A crypto card with good top-up options and a lot of unanswered questions
If you have tried to open an ordinary bank card and could not — because of where you live, what documents you hold, or a banking history that a mainstream bank will not look at — then the Ultimo card will look interesting to you almost on sight. A Visa Platinum that spends a crypto balance, a virtual card that appears in minutes, and deposits from nine networks: on paper that is a genuinely useful thing for someone the regular banking system does not serve.
I have gone through the Ultimo project’s own public pages, its stated fees, its funding networks and the user reports that sit behind them, and I am going to tell you plainly what I found. Ultimo scores 3.7 out of 10 in my assessment. The top-up side of the card is genuinely strong — that is a 9 out of 10. Almost everything else is weaker than that, and two areas — what it costs and how it holds up when things go wrong — score 1 out of 10, because the information simply is not there in public, and what little user reporting exists is not reassuring.
That split is the whole story of this card. Ultimo is very good at telling you which blockchains it accepts. It is much less forthcoming about who issues the card, which countries it will serve, what the fees are on a normal day, and what happens to your money if something breaks. For an experienced user who is already comfortable with offshore crypto platforms, that combination can be acceptable — you are not being asked to trust a stranger, you are being asked to trust an unfamiliar counterparty with money you can see. For anyone who wants a predictable bank card to pay the supermarket with, it is a poor fit.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
The score, criterion by criterion
Here is my full working, so you can argue with any part of it rather than take the number on trust.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 4 / 10 | No countries named on the official pages. Unofficial reporting says the older Ultimo Pay Platinum card is blocked in the EU and UK, and no country list is published. |
| Cost | 1 / 10 | Card fees are not disclosed. The exchange rate is described as “1.5% all-in”. Unofficial figures put issuance at $450 and the total setup at $600; another report says $550–$600. The monthly fee is said to be free. |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT and more over 9 networks: Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, BNB Chain, Tron, Polygon, Arbitrum, Base, Avalanche. |
| Reliability and complaints | 1 / 10 | The brand is described as founded in 2026. No registration country, no named issuing bank. A Trustpilot review from August 2026 reports cards and funds locked after a move to the new platform. |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Visa Platinum. Physical card delivered in 10–15 banking days, virtual card in minutes, cash withdrawal wherever Visa is accepted. Unofficial reporting says Apple Pay and Google Pay are not supported. |
| Total | 3.7 / 10 | Strong on funding, weak on disclosure, cost and track record. |
Who will they give you the card?
Honestly: the official pages do not say. The countries eligible for an Ultimo card are not stated anywhere in the public material, and neither Russia nor Belarus is mentioned in either direction. If you are reading this hoping for a yes or a no, I cannot give you one from the card’s own information.
What exists is unofficial, and you should hold it that way. Reviewers report that the older Ultimo Pay Platinum card is blocked in the EU and the United Kingdom, and they attribute that to sanctions. No country list has been published to explain which countries are served instead (per cryptocards.so, 2026). So the picture is: an unnamed set of eligible countries, an unnamed set of blocked ones, and a sanctions angle that third parties have inferred rather than the operator having announced.
That matters more than it might look. Card issuing is not a global permission — it is a permission granted by a named regulator to a named institution in a named country. When none of those three are published, you are being asked to take the eligibility question on trust, and you cannot even check it before you hand over documents. My advice to anyone reading this: if your country is one where card issuing is sensitive, ask support directly in writing before you upload anything, and keep the reply.
How to get it
The path is short, and short is not the same as reassuring.
An identity check is required to open an account, and again before withdrawals. The card’s own pages do not state which documents are needed, and do not mention proof of address. Unofficial reporting, again from cryptocards.so in 2026, says an email address, a phone number and an identity document are required, while proof of address and a selfie are not. Take that as a description of practice, not as a commitment, because it is not from the card.
The card itself is described as a Visa Platinum debit card linked straight to your Ultimo balance — a debit card, not a credit card, so it spends what you have loaded rather than borrowing. You get both a physical card and a virtual one. The virtual card is “ready in minutes” once the account is open. The physical card “will be delivered 10-15 banking days”. Countries of delivery, the cost of shipping, and what a replacement card costs are all not stated.
Two things you will not find anywhere: any tier structure, and the currency the card is denominated in. Both are not stated. For a card whose entire job is converting between crypto and money at the point of sale, the absence of a card currency is a conspicuous silence, and it is one of the reasons my cost mark is low. I go into that in the next section.
What it really costs: Fees, limits and the missing numbers
Here is the honest state of the pricing. The card’s Fees section, on its own pages, lists exchange fees only. It does not publish a card fee schedule.

| Item | What the card says | What unofficial reports add |
|---|---|---|
| Card issuance | Not stated | $450; one other report in the same review gives $550–$600 |
| Total setup cost | Not stated | $600 ($450 card + $150 deposit) |
| Monthly fee | Not stated | Free |
| Buy and sell | 1.5% all-in, shown up front | — |
| Spot trading | 0.05% maker / 0.10% taker | — |
| Card FX fee | Not stated | Reported as free |
| Conversion at payment | Not stated | One Trustpilot user cites 3% crypto-to-fiat conversion and 0.75% per card transaction |
| ATM withdrawal | Fee and allowance not stated; possible “wherever Visa is accepted” | 0.1%, unlimited |
| Daily, monthly spend and ATM limits | Not stated | Listed as “Unlimited” |
| Tiers | Not stated | — |
| Card currency | Not stated | — |
Now let me put those numbers somewhere you can feel them, because a table of percentages does not tell you what a card is *for* in practice.
A coffee. Suppose you spend 5 EUR on a coffee. The card says the exchange side is 1.5% all-in, so that is roughly 0.075 EUR of the purchase price before anything else. Unofficial reporting says the FX fee is free, which would mean the exchange rate is the only conversion cost — that is the good case. But a Trustpilot user cites 3% for crypto-to-fiat conversion plus 0.75% per card transaction. In that case, 5 EUR costs you about 0.15 EUR in conversion and 0.0375 EUR in the per-transaction fee, and your effective price is roughly 5.19 EUR instead of 5. I cannot tell you which of those figures applies to your payment, because the card publishes neither.
A weekly shop. Say 80 EUR of groceries. At 1.5% all-in exchange only, that is about 1.20 EUR. With the 3% conversion plus 0.75% per transaction cited in an unofficial user report (not confirmed by the card), it is about 3.00 EUR on a single 80 EUR shop. Small in absolute terms, but it is the difference between the card being free to use and the card having a running cost, and nobody has told you which one you are in.
Cash from an ATM. The card says you can withdraw “wherever Visa is accepted” but says nothing about the fee or the allowance. Unofficial reporting says 0.1% with no limit. If that is right, ATM use is close to free; if the 3% conversion figure also applies to cash, it is not. Again: unresolved, and the official pages are silent.
The pattern across the whole table is what should decide this for you. The one number the card is confident about is the exchange rate — 1.5% all-in, shown up front. Every other cost, including the several-hundred-dollar figures that circulate about issuance and deposit, comes from third parties. I would not spend money on the assumption that unofficial figures are either accurate or current; I would ask support to confirm them in writing, and treat the answer as the only price that exists.
How to Top it up
This is the good news, and it is why the top-up line on my score table is a 9.
The platform supports BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT “and more” across 9 networks: Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, BNB Chain, Tron, Polygon, Arbitrum, Base and Avalanche. The card is linked to your Ultimo balance, so what you load is what the card spends. For someone who already holds assets on any of those chains, this is the part of the product that clearly works as advertised — you are not forced into one asset, and you are not forced off the network you already use.
Withdrawing works differently, and the safeguards here are a small positive. A withdrawal needs a one-time code and an email confirmation, followed by a routine risk check. Fees are not stated. Unofficial reporting puts the withdrawal fee at 0.1% plus 0.001 BTC (per cryptocards.so, 2026).
One unofficial detail worth knowing before you plan a payment: a Trustpilot user cites a 1% fee for an immediate USD transfer and no fee for a 72-hour transfer. If that holds, the slow option is free and the fast one is not — which is the usual pattern in this category and worth planning around rather than discovering at the till.
Two warnings that apply to any crypto top-up, not just this card’s. First, send on the network the provider supports; a transfer sent on an unsupported network, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee, because blockchain transfers are irreversible. Second, on-chain gas is charged by the blockchain, not by Ultimo — that is true of every card in this category, but it is still money out of your pocket at the moment you top up.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, Ultimo behaves like a prepaid card. You convert or top up a balance and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. That is a real structural advantage over a credit card if you are managing a tight budget.
The card is Visa Platinum, so the acceptance surface is the one you already know. Cash withdrawal is possible “wherever Visa is accepted”. And there is a merchant-category reality worth understanding here: a payment card number starts with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number that says who issued the card and in which country. Merchants can look it up, and some apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards outright for exactly that reason. A card with no publicly named issuing country is, structurally, a card that is more likely to be treated as foreign.
What is not stated: which wallets are supported, whether there are rewards or cashback, and how disputes work if a payment goes wrong. Unofficial reporting says Apple Pay and Google Pay are not supported, and that no cashback is listed. If you are used to tapping your phone to pay, that is a meaningful downgrade — you would be reaching for the physical card every time.
The app is a web app at the card’s official site. Store listings and ratings are not stated, so I cannot tell you what people rate it or whether it is on the app stores at all. Chargeback protection — the mechanism where your issuer orders a refund when something goes wrong — is also not stated for this card, and in this category that is never a detail to skip.
What can go wrong
This is the section that took me longest, because the honest answer is that the risks here are mostly unquantified rather than unproven.
The company is thinly described. The brand is “Ultimo”, described on its site as “founded in 2026”. The country of registration is not stated. The physical card is “issued through an offshore bank” — unnamed. Infrastructure partners are listed as BitMEX, Bitget, Deribit, Cobo and Simplex, and no licences are listed anywhere. Starting data reportedly names Silver Capital Financial s.r.o.; reviews cite a Laos bank, JDB, later “removed from the partnership” (per cryptocards.so, 2026). I am not in a position to verify any of that, and neither can you, from the public pages.
The user reports are the wrong shape. A Trustpilot review from August 2026 reports that after the change to the new platform, “cards and funds are locked”. An earlier, undated user report on the older Ultimo Pay card (2025–2026) describes the card stopping working in the EU and UK, a $600 fee still being charged, support being unreachable, and no way to delete the account. The Trustpilot rating I read was 3.2 out of 5 from a single review, one star, dated 17/20 August 2026. I found no official incident announcement to match these — which does not make them false, but it does mean nobody has publicly accounted for them. When I read “no official incident found”, I read that as: no one has explained it, not no one confirmed it.
Custody. The custody model is not stated. A Security page is linked but was not available to me to read. What is known is that withdrawals need a one-time code and email confirmation. Unofficial reporting names BitGo, Shiftmarket and Fireblocks as custody providers (per cryptocards.so, 2026). This is the structural risk in any custodial setup: control of the crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or seed phrase, and with a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials, so you must trust the provider completely. Transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen key has no built-in recovery — the network cannot freeze or return the funds. The category has a documented history here: Mt. Gox, about $350 million reported stolen in 2011–2014; Coincheck, about $400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, $625 million in 2022.
Programme risk is real in this category, and it is not specific to Ultimo. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves — they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. How a closure plays out for users: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. A 2026 closure reported by a single secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026 — unconfirmed, but it shows the shape.
Declines and holds. Some payments simply fail. Address verification, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address a buyer typed against issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. A declined authorisation may leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven.
Sanctions and freezing. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity — stablecoins are not censorship-proof. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as address. This is the machinery behind the EU and UK blocking reported for the older card.
Where regulation stands. If you are in the EU, MiCA has been in legal effect since June 2023, with its rules on stablecoins applying from 30 June 2024 and the remaining service-provider provisions from 30 December 2024. Under it, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution, providers already operating under national law had until 1 July 2026 or until a MiCA authorisation, and ESMA keeps a public register of authorised providers you can actually check a name against. Ultimo lists no licences, so that register is worth a look if you are in that region — and its absence from the register is not proof of wrongdoing, only that there is nothing to point at.
I want to be careful about one thing: there is no way to get around identity checks, sanctions or country rules, and nobody should try. Ultimo requires identity verification to open an account and before withdrawals. That is normal and it is legal. My point is not that you should evade it; it is that a provider which does not tell you which countries it serves makes it harder to know in advance whether you are eligible at all.
What to take instead
If the reason you are reading about Ultimo is that a normal card is hard for you to get, the alternatives below are ones I scored myself, and the comparison is worth doing rather than taking my word for it. Ultimo scores 3.7; the others score higher for different reasons.
| Ultimo | Young Card | Coinbase Card | OKX | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| My score | 3.7 / 10 | 5.7 / 10 | 6.4 / 10 | 6.2 / 10 |
| Who can get it | No countries named | Not stated | All US states except Hawaii; US identity rules only | EU plus Norway, launched 28 January 2026; Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded |
| Card | Visa Platinum debit, physical and virtual | Not stated officially | Visa prepaid debit, virtual or physical | Mastercard virtual debit in euro, linked to OKX Pay; no physical card mentioned |
| Card fee | Not stated; unofficial $450 issuance | Not stated | Zero spending fees, no annual fees | None |
| Conversion | 1.5% all-in exchange; other card costs not stated | Not stated | No Coinbase transaction fee; a spread applies when crypto is bought, sold or traded | Conversion spread 0.1% per a May 2026 explainer, versus 0.4% in the launch release; conversion to euro at purchase |
| Funding | BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT over 9 networks | Not stated for the card | Bank account link or paycheck deposit, zero fees; crypto balance converted to USD | USDC or USDG in OKX Pay; other coins converted first; no auto top-up |
| Rewards | Not stated; no cashback listed | Cashback in YNG tokens: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6% | Optional crypto rewards on every purchase, US users only, variable rate in the app | Cashback on USDG purchases only, USDC earns none; monthly caps in EUR by tier |
| Drawbacks | Cost, limits, issuer and country all undisclosed | Almost everything not stated | US only | Virtual only; earning needs USDG |
Reading that table, the honest summary is this. Coinbase Card is the most conventional option: it publishes its fees (zero spending fees, no annual fees), tells you plainly it is for the United States, and tells you exactly what the catch is — all crypto is converted to US dollars for purchases and ATM withdrawals, and the rewards are US-only. If you are eligible for it, it is the least ambiguous of the four.
OKX is the best-disclosed conversion economics of the group for a European reader, but note that available information is inconsistent — a 0.1% spread is reported as of May 2026, while the launch release cited 0.4%, so the actual cost is unclear. Its cashback only counts on USDG purchases, USDC earns nothing, and the tier caps are reported with conflicting figures. It is a virtual card.
Young Card I score above Ultimo mainly because its rewards structure is published — cashback in YNG tokens at 0.1%, 1.8% or 3.6% by Club tier, with Bronze and Silver not stated — but almost everything else about it is unpublished too, so treat that 5.7 as provisional.
None of these is a clean win. What I can say is that Ultimo is the only one of the four where the top-up side is genuinely strong *and* the cost side is genuinely dark. That combination is unusual, and it is why I put Ultimo at the bottom of this group despite liking the network list.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Ultimo to one specific person: someone already experienced with offshore crypto platforms, who holds BTC, ETH, SOL or USDT across several chains, who can afford a several-hundred-dollar setup cost if the unofficial figures are right, and who treats the balance as money they could lose entirely. If that is you, the nine-network funding is a real advantage and you are comfortable with the rest.
I would not recommend it to someone who wants a bank card for ordinary life — groceries, a coffee, a hotel — because the fee schedule, the limits, the card currency and the issuer are all unpublished, and because Apple Pay and Google Pay reportedly do not work. I would not recommend it to anyone who needs to know, before they upload a passport, which countries are eligible, or to anyone whose plan depends on chargeback protection or on support answering an email. And I would think twice about loading a large balance into a custodial arrangement with no stated licences and a brand dated 2026, especially with a Trustpilot review reporting locked cards and locked funds.
The checks I would run first, in order: ask support in writing which countries are served and who the issuing bank is; ask what the card currency is and what a foreign-currency purchase costs end to end; ask what the daily and monthly limits are, since unofficial reports say unlimited but the card says nothing; and check the ESMA register if you are in the EU. If the answers to those come back vague, that vagueness is your answer.
Frequently asked questions
What is Ultimo?
Ultimo is a crypto card brand that turns a crypto balance into something you spend like ordinary money. It issues a Visa Platinum debit card, both physical and virtual, linked straight to your Ultimo balance. The site describes the brand as founded in 2026, and the card is issued through an offshore bank that is not named on the public pages. Support runs 24/7 by chat and email.
Is Ultimo a bank?
No — not as far as anything published shows. Ultimo appears to be a card programme and crypto platform rather than a bank, with no licences listed anywhere on its pages. The physical card is said to be issued through an unnamed offshore bank, which is a partner, not Ultimo itself. No registration country is stated for the brand itself.
Does Ultimo card require KYC?
Yes. An identity check is required to open an account, and again before withdrawals, which need a one-time code and an email confirmation followed by a routine risk check. The official pages do not state which documents are required or mention proof of address. Unofficial reporting from cryptocards.so in 2026 says email, phone and an identity document are needed, while proof of address and a selfie are not.
How do I top up the Ultimo card?
You send crypto to the Ultimo balance over one of nine supported networks: Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, BNB Chain, Tron, Polygon, Arbitrum, Base or Avalanche. BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT and more are accepted. The card spends whatever is in the balance. Top-up fees for the card are not stated officially; unofficial reporting says free, with one user citing 1% for an immediate USD transfer and free for a 72-hour transfer.
Is Ultimo card free?
Not on the evidence I can find. The monthly fee is said to be free, and exchange is 1.5% all-in. But the card’s own pages publish no card fees at all, and unofficial reporting puts issuance at $450 and total setup at $600 — $450 card plus $150 deposit — with another report in the same review saying $550–$600 issuance. Treat those as third-party figures and confirm them before paying anything.
Can I add Ultimo card to Apple Wallet?
Probably not. Unofficial reporting from cryptocards.so in 2026 says Apple Pay and Google Pay are not supported. The card’s own pages do not state which wallets work, so this is a description of practice rather than a published policy. Either way, plan on using the physical card for contactless payments rather than your phone.
Where can I use the Ultimo card?
Anywhere Visa is accepted, and you can withdraw cash wherever Visa is accepted — that much the card states. But the issuer country is not named, and merchants can look up a card’s issuer identification number and country, so some shops treat foreign-issued or prepaid cards more carefully. Address verification, which is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards and can cause declines.
Is Ultimo card safe?
I cannot tell you that it is safe, and I would not tell anyone to load a large balance on the strength of what is published. Custody is not stated, no licences are listed, the issuing bank is unnamed, and a Trustpilot review from August 2026 reports cards and funds locked after a move to the new platform. That is a user report, not an official incident, and no official announcement was found either way.
How do I withdraw money from Ultimo?
Withdrawals need a one-time code, an email confirmation, and then a routine risk check. The official pages do not state withdrawal fees. Unofficial reporting puts it at 0.1% plus 0.001 BTC. One further caution: blockchain transfers are typically irreversible, so a withdrawal sent to a wrong address or an unsupported network can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee.
Is Ultimo card worth it?
Worth it if you already hold crypto across several chains and the nine-network funding genuinely simplifies your life, and if you can absorb the possibility of losing the balance. Not worth it if you need a predictable everyday card, published fees, known limits, mobile wallet payments or chargeback protection. Those are precisely the things Ultimo does not publish, which is why I scored it 3.7 out of 10.
Exchange cards on the shortlist – cryptocardshortlist
Content created by the «cryptocardshortlist» team
