds for rejection are not described. There is no mention of sanctions screening, PEP checks, or what happens to a rejected application. If you need certainty about whether your documents will pass, Fiwind is not the place to find it before you start.
Fees: what it really costs
The marketing line is strong: “sin costo de emisión ni mantenimiento” — no issuance or maintenance cost — and “tus pagos con la tarjeta Fiwind no tienen comisiones” — your card payments carry no fees. Crypto buy and sell is also advertised as commission-free. On the everyday-payments layer, that is unusually generous.

The fine print adds two costs that matter:
- 1.5% on international purchases, described as a “fee for processing charges abroad” — a fee for processing charges abroad. If you buy something from a non-Argentine merchant, this 1.5% is layered on top of any currency conversion.
- Crypto-to-fiat transfers to a US bank via USDT or USDC cost 0.50% plus 0.50 USD on ACH, or plus 20 USD on a wire. The buy/sell inside the Fiwind app is free, but moving dollars out to a US bank is not.
There is also a domestic-purchase surcharge article in the help center that I did not read in full; if you buy in Argentina, it is worth opening that one before assuming “no commissions” applies to every peso transaction.
Other fees are not described: ATM withdrawal is not stated (the card is virtual and the help center does not mention cash access), and minimum top-up amounts are not stated.
| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | Free |
| Monthly / annual maintenance | Free |
| Card payment fee (domestic) | Not stated |
| Card payment fee (international) | 1.5% |
| Currency conversion | Not stated; Fiwind uses its own buy rate for ARS→USD, Mastercard uses its own rate for USD→merchant currency |
| Crypto buy / sell in app | Free |
| USDT / USDC → USD bank transfer (ACH) | 0.50% + 0.50 USD |
| USDT / USDC → USD bank transfer (wire) | 0.50% + 20 USD |
| ATM withdrawal | Not stated |
| Daily and monthly limits | Figures not stated; limits are linked to the account’s investor tier, denominated in USD |
To put a 1.5% international fee in context: a coffee bought abroad with the card costs you 1.5% on top of whatever Mastercard’s exchange rate is on the day, and Fiwind’s own buy rate is then used to convert your ARS balance to USD before Mastercard takes over. A payment can touch three currencies in sequence: ARS to USD at Fiwind’s rate, USD to the merchant’s currency at Mastercard’s rate, plus the 1.5% processing fee. Whether that is competitive depends on which Argentine or Brazilian alternative you are comparing it to.
For everyday spending inside Argentina in pesos, the help center’s “no commissions” line and the separate domestic-surcharge article are the two pages that decide what you really pay. For cross-border spending, the 1.5% is the floor.
Top up
Funding the Fiwind card is the part of the product that is genuinely broad. You can load the card from three sources:

- Argentine pesos, by bank transfer, 24 hours a day, “sin costo” (free) and instant.
- US dollars, by bank transfer, also 24 hours a day, free, and instant.
- Crypto, by sending supported tokens to a deposit address.
The crypto list is longer than most cards I have looked at. From the help center, the supported networks are:
- Bitcoin, including the Lightning Network
- Ethereum (ERC-20)
- XRP Ledger
- BNB Chain (BEP-20)
- Arbitrum
- Optimism
- Cardano
- Solana
- Polygon
- Stellar
- TON
- Polkadot
- World Chain
- Tron (TRC-20)
In practice that means you can fund with USDT and USDC across most of the major chains, plus native assets on each network — BTC, ETH, XRP, BNB, SOL, MATIC, ADA, XLM, TON, DOT, and TRX, among others. Circle’s USDC is natively supported on many of these networks, including Ethereum, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, and Stellar. Tether’s USDT runs on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, and the others listed. Note that Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so a USDC transfer over TRC-20 is not a native option, and Tether has historically disabled tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list.
A few things to be careful of:
- Minimum top-up amounts are not stated on the public pages.
- Who pays the network gas fee for a crypto deposit is not stated — this can matter on Ethereum, where a USDT transfer without any ETH in the sending wallet will not go through.
- Crypto withdrawals and sends are not described on the fee page, and account closure handling is not stated. The help center has a “Depósitos y retiros” collection with twenty articles, which I did not read end to end.
- Sending on the wrong network is a real risk. A USDT transfer to an ERC-20 address over TRC-20, or to a chain Fiwind does not list, can be lost or require manual support with no guarantee of recovery. The irreversibility of blockchain transfers means a typo in the network selection is not a small mistake.
For an Argentine or Brazilian user with a stablecoin balance on one of the supported chains, the top-up path is the strongest part of the Fiwind product. For anyone funding from a chain not on the list, you would have to bridge first, and that adds another step where things can go wrong.
Paying with it every day
Once the card is generated, you can add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay and tap to pay anywhere NFC contactless is accepted. You can also enter the card details for online checkout at any merchant that takes Mastercard. The card cannot be used at an ATM: it is fully virtual, the help center does not mention cash access, and there is no physical version.
Inside the app, the card menu lets you pause the card, set a maximum daily spend in the app, and change the payment currency. Two-factor authentication and a linked-devices feature exist in the “Seguridad” collection, which has four articles I did not read in detail. Tokenised mobile wallets (Apple Pay and Google Pay) replace the card number with a device-specific number, so a lost phone does not expose the underlying PAN.
Blocked merchant categories are not stated, which is unusual. Most prepaid cards explicitly block gambling, adult content, or crypto purchases. Fiwind’s help center does not list a blocked-MCC policy. That is not the same as saying nothing is blocked — issuers usually do block some categories by default — but it is worth knowing that the policy is not in writing on the public site.
Disputes and chargebacks are not described either. The help center has a “Tarjeta” collection but no dispute or chargeback article. If a merchant fails to deliver, or an online purchase is fraudulent, the resolution path is not documented in the public materials. By comparison, a US-issued debit card comes with Regulation E reversal rights; a credit card with Regulation Z; and a European prepaid card with the local e-money rules. Fiwind’s card is none of those, and the protections that apply are not stated.
Rewards are an odd middle case. The help center has a “Promociones” collection with undated offers: 30% off international purchases with the card, 50% off Cabify rides, 100% reintegro (cashback) on colectivos (city buses), 40% reintegro at Hard Rock Café Boca Juniors, and 10% reintegro in the YPF app. The cashback rates are notable, but the dates and eligibility windows are not in the public listing. If a specific offer matters to you, open the article in the help center and check the current terms before relying on it.
For day-to-day reliability, the Argentine App Store score is 4.9 across roughly 9,600 ratings, which suggests the app works for the people who use it. Trustpilot has a single one-star review from 4 May 2026 in Spanish: the user says their application was rejected on a claim that their data was altered, and that there was no real support behind the rejection. I could not find a Reddit thread or a card-specific complaint thread elsewhere, so the public reputation outside Argentina is essentially a single data point.
What can go wrong
There are a few categories of risk worth separating.
Regulatory and issuer risk. Fiwind is a PSAV-registered company in Argentina, and the site itself says that registration is not a licence. The card issuer — the entity whose BIN actually sits behind every Mastercard number — is not named. Without an issuer you can look up, you cannot tell whether the card is regulated as e-money, as a payment instrument, or as something else. Fiwind’s compliance is its own statement; the issuer’s compliance is what the BIN is governed by. If the issuer changes, the card can change with it.
Counterparty risk. Fiwind is a custodial platform: your crypto sits in Fiwind’s account until you spend it. The same is true of the prepaid balance. Custodial platforms have a track record of major failures — Mt. Gox (around US$350 million stolen between 2011 and 2014), Coincheck (around US$400 million in 2018), the Ronin Network bridge (US$625 million in 2022). On the card side, FTX’s Visa programme was terminated in November 2022, and WaveCrest, a Visa issuer behind several crypto cards, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every programme it had issued. None of these were Fiwind, but they are the shape of the risk when funds sit with a custodian or the card rides on a single BIN.
Network and stablecoin risk. Tether and Circle together account for around 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation, per the BIS, but stablecoins have depegged before. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. A balance held in USDC at Fiwind is a balance denominated in something that has, on past form, moved away from parity in stress events. The stablecoin label is not the same as a guarantee.
Operational and support risk. Support hours, a direct contact channel, and a documented complaints process are not stated. The help center is in Spanish, and the available channels are X, Instagram, TikTok, LinkedIn, Discord, Telegram, Facebook, and YouTube. There is no phone number or email contact on the public pages. If something goes wrong, “contact us” looks like sending a message to a social account.
Data and verification risk. The KYC process is described in two verifications (address and phone) plus investor-tier upgrades. The full document requirements, processing times, and rejection criteria are not stated. If your address proof is rejected, or your data is flagged as altered (the Trustpilot reviewer’s complaint), the public path to a resolution is not documented.
What to take instead
If Fiwind is not the right fit, three other cards cover similar ground with different trade-offs. I have not used any of them — these are based on the cards’ own published terms.
| Card | Score | Where it works | Funding | Key fees | Key difference from Fiwind |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| International Visa Card | 6.7 / 10 | Published list of excluded residence / registration countries; purchases blocked in a further set; FATF grey-list reviewed case by case | USDC / USDT to USD account free at 1:1; also USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow | Virtual card $5 one-time; Classic free / Pro $9.00 / Max $19.00 per month; FX 2% on top of Visa rate; no deposit fees | US-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, with a real published list of who can and cannot use it; physical “coming soon” |
| UNi Card | 6.1 / 10 | Not stated | Not stated | No annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, conversion at “live OTC” rates | Mastercard multicurrency, spends from UNi.Global balance, “Spend-to-Earn” rewards up to 3% |
| Morse | 7.5 / 10 | App in 140+ countries; local add/withdraw in 70+; closed-beta in 16 countries (Australia, Singapore, UK, etc.) needing an invite | Self-custodial wallet; USDC, USDG, EURC on Solana free; other tokens / chains carry a fee; debit card and stablecoin transfer supported | “Zero FX fees or markups”; real-time Visa rate; paying online and contactless is free | Self-custody, virtual Visa debit, “available only in certain countries” — list is in the app, not on the page |
If the deciding factor for you is self-custody, Morse is the closest alternative in this list: the wallet is your wallet, the card is fully virtual on Visa, and the published fee line is “zero FX fees or markups”. The trade-off is that Morse is in closed beta in 16 countries and the supported-country list is checked in-app.
If what you want is a US-issued card with a published country list and clear pricing, the International Visa Card is the comparison point: $5 issuance, $9.00 or $19.00 monthly plans, 2% on top of the Visa rate, and a written list of excluded residences. That is a different product at a different price.
If you want multicurrency Mastercard rewards, the UNi Card is the more direct competitor: no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, and up to 3% back. The cost and funding details that the Fiwind and Morse pages do publish are not stated on the UNi materials I read, so this is the thinnest of the three comparisons.
Who I would recommend it to
The honest answer is a narrow one. Fiwind is a fit for someone in Argentina or Brazil, with a stablecoin balance on a supported network, who wants a free way to spend that balance at Mastercard merchants, including via Apple Pay or Google Pay, and who is comfortable verifying through an app whose help center is in Spanish and whose card issuer is not named. If that is you, the 1.5% international fee and the lack of a chargeback process are the main things to plan around.
It is not a fit for someone who needs cash, a physical card, English-language support, or a clearly identified issuer. It is not a fit for someone whose primary use case is cross-border spending in merchant currency, where the 1.5% plus two conversion layers is a real cost. It is not a fit for someone who holds a meaningful balance they cannot afford to lose, given that the card is custodial and the regulatory framing is a registry entry rather than a licence.
The biggest single uncertainty is the issuer. If you are choosing Fiwind over a card that names its issuer, you are choosing on price and on the funding list. Those are real advantages. They are also the only advantages I can verify from the public materials.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Fiwind card?
The Fiwind card is a fully virtual Mastercard issued by an Argentine fintech, Financewind S.A. It spends from a balance you can fund with Argentine pesos, US dollars, or a wide list of cryptocurrencies on networks including Ethereum, Solana, Bitcoin, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, BNB Chain, Tron, TON, and several others. There is no physical card.
Is Fiwind a bank?
No. Fiwind is a fintech registered as a Virtual Asset Service Provider (PSAV No. 75) with Argentina’s securities regulator, the CNV, but the company itself states that this registration “does not imply a licence or supervision”. The entity that actually issues the Mastercard is not named in the public materials, and no deposit guarantee or banking charter is described.
How does the Fiwind card work?
You register in the Fiwind app, verify your address and phone number, choose a payment currency, and a virtual Mastercard is generated. You fund the card with pesos, dollars, or crypto on a supported network; the card then pays merchants in the merchant’s currency, with Fiwind’s own rate used for any ARS-to-USD step and Mastercard’s rate used for the final conversion. The card works online and through Apple Pay or Google Pay for contactless.
Is the Fiwind card available in my country?
The full country list is not published. Fiwind is Argentine and supports Pix for Brazil, so users in those two markets are explicitly in scope. For any other country, the only way to know is to download the app and try to register. There is no public statement of excluded countries or of sanctions screening rules.
Does the Fiwind card require KYC?
Yes, in the sense that address and phone verification are required before the card is generated, and higher account tiers (Platinum and Black) require proof of address and income documents. The complete document list, processing times, and rejection grounds are not described on the public help center.
How do I top up the Fiwind card?
You can top up with Argentine pesos or US dollars by bank transfer, 24 hours a day, free and instant, or with crypto by sending a supported token on a supported network to the deposit address shown in the app. Supported networks include Bitcoin (including Lightning), Ethereum (ERC-20), Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, BNB Chain (BEP-20), Tron, TON, Cardano, XRP Ledger, Stellar, Polkadot, and World Chain.
Is the Fiwind card free?
Card issuance and maintenance are free, and card payments in Argentina are described as commission-free. International purchases carry a 1.5% processing fee, USDT or USDC transfers to a US bank cost 0.50% plus 0.50 USD on ACH or plus 20 USD on wire, and a separate domestic-surcharge article exists in the help center that should be checked for local-peso transactions. ATM use is not described.
Can I use the Fiwind card with Apple Pay or Google Pay?
Yes. The virtual Mastercard can be added to Apple Pay and Google Pay for NFC contactless payments, which is the main way to use a card that has no physical form. Tokenised wallet payments use a device-specific number rather than the underlying card PAN.
How do I withdraw money from Fiwind?
Argentine peso and US dollar withdrawals are described as available 24 hours a day, free, and instant. Crypto withdrawals and account closure handling are not described on the fee page, and the relevant articles sit in a “Depósitos y retiros” help-center collection that is not summarised on the public landing page.
Is the Fiwind card safe?
It is a custodial card, meaning your crypto sits with Fiwind until you spend it, and the underlying card issuer is not publicly named. The company is on Argentina’s CNV PSAV register but the site itself notes this is not a licence. The app supports card pause, daily spend caps, and 2FA. The public review footprint is thin: a single one-star Trustpilot review in Spanish and around 9,600 mostly positive App Store ratings from Argentina. Treat the balance you load as a balance held with a custodian, not as a bank deposit.
App and neobank cards on the shortlist – cryptocardshortlist
Content created by the «cryptocardshortlist» team
